Murray Football League - General Thread June 2011

The allocation of finals to the various clubs in this comp is a complete and utter farce.

What is wrong with simply playing the finals at the best grounds? Surely something can be worked re gate/bar/food takings, and manpower.

No offence intended to either club, but Tongala?!?! Deniliquin?!?! Hosting showcase finals!! FMD!! Terrible grounds and dreadful facilities... and they want people from all around the district to attend... it's decisions like this that is embarrassing to the league. Potential recruits into the comp will not look favourably upon it.

FFS leave them at Barooga, Toc and at a stretch Cobram. Best grounds, best facilities, best atmosphere, will draw the best crowds.

Having trouble paying to fill your car with petrol "gastev". Want all the finals within a 20 k radius.
icon9.gif
Note you didnt mention a prelim final at Congupna:thumbsdown:. I concede Toc is easily the best oval and should always get the grand final, but the rest just have to be shared. Good or bad !

Having trouble paying to fill your car with petrol "gastev". Want all the finals within a 20 k radius.
icon9.gif
Note you didnt mention a prelim final at Congupna:thumbsdown:. I concede Toc is easily the best oval and should always get the grand final, but the rest just have to be shared. Good or bad !

Toc barooga great facilities, not much atmosphere. Finley best ground to watch footy and good atmosphere, cobram similar. Bit unfortunate that 3 worst places to play the road, deni and tongala got finals thank god Nathalia didn't. But agree it needs to be shared but maybe the mix could be better

Roster system put in place was voted on by clubs and accepted,
clubs found transporting goods to other clubs And finding volunteers very difficult especially if your club wasn't playing on the day.
Facilities were also not always up to scratch on arrival, I know we had to clean on arrival when the old system was used.

Surely if grounds are good enough to play on all year they are good enough for finals. I've noticed even at the so called better grounds you mention, unless your team is playing not to many players and supporters attend, this includes Toc.

icon9.gif

Well, considering I live in Melbourne...

Congupna!! FMD!! Is that a thumbs down for me not mentioning it, or a the MFL?? Really hope the latter.

Can you please provide an argument as to why they 'should' be shared? I honestly do not see any issue that could not be reasonably overcome by level-minded, unselfish club officials.

Why?

The comp is damaging itself the way it is. The perception - which is everything to an outsider - is that the comp is a ramshackle organisation who simply doesn't care how it's perceived.

Roster system put in place was voted on by clubs and accepted,
clubs found transporting goods to other clubs And finding volunteers very difficult especially if your club wasn't playing on the day.
Facilities were also not always up to scratch on arrival, I know we had to clean on arrival when the old system was used.

Voted by all clubs or majority? IMO it's a purely selfish decision and does not take into account the betterment of the competition.

Completely understand the issues that you raise, and know from experience that it is difficult to obtain volunteer help... but this is nothing that cannot be overcome. Clubs have no issue throwing abhorent amounts of money at average footballers... surely an allocation of funds can go towards making sure things run smoothly.

Surely if grounds are good enough to play on all year they are good enough for finals. I've noticed even at the so called better grounds you mention, unless your team is playing not to many players and supporters attend, this includes Toc.

No, they aren't.

The allocation of finals to the various clubs in this comp is a complete and utter farce.

What is wrong with simply playing the finals at the best grounds? Surely something can be worked re gate/bar/food takings, and manpower.

No offence intended to either club, but Tongala?!?! Deniliquin?!?! Hosting showcase finals!! FMD!! Terrible grounds and dreadful facilities... and they want people from all around the district to attend... it's decisions like this that is embarrassing to the league. Potential recruits into the comp will not look favourably upon it.

FFS leave them at Barooga, Toc and at a stretch Cobram. Best grounds, best facilities, best atmosphere, will draw the best crowds.
yes leave it at toc! a club that ran out of food and soft drink by 1.00pm on the weekend? if you like eating chips and warm soft drink go ahead:rolleyes:

Gee, quality argument! That's gonna happen every week isn't it? :rolleyes:

If a shortage of pies and coke are what the Murray FL's finals allocation premise is about... well, it's sad really.

Gee, quality argument! That's gonna happen every week isn't it? :rolleyes:

If a shortage of pies and coke are what the Murray FL's finals allocation premise is about... well, it's sad really.

Good one!

Seriously, dreadful fixturing. Hope MFL officials have worked out how any one is going to be able to walk thru that canteen area at Tonny. Must think no-one will be there.

How do you guys rate the grounds in the league. Playing surface, atmosphere, facilities. Facilities and surface must carry more weight but but good atmosphere at good local footy is great. Toc have enhanced there facilities but at the expense of the atmosphere IMO

I'll give it a crack:
1 Toc (s) 9 (f) 8 (a) 7
2 Barooga (s) 8 (f) 6 (a) 8
3 Finley (s) 7 (f) 6 (a) 9
4 Cobram (s) 7 (f) 6.5 (a) 8.5
5 mulwala (s) 5 (f) 8 (a) 8
6 moama (s) 5 (f) 8 (a) 4
7 numurkha (s) 4.5 (f) 8 (a) 5
8 deni (s) 6.5 (f) 4 (a) 5.5
9 the road
10 united
11 tongala

Only my opinion so don't get menstrual

Well, considering I live in Melbourne...

