Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

Saw Rocket Eade and Pigeon McGrath this morning in the space of a minute.

Two for!
I think we might have to vote this out as too exciting.

Was walking the pooch around Marvel the other week & on the way back walked past Southern Cross Station. I saw Tony Jones had just passed through the turnstiles & I had been wanting to catch him in that general area again
(I live near there & he mostly works near there and a couple of years ago we had a friendly chat & he remarked at how brave I was walking my toy poodle at a Collingwood game, to which I replied I didn't understand how he could be Collingwood, because of his teeth. It wasn't a Chompers gibe, but a Collingwood one, but he & his crew kind of shut me down, in a very non-aggressive way, so I look forward to one day apologising to him, not that he would remember me, but because I should)
Anyway, short story long, so sorry.
I saw a longer haired dude walking towards the turnstile & Tony asked him something along the line of "do you have your senior's card?" I realised the longer haired dude was Kevin Sheedy, & they seemed to be happy to see each other.
It wasn't the time for me to speak to TJ.

A few years ago I saw a long-haired dude in a suit look lost on Spencer St, so I said something along the lines of, "Are you OK mate, you look lost?, to which Sheeds said something along the lines of. "Thanks, I'm OK"

Was walking the pooch around Marvel the other week & on the way back walked past Southern Cross Station. I saw Tony Jones had just passed through the turnstiles & I had been wanting to catch him in that general area again
(I live near there & he mostly works near there and a couple of years ago we had a friendly chat & he remarked at how brave I was walking my toy poodle at a Collingwood game, to which I replied I didn't understand how he could be Collingwood, because of his teeth. It wasn't a Chompers gibe, but a Collingwood one, but he & his crew kind of shut me down, in a very non-aggressive way, so I look forward to one day apologising to him, not that he would remember me, but because I should)
Anyway, short story long, so sorry.
I saw a longer haired dude walking towards the turnstile & Tony asked him something along the line of "do you have your senior's card?" I realised the longer haired dude was Kevin Sheedy, & they seemed to be happy to see each other.
It wasn't the time for me to speak to TJ.

A few years ago I saw a long-haired dude in a suit look lost on Spencer St, so I said something along the lines of, "Are you OK mate, you look lost?, to which Sheeds said something along the lines of. "Thanks, I'm OK"
Wow you’ve had three encounters that allow you to seamlessly transition from beginning to end in your story.

Richard Champion doing his Jimmy Barnes and Bruce Springsteen songs at a Brisbane RSL venue last night.
Is in incredibly good shape.

Most boring? In the early 1990s I was delivering product to Myers in Southland and saw David Grant (Saints and Pies player, nice bloke too) and half a dozen Footscray players (Libba, Kolyniuk, a few more, not Chris Grant) in the food court between player appearance gigs. They were not displaying job satisfaction.

My bro knew them from his business and they discussed doing an appearance, not sure it happened.

Most boring? In the early 1990s I was delivering product to Myers in Southland and saw David Grant (Saints and Pies player, nice bloke too) and half a dozen Footscray players (Libba, Kolyniuk, a few more, not Chris Grant) in the food court between player appearance gigs. They were not displaying job satisfaction.

My bro knew them from his business and they discussed doing an appearance, not sure it happened.
They could make that one into a movie mate.

Don't think David Grant ever played for the Pies. Stkilda and one season at Melbourne

Thanks for the correction. Clearly old age getting the better of me.

One of my favorite Saints players (along with Dunstall and Carey).

Last month on one of the draft days, I was walking to Southern Cross train station, on my way to work in the morning, maybe around 7:25am, and I was on Bourke St waiting for the Spencer St lights to change.
I noticed a trim fella in a suit next to me & paid him no mind, but as we crossed Spencer St I thought I recognised him.
Fit guy walked up the 3 flights of stairs as I took the chance for a delightful double calf stretch on the long escalator.
Looking across at the dude, I realised it was former Freo & Giants player, & current AFL commissioner, Matt De Boer.
We reached the top of the escalator & stairs at the same time.
Both of us were wearing ear pods, I was listening to Post Malone, not sure of his tunes, but I took a Dockers stubby holder out of my Kathmandu jacket & let out an "Oi".
Matt looked across & we both smiled, he also gave a thumbs up & we continued on our way, with neither of us breaking stride.
That was it.

