Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

hank1 said:
Tungamah played Ardmona in DIV 2, Tungamah won fairly comfortably, Perry Meka played.
Tonny played Numurkah in Div 1, Numurkah won by 15 goals. Mark Brown best on for Numurkah.
In response to Sonny, Tonny realise what they are up against in the Murray League, wont be much of a drop in standard at all and yes you could bunch them with Finley, Moama, Congupna and Rumbalara maybe as probably the bottom 5 sides, time will tell, under no illusions that it will be easy. Tonny have lost 6 of there 8 paid players from last year which includes their FF, whole onball division and GV Rep Backman. Picked up 4 or 5 players and some good youngsters coming through, but any talk of finals is a long way off the mark.

how did mat howard from tungamah go?? wore number 28 and was the stocky little dark skin fella?? originally from fiji

kanga fan man said:
rumbalara def toc by 37 points .

Hey Lads,

After some info on a bloke by the name of Leigh someone.

Was AC at Nathalia last year and has headed back to Yarrawonga this year.

What can you tell me, is he a player?

wobble said:
Hey Lads,

Leigh Ramsdale is the bloke you're after. Very good, solid player. Midfielder or half back flanker.
He came across to Nathalia for one year and was AC in a premiership side. He's gone back to Yarrawonga where he's played all of his career.
Very tough and hard at it, been an O&M rep once or twice, finished in top 3 of Yarra's B&F many times and was captain of Yarra for about 5 years.
Would make an excellent coach as he lives and breathes footy. Ripper fella as well.

wobble said:
Hey Lads,

Old Big Ears

Is that meant to read "is he a good player?"
If so then yes he is a good player.
If its meant to read "is he a player"
Then I would have to say no. I know that he loves a beer as I have one or two with him over the years.

journeyman said:
Leigh Ramsdale is the bloke you're after. Very good, solid player. Midfielder or half back flanker.
He came across to Nathalia for one year and was AC in a premiership side. He's gone back to Yarrawonga where he's played all of his career.
Very tough and hard at it, been an O&M rep once or twice, finished in top 3 of Yarra's B&F many times and was captain of Yarra for about 5 years.
Would make an excellent coach as he lives and breathes footy. Ripper fella as well.

Thanks Journeyman.

Seen a bit of him lately on the track and I'd believe everything you say.

Very impressive, carries himself very well!

Practice match today Echuca United v Mernda, United won by over 10 goals

Dose Goulbourn Valley Umpires use Independant Goal umpires in the Murray or dose Murray use club goals? i know KDFL uses goulburn valley goals i did a game at Murchison last year against Stanhope ? how about Picola ,
cheers

Andrew

kanga fan man said:
hope united had a few out mernda are in top 6 of div 2 dvfl

Had basically a full strength team

im pretty sure he played

How is Deni looking? my club Lower Plenty play them in a praccy game this saturday. be interesting to see how the sides match up, DVFL Div 2 side, vs Murray side.

mitch_fc said:
How is Deni looking? my club Lower Plenty play them in a praccy game this saturday. be interesting to see how the sides match up, DVFL Div 2 side, vs Murray side.

should be a good contest. as for your DVFL div2 vs Murray league team comment, echuca united played mernda last saturday and united won by 15 goals. so you decide...

Apparentely Alan Thorpe and Michael Harrison from Rumbalara have signed with Wakool in the Golden Rivers league on big money... Just wondering if they are worth it and if they are any good?

willo1 said:
should be a good contest. as for your DVFL div2 vs Murray league team comment, echuca united played mernda last saturday and united won by 15 goals. so you decide...
we played a 5qtr match with 1's, 2's and 3's combined. Deni beat us pretty convincingly, but we were minus several of our top few players and it was our first game.

DOCKERS said:
Apparentely Alan Thorpe and Michael Harrison from Rumbalara have signed with Wakool in the Golden Rivers league on big money... Just wondering if they are worth it and if they are any good?

What do you call "Big Money"??? Reading a variety of threads it appears Wakool and in fact many GRFL clubs are spending big dollars.

Thorpey is still a very dangerous player but has missed a lot of footy the past few years whether it be thru leg injuries or the necessity/importance of the game to the club he coached Rumbalara.

Harro is a very classy footballer, Im unsure of the standard of the GRFL but Id reckon he'll be a ripper for Wakool.

Glen coglan has signed at mulwala after leaving the purps and training at yarra all perseason and looking the best he has in years. They will be hard to beat now. Back them in for the flag.

DOCKERS said:

saw thorpe play in the carnival for the fitzroy stars and dominate, won the best finals player in a very very good team. harrison is ment to be the fittest he has been for a few years so should go well. following them is a bloke by the name of matty graham who is a very smart footballer who knows how to use his body very well and for a big bloke is very good at ground level. shane harvey should dominate that league, travel will be a big factor though.

First round this weekend for the murray league... whats everyones tips for the first round... any real standouts?

Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finely
Mulwala V Barooga
Rumbalara V Echuca United
Tocumwal V Numrkah
Tongala V Congupna (Sunday)

bomberboy_19 said:
First round this weekend for the murray league... whats everyones tips for the first round... any real standouts?

Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finely
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numrkah

Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finley
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numurkah

its going to be a tough couple of weeks for picking winners in murray league due to a lot of recruiting, etc. hard games to pick between are Mul and Barooga (both strong sides), Toc and Numurkah (havnt heard much) and Congupna and Tonny (the blues new to our league and congupna sound like they recruited well)

one thing i would like to know is what jumpers will Tongala wear this year? they are the blues, but so are Numurkah so obviously their jumpers would clash.. anyone got info on this?

Yeh Good choice... who do u play for willo? i thinkl tonny are wearing a diffrent coulured jumper just agaisnt cumurkah and there usual gvfl strip agaisnt all other clubs... my tips are and i rekcon the tonny v congupna game will be a cracker!

Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finley
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numurkah

Cobram V Nathalia
Moama V Finley
Mulwala V Barooga
Tocumwal V Numurkah

thats my tips :D

cheers

it happens in Horsham District club rupanyup had an alternatge strip for some games who that colors would clash,

Even Brim & Nullawil were both Maroon but we were gold and Nullawil had white bands and NFC monogran they had white shorts , maroon socks with white tops

bomberboy_19 said:
Yeh Good choice... who do u play for willo? i thinkl tonny are wearing a diffrent coulured jumper just agaisnt cumurkah and there usual gvfl strip agaisnt all other clubs... my tips are and i rekcon the tonny v congupna game will be a cracker!

i play for echuca united:thumbsu: how about you?