Congupna!! FMD!! Is that a thumbs down for me not mentioning it, or a the MFL?? Really hope the latter.

Can you please provide an argument as to why they 'should' be shared? I honestly do not see any issue that could not be reasonably overcome by level-minded, unselfish club officials.

Why?

The comp is damaging itself the way it is. The perception - which is everything to an outsider - is that the comp is a ramshackle organisation who simply doesn't care how it's perceived.

Voted by all clubs or majority? IMO it's a purely selfish decision and does not take into account the betterment of the competition.

Completely understand the issues that you raise, and know from experience that it is difficult to obtain volunteer help... but this is nothing that cannot be overcome. Clubs have no issue throwing abhorent amounts of money at average footballers... surely an allocation of funds can go towards making sure things run smoothly.

No, they aren't.

Have to agree with you Gastev. MFL has the worst coverage by a country mile of any major league. It appears at the moment to riun a poor third behind KDL in Shepp News, and gets less coverage than most district leagues in Border Mail. I would hate to see the league become irrelevant as a major league.

dont worry too much. AFL canberra is a complete disaster atm . they couldnt run a chook raffle, players getting paid heaps and top division now the neafl and yet to try and find any sort of article in the canberra times is impossible. Anyway their will always be issues with finals and who plays where. Div 4 in canberra has 12 teams (13 next year) and yet they still play top 4 finals. And now a special mention to my old club FINLEY. great work to make the finals, how much further can they go ?? GO CATS

Think you'll find it's all about circulation, they are only interested in selling newspapers, approaches have been made to the Shepp News in the past and present re more coverage but to no avail. We are unfortunately on the fringes of the GV and O&M. and have been told KDFL statistically buy more papers.

Riv Herald in Echuca give good coverage.

Think you'll find it's all about circulation, they are only interested in selling newspapers, approaches have been made to the Shepp News in the past and present re more coverage but to no avail. We are unfortunately on the fringes of the GV and O&M. and have been told KDFL statistically buy more papers.

Riv Herald in Echuca give good coverage.
You all sound like little bitch's. how about the tips for this weeks games-
Seniors-
Cobram 42 points
Mulwala 61 points
Reserves-
Cobram 5 points
Tongala 1 point

Do we still not 'rate' the Deni Rams ?:p
They are a good side no doubt... Cobram played flat all day, no smalls in the forward line. didnt help out at all. mabey we should get back to palying TEAM FOOTY and not worry about getting our names in the paper. Should utilise the free man in defence more. Apart from KB, I didnt see ANY other standouts on the day, and RUDDY :eek: That was riduculous....................... MASSIVE day at Congupna next week we certainly dont want Déjà vu .................

Do we still not 'rate' the Deni Rams ?:p

Heading into the finals think Deni Rams were flag favourites (after beating Cobram in home & away) and still are!! They also have the worst supporters in the league - they proved that Saturday too!!

How do you guys rate the grounds in the league. Playing surface, atmosphere, facilities. Facilities and surface must carry more weight but but good atmosphere at good local footy is great. Toc have enhanced there facilities but at the expense of the atmosphere IMO

I'll give it a crack:
1 Toc (s) 9 (f) 8 (a) 7
2 Barooga (s) 8 (f) 6 (a) 8
3 Finley (s) 7 (f) 6 (a) 9
4 Cobram (s) 7 (f) 6.5 (a) 8.5
5 mulwala (s) 5 (f) 8 (a) 8
6 moama (s) 5 (f) 8 (a) 4
7 numurkha (s) 4.5 (f) 8 (a) 5
8 deni (s) 6.5 (f) 4 (a) 5.5
9 the road
10 united
11 tongala

Only my opinion so don't get menstrual

What is your definition of atmosphere Big Kev?

Lots of loud Finley supporters is my guess:) Must say Finley have been pretty impressive in both finals so far. Have a good accountable game plan and really shut down the Mul forwards. Next week should be a cracker.

Heading into the finals think Deni Rams were flag favourites (after beating Cobram in home & away) and still are!! They also have the worst supporters in the league - they proved that Saturday too!!

Haha whaaa???

The worst? really? Come to think of it. it was only 1st v 2nd in a game to make it in to the grand final. and not one cobram fan said anything....

Interesting to see with 3 sides left , 2 of them would not be in top half of " spenders " in the league and with the money debate seeming to bob up every year it's good to see teams that have been able to develop juniors have some success. Great game by cats on Sunday oldest player is 26 and there is only 2 of them the rest 17 - 24

Simon Rudd copped 4 weeks!!! at tribunual last nite. was at the game at Tonny while it was a stupid act - not worth 4. No reminstration from player or his team mates over incident- player never came off for treatment- no red card(yellow).Would appear Deni made sure he was not going to be around for the Granny if Cobram get thru.

Absolutley agree with you on this one blue mongrel....... As a keen spectator, I was very shocked at the report in the first place. They rubbed faces not head butted..... There was no Blood/injury caused by the so called head but, Rudd at no stage of the incident did he retract his head back to make a forward thrust of his head to cause injury!!!!! What about Leigh Marshalls hammer fist to Mark Pennycuicks face after he took a mark over Marshall, which left him on the ground for a few minutes with blurred vision???? That was in the open but the Umpire didnt see that.......... The umpires are obviously keen to stop a certain team for glory thats for sure....JERKS!!!!!!!!!!

wanna tissue?