mr hardwick take some blame

This partially right , the structures were wrong oh so wrong elton was always going to be picked up by rutten a kid in his first game who hasn't exactly torn it up in the resssies against an all Australian? What were we thinking would happen, IMO millers days are up but he continually gets games, if Elton gets a game after a so so performance then why wasn't Derrix played?

At least he would have provided a mature body.

Hard wick has had a reality check and I believe it will cost us a finals spot, miller can't kick to save himself reminds me of. Certain Phillip Walsh great against us crap for us.

Just my 2 cents worth.
The only explanation ST is that they wanted an additional forward and if Derickx was to come in it would have been as a defender and would have meant Griffiths to CHF , which IMO should happen and in time will .

No team that loses has a plan B, Both teams have their game plans to implement and whoever fulfills theirs consistently through the game will win. Richmond played a great 1st quarter BUT that was it. Where as Adelaide after qtr time played consistent footy, they cracked in for the ball winning contested possession, they kicked the ball into their 50m more effectively giving their forwards one on ones, and they took their opportunities in front of goal kicking straight. I'm positive that Hardwick didn't walk out at Qtr time and say "geez guys that was the best quarter of footy you have played all year, it should be enough to win so don't worry about the other 3qtrs" At the end of the day Adelaide have lost only 2 games including the pre season and they were to the flag favourites collingwood and hawthorn, they are a good side, there is no shame in losing to them at aami by 3 goals. We still have a long way to go but are on the right track

It wasn't hardwick at all, i was there and first hand watched our players go to sleep, that combined with the umps and our forward line being broken at the moment IMO is what cost us, not the coach.

I'm sorry but this is just a pointless blame thread.

No team that loses has a plan B, Both teams have their game plans to implement and whoever fulfills theirs consistently through the game will win. Richmond played a great 1st quarter BUT that was it. Where as Adelaide after qtr time played consistent footy, they cracked in for the ball winning contested possession, they kicked the ball into their 50m more effectively giving their forwards one on ones, and they took their opportunities in front of goal kicking straight. I'm positive that Hardwick didn't walk out at Qtr time and say "geez guys that was the best quarter of footy you have played all year, it should be enough to win so don't worry about the other 3qtrs" At the end of the day Adelaide have lost only 2 games including the pre season and they were to the flag favourites collingwood and hawthorn, they are a good side, there is no shame in losing to them at aami by 3 goals. We still have a long way to go but are on the right track

Crows lost the first quarter, 5 goals down.

Sanderson implements plan B and moves Talia onto Riewoldt and Rutten into defence from memory.

Jack is held scoreless for the rest of the match. Game over.

I'd like to see what his coaching is like behind doors, is hard enough on the guys what does he do to get the best out of his players because atm they play like a pack of school girls apart from a few.

If i get on here straight after a loss i always manage to get myself into trouble so i waited a day till i calmed down but to get on here and see this blame thread is kinda annoying.

Any passionate tiger supporter knows it's not the coach, what options do we have in our forward right now?

If i get on here straight after a loss i always manage to get myself into trouble so i waited a day till i calmed down but to get on here and see this blame thread is kinda annoying.

Any passionate tiger supporter knows it's not the coach, what options do we have in our forward right now?
Unfortunately i have to be here after a loss, but I don't blame you for not coming here straight away. It is a zoo.

For starters he lost it at selection. Adelaide on the rebound would be fired up, they are a hard running side anyway let along on the rebound at home desperate for a top 4 spot. With foley out to bring in Elton and drop conca was ludicrous, plan was to play Elton and sub him after halftime, that also backfired when kingy went down, that was a gamble that prob cost us the game. Elton stopped running and rutten ran amok in the 2nd half

He should have also done something about that matchup, allowing rutten to continue to man up a frst gamer out on his legs was negligent!

For starters he lost it at selection. Adelaide on the rebound would be fired up,

Well, they weren't. 5 goals down at 1/4 time suggests they were still asleep when the game started.

With foley out to bring in Elton and drop conca was ludicrous.
We were also without Vickery, who is crucial to our forward structure. Miller isn't good enough to be the No 2 forward, and everyone wants to see Griffiths stay down back. So it was probably Post or Elton. Conca deserved to be dropped.

