NAB rnd 2 vs Port

For a 200cm man mountain he isnt using his body to best effect, he ball watches. You're all screaming about blokes handballing to each other with flat feet, and rightly so, but there's a reason for that.

Naitanui, and he's no orphan here, doesnt look after his teammates.

There's a train of thought that Naita doesnt know where to run after the clearance, I agree with this to some extent but what I've noticed more is his inability to protect his teammate.

He is so keen to stay involved and win the ball himself he's not looking after the bloke with ball in hand. He doesnt clear a path and whilst it's fantastic watching him bust free from congestion he needs to, or he needs to be taught that there must be a balance.

Watch him next time he plays, it's a constant stutter step a bounce on his toes all the while his teammates are getting sacked.

Naitanui is terrible he has nothing going for him and im sure Freo wouldnt want him at their club right, absolute crab.

You do realise the handball happy gameplan is what won us our premiership in 06 and is what was adopted by Geelong?

You do realise your team no longer consists of Judd and Cousins and Kerr, that same level of class isnt there to pull it off, you do realise it is 2010?

More the teams fault tonight as everyone was flat footed. Hardly his fault if there are no options.

That's it blame everyone else, why were they flat footed?

Well he's not a KPD. He's probably more suited as a HBF/winger as was mentioned by someone else here. Schofield would have a position in the team over him atm anyway.

Did I say he was a KPD, and it is a problem when your side continues to play him in defensive posts.

His first hit out in a long time. Cant expect too much

So you agree with me, you just dont like me saying it?

He was our most productive forward. I think we all know what Lecras is capable of. Certainly no passenger.

Cool, he can kick a goal, that has been established, but football is a two way game, and based on his performance tonight he was interested in one way. He refused to chase, he pulled up before the tackle and he allowed his man to run off, again and again and again.

Most of our young mids are quite quick. Masten, Schuey, Swift, Houlihan etc

So why did Port run you off your feet?

For a 200cm man mountain he isnt using his body to best effect, he ball watches. You're all screaming about blokes handballing to each other with flat feet, and rightly so, but there's a reason for that.

Naitanui, and he's no orphan here, doesnt look after his teammates.

There's a train of thought that Naita doesnt know where to run after the clearance, I agree with this to some extent but what I've noticed more is his inability to protect his teammate.

He is so keen to stay involved and win the ball himself he's not looking after the bloke with ball in hand. He doesnt clear a path and whilst it's fantastic watching him bust free from congestion he needs to, or he needs to be taught that there must be a balance.

Watch him next time he plays, it's a constant stutter step a bounce on his toes all the while his teammates are getting sacked.

OK, apologies sonson, I see what you're on about now. However, that was just tonight's game. Against Essendon he was the hunter and one of the first to get in to Reimers for kneeing Kennedy.

Tonight he wasn't as decisive. It was like he was trying to think through some passages of play but when he actually went after the contest he generally got a positive influence. I think he throws his weight around in his tackling, like when he tried to squeeze the air out of Cornes.

Naitanui is terrible he has nothing going for him and im sure Freo wouldnt want him at their club right, absolute crab.

Did I say that?

Im just pointing out some flaws in his game. Starting to get very precious in here and the blinkers are back on.

I don't think there was anything wrist-slashing wrong. I think things just snowballed out of control, you got a ton of the ball but just too many disposals didn't hit a target which caused a lot more contests and there was no fluid movement of the ball which made it difficult to score, players panicked and started to kick the ball blindly because they were under the pump and it often sailed straight to a Power player.

Players then got stuck in self-preservation mode so there wasn't a lot of running in numbers or support, almost every time an eagle picked the ball up there was an opponent who was about to tackle or put him under pressure.

There are a lot of guys there that haven't played a lot of pressure footy together, they just need more experience and get some more experienced players in the middle.

Masten's decision making seems to be a hot topic tonight. Having just watched the game on Fox, in my oppinion it is something of a work in progress - currently much better than when he started (remember his first few games?), but not quite where it needs to be to for him to become the champion we all want him to be.

