Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

Huge few weeks for my local Woolies

• Mick Mcgaune looking intently at frozen goods , looks like the 'summer mix' won the day . No Hat and Phil Collins
  • Lance Picione leaving store, nearly cleaned up by VW bug reversing out of car spot . Loaf of bread but could see the type , brand of wether it was a full or half loaf . Was wearing hat , couldnt get the brand of hat though.
  • Mark Harvey, selected traditional basket rather than the wheeled option . So got instant respect for that choice .
No other info as I was leaving . Was hatless though

I went to watch my Pies play the 2012 prelim against the Swans at Homebush. We stayed at the hotel next to the ground.

We were in the hotel lift prior to the game, going up.

The lift stopped, doors opened, and there’s Jarrad McVeigh and about 20 Swans players waiting to get in. They’d been having some pre game team meeting in one of the conference rooms.

Jarrad McVeigh goes ‘we’re going down’. I say ‘sorry, we’re going up’. We exchanged polite nods and the doors closed.

I smirked and said to my brother that Jarrad McVeigh just told us they’re going down tonight.

Anyway, the Swans won that night, and the gf the next week, so the joke was on me in the end.

This happened a few years back but was walking outside Central Park shopping centre in Sydney carrying a box of donuts. Saw a tall guy with some chick approaching checking out my donuts. We then looked at each other for half a second and in that moment realised it was Buddy Franklin and Jesinta.

Could have said hi and offered a donut but I froze and kept walking :'(

Pre-season this year, I was on Swan St, East Richmond, waiting for a tram when Max Gawn walked towards me. He had a water bottle in one hand & a roll pinned to his body on the other arm, near the elbow. As he walked along he allowed the roll to drop to his hand & caught the roll, never breaking stride, & also never laying eyes on yours truly. He walked across the road, not at the lights & got into a car. (big, ute style thing - sorry, not a car guy)

Swan St East Richmond, the same spot i saw that Human meatball fella, as Brian Taylor calls him.
Was trying to get away from a nuff nuff who wanted to talk footy with him, locked eyes on me for a moment, and we went our separate ways.

Was at a 2017 family Xmas party at a bowls club. Trying to wrangle my kids as we walk past David Wirrpanda. I over heard him turn to his friend and say "yeah the Eagles will be crap next year"

I saw Brent Staker outside the MCG of the Carlton vs Hawthorn game on Sunday near the Shane Warne statute.

He was not wearing a hat, but did have a black Kathmandu puffer jacket. He was with a friend and I overheard them trying to figure out which direction gate 2 was.

I avoided eye contact with Staker and did not say anything to him either.

It was very unremarkable

Having seen him play in the 2005 GF, it does not surprise me that Staker has no idea how to navigate the MCG.

Had lunch at the Panton Hill hotel a couple of weeks ago. Campbell Brown was there with his family. He had the lamb share plate with his wife. I also had the lamb but shared it with my Dad. It was yummy. The AFLW semis were on TV but Browny didn't seem to give a shit about it.

Saw Garry Lyon on an escalator outside Malvern Woolworths. He was carrying two bags of groceries and looked tired.
All that jumping over back fences will do that to you. He's not a young man any more.

When I worked my first job at KFC back when I was 15 I served a heap of Richmond players after a pre season game. They all ordered twisters from memory. Would have been around 2005

I served a bunch of the Brisbane Lions players at Woolworths Launceston. I think they were down for a preseason camp or something.

Daniel Rich and some others were pretty annoyed that you had to pay for plastic bags in Tasmania, when it wasn't as widespread in Australia. I also remember thinking, "wow, that's Matt Eagles from The Recruit"

I served a bunch of the Brisbane Lions players at Woolworths Launceston. I think they were down for a preseason camp or something.

Daniel Rich and some others were pretty annoyed that you had to pay for plastic bags in Tasmania, when it wasn't as widespread in Australia. I also remember thinking, "wow, that's Matt Eagles from The Recruit"
There has always been a joke amongst Lions players that Richy is tight with his $$

Bigger than most players...

Few years ago, on the train with a mate headed to Marvel for Saints vs Essendon

Flinders Street station, a tall guy in a long jacket stepped onto the train.

Gil McLachlan!

He sat down right near us, before exchanging banter with a few young boys for the short ride to Southern Cross. Stood behind us up the escalator, before walking coolly off towards the ground through the crowd.

On one hand, not random seeing Gil at the footy. But I was impressed with him being a man of the people. I guess, I just assume he'd have a special carpark and some exclusive back route direct to the corporate boxes. Or a chauffeur from his afternoon meeting to the ground. Seeing him stepping onto the train, on his own, like the rest of us plebs, was odd. Good on him.

Easter Sat 2022, just done 2 hrs kayaking on the Yarra to see Dight's Falls...prolly the most boring falls you could see, the Falls is on the other side of the perfectly straight line of water next to the lookout

Dight's Falls.jpg

even more boring, on the way home, stopped at red light Hoddle St and I think Johnson st...Joe Daniher jogged by infront of the car.

Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.