Last month on one of the draft days, I was walking to Southern Cross train station, on my way to work in the morning, maybe around 7:25am, and I was on Bourke St waiting for the Spencer St lights to change.
I noticed a trim fella in a suit next to me & paid him no mind, but as we crossed Spencer St I thought I recognised him.
Fit guy walked up the 3 flights of stairs as I took the chance for a delightful double calf stretch on the long escalator.
Looking across at the dude, I realised it was former Freo & Giants player, & current AFL commissioner, Matt De Boer.
We reached the top of the escalator & stairs at the same time.
Both of us were wearing ear pods, I was listening to Post Malone, not sure of his tunes, but I took a Dockers stubby holder out of my Kathmandu jacket & let out an "Oi".
Matt looked across & we both smiled, he also gave a thumbs up & we continued on our way, with neither of us breaking stride.
That was it.
err.... you carry a dockers stubby holder around in your jacket?
ok.

err.... you carry a dockers stubby holder around in your jacket?
ok.
yep, & gloves in the other pocket.
bloody handy
Actually, lots of Vics are surprised by the stubby holder, & don't just mean the Freo part.
They seem to associate them only with booze, but maybe it's a WA thing that we use them for any cold drink.

I saw Rohan Connelly at the lights the other day. Hes driving some almost classic Holden sedan from the early 2000s. Gave him an enthusiastic thumbs up and I saw him lock his doors and quickly check the windows were up.

Also think I saw Bailey Smith this week too. Think he drives a black Toyota Hilux - pretty new one.

Saw a Selwood that isn't of the Joel variety at a cafe in Geelong the other day. He seems to like his eggs poached.

Not sure if that narrows it down. Any Selwood experts in the house?

yep, & gloves in the other pocket.
bloody handy
Actually, lots of Vics are surprised by the stubby holder, & don't just mean the Freo part.
They seem to associate them only with booze, but maybe it's a WA thing that we use them for any cold drink.
yeah definitely new to me. associated carrying around a stubby older with being an alcho but there you go I've learnt something new today mate. :)

I saw Rohan Connelly at the lights the other day. Hes driving some almost classic Holden sedan from the early 2000s. Gave him an enthusiastic thumbs up and I saw him lock his doors and quickly check the windows were up.

Also think I saw Bailey Smith this week too. Think he drives a black Toyota Hilux - pretty new one.
RohanConnolly poor bloke just saying hello and you've given him the car jacker treatment. :laughing:

Saw Ben Cousins and Ryan Crowley at the races a couple of Saturdays back. They were both dressed very nicely in suits (no ties)

A bit later they removed their jackets because it was hot.

It was uneventful....and my horses lost.

Got lunch (just across Fox Footy) and saw Dipper inside, was just gonna post the shopfront but then he came out for air...so, btw he ordered a latte
i will bore down me own post abit...he was on the blower going: "he's paying 40 - 45K.....rhubarb rhubarb rhubarb....I'm going to channel 9!"...(prolly to see Caro)

Saw Ben Cousins and Ryan Crowley at the races a couple of Saturdays back. They were both dressed very nicely in suits (no ties)

A bit later they removed their jackets because it was hot.

It was uneventful....and my horses lost.
Was Crowley tagging Cous or just there as a companion?

RohanConnolly poor bloke just saying hello and you've given him the car jacker treatment. :laughing:

Haha, not at all! Mate I drive a beaten-up 2013 Commodore, I'd be more likely to have to pay someone to take it off my hands!! Hey WillHayward, was that on Burke Rd a few days ago? Hope I didn't come across as rude, might have been distracted by whatever head-banging bull$#%& was on Spotify at the time! ;)

Cheers,
Rohan

Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.