An example from tonight's game that sood out for me was in the second quarter, when Masten was on the end of a string of handballs around the offensive fiifty, about 55-60m from goal. He had two options:

1. Kick the ball into the fifty - risky, and gets you into trouble if you turn it over.
  2. Pass it on.
He chose option (2), and passed it to Lynch, who was surrounded by Port players and immediately tackled. In the end, he was strong enough to kick the ball in the tackle, and luckily for us (hmm...or not, as he ultimately kicked a point), the ball fell into the arms of Dalziell. Now Masten had time to turn and sum the options up and ultimately chose to pass it to an under-pressure Lynch, however the end result was that the eventual kick into the fifty came from a player who was being tackled. Had Masten taken the kick himself, he would have been able to do so without such pressure (and yes, I'm aware that positioning of teammates etc, would influence that decision, however he needs to be able to weigh up the consequenses of a hospital handpass...even if it is to Lynch!).

BUT, and it's a big BUT (er, not that type of but...) - he's only played 28 games. It is generally acknowledged that (outside of a very few true champions) an AFL player takes around 50 games to really find their feet. The coaching staff will show him vision of that play, and all the others he was involved with tonight, and he will learn that in such a situation, he is better off taking on the game himself, rather than waiting for others to do so, and that is the type of confidence that comes with being a 50-game player.

To my mind, if he can learn that, it is the difference between finishing as a 200+ gamer (which, barring injury, he will do) in the Banfield/Braun fashion (consistently solid, but only rarely a match winning performer), and finishing as the next Matera or Kemp.

Oh, and as for the rest of the team - hard really to get a line on them given the number of players resting/rotating out of position, however the turnovers were killer. Once you're down 3-4 goals thanks to your own teammates, it's hard to get motivated.

Brutally honest.

Your game plan is ****ed. Over use of the handball is criminal there is always one too many.
You are basing this on one nab cup game. Our game plan looked to be shaping up nicely end of last season, and it is known that Woosh specifically told the young guys to take risks and take the game on tonight. Don't generalise like this.

It seems as though you are all happy with Masten's game, I wouldnt be.

He had 28 posessions and his disposal efficiencey no doubt would have been right up there, cool. What's the point of hanballing to a flat footed mate?

Saw him sell his mates into trouble how many many times?
Was one of the only guys trying to create, had no options other than flat-footed guys who shouldn't have been half the time.
Mitch Brown is not a backmans arseh*le, what's his obsession with playing on, even when there is no advantage, runs around with like a chook with his head cut off.
Nah, try again.
Spangher is too easliy beaten on the lead.
Agreed, not really a KPP backman.
Cox looked cumbersome, seemed as though he was protecting himself at ruck duals, instead of raising legs he looked to avoid contact.

Why?
Underdone.
Lecras is a passenger, probably the worst player in that forward line tonight. How many times was Surjan allowed to run off him?

Rarely tackles.
Now you're just being provocative. I'd say Lecras defensive pressure is a strength, in fact quite often he wins his own ball/goals through this quality. He was off tonight, everyone was. Don't make such big statements.
I thought a massive problem was a lack of leg speed through the middle and is has been a problem since the departure of Judd and Cousins.
We had a bad one. I think you can admit that with Masten, Swift and Shuey coming up, to go with the experience of Kerr and Priddis, that it shouldn't be a problem for too much longer.
Positives? Could only draw one from the game for your mob, and that would be L.Shuey. Was the only player who took it upon himself to dispose of the footy by foot forward of the centre.

Looks very balanced and polished off both feet.

Beyond that you were a systemless rabble.

One more thing to ponder;

Has anyone ever seen Naitanui lay a shepherd?
Yes. All the time, to go with plenty of smothers.
:footy::footy::footy::footy:

OK, apologies sonson, I see what you're on about now. However, that was just tonight's game. Against Essendon he was the hunter and one of the first to get in to Reimers for kneeing Kennedy.

Nicoski was, but Naita did step between them. I'm not questioning his courage or willingness to get into a jam, I just dont know if anyone has taught him there is a time to give up on the contest and look after the ball carrier.

Tonight he wasn't as decisive. It was like he was trying to think through some passages of play but when he actually went after the contest he generally got a positive influence. I think he throws his weight around in his tackling, like when he tried to squeeze the air out of Cornes.

