Most Heartbreaking Loss

I remember as a kid listening to the 1st Semi Final between Geelong and Richmond in 1969.

Geelong kicked the first goal through Doug Wade and all looked good. Then Richmond began to kick goals. And more goals. And more goals.

I remember sitting in the lounge room of our home and howling my eyes out.

First Semi-Final 1969

Geelong 2.1 2.4 3.6 7.7 (49)
Richmond 8.3 14.7 20.11 25.17 (167)
Attendance: 101,233

Since that event, when ever Geelong belt Richmond by 100 points + I feel absolutely no compassion for them.

2008 Grand final v the Dorks, the 1992 Grand final vs the Wet Toast and 05 final v Sydney are all bad but the answer would have to be 1997 vs Adelaide - we still don't talk about that one. My blood boils very time. just thinking about it now, the anger is rising. We Was ROBBED!! and robbed so badly.:mad::mad::mad::mad:

the trouble with that though, for me, was that it happened earlier on the same night that my now wife and I moved from mere friends to dating so we date our relationship as beginning on that night. I get into trouble anytime anyone askes me what the worst night of my life was because if I say the night of the 97 final against Adelaide she hits me.

and of course, anytime someone askes "how long have you two been together?" I'm reminded of the game and forced to think about it and relive it. The other losses I have simply put out of my head and never have to think about.

1997 vs Adelaide - we still don't talk about that one. My blood boils very time. just thinking about it now, the anger is rising. We Was ROBBED!! and robbed so badly.:mad::mad::mad::mad:

This is still it for me. The others we lost or were out played whatever. This was an injustice.

I can remember a few away games in Melbourne in 1979 which i went to -they were all shockers

Fitzroy (who were a decent side then) at the Junction oval -it was actually Peter Featherbys 1st game for the club. About a 12 goal loss -did not give a yelp all day . Can remember Malarkey kicking a torp in from fullback -straight off the side of the boot -straight to Max Richardson for another Fitzroy goal

Went to the Essendon game at Windy HILL -Essendon were no great shakes back then -half time we were about a goal behind -but the writing was on the wall -and the avalanche came -and there was no resistance at all . Max Crow looked like a champion that day

And the worst one was our old foe -the Hawks at Princess Park-time on in the 2nd QTR -the Hawks had 10 or 11 goals on the board and we were goal less and then Bryan Cousins (god bless him) Bens father kicked our only goal for the half

But thats probably why any Cats supporter gets tremendous joy from these 3 flags -because unlike the players who represented the club in the 70s 80s 90s these guys dont capitulate and toss it in when things get tough -they actually relish the situation-the more pressure -the better they go

Take your pick:

[youtube]MIQmS-hOLAM[/youtube]

[youtube]fyqmI01aAns&feature=related[/youtube]

[youtube]rKpKamb-QVU[/youtube]

[youtube]KUeZcy_byws[/youtube]

Without a shadow of a doubt - the 2008 GF loss.

Gutted for years - just getting over it now with the 2011 GF win.

Without the 2011 Premiership - not sure I would have ever got over it. It would have been there waiting to resurface on another ugly day of footy.

I read somewhere a while back that Cam Mooney kicked a ripper goal that day - and sure enough did a search on youtube and found him slotting a beauty from the boundary line in the 1st quarter I think.

I was sitting directly behind that kick, and thought afterwards that it was going to be his and Geelong's day.

My bad.

1992 Grand Final.

Our best chance of the 4 to win one from that era (by far).

Absolutely hated the Eagles, and it was just so depressing watching them wear us down in the second half.

Also still spewing at the absurd amount of concessions the Eagles were allowed to build their team in the first place. It was simply unfair.

All of the GF losses burn but the circumstances of 1995 and 2008 really hurt.

1995 - AFL Member , went with a close Cats mate - got there early and sprinted to front row,wing second level.
Fantastic spot , pretty much knew we were gone after 5 minutes - absolutely gutted for the whole day :thumbsdown:

2008 - Skiing in NZ , front row seats in front of an open fire at a Pub in Queenstown , huge anticipation - saw us play non Cats footy and the Hawks rush through a gazillion behinds , the Mooney misses and Dew and Rioli ripping us new ones....scarred for life :(

The only thing stopping the 2013 and 2024 prelims being quite as heart breaking (they still absolutely were) was that we had a premiership from 2 years earlier in each instance. But we were ahead for significant parts of those games and with a few minutes left it looked like we could still win it.

Luckily some of the classics in recent games around them - 2007 PF, 2009 GF and 2022 QF - can still be savoured as a buffer of sorts.

But it'll always sting when you just barely miss out on a chance to play in a grand final. You can't help but feel what a missed opportunity it was. And they are still pretty high up there due to recency bias.

I can remember a few away games in Melbourne in 1979 which i went to -they were all shockers

Fitzroy (who were a decent side then) at the Junction oval -it was actually Peter Featherbys 1st game for the club. About a 12 goal loss -did not give a yelp all day . Can remember Malarkey kicking a torp in from fullback -straight off the side of the boot -straight to Max Richardson for another Fitzroy goal

Went to the Essendon game at Windy HILL -Essendon were no great shakes back then -half time we were about a goal behind -but the writing was on the wall -and the avalanche came -and there was no resistance at all . Max Crow looked like a champion that day

And the worst one was our old foe -the Hawks at Princess Park-time on in the 2nd QTR -the Hawks had 10 or 11 goals on the board and we were goal less and then Bryan Cousins (god bless him) Bens father kicked our only goal for the half

But thats probably why any Cats supporter gets tremendous joy from these 3 flags -because unlike the players who represented the club in the 70s 80s 90s these guys dont capitulate and toss it in when things get tough -they actually relish the situation-the more pressure -the better they go
You've given the cold shakes ..I went to the Junction Oval game - we'd knocked over the Tigers the week before and big Larry had jagged 8 on Francis Bourke - in this game I think he had 3 touches for no goals.

Still remember the corrugated iron fence entrance at the Fitzroy Street end.

I was at the Princes Park game as well - just as diabolical to watch.

I'm pretty sure we had to beat the Bombers to make the five - maybe Round 20 or 21.

Great times!

Most Heartbreaking Loss