Moty/goty announced!

Mcphee should have got goty by so far that it's a disgrace.
Your kidding arnt you.Mcphees was a good goal but it was a simple banana kick that was executed well and there were plenty of those type of goals this year.I remember Eddie Betts kicked 2 banana goals this season as well on his non preferred side that was just as good but goals like Davis goal are goals you dont see too often and not only require skill but persiverance for wanting the ball with 2nd and 3rd efforts.Brent Harvey would have been a worthy winner as well

Mark of the Year should be judged on pure air time. That way at least one of the mark's attributes could be quantified objectively. It wouldn't be that hard to work out either - just count the number of video frames from when the feet leave the ground to when the feet/body touch the ground again. This would encourage players to sit on top of opposition shoulders for longer!

Which begs the question - just off the top of your head, who took the biggest hanger this year in air-time? Was it Lloyd? Genuine question.

Your kidding arnt you.Mcphees was a good goal but it was a simple banana kick that was executed well and there were plenty of those type of goals this year.I remember Eddie Betts kicked 2 banana goals this season as well on his non preferred side that was just as good but goals like Davis goal are goals you dont see too often and not only require skill but persiverance for wanting the ball with 2nd and 3rd efforts.Brent Harvey would have been a worthy winner as well
Mcphees goal was not a blind shot at goal, he planned it. Sure he probably wont get it again but his every intent was the goal, under immense pressure his skills shined through.

That was easily goal of the year.

Not really. Davis' was better than Rioli's, and by a decent margin, but I reckon Motlops was the best, and McPhee would be on a par with Davis, but they are all top shelf and all different.

I'm impartial but I would have gone with Rioli's. It was a year for great goals, but I don't think I would have chosen Davis personally

Declared as he took it by the commentators as mark of the year.

Bit hard to complain about that for a mark, it was a rippa.

[youtube]Zzwci0M5mmQ[/youtube]
Yeah because the commentators dont call any speccy or decent grab "Mark of the year", yup I always trust the commentators for a fair and unbiased view of the games they are showing........

Waiting for a bit more "Damn good grab but I saw better on <insert other station> last weekend", that statements on a level with thinking Commetti has a clue :D:rolleyes:

I thought that McPhee deserved GOTY before I saw the set up of Davis's goal.

McPhee's actual goal was more impressive, but as far as I know one of the main criteria for judging GOTY is the set up, and Davis's set up of that goal was awesome.

Declared as he took it by the commentators as mark of the year.

Bit hard to complain about that for a mark, it was a rippa.

[YOUTUBE]Zzwci0M5mmQ[/YOUTUBE]

thing i noticed on that tape is it looks even better from the first angle which i hadn't seen before.

I think they got it right on both accounts. ML mark was a fair dinkum pack screamer and the Davis goal is made even better by his chasing in the lead up and then how he got the ball.

Good decisions all round :thumbsu:

have a look at where he was at the point of him grabbing it - a good mark but one that was probably taken a dozen times every year. What made it stand out was the way he fell. That made it look spectacular.

Be honest.

agreed.. Good mark, but not MOTY material. Seems the judges love Lloyd.

Wasn't all that high in the air.

Nick Gills mark was far better (coming from a port supporter)

Lloyds was miles ahead of the rest in the MOTY comp but riolis was surely better than davis's goal. even as a proud pies man i could see that was a better goal.

I think Boomer Harvey should have won goal of the year but Like other posters have said its about time Neon Leon had a win.

Lloyds should have won but did anyone notice he didn't actually get that high. That said it was a big pack mark and a worthy winner.

The finishing skills required from Leon weren't nearly as difficult as McPhee's, (still a right foot kick from the right boundary from 45m on the run), but the leadup was what won it. Chase, tackle, smother, tackle, clever tap to advantage, one hand pick up, strug, blind turn - it was a 25 second string of 1%s, followed by a perfect finish.

I can agree with both. As much as I hate Lloyd, it was a good mark.

Leon's goal was phenomenal. It may not have looked as spectacular as Rioli's or say Osborne's. but the effort it took, from where it was kicked and the pressure of the situation make it a winner.

r18-gsp-09.jpg

Lloyd's mark was a ripper, but to those Essendon fans claiming it was wet: BULLSHIT.
Looks like it's absolutely pissing down in that photo hey!

Lloyd's mark is more spectacular only because he fell on top of a large pack of players, delaying his ride. Gill's was a one grab mark over his head in atrocious conditions. A far more skilled mark, but perhaps not quite as spectacular because he didn't fall as slowly.
In the end, both would have been worthy winners in my eyes. Would have preferred Gill's not so much because he's a crow but more from the memory of Lloyd's disgraceful goal of the year last season.

IMO Aaron Davey should get MOTY because of the sheer difficulty of a bloke of his size to take a hanger on a big bloke like Richo. Ah well, guess there has to be something that the AFL chop out to Essendon.

ROFL....bit insecure are we?

Davey's mark was decent but there is no way in hell that it was MOTY.

Moty/goty announced!