I know he can tackle, trust me. He's probably the best tackler I have seen come through the WAFL in the last 10 years. I've seen him break ribs in a tackle.

I've carried blokes to there car after a game against him and the corks he provides.

It's just an area of his game which probably doesnt come naturally to him, he's so focused on the ball, it can be taught and he'll be such a better player for it.

Disgraceful performance, I was digusted with the errors and I was even more disgusted that I was at the ground watching that abombination.

Better sort out the errors soon Woosh and clear out the dead wood now. eg: Nicoski.

Glad that Hansen didn't play though.

Embarressing result especially letting Westhoff dominate us again.

Port have always been a bogey team for us so this result doesn't entirely surprise me.

We still have a lot to work on before round 1 though. Like not turning the ball over coming out of defence.

Nicoski was, but Naita did step between them. I'm not questioning his courage or willingness to get into a jam, I just dont know if anyone has taught him there is a time to give up on the contest and look after the ball carrier.

Nah, watch it again. Shuey or Masten was first, then Naita and then when the fight had splintered into a few groups and was just about over Nicoski sauntered over to Reimers. That's how he got the free kick, when it should have been Kennedy's.

Welp thats enough of this shit for me, heading out before I get even more frustrated.

Only if some of the other "supporters" could have been as considerate. First time I've actually been to an eagles game for a while, but time hasn't changed those "KICK IT!!!" people out there. Their simplistic understanding of footy shows only their naivety of the game. Nicoski showed it again tonight what happens when you blindly throw the ball on your boot (no matter how far it goes), turnovers.

Brutally honest.

Your game plan is ****ed. Over use of the handball is criminal there is always one too many.

It seems as though you are all happy with Masten's game, I wouldnt be.

He had 28 posessions and his disposal efficiencey no doubt would have been right up there, cool. What's the point of hanballing to a flat footed mate?

Saw him sell his mates into trouble how many many times?

Mitch Brown is not a backmans arseh*le, what's his obsession with playing on, even when there is no advantage, runs around with like a chook with his head cut off.

Spangher is too easliy beaten on the lead.

Cox looked cumbersome, seemed as though he was protecting himself at ruck duals, instead of raising legs he looked to avoid contact.

Why?

Lecras is a passenger, probably the worst player in that forward line tonight. How many times was Surjan allowed to run off him?

Rarely tackles.

I thought a massive problem was a lack of leg speed through the middle and is has been a problem since the departure of Judd and Cousins.

Positives? Could only draw one from the game for your mob, and that would be L.Shuey. Was the only player who took it upon himself to dispose of the footy by foot forward of the centre.

Looks very balanced and polished off both feet.

Beyond that you were a systemless rabble.

One more thing to ponder;

Has anyone ever seen Naitanui lay a shepherd?

With the Brisbane (who we play in Rd 1) coaches there to watch the game and playing Port in Rd 2 this was never going to be a game that we showed our cards or sytems as you put it. We have been playing a zone for the last two years yet the majority of that game we went 1 on 1.

Its typical Woosha....the young boys learn a valuable lesson and we give nothing away.

Yes our skills and execution was poor but I will be very suprised if Port come here in Rd 2 and give us a flogging like that.

Time to move on.

Oh and yes I have seen Naitanui give plenty of sheppards......Ive also seen him make players cough up blood from his tackles. Questioing his defensive abilities is almost criminal when it is one of his major assets.....plenty of other stuff for him to work on though.

Only if some of the other "supporters" could have been as considerate. First time I've actually been to an eagles game for a while, but time hasn't changed those "KICK IT!!!" people out there. Their simplistic understanding of footy shows only their naivety of the game. Nicoski showed it again tonight what happens when you blindly throw the ball on your boot (no matter how far it goes), turnovers.

We must of been in the same stand heard buy like 3 girls all game.

With the Brisbane (who we play in Rd 1) coaches there to watch the game and playing Port in Rd 2 this was never going to be a game that we showed our cards or sytems as you put it. We have been playing a zone for the last two years yet the majority of that game we went 1 on 1.

