News & Events Missing Titanic tourist submarine

Sounds like he might not have wanted to be there which makes it all the more sad.
Ugh that's awful if he didn't want to go and was encouraged/forced by his Dad šŸ˜ž

I doubt any on board knew it was a suicide mission.
Yeh this is true, itā€™s truly an odd situation with the general public reaction.

Thereā€™s definitely an element of ā€œ**** around and find outā€ like, Iā€™m no expert but if Iā€™d shelled out $250k and rolled up to find the Titan had an offbrad game controller, a viewing hole barely the size of my head and I was bolted into the thing I reckon Iā€™d bail in a heartbeat, but these guys didnā€™t.

Itā€™s all easy in hindsight but itā€™s a staggering set of circumstantial stupidity that led to it.

Gross negligence can't be dismissed by signing a waiver.
Worked mountain climbing years ago and the company had a waiver.
The best legal brains(yes that's another story,)in America and England told us waivers are an unknown.
They've lost watertight cases and won pretty hopeless cases.
The opinion on waivers was simply "who knows "

Worked mountain climbing years ago and the company had a waiver.
The best legal brains(yes that's another story,)in America and England told us waivers are an unknown.
They've lost watertight cases and won pretty hopeless cases.
The opinion on waivers was simply "who knows "
Yeh but the details weā€™ve read (which to be fair may turn out to be inaccurate) of the Titan are akin to sending people up Everest with no oxygen, a singlet and thongs, a couple of bits of twine and a pitchfork from bunnings.

If even half the stuff weā€™ve read is true it is GROSS negligence and theyā€™ll be whacked for it.

Few of the twitter concerns are that the section with the crew has broken away from the back of the vessel and the landing gear and has just sunk. Iā€™d like to believe the whole thing was crushed so it was over quickly.

Difficult for the landing gear to come off the crew cabin if the cabin was still in tact. The legs are bolted onto the cabin with two rings that go right around the cabin.

I doubt any on board knew it was a suicide mission.
Yeah I doubt OceanGate gave them a full run down of the complaints and legal disputes over the vehicles safety issues.

On a suicide mission like this wouldn't they have pretty much signed that they accept all the potential harms to the point of death?
Given the evidence of safety issues and whatnot the company is stuffed.

Just opened emails and The Conversation tells me:

The frantic countdown to find the lost Titan submersible in the North Atlantic before the crewā€™s oxygen stores run out has ticked down to zero, with the US Coast Guard confirming five major pieces of debris from the craft have been found near the Titanic wreck. Officials say the five crew on board were probably killed instantly in a ā€œcatastrophic implosionā€.

If there's one lesson we've learnt over recent years - pay more attention to past Simpson episodes, especially the weirder ones which seem to somewhat predict future events:

The other somewhat freaky Simpsons connection

Have they been using this thing for a year or more?

Two queries that I have here.

Theyā€™re saying the bodies might not be recovered, itā€™s morbid but would there actually be anything to recover? I imagine the pressure and rapid implosion wouldnā€™t leave much of the ship let alone a body?
There wouldnt be much letft. If they haven't turned into marine snow already from the pressure, they would be stripped to the bones, regardless if they floated or sunk. Creatures of the sea waste nothing.

Honestly, let them be. Burial at sea was a thing for thousands of years for sailors. like cremation, but in the sea.

This is an interesting thread that highlights what a suicide mission this trip was

Far out, makes you wonder if these "explorers" did any research of their own into the safety of what they were getting into. I would love to travel to space but there is no way in hell i would just rock up pay my money and away i go without being sure the thing was safe. Would love to know the legal ramifications of this, was there an authority that should have been overseeing the safety of this ? It is clear they have chosen not to do the required hull safety checks but how the hell is this allowed? So many questions need to be answered and i daresay the rich relatives of those deceased will be asking for them and already are because they are wondering why it took 8 hours for the coast guard to be contacted after contact was lost.

There wouldnt be much letft. If they haven't turned into marine snow already from the pressure, they would be stripped to the bones, regardless if they floated or sunk. Creatures of the sea waste nothing.

Honestly, let them be. Burial at sea was a thing for thousands of years for sailors. like cremation, but in the sea.

At that depth there's nothing of them left, the officials are just being delicate instead of saying 'they were instantly turned in to jelly'

This is an interesting thread that highlights what a suicide mission this trip was

This part in particular is astounding.

FzM0mFOaMAAamIr

I donā€™t blame the submarine as much as I blame deep waterā€¦

Yeh but mate, deep water isnā€™t sentient, it didnā€™t make a conscious decision to **** with your comms.

You know that shit is hairy 3m deep let alone 4kms deep. Work that shit out before you go and if you go and it doesnā€™t work the first time, fix it.

Thatā€™s right up there with one of the dumbest things Iā€™ve ever read.

FzM0mFOaMAAamIr
there's just so many things that were wrong on that sub absolutely astounding that this incident hadn't occurred earlier

News & Events Missing Titanic tourist submarine