Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

how did united go V The Drook?

Also how was Taylor? Was the cheer squad there?

played a 6 quarter game in very hot conditions and got a bit of a touch up by a side that we would be competetive with in a home and a away game.
there was a lot of new/young guys playing and we will all be better for the run.
Richard Fromberg couldnt play because his tennis gf was shifted to the saturday and he was sorely missed!!
Peter Taylor on the other hand pretty much single handedly tore us a new bum and was pretty impressive, i thought i would be in his ear all day but that only lasted about 5 minutes cos he had already kicked a couple and set a couple up as well. Liz and arty were at the game and did get a mention in my 5 minutes of abuse.:)

DIVISION 1
TOCUMWAL WON ON FORFEIT AGAINST RUMBALARA

Well I guess we don't have to worry about playing two games in a row next week.

Was looking forward to tonight as well, so I think someone needs a stern talking too.

DIVISION 1
TOCUMWAL WON ON FORFEIT AGAINST RUMBALARA

Well I guess we don't have to worry about playing two games in a row next week.

Was looking forward to tonight as well, so I think someone needs a stern talking too.

the worst thing about this whole stuff up is you guys (rumba) were great contenders for the final:confused:

Obviously there are some issues with who ever is organising you guys then, because you were ment to play last night. It just means it has put alot of ppl out like the ppl that give there time up to help make the night series go ahead from the organisaton to the ladies in the canteen. Also all the ppl that travelled and stuff aswell. Its not good enough it has just wasted alot of ppl's time!

We were told at barooga last week (tuesday night, from somebody outside the club) that our match had been swaped with this weeks, meaning we play Cobram then and Tocumwal now. Now as i said before, we could only go off the information they gave us. Now I apoligise if we've wasted anybodies time, but I will not apoligise for not being there last night. I mean it sounds like people think we didn't turn up last night on purpose. . . . . .Just to piss people off?? When it seems like we might suffer the biggest lose out of everyone. I mean yes people may have wasted their time, but if we don't play tonight we've missed out on a practice match and a chance to gather some match fitness, as well as the chance to compete for the Night Series Shield.

People can bitch and moan all they want (and they will) about who's fault they think it is/was. But who's ever "fault" it was, I don't think it was intentional as everybody's had something to lose. But do not attack the proffesionalism of this club over an incident that clearly involves other parties, that may or maynot have had a hand in it. Because you can't know for sure if we're souly responsible!!

Now can sombody please change the topic. . . . . . .:eek::eek:

A lot of talk over on the picola leauge thread about the leauge being to big and should they split it up.

What would people think of the MFL and PDFL joining together and making it three divisions with relegations and promotions with in the three divisions.

Division 1 - 10 teams top 10 in MFL
Division 2 - 10 teams Bottom 3 in MFL to 7 in PDFL
Division 3 - 9 teams the rest of PDFL

Grand Finallists of Div 2 and Div 3 get promoted
while bottom 2 of Div 1 and Div 2 get relegated down a leauge

does it have merit?

(theres a change of topic for ya goodgolly24)

A lot of talk over on the picola leauge thread about the leauge being to big and should they split it up.

What would people think of the MFL and PDFL joining together and making it three divisions with relegations and promotions with in the three divisions.

does it have merit?

Possibly-but I could only see Shep East and perhaps Deni Rovers having the population bases to be competitive at MFL level. Then its a long way up for the last placed team in div 3-sides in this position could possibly fold

does it have merit?

:thumbsu::thumbsu:
That's how it works in the EFL down melbourne, and it works well down there. And Althought i'd like to see it work like that here i think the biggest problems going to be travel. But i'd like to see something like that done.

We were told at barooga last week (tuesday night, from somebody outside the club) that our match had been swaped with this weeks, meaning we play Cobram then and Tocumwal now. Now as i said before, we could only go off the information they gave us. Now I apoligise if we've wasted anybodies time, but I will not apoligise for not being there last night. I mean it sounds like people think we didn't turn up last night on purpose. . . . . .Just to piss people off?? When it seems like we might suffer the biggest lose out of everyone. I mean yes people may have wasted their time, but if we don't play tonight we've missed out on a practice match and a chance to gather some match fitness, as well as the chance to compete for the Night Series Shield.

