Murray Football League (Part 3)

Re: Murray Football League - Part 3

How are we all shaping up this year????

As far as we concerned, we wont be breaking any records this year but we very happy and think we will be landing in the top half rather than the bottom half, all going well we expect to be a couple of goals per game better than last year, with our youth putting on a bit more weight after having a year under their belt. Will have a very young twos side and hopefully they can put pressure on our senior blokes to hold their positions.
We maybe loose a couple of blokes but at the same time have been also able to bring a couple locals back.
New coach and New President, all that should encourage everyone to do their best, club financially ok and 30+ at training which started last week, we very happy and heading in the right direction.

How is your club going??? :D :thumbsu:.

does anybody no a mitchell flemming played for both finley and blighty last year and is about to sign with mortlake. just want to no if he is any good. he would only be 17-18 years old. but is demanding money apparently.

How are we all shaping up this year????

As far as we concerned, we wont be breaking any records this year but we very happy and think we will be landing in the top half rather than the bottom half, all going well we expect to be a couple of goals per game better than last year, with our youth putting on a bit more weight after having a year under their belt. Will have a very young twos side and hopefully they can put pressure on our senior blokes to hold their positions.
We maybe loose a couple of blokes but at the same time have been also able to bring a couple locals back.
New coach and New President, all that should encourage everyone to do their best, club financially ok and 30+ at training which started last week, we very happy and heading in the right direction.

How is your club going??? :D :thumbsu:.

Blues should field a much better side than last yr. picked up Greg Meyland (waaia), Mark Shelton (waaia), mark baker and ben ballinger (shep swans), Nick Bertoli (katandra) and couple others close to signing...
linc wellington obviously will be a big loss and brett scarcella's pace will be missed but the signs are good so far for the blues with 30 odd on the track most nights...

Blues should field a much better side than last yr. picked up Greg Meyland (waaia), Mark Shelton (waaia), mark baker and ben ballinger (shep swans), Nick Bertoli (katandra) and couple others close to signing...
linc wellington obviously will be a big loss and brett scarcella's pace will be missed but the signs are good so far for the blues with 30 odd on the track most nights...

Yeh, i expect the Blues to go ok, IMO i thought they may have under achieved last year, i saw them play three times, twice against us and we couldnt get close and against Toc, they looked a very very good side and well balanced with height and pace all over the ground, i felt they should have been top 4 side last year and would expect them to be their again this year.

Just wondering how the recruiting is going up this end of the murray league ? Mc cool any word over at our cross river rivals(moama) ,you will have your work cut out replacing those lost . A familiar feeling to what we expierienced last year . Even our GV counterparts are going though a mass exodus . Is there any willing footballers left in the district ?

arvo gents.

mowers have lost:

- sunbury boys (there mate is coaching sunbury this year, so can't blame them)
- jars (adel)
- j. harley (coaching heathcote)
that's all i know of as pre-season and myself have never seen eye-to-eye!;)

signed a couple on the weekend apparantly. one of them won a ryder medal a couple of years ago.

dare say the aim this year would always to make the finals but more than likely will be competitive without being in the top 3-4.

Yeh, i expect the Blues to go ok, IMO i thought they may have under achieved last year, i saw them play three times, twice against us and we couldnt get close and against Toc, they looked a very very good side and well balanced with height and pace all over the ground, i felt they should have been top 4 side last year and would expect them to be their again this year.

Good to see some local boys returning in Pud and Bakes. Would you say Tonny over achieved last season?

Tonny had a great year last year and are a good example of what can be achieved without having to throw the $$ around, obviously a very tight nit group down there and well coached, they be looking to repeat last years performance, if not better.
Over achieved??? NO, managed to get the best out of what they had :thumbsu:

hi guys just wondering as how good old rumbalara are going with recruitment do they have any signings or rumours in the pipeline for big name players to play for them this year?

The Barooga Night Football Series is set to take place again this year.

WEEK ONE: Monday 9th March to Friday 13th March
WEEK TWO: Monday 16th March to Friday 20th March
GRAND FINALS: Friday 27th March (both divisions)

Does anyone know which MFL clubs are getting involved?

We are, at this early stage.

Toc wont be involved in the night series this year. We are opting to have 2 practice matches on a Saturday. Shepp United are locked in as one of the matches and the other is still up in the air at the moment.

Josh Wilson from Shepp Swans signed with Congupna last night, so a mate from Congupna has told me.

Will be a handy inclusion for them!

numurkah wont be... practice matches against wang rovers and rochester ...

hi guys just wondering as how good old rumbalara are going with recruitment do they have any signings or rumours in the pipeline for big name players to play for them this year?

Not much to report at this stage. Only that a few thirds kids, mainly Jason Atkinson and Daniel Bowerman will step up this year to play seniors all year. While Corey Wanganeen will play a full season after deciding not to return to the Bendigo Bombers and hopefully Rupert Betherus will also play a full season this time.

The only major losses so far are Derrick Murray, John Jackson and I wont say Dallas Terlich just yet.

So other than that, That's about all, except to say we have started training with some good numbers on the track and it looks like its going to be a fairly young but talented/exciting side again this season.

Starting I asume with the Barroga Night Series as per usual for Rumbalara.

Rumbalara will not be competing in this years Night series,

Precisely. If he was money driven, I'm sure he would have said yes to the $30,000 offered to him to play the final ten games of last year's MFL season with Barooga. And that is an absolute fact.

Just wanted to bring to everyone's attention the rubbish that is being plastered on bigfooty. Tucky has decided to air this on the GV forum and ,as you can see, he is part of the Barooga recruiting team!!!!! What a load of rubbish! It really annoys me that garbage like this appears and to double that annoyance is the fact that it is our club's name being mentioned, in this regard, on another league forum which we are not involved with!!! Fair dinkum! Kept quiet to now but enough is enough! Stick to what's happening on the park rather than speculating on issues that could be a bit touchy! And keep them on our forum!!!!!!

Precisely. If he was money driven, I'm sure he would have said yes to the $30,000 offered to him to play the final ten games of last year's MFL season with Barooga. And that is an absolute fact.

Just wanted to bring to everyone's attention the rubbish that is being plastered on bigfooty. Tucky has decided to air this on the GV forum and ,as you can see, he is part of the Barooga recruiting team!!!!! What a load of rubbish! It really annoys me that garbage like this appears and to double that annoyance is the fact that it is our club's name being mentioned, in this regard, on another league forum which we are not involved with!!! Fair dinkum! Kept quiet to now but enough is enough! Stick to what's happening on the park rather than speculating on issues that could be a bit touchy! And keep them on our forum!!!

Not bad Big Hawk, wish you would follow your speculating rules yourself. If you want know what I mean, go and read Murray League Part 2 page 48 and read what you speculated, then you can apologise to Nathalia for your underhanded accusations.

Righto lets sort out the crap and facts.
Bighawk heres your chance to answer these rumours and lets get on with it.
The rumour which has been circulating, is a major sponsor sold his business and threw extra cash toward Barooga, who then approached a number of players mid season to play for the club for the remainder of the 2008.
Personally think if that occurred the club did nothing wrong and shouldn't be critised, nor should the players involved, or club, deny it ???:confused::confused: