Official Team Thread Mount Buller Demons | Season 31 Team Thread | So We’re Champions 🤗

I've been woken up for this shit.

Is it a year already? Oh... six months? I don't really follow this stuff much anymore, because I've given Callums_Guns all of my team sheet selection tips and coaching tactics.

Anyway, I s’pose you want me to present my Coaches award yeah?

Alright. I’ve gotta go have a poo and find my glasses. Be right back.

These things don’t get any easier as you get older – let me tell you. Something I used to enjoy – a good poo – just becomes HARD.

Anyway; the Coaches award. I usually give this to people who don’t give me the shits as much as others, but this year I tried to find someone who I reckon could fill my role as spiritual coach one day.

I’m not getting any younger. In fact, the nurse told me that I’m very likely getting older, which I reckon is bullshit.

So I’ve scoured the list to find someone that’s got a bit of Dick in them. So to speak.

I’ve found someone who I saw bravely fighting rabid opposition. It was a match thread against some shit team – the Bears maybe. This guy was the only one of you mob that rocked up. He typed his little fingers off and defended our dungheap with a grin. I think the rest of you might have been being insular or something

I hear he also takes his bumps with a grin (may be a drug reference).

Thanks for channeling the spirit of Mt. Buller moginie and well done on showing this bunch of orchids what it’s all about.

Now; where did my glasses go? Oh shit…

R01.png

To win an Eth award at Mt. Buller is one of the highest privileges a Qooty player can attain.

It shows that those around you have valued your contribution to the club; that others have noticed and appreciated your presence and how you bring our club to life.

For those who are new around here, the Eth Award is named after one of the greatest captains, players and teammates of this great club. Introduced a number of seasons ago, the Eth Award is voted on by players and is an accolade to be incredibly proud of.

Past winners of this award include Tarks, Van_Dyke, Callums_Guns, myself, Oddhawk and Yakker.

Once again, voting for this year’s award was done individually by PM. This season we had a really strong spread of votes across a number of posters - new and old, which again highlights just how many great contributors we have in our squad.

Now - to say that it's an honour to win this award once would be an understatement, but to win it twice is taking it to a whole new level.

To win it twice IN A ROW? Well, that would suggest that you are incredibly highly valued and provide a strength of leadership and engagement by just being you. It would imply that you are a current-day rock around which this club is built (figuratively, of course, because I'm not sure I've ever seen a literal rock post in a text-based online forum).

Of course, the winner of the Eth Award for Season 31 - A PREMIERSHIP SEASON - is none other than Headless .

Congratulations!

Written by me - Headless.

ROUND 1 (19).png

Round 9 - everybody's favourite round EVERY SINGLE SEASON - saw us travel to The Eyrie to play the Hawks.

Mozzie19 did an opening post that featured a cropped image of manangatang and Yakker, and, whilst I didn't really understand the references made in the post, I gave it a like. Perhaps you should, too! Agent93 gave it a dislike, so I'm not really sure what the go is there. Perhaps there's DRAMA.

Screen Shot 2021-07-21 at 4.32.49 pm.png

These posts, though, suggest that perhaps the threads went up a TOUCH early. Just a touch - nothing more, nothing less.

The game was an absolute thriller... FOR DEMONS FANATICS! Ha ha! That's funny, because the game wasn't really close at all; we defeated the Hawks by 68 points, and never looked threatened. Azarole and Proper Gander both kicked four goals.

Most prolific posters: Azarole (61), manangatang (46), cooney (44), Tarkyn_24 (39), Callums_Guns (38)

Highest DT scorers: pantskyle (120), manangatang (112), Tarkyn_24 (109)

Round 9 Deestroy votes:

3 votes: DemonJim - 31 disposals, 6 marks, 3 tackles, 1 goal
2 votes: pantskyle - 27 disposals, 14 tackles, 1 goal
1 vote: Tarkyn_24 - 30 disposals, 12 hitouts, 5 tackles

POTW.png

Azarole took out the Poster of the Week award for this round.

ROUND 1 (21).png

Round 10? Already?! Well, yes! And we had the pleasure of hosting The Coney Island Warriors at home.

That's our home, for clarity - NOT their home.

And we had such a wonderful time with the Warriors - most prominently our dear friends DockerDen5215, Tonga Bob, NaturalDisaster, and TheInjuryFactory. Just simply wonderful.

DemonJim didn't seem happy about the result:

Screen Shot 2021-07-21 at 4.44.21 pm.png

And for GOOD REASON because, despite registering 111 points of our own, we lost by 22 points. Sad.

Most prolific posters: manangatang (44), Callums_Guns (42), Proper Gander (40), cooney (36), Azarole (33)

Highest DT scorers: pantskyle (110), moginie (91), Callums_Guns (89)

Round 10 Deestroy votes:

3 votes: pantskyle - 24 disposals, 3 tackles, 5 goals, 2 behinds
2 votes: Callums_Guns - 28 disposals, 3 marks, 2 tackles
1 vote: boncer34 - 20 disposals, 6 marks

POTW.png

Azarole took out the Poster of the Week award for this round.

ROUND 1 (22).png

Things that rhyme with Swamprats:
  • cats
  • hats
  • slats
  • expats
  • we nailed this game against the Swamprats at Underground Stadium, registering a 42-point victory... bats

On field, DERO, boncer34, and Heardy_101 kicked 12 goals between them. For context, the Swamprats kicked nine in total.

Off field, Demon-at-heart philreich was most prominent for the Rats, in what proved to be a relatively quiet (by Season 32 standards) match thread. But that didn't phase cooney - nothing ever does:

Screen Shot 2021-07-21 at 4.56.09 pm.png

Most prolific posters: sausageroll (29), manangatang (28), cooney (28), Azarole (23), DemonJim (16)

Highest DT scorers: DERO (93), Tarkyn_24 (91), pantskyle (72)

DONUTS: Proper Gander

Round 11 Deestroy votes:

3 votes: DERO - 15 disposals, 5 marks, 2 tackles, 5 goals
2 votes: Tarkyn_24 - 22 disposals, 15 hitouts, 2 tackles, 1 goal
1 vote: DemonJim - 23 disposals, 2 marks

POTW.png

pantskyle took out the Poster of the Week award for this round.

View attachment 1191551

To win an Eth award at Mt. Buller is one of the highest privileges a Qooty player can attain.

It shows that those around you have valued your contribution to the club; that others have noticed and appreciated your presence and how you bring our club to life.

For those who are new around here, the Eth Award is named after one of the greatest captains, players and teammates of this great club. Introduced a number of seasons ago, the Eth Award is voted on by players and is an accolade to be incredibly proud of.

Past winners of this award include Tarks, Van_Dyke, Callums_Guns, myself, Oddhawk and Yakker.

Once again, voting for this year’s award was done individually by PM. This season we had a really strong spread of votes across a number of posters - new and old, which again highlights just how many great contributors we have in our squad.

Now - to say that it's an honour to win this award once would be an understatement, but to win it twice is taking it to a whole new level.

To win it twice IN A ROW? Well, that would suggest that you are incredibly highly valued and provide a strength of leadership and engagement by just being you. It would imply that you are a current-day rock around which this club is built (figuratively, of course, because I'm not sure I've ever seen a literal rock post in a text-based online forum).

Of course, the winner of the Eth Award for Season 31 - A PREMIERSHIP SEASON - is none other than Headless .

Congratulations!

1627643775853.gif

Eth Award

Oh the memories Headless, what a season.

Thank you for the clutch goals off the pine and the mark of the century but more importantly thank you for being our friend 🤗

ROUND 1 (23).png

The Wonders? Again? In Round 12? After playing them in Round 6? Even though there are 12 teams in the competition? YES.

Why? You'd have to ask our dear friend NaturalDisaster. 🤗

But we played our BIGGEST EVER RIVALS at home this time, and boy oh boy wowee - what a result! Unfortunately the result was BAD for us, as we lost by four points. And I'm sure we're all still hurting as a result.

BIG TIME.

Van_Dyke posted a bloody ripper of a post early, though:

Screen Shot 2021-07-21 at 5.03.52 pm.png

Most prolific posters: Callums_Guns (53), DemonJim (40), cooney (37), sausageroll (25), moginie (20)

Highest DT scorers: boncer34 (69), manangatang (67), moginie (66)

DONUTS: Headless, _Cayz_ 🥳

Round 12 Deestroy votes:

3 votes: Yakker - 18 disposals, 4 marks
2 votes: pantskyle - 21 disposals, 4 tackles
1 vote: DemonJim - 18 disposals, 4 marks, 1 goal

POTW.png

sausageroll took out the Poster of the Week award for this round.

These things don’t get any easier as you get older – let me tell you. Something I used to enjoy – a good poo – just becomes HARD.

Anyway; the Coaches award. I usually give this to people who don’t give me the shits as much as others, but this year I tried to find someone who I reckon could fill my role as spiritual coach one day.

I’m not getting any younger. In fact, the nurse told me that I’m very likely getting older, which I reckon is bullshit.

So I’ve scoured the list to find someone that’s got a bit of Dick in them. So to speak.

I’ve found someone who I saw bravely fighting rabid opposition. It was a match thread against some sh*t team – the Bears maybe. This guy was the only one of you mob that rocked up. He typed his little fingers off and defended our dungheap with a grin. I think the rest of you might have been being insular or something

I hear he also takes his bumps with a grin (may be a drug reference).

Thanks for channeling the spirit of Mt. Buller moginie and well done on showing this bunch of orchids what it’s all about.

Now; where did my glasses go? Oh sh*t…
Thank you!

This is a freaking great team to be a part of.

I'll swagger up to the bar now and order a celebratory pint of pale ale.

Now 12 rounds in, let's take a little bit of a cheeky squiz at the leaderboard as it stands.

Not physically, of course - it doesn't really stand at all.

Or does it?

No, it doesn't.

View attachment 1191573

DemonJim leads all Demons with 11 votes, 2 votes clear of pantskyle. Tarkyn_24, Proper Gander, Callums_Guns, moginie, DERO, and sausageroll (not displayed) are still within striking distance.
The sausagerolls aren’t on display? Worst business ever

Written by our dear friend Proper Gander.

All SFA.png

Strong performances throughout the year put us in a good position to achieve All-SFA recognition for some of our players.

Congratulations to sausageroll named on the Half Forward Flank, and to Proper Gander named in the Forward Pocket.

To everyone else, you were truly robbed and should probably make loud noises if you haven't already.

Thank you!

To have curried favour with Richard is no mean feat

Thank you!

Get on the discord mate, we’re talking you up

Written by our dear friend Proper Gander.

View attachment 1191575

Strong performances throughout the year put us in a good position to achieve All-SFA recognition for some of our players.

Congratulations to sausageroll named on the Half Forward Flank, and to Proper Gander named in the Forward Pocket.

To everyone else, you were truly robbed and should probably make loud noises if you haven't already.
No manangatang in the All SFA team. Worst business ever

Written by Proper Gander.

R13.png

So we meet the Roys yet again, this time at their home.

This time shit got real. Very, very real.

In fact the match was so incredibly tight that neither team proved capable of the win. Final scores were a draw with Roys 15.10 (100) to Demons 15.10 (100).

I would like to get our resident expert Loonerty to calculate the odds of this one. We may be waiting some time though.

Despite the suspiciously identical results, each teams route to that point was somewhat different. The Roys had an effective even spread of goals across their team - a good capability to have for a team hoping that their gameplan stands up once the pressure of finals qootball begins, while Demons relied heavily on Proper Gander's magnificent bag of 8 goals, supported with a further 4 goals from Heardy_101.