People can bitch and moan all they want (and they will) about who's fault they think it is/was. But who's ever "fault" it was, I don't think it was intentional as everybody's had something to lose. But do not attack the proffesionalism of this club over an incident that clearly involves other parties, that may or maynot have had a hand in it. Because you can't know for sure if we're souly responsible!!

Now can sombody please change the topic. . . . . . .:eek::eek:

Stop shielding the fact that there has been a stuff up from someone at your end!

does it have merit?

What about the netballers and other footy teams? What happens if a club has a premiership netball side do they get relegated to?

Stop shielding the fact that there has been a stuff up from someone at your end!
how did we stuff up? we were going by the draw that was given to us, so stop your whingeing and whinning. i am sure that you can use it for motivation, if your that worried, when we play you guys during the season.

Sounds like a plan back man and a good one at that!!! I think that something will need to be done in the next 2 years. I think with some fine tuning that a systam like that could be done!!! The only problem is that there are some poeple involved in both leagues that have there head stuck that far up there ass that they can't see outside the square! The thought of some, to think that they might end up in div 3 might hurt.... But it is a huge reality!! What poeple have to realise is that country footy is slowly on the decrease and some clubs may fold in years to come, so people need to... look outside the square to see how they can inprove things for there club, even if it means swallowing some pride. I would love to hear some more feedback on this because i think that something major needs to be done! And ideas have got to start somewhere!

What about the netballers and other footy teams? What happens if a club has a premiership netball side do they get relegated to?

That's the issue, automatic promotion and relegation based on the senior footy side should not be the only factor. Look at how the club went as a whole, where did they finish on the Club Champion point system.

I think the league executive would have to look at the whole picture before promotion and relegation is done, not just an automatic grand finalists up and bottom 2 down.

I really like the idea and it is good to see some others warming to the plan. As I have said before the travel isn't too bad and we don't mind travelling for a good game and this system will help to ensure that.

Hey readers , long time reader first time poster smelvin here . just have a few questions for the moama boys , how are you looking ? are petty and gutsy turning up to play or just turning up ? what's this I hear about recruiting from sunbury ? weren't the Timmins boys from colac available ? is anyone going to punch Kilborn this year ? til next time Smelvin !

l have been reminded by hawka54 that the Echuca United Sunbury (and/or insert outer Melb suburb here) Experiment included Dayly, Carso and one other. They may have lasted 2 seasons but did stuff all for the club and some how got lost on the way to berigan or did they just drink the bong water again??

Anyway l just don't see it as a long term propect having 2-3 flash in the pans turining up each week and from what l here of Moama they need blokes to hang around and re-biuld the club. having said this l will reserve full judgement until the season has progressed.

That's the issue, automatic promotion and relegation based on the senior footy side should not be the only factor. Look at how the club went as a whole, where did they finish on the Club Champion point system.

I think the league executive would have to look at the whole picture before promotion and relegation is done, not just an automatic grand finalists up and bottom 2 down.

I really like the idea and it is good to see some others warming to the plan. As I have said before the travel isn't too bad and we don't mind travelling for a good game and this system will help to ensure that.

these are the sort of things that need fine tuning, the way you have suggested is a lot fairer than just the senior side of things. do the netballers get included in the current club championship or is it just the footy. if it is just the footy you would have to add the netty to make the idea complete.

does it have merit?

Definately has merit, as mentioned works extremely well in the Eastern league and VAFA in melb however doesnt work that well in the WRFL (western). The EFL has 4 div and 35+ clubs and it alows clubs to play at the level they are currently at. Clubs that are struggling are also not forced to pay players to be competitive like they do in a single league set up. However there is a problem of juniors and netball following the senior team in to a standard they might not be at. The EFL does not have netball and the junior comp is set up in divisions not based on the senior clubs.

Murray Valley FNL

O'Dwyer - 10 teams top 10 in MFL
Pearce - 10 teams Bottom 3 in MFL to 7 in PDFL
Lawless - 9 teams the rest of PDFL

Name the leagues something different other than Divvy 1, 2, 3. This might reduce a bit of the stigma.

The Lawless name comes from the Tungamah League, was the League B&F trophy. Of the 29 teams in the MFL & PDFL, Mulwala, Congupna, Katandra, Katty, Dookie, Shepp East, Tungamah, (Rumbalara were in GVFL Div 2 and CGFL) were in the TFL so that's where I got the connection from.

Would players still be able to play on permits in higher divisons?