Its typical Woosha....the young boys learn a valuable lesson and we give nothing away.

You may well have a point.

But you'd agree that the forward line has been a problem for a long time, havent seen anything that will improve this area to be honest.

At the moment it looks like a kick it Kennedy plan is about all there is.

Oh and yes I have seen Naitanui give plenty of sheppards......Ive also seen him make players cough up blood from his tackles. Questioing his defensive abilities is almost criminal when it is one of his major assets.....plenty of other stuff for him to work on though.

A game against South Freo, Im not questioning his defensive capabilities, I know he can tackle and smother.

Shepparding though, different kettle of fish. He needs to strike a balance between ball winning and protecting the ball carrier.

You do realise your team no longer consists of Judd and Cousins and Kerr, that same level of class isnt there to pull it off, you do realise it is 2010?

That's it blame everyone else, why were they flat footed?

Did I say he was a KPD, and it is a problem when your side continues to play him in defensive posts.

So you agree with me, you just dont like me saying it?

Cool, he can kick a goal, that has been established, but football is a two way game, and based on his performance tonight he was interested in one way. He refused to chase, he pulled up before the tackle and he allowed his man to run off, again and again and again.

So why did Port run you off your feet?

Hey Sonson, i don't have a problem with your posts and it's almost refreshing to have somebody actually talk reality, facts and potenial problems to addressed rather than hype, blind hope and aggression towards anybody not towing the line on the positive framing that is uauall applied to all things eagles here. There is nothing wrong with opposing views when they are aired respectfully and not couple with insults and abuse at other posters.

And i will give you credit for backing up your arguments with coherent explanations even if i don't agree with everything you say even though i think you would get more of a hearing if you had some positive comments about at least a few of our players to mix in with all the negatives that you come up with.

But i am just curious, do you post with the same brutal honesty on the freo board about your own team and if so how do the masses on there respond to you? Do you think freo are in a better or worse position looking out over the next 5 years than us?

Shepparding though, different kettle of fish. He needs to strike a balance between ball winning and protecting the ball carrier.

That does not make any sense.

If he is protecting the ball carrier then he does not need to win the ball (since someone on the team already has it).

Even if he had to work on his shepherding (talking about a nebulous claim) it has nothing to do with his focus on ball winning.

What changed between this week and the Bombers 2 weeks ago?

Hey Sonson, i don't have a problem with your posts and it's almost refreshing to have somebody actually talk reality, facts and potenial problems to addressed rather than hype, blind hope and aggression towards anybody not towing the line on the positive framing that is uauall applied to all things eagles here. There is nothing wrong with opposing views when they are aired respectfully and not couple with insults and abuse at other posters.

And i will give you credit for backing up your arguments with coherent explanations even if i don't agree with everything you say even though i think you would get more of a hearing if you had some positive comments about at least a few of our players to mix in with all the negatives that you come up with.

But i am just curious, do you post with the same brutal honesty on the freo board about your own team and if so how do the masses on there respond to you? Do you think freo are in a better or worse position looking out over the next 5 years than us?

How does it feel when PavforAA has more credibility here then you do?

That you have no credibility and don't back up your points? My pleasure.

That some people squeal like little girls when you make criticisms of the team and it's players or coaches and resort to personal abuse and going off on tangents to try and combat it. LOL at anybody who talks about "credibility" on an internet football forum anyway. You sound like a man with a very small life if you come on here to achieve "credibility" for yourself.

I suppose you yourself have loads of "credibility" and have a long history of posting clear opinions in advance of events and always being right?

That some people squeal like little girls when you make criticisms of the team and it's players or coaches and resort to personal abuse and going off on tangents to try and combat it. LOL at anybody who talks about "credibility" on an internet football forum anyway. You sound like a man with a very small life if you come on here to achieve "credibility" for yourself.

I suppose you yourself have loads of "credibility" and have a long history of posting clear opinions in advance of events and always being right?

Well you tell me you post more then twice as often here as I do. Do you come here to achieve credibility?

That fact that a known troll, who has had his aliases banned several times, makes more sense then you do should be probably make you think a bit.

NAB rnd 2 vs Port