He should have also done something about that matchup, allowing rutten to continue to man up a frst gamer out on his legs was negligent!
Well, Rutten started on Riewoldt and was well beaten, so he moved to Elton. Rutten's weakness is speed, so to have him playing on a young mobile guy is probably a good result for us. Didn't turn out that way (I would have told Elton to lead to the boundary 75mtrs from goal, just to drag Rutten away). Of more concern is our Gun Forward being thrashed by a 20 year old playing his 20th game.

Basically we were beaten by a better side. It was very disappointing after the 1st quarter, but we handled the slightly wet conditions better (hey maybe those last 2 games have been of some benefit!) - then got overrun.

I still see the problem as we do not have a second target in the forward line. Vickery is out of form, Miller is Miller, and Post, Griffiths, Elton etc are not good enough - yet. Since our other main forwards are short people (Edwards, King, Nahas), we have no marking targets other than Riewoldt - which is pretty easy to defend against (unless our midfield has complete domination). I know everyone gets excited when Martin, Deledio or Cotchin go down to the square and take a mark, but that's desperation, and not their job.

We need a big man to stand up and at least two other mid-sized marking targets. Miller actually plays that role when Vickery is in, but he's too slow and an unreliable kick. Connors is getting a go right now.

Well, they weren't. 5 goals down at 1/4 time suggests they were still asleep when the game started.

We were also without Vickery, who is crucial to our forward structure. Miller isn't good enough to be the No 2 forward, and everyone wants to see Griffiths stay down back. So it was probably Post or Elton. Conca deserved to be dropped.

Well, Rutten started on Riewoldt and was well beaten, so he moved to Elton. Rutten's weakness is speed, so to have him playing on a young mobile guy is probably a good result for us. Didn't turn out that way (I would have told Elton to lead to the boundary 75mtrs from goal, just to drag Rutten away). Of more concern is our Gun Forward being thrashed by a 20 year old playing his 20th game.

Basically we were beaten by a better side. It was very disappointing after the 1st quarter, but we handled the slightly wet conditions better (hey maybe those last 2 games have been of some benefit!) - then got overrun.

I still see the problem as we do not have a second target in the forward line. Vickery is out of form, Miller is Miller, and Post, Griffiths, Elton etc are not good enough - yet. Since our other main forwards are short people (Edwards, King, Nahas), we have no marking targets other than Riewoldt - which is pretty easy to defend against (unless our midfield has complete domination). I know everyone gets excited when Martin, Deledio or Cotchin go down to the square and take a mark, but that's desperation, and not their job.

We need a big man to stand up and at least two other mid-sized marking targets. Miller actually plays that role when Vickery is in, but he's too slow and an unreliable kick. Connors is getting a go right now.

Adel were fired up, however we were that good in the 1st quarter they couldn't stop us, that's what's anoying our best can match anybody's. They took stock and reloaded after qtr time and the moves they made worked.

not sure why you are saying rutten on Elton should have been good for us when jack had torn him a new one? that was a good matchup. If you would have made Elton run to the boundary to keep rutten out of the play why didn't the coaches? Elton also cannot run out a full game so gambling to sub him off was a dumb move by coaching staff which backfired when king went down. Rutten destroyed us bc Elton was out on his feet and rutten being an experienced campaigner made it count.

Also, I don't agree with you saying it would have been post or Elton bc Vickery was out, it was wet and forecast for rain all day, maybe with an extra runner ie conca we wouldn't have been run over in the final qtr like we were. You'd think they were the fresh side not us the way we stopped to a walk

I still say we need a senior coach in the background, like Bomber is to Hird, like Rocket is for Buckley. No way would have a guy like e:g Malthouse agreed at the selection table for Elton to play in such an important game for us, I don't care what anyone says if they are ordinary footballers or not. Graham or Browne should have played yesterday if available, we played with one ruck and a skinny kid in his first game with Miller pinch hitting. Terrible selection, and if Graham or Browne are never going to play when Vickery is injured. Get rid of them both and go for 2 ruckman from other clubs or state level comps come the end of the year.

a great idea but realistically, i dont think we could afford such a thing, malthouse is an expensive commodity, dont think we have 500k plus per year lying around for mick or someone of that ilk to fill that role

Are we not spending a lot of the FTF on the footy dept over the next couple of years?

i think we are but that is a lot to have lying around, malthouse would be and some on top of that...once the bad debt is eradicated then it might be a more realistic goal.

would be a move that would need to be implemented next year as well

Malthouse is not going to come to our club or any club as a assistant coach. The whole reason he left Collingwood is because he was no longer going to be the main man.

I was very disappointed when we didn't get Dean Bailey as an assistant coach.

really poor coaching again today- I felt he was outcoached and had no plan bs- or cs- this is a recurring pattern

if you are looking to blame anyone blame Brad Miller his brain fade at he start of the 2nd quarter changed the momentum of the match.With his man on the ground running into a OPEN goal 25 metres out he tries to square up a 10 metre pass to a manned up Reiwoldt.We would have been 39 yes 39 points up if he kicked what my grandmother could have kicked.Crows kicked the next 3 in quick time.enough said.
Not manning up Reilly as the loose man was a big mistake .imo.
Losing King was huge as he was playing great pumping it into the 50 then helping to keep it there.
His presence is huge very underrated player in our set up.imo.

Interesting Malthouse today after the Cats Port game, saying its a total misconception that a coach has either coached better or been out coached by his opposite after a win or loss.
A coach's job is practically a 24-7 thing these days , match day scenarios are only a small part in the overall scheme of things .

if you are looking to blame anyone blame Brad Miller his brain fade at he start of the 2nd quarter changed the momentum of the match.With his man on the ground running into a OPEN goal 25 metres out he tries to square up a 10 metre pass to a manned up Reiwoldt.We would have been 39 yes 39 points up if he kicked what my grandmother could have kicked.Crows kicked the next 3 in quick time.enough said.
Not manning up Reilly as the loose man was a big mistake .imo.
Losing King was huge as he was playing great pumping it into the 50 then helping to keep it there.
His presence is huge very underrated player in our set up.imo.

You know what, king is a big little Guy and very imposing, something you don't see on TV

look all I am saying is that his coaching is lacking in certain crucial respects and I suggest a mentor of sorts. Laidly would have been perfect. Dimma needs some help here and there. we all do. to suggest the coaches input on game day is minimal is ridiculous.
Our coaches ability to have input on game day is minimal , especially against Adelaide . King went down , Elton , Jack and Miller can only play forward , Rance and Grimes only play back . Houli and Morris only play back, Connors , Martin and Nahas only play forward , we only had 1 ruckman . We really only had 4 players capable of playing as anything resembling a inside mid.
The lack of flexibility of the players he had at his disposal didn't allow him to make changes , he did try Newman upon the ball which I thought worked well .
We continue to have to many one dimensional players upon our list and therefore have to many one dimensional players within our best 22.

Our coaches ability to have input on game day is minimal , especially against Adelaide . King went down , Elton , Jack and Miller can only play forward , Rance and Grimes only play back . Houli and Morris only play back, Connors , Martin and Nahas only play forward , we only had 1 ruckman . We really only had 4 players capable of playing as anything resembling a inside mid.
The lack of flexibility of the players he had at his disposal didn't allow him to make changes , he did try Newman upon the ball which I thought worked well .
We continue to have to many one dimensional players upon our list and therefore have to many one dimensional players within our best 22.

Not sure I agree with to many one dimensional players, our ability to rotate through the mid seems to be second to none.

They have the cattle they are just no good. How on earth does ellis get a game every week? Can't win having passengers. Backline needs help Rance is useless newman too old and slow
Houlie too many mistakes griffiths is all at sea he aint a back men. Middfield i only rate cot chin and tuck other come in and out off the game deledio is ok on his own martin in and out his young hell
get there. Graig is ok he tries. now the forward line what a stuff up.
Every game i see jack goes for a mark twenty players around him, Don't the other forwards know how to take there players away leave him one on one even two on one. I see him take one great mark on the wing for crying loud lol.
Miller too slow Nahas total crap elton not ready and i agree hardwick doesn't have a clue about coaching only reason we have improved is the backline has improved even without the cattle under the guidance of Smith.

I can't be bothered reading any further to see what others have said but I am happy to get carded in saying that you have the brain of a pea!! And I reckon I'm being kind in going that far.

FFS mate...Ellis is a 1st year player.

How stupid are you in saying that?

Rance is useless...you are simply highlighting you lack of thought process.

Newman too old and slow...ditto above.

If this gets me carded...see you blokes later. Some of you need to take a deep breath as Tugga suggested earlier in this thread. And others like you mate, simply need to grow a brain.

cheers

/endofrant

mr hardwick take some blame