Murray Valley FNL

O'Dwyer - 10 teams top 10 in MFL
Pearce - 10 teams Bottom 3 in MFL to 7 in PDFL
Lawless - 9 teams the rest of PDFL

Name the leagues something different other than Divvy 1, 2, 3. This might reduce a bit of the stigma.

The Lawless name comes from the Tungamah League, was the League B&F trophy. Of the 29 teams in the MFL & PDFL, Mulwala, Congupna, Katandra, Katty, Dookie, Shepp East, Tungamah, (Rumbalara were in GVFL Div 2 and CGFL) were in the TFL so that's where I got the connection from.

Would players still be able to play on permits in higher divisons?

Don't reckon you could have permits-Lower division teams woud want to field their best sides instead of proppig up div 1 teams

Can anyone tell me what Pat Rattray from Barooga is like. I hear he has moved to Cairns. I also hear he had some problems in 2007. Any help would be appreciated.
Came to Barooga with a pretty reputation from the GVFL. I only saw him play once in the Two's and I have never seen anyone so lazy and disinterested in a game of footy in all my life. We gave him heaps of verbal spray (as opposition), and we could barely keep in front of the bagging and abuse he was copping from some of his team mates.

I repeat that this was the only time I saw him play - Big Hawk should have a more balanced opinion....

Scores from last night if anyone interested:thumbsu:

DIVISION 2
WAAIA 10.7.67 DEFEATED KATANDRA 5.5.35

BEST- WAAIA A GREAT TEAM EFFORT
KATANDRA A RIORDAN, C CALDER, R IRELAND, S VENABLES
GOALS- WAAIA M MEYLAND 4, B LOWE 2, A DOOFUS 1, N WALKER 1, G MEYLAND 1, S PERCH 1
KATANDRA A RIORDAN 2, D SIDEBOTTOM 1, C DAMON 1, C CALDER 1

DIVISION 1
DENILIQUIN 11.6.72 ROVERS DEFEATED COBRAM 7.12.54
GOALS- DENILIQUIN ROVERS A JENKINS 3, T LUMBAR 2, J BODE 2, B HARDMAN 2, A MAY 1, A GERMANO 1
COBRAM C BAKES 1, B KERR 1, S TAYLOR 1, M ROSS- SODEN 1, A HAYES 1, M JAENSCH 1, P BOURKE 1

BEST- DENILIQUIN ROVERS M BRAYBON, D CARMICHAEL, A GERMANO, S HOWARD, P LEWIS
COBRAM T VANDER MERNWE, J CHERRY, T KERNAGHAN, M ROSS-SODEN, J MURRAY

RESULTS FROM LAST NIGHT​
DIVISION 2

SHEPPARTON EAST 10.11.71 DEFEATED WAHGUNYAH 9.11.65

GOALS - SHEPPARTON EAST PEARSON 2, A COOK 2, G SEAGRAVE 2, P FANTINI 2, B FOLEY 1, C AYNSLEY 1

WAHGUYAH A HOUSTON 2, H NORTHEY 2, M OSBOURNE 2, B CHANDLER 1, J ROWNFELDT 1, P TREMBLEY 1

BEST - SHEPPARTON EAST GIBSON, GRAHAM, MOORE, FANTINI, FOLEY, OSWALD

WAHGUNYAH T VONARX, M OSBOURNE, M DURYEA, P TREBLEY, A VONARX

DIVSION 1

DENILIQUIN RAMS 12.7.79 DEFEATED CONGUPNA 5.6.36

BEST- DENILIQUIN R RESUGGAN, J LLOYD, N HOWE, T BARTLETT, S BESSELL, S CALLAGHAN

CONGUPNA W GRACE, C DICKSON, S EMMETT, L WHITEHEAD, G ARCHER

GOALS- DENILIQUIN T BARTLETT 4, S LLOYD 3, L MARSHALL 2, S HALL 1, N HOWE 1, L SCOULLAR

CONGUPNA G ARCHER 2, L WHITEHEAD 1, C DICKSON 1, W GRACE 1

Any one out there got the line ups for Good friday...Tonny v Moama?

Hank? Any one?

Moama's 21
19 ALLEN, Luke
11 BOOKHAM, Clay
3 BOURKE, Edward
25 DUNHAM, Luke
21 ELDRIDGE, Luke
24 FOSKETT, John
27 GREAD, Troy
26 HARLEY, John
6 JACKSON, Matthew
48 JAY, Brendan