Modra Question

From memory, he wasn't kicking bag after bag of goals for West Adelaide in 1991 or 1992. He played 5 or 6 AFL games in 1992 and kicked a few goals but no huge bags.

I don't think anyone expected Tony Modra to be a century goal kicker in 1993 or to become the human highlight reel. Plenty of people had confidence in him to become a good player but never bigger than Bradman as labeled by Greham Cornes.
He came down to Westies later in the 1991 season and kicked a heap of goals, got them into 5th and they went on to make the grand final. I saw him live a few times in late 1991 and he was unbelievably good. It was widely thought then that he was special. The crows listed him at the end of 1991 through our original concessions (could take sanfl guys until 92, but not allowed into the draft until 93). He played about 8 games for the Crows in 1992, but in about half of them he barely got off the bench (old fashioned bench - not rotations). He still kicked bags of 5, 5 and 7 that year. Hodges was clearly the number 1, and kicked 12 against Geelong in one match! Everyone knew Modra was special though. In his 10-12 games for Westies he kicked another 50odd goals.

From 1993 everyone knows the story of Hodges injured before round 1, and he took his chance.

From memory, he wasn't kicking bag after bag of goals for West Adelaide in 1991 or 1992. He played 5 or 6 AFL games in 1992 and kicked a few goals but no huge bags.

I don't think anyone expected Tony Modra to be a century goal kicker in 1993 or to become the human highlight reel. Plenty of people had confidence in him to become a good player but never bigger than Bradman as labeled by Greham Cornes.
He kicked 10 goals in round 1, 1992 against the eagles in the sanfl and from memory had kicked 40 goals in 9 games early on in 92 for the bloods.

A good story I heard about Modra was when he was an 18 year old playing for Renmark. The Modra name had a reputation, I've heard people say that one of his brothers was a better footballer than Mods and everybody understood that the Modra's could all play football. It was also known that young Tony was a protected species, the Modra's were a hard bunch, I think 1, if not both of Tony's brothers had been to jail, so nobody messed with Tony

Anyway, I'm not sure if it was a final, grand final or regular game, but Renmark was losing so at half time, they threw Tony into the ruck who then basically won the game of his own boot. Pretty remarkable for an 18 year old to win an A-grade game of footy from taking the ball out of the ruck and kicking goals until the team took the lead and then won the game.

So it was known that he had real football pedigree and was capable of freakish things before he went to play at West Adelaide.
I think you'll find 1 M Roo might argue how easy it was.;)

I remember Rick well. I played against his son. I think it's fair to say Tony was the pick of the family.

You'll get your answers out of that.

He played the game spiritually. He was the Ayrton Senna of footy

Spooky, I worshiped Mods & Senna more than you can imagine back in the day. The day Senna died was one of the saddest in my life.
Must admit Grantley Fielke was my first ever footy hero, Mods was my second, obviously I go for Westies and before the Crows joined I saw pretty much all of Mods Sanfl games and knew he was special, I was at the pre season game where he came on and kicked a few after hodges got injured and I remember telling my mates how good he was before he got his chance and them laughing at me.
Laugh they didn't for long as the great man went to legendary status in no time. A freak of nature was the great man. All hail Mods!

I rekon in 2040 we'll be up here with new threads discussing Tony Modra, all the young ones asking about him and so on.
We'll be like those dudes right now speaking about Barassi and Haydn Bunton etc.
Biggest freak I've seen play, probably even with Ablett Senior.. & I when I was little used to watch Lockett play every week in the flesh... Mods was just so damn exciting.
There were no cappa's down in Vic.. There were MODDraaaaaaaas! What a mark!

Was living in Melbourne in 94/95 (tough times for a Crows supporter in Vic), was driving home one September and listening to a GF between 2 river land teams. I shit you not, every couple of minutes it was Modraaaa goal. I reckon Rick got 13+ that day !!!!

A good story I heard about Modra was when he was an 18 year old playing for Renmark. The Modra name had a reputation, I've heard people say that one of his brothers was a better footballer than Mods and everybody understood that the Modra's could all play football. It was also known that young Tony was a protected species, the Modra's were a hard bunch, I think 1, if not both of Tony's brothers had been to jail, so nobody messed with Tony
Yeah he has a brother called Ricky Modra. been to jail. my old man used to play full back on Ricky. apparently he had massive hands. if i can re call i believe he kicked 18 or 19 against my dad Lol (my dad probably got moved off him after a while lol)

That is a whole thread in itself.

However and keeping it short. Scott Hodges was (is) married to Jack Cahill's daughter and Cahill was in many people eye the person who should have been given the crows coaching job.

Cornes got it and rest is history with the crows and magpies dislike of each other.

Na the hatred between Port and Crows was way before that started when the paps thought they were the only ones in SA worthy of joining the AFL and the SANFL wanted a composite team. Got quite nasty at times during that period

just watch this.. what a gun.. i actually like the music. adds to the mystic of Modra

Freak of nature. He put bums on seats and entertained us all. Those soccer goals and tight angle shots that he nailed were pure instinct. Still unbelievable and not surpassed.

Spooky, I worshiped Mods & Senna more than you can imagine back in the day. The day Senna died was one of the saddest in my life.
Must admit Grantley Fielke was my first ever footy hero, Mods was my second, obviously I go for Westies and before the Crows joined I saw pretty much all of Mods Sanfl games and knew he was special, I was at the pre season game where he came on and kicked a few after hodges got injured and I remember telling my mates how good he was before he got his chance and them laughing at me.
Laugh they didn't for long as the great man went to legendary status in no time. A freak of nature was the great man. All hail Mods!
The most exciting SA full forward I saw before Modra was Roger Luders. What a player.

As a Bloods supporter I saw a bit of Mods pre stardom. I can only remember him taking marks while leading flat out at the kicker while under pressure from his opponent. Had awesome hands and an accurate kick. I didn't see any high flying, but it was clear he had plenty of talent. Not sure that I would have pegged him as surpassing The Pres though, such was my man crush on him.

Seen that video a many of times through my childhood and still have it now. Thomas explains that he played junior footy at Westies for a year then went away and came back in 1987-1988 and played a couple of matches during those years. He would have been 18-19 at that time. Then had 12 months back in the Riverland before coming back in 1990 playing about 10 games.

I remember him in 1992 kicking heaps in the SANFL including 29 from 8 games for the Crows. Always knew he was going to be a star.

Na the hatred between Port and Crows was way before that started when the paps thought they were the only ones in SA worthy of joining the AFL and the SANFL wanted a composite team. Got quite nasty at times during that period

We were talking about Scott Hodges, not the PAFC vs the AFC.

Port Magpies players were able to adapt to the crows style and system but Hodges struggled based on his relationship with John Cahill.

Round 22 vs Collingwood 1993. Win we play finals.

The lines to get into the stadium 2 hours before the match were 300 to 400 metres long.

He would have filled the joint hours before the match.
They weren't that long at the gate I went in. Pretty normal at the southern end.

Modra Question