Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

Saw Jake Lever waiting to collect a takeaway coffee outside Ned’s Bakery in Toorak Road a few weeks back. I guessed the bit about the coffee, but he might have been getting a toasted sandwich or a croissant or something too. I would have said hello I reckon, but I was wearing a demons cap and suddenly became self conscious about looking like a nuffy dickhead. So I made a bit of an effort to pretend not to see him and slunk off.

I regret it now, but only a little bit.

I’ve been holding onto this one for a while as I wasn’t sure whether or not it was safe to post but here goes

I saw Jeremy Howe & Jared Rivers at the Boxing Day test. Jeremy sat on his own at the ground, but seemed to meet at bar with Jared during the match breaks.

They stood at the bar for some time with an unknown man where they laughed and drank for a while. They went their separate ways once the breaks were over.

Could the unknown man be a mate or actually an intimate partner for a threesome?

I believe they were mates

Many years ago, I saw both Peter Somerville and Derek Kickett at Milleara Mall (East Keilor) on separate occasions, while they were still playing at Essendon (shopping centre was relatively new back then). Living outside Ballarat these days, I rarely venture into greater Melbourne and/or East Keilor, but I did once last year. I did not see either Kickett or Somerville, but I did see a retired barber who cut my hair in the 1970s. Not sure if he knows who Somerville and Kickett are, but I doubt it.

Went into the Gardenvale TAB some years ago to put money in the phone account. Leigh Montagna was there trying his luck on the cartoon horses.

Saw Orazio Fantasia picking up a takeaway order from Ballaboosta on Hutt St. He went back to his car soon after I came in, then shortly after he came back in because they forgot part of his order.

It came in a very large bag too, some communal lunch for the boys I assume.

Many years ago, I saw both Peter Somerville and Derek Kickett at Milleara Mall (East Keilor) on separate occasions, while they were still playing at Essendon (shopping centre was relatively new back then). Living outside Ballarat these days, I rarely venture into greater Melbourne and/or East Keilor, but I did once last year. I did not see either Kickett or Somerville, but I did see a retired barber who cut my hair in the 1970s. Not sure if he knows who Somerville and Kickett are, but I doubt it.
Even though woolies has taken over, it’ll always be rainbow to me

banned ban GIF

My grandmother had brunch with Jeremy Howe a few years back, she and a friend were visiting the friends grandchildren and Howe came along with the grandchildren. She got an autograph for my 2 cousins (who would have to have been less than 10), apparently very polite but also embarrassed at the autographs. My grandmother said "Jeremy Lowe who plays for the AFL is a lovely man".

One night out in Geelong circa 2016 in Maccas at around 2am David Wojcinski told me I look like a guy who listens to country music. I don't.

I did my physio degree with former Richmond reserves ruckman Pat Steinfort. But just you wait. That's not even the boring part.

One night a few of us students had a night out at a bar.

Halfway through the night, former Richmond 48 game player Mark Dragacevic turned up, having been invited by big Patty.

He sat talking quietly next to Steinfort.

At some point, the girl in our group who was probably the best looking, and certainly the most confident, sat next to Dragacevic and engaged him in conversation. I look on from across the room. He seemed quite polite. They chatted for a while. I wondered if something would come of it, but they didn't appear to exchange numbers and she never mentioned him again, and he never came out with us again. He was delisted a few months later.

This is a borderline one, as I flatter myself that it might possibly cross the line into being mildly amusing.

As I mentioned in the post above, I did my physiotherapy degree in the same cohort as former Richmond VFL captain and ruckman, Pat Steinfort (brother of Carl).

He and I were on a clinical placement together, at Maroondah hospital. He told me had the Jack Dyer medal, or something similar, on one night. When I got to the physio department the next morning at 0800am, my supervisor checked the messages on the department answering machine. A message had been left by Patty at 4am, with thumping dance music and people yelling in the background. In the message he said he had a sore throat and wouldn't be able to come in that day. He sounded like he was having a pretty good time. As the message finished my supervisor said 'Yeah, I bet you do Pat! From drinking too much!' She was pretty sharp like that.

Was getting some stuff for dinner this afternoon from Woolworths North Melbourne.

I was at the deli getting some ham ( triple smoked ) once I finished my interaction with a teenager who didn't want to be anywhere else but there I turned around and continued off.

As I continued my shop I then spotted North Melbourne hard man Jed Anderson looking at the hot roast chickens. I can't confirm his vaccination status but I can confirm that he did not select the Woolworths branded roast cook.

I can also confirm that Jed went through the self serve registers and choosing not to wait in the long express line.

About a month ago now, I finished up at a job and went for a pint. I only went in to grab some papers and chuck them in an old box with my plant hanging out the top, so it was only about 11.30am at this point.

if you've ever worked an email job or done some other meaningless shit in an office in the Perth CBD, you'll know this pub. it's downstairs just off a mall with not a slither of natural light and not a slice of human dignity. you see dwarves, guys in worse nick than Stephen Hawking, all sorts in there.

anyway when I walked in, I went past a guy sitting by himself scrolling through his phone with his headphones in and half a pint to his side. I didn't even really think too much, didn't really think this average bloke in average office clothes looked that much like him, but I had this weird thought of 'imagine if that was Ryan Crowley.'

about fifteen minutes later I look up at the bar and '****ing hell, in's walked Ryan Crowley!'

I watched him get his super dry and walk back to his booth. the whole time it was Ryan Crowley.

I had my two unemployment beers and was out of there by ten to 1. he was still there when I left. was sorting out a phone bill.

Was getting some stuff for dinner this afternoon from Woolworths North Melbourne.

I was at the deli getting some ham ( triple smoked ) once I finished my interaction with a teenager who didn't want to be anywhere else but there I turned around and continued off.

As I continued my shop I then spotted North Melbourne hard man Jed Anderson looking at the hot roast chickens. I can't confirm his vaccination status but I can confirm that he did not select the Woolworths branded roast cook.

I can also confirm that Jed went through the self serve registers and choosing not to wait in the long express line.

Tell him next time thanks for being jab hesitant, team is going well in his absence.

I saw Brent Staker outside the MCG of the Carlton vs Hawthorn game on Sunday near the Shane Warne statute.

He was not wearing a hat, but did have a black Kathmandu puffer jacket. He was with a friend and I overheard them trying to figure out which direction gate 2 was.

I avoided eye contact with Staker and did not say anything to him either.

It was very unremarkable

I saw Brent Staker outside the MCG of the Carlton vs Hawthorn game on Sunday near the Shane Warne statute.

He was not wearing a hat, but did have a black Kathmandu puffer jacket. He was with a friend and I overheard them trying to figure out which direction gate 2 was.

I avoided eye contact with Staker and did not say anything to him either.

It was very unremarkable
Of course he had one of those jackets. The second it's below 18 degrees everyman and his dog has them on.

Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.