Either way, the ambivalence was captured best by TedDougChris

Round 13 Art.png

Posting was enjoyable for the round - albeit quieter than previously - with our best contributors for the week being: sausageroll with 52, manangatang with 51, DemonJim with 43, Callums_Guns and cooney with 36.

Round 13 Deestroy votes:

3. Proper Gander
(11 disposals, 3 tackles, 8 goals)
2. pantskyle (31 disposals, 14 tackles, 1 goal)
1. Callums_Guns (27 disposals, 6 marks)

I'll just leave you with this parting summary of PG's matchups:

* In a bit of an exhibition, Proper Gander massacred Supersuns - 2m from 95 to 97
* In what became a bit of a clinic, Proper Gander massacred Wosh - 84m from 9 to 93

POTW.png

Our poster of round 13 was non other than Callums_Guns

R14.png

We celebrate Mother's Day at the Dragon's joint on Dragon Island! What a wonderful idea. As a tribute to Mt Buller Mother's, we left them at home to get on with other things, for which I am sure they were eternally grateful.

Kicking off the round was one of the all-time great OP's by Tarkyn_24

Round 14 Art.png

The first half of the match was a tight, hard fought affair but the second showed of the Mt Buller trademark fitness - with MBD running away with a win with 18.15 (123) to the Dragons 12.7 (79). A convincing win even with pantskyle taken off and rested through critical points of the match.

Our most prolific posters were: Callums_Guns with 83, DemonJim with 40, cooney and Tarkyn_24 with 38 and manangatang with 35.

Round 14 votes:

3. DERO
(16 disposals, 7 marks, 5 goals)
2. Proper Gander (8 disposals, 7 goals)
1. Callums_Guns (18 disposals, 1 tackle, 2 goals)

POTW.png

And our poster of round 14 was (again!!!) Callums_Guns

R15.png

So this time we hosted the Bears at the Snow Dome. Whether it was just a momentary down week, over-training or drinking bathwater we allowed the Las Vegas Bears to win convincingly with 15.12 (102) to our 11.5 (71).

The umpiring was uniformly shit-house and posting was strangely subdued. Maybe everyone was still burnt from the previous match thread involving LVB. We did however enjoy this moment from tony

Round 15 Art.png

The lackluster round ended at 20 pages and not before time. Our prolific posters for the week were:

Round 15 votes:
3. Toump Ass
(26 disposals, 7 marks, 1 tackle, 1 goal)
2. Demon Jim (22 disposals, 4 marks, 1 tackle)
1. jmoo wan (16 disposals, 9 marks)

POTW.png

Our poster of round 15 was DemonJim

R16.png

Furies. A controversial team it must be said. Well I guess I didn't have to say it, but did none-the-less. An away game at a dumpster fire is always a nervous time, but the team stood up to yet another challenging week.

TheInjuryFactory kicked off the round with an absolute beauty of an OP, and it was with a certain amount of relief that the Furies had given up on their edgy ideas of "wouldn't it be funny if we all did one word posts" and similar. The match thread consisted mostly of the Furies fighting amongst themselves, with only the occasional Woooooo as punctuation.

For anyone who has forgotten just how much, um, fun this week was - this was amongst the "highlights":

Round 16 Art.png

Well, quite...

On field though it was a beauty for Mt Buller. We won the match, high scoring, lead-switching and tightly contested throughout, with our accuracy in front of goal with 20.7 (127) to the Furies 19.11 (125)

Enough about the Furies, the MBD prolific posters were: sausageroll with 37, pantskyle with 32, cooney with 31, DemonJim with 25 and Yakker with 19.

Round 16 votes:

3. moginie
(32 disposals, 7 marks, 5 tackles)
2. Callums_Guns (33 disposals, 6 marks, 3 tackles, 1 goal)
1. Toump Ass (21 disposals, 7 tackles)

POTW.png

Round 16 Poster of the Week was awarded to sausageroll

Official Team Thread Mount Buller Demons | Season 31 Team Thread | So We’re Champions 🤗