B Goldsack Presti O’Brien

HB Clarke Brown Shaw

C Thomas Didak Reid

HF Davis Cloke Medurst

F Rusling Rocca Anthony

R Fraser(c) Pendlebury(vc) Swan

I Stanley, Wood, Cox, McCarthy

Emg: Dawes, Wellingham, O’Bree, Lockyer

Here's my starting 22 for season 09. Fraser is my captain with Pendles his vice, (wanted to go for Swan but not sure I can see it).

I've left out O'Bree and Lockyer though I've got absolutely no doubt the selection panel will have these two wise old heads in the team. Stanley is in the side for his in and under work and Cox just has too much talent for me to leave him out in place of say, a Wellingham. I've also named Ben Reid on a wing and would anticipate him floating forward and back, using his speed, height, endurance and talent to destroy lesser opponents.

The forward line contains 6 players who (conservatively) are capable of kicking 30 goals for the year each.

In the backline, I'm anticipating a fit Presti to take the power forwards while a more mature Brown will be able to carry his form through the finals this time round. Clarke and Shaw will rotate onball along with other options, Thomas, Davis, Stanley and McCarthy.

With regards to rucks, Wood will take over from Bryan and begin to assert himself on the competition.

Thoughts, criticisms? How right did I get it? Who else wants to have a go at naming their best Collingwood outfit for 09?

Ultra conservative (Using every player over 22yrs of age)

B O’Brien Presty Maxwell

HB Shaw Brown Cox

C Corrie Swan Clarke

HF Thomas Cloke Didak

F Rusling Rocca Medurst

R Fraser Pendlebury Davis

I Lockyer O’Bree Johnson Bryan
I can understand all of those and that is probably more like what the actual side will look like. One major problem I do have is no Anthony, even for the ultra conservative, you have to find a spot....
I think one of Lockyer, O'Bree, Johnson will be looking at seconds footy. At least one of our young mids should stand up.

I like the team listed in the OP. My only issue mate.......Nick Maxwell is not listed in your top 26 at the club. Considering he's a prime candidate for the captancy, I would be surprised to see 26 other blokes picked in front of him.:confused:

FB:Goldsack Presti Maxwell

HB:Shaw Brown O'Brien

C: Clarke Swan Thomas

HF: Didak Cloke Lockyer

FF: Rocca Rusling Medhurst

RR: Fraser Davis Pendlebury

INT: Wood O'Bree Stanley Anthony

Eme: Reid Dick J-Mac

Very hard choosing a side, the 25 above I reckon would be our best 25 with also Dawes slotting in there if pebs was injured. Corrie is unseen in a Collingwood jumper so a bit hard for me to include him in or out of the 25 but from form with brisbane i could imagine he could almost have a start. Really dnt see toovey, cook or cox doing much next year even if they get a game, toovey and cook are too untidy and cox is that tall half back flanker where we already have about 4 of them which are all proven and better than him. Stanners was one i reluctantly put in because he hasnt been proven but we're in dire straights for an in and under midfielder like him so if he struggles early id say jmac would take his place straight away.

B - Harry, Shaw, Maxwell
HB - Corrie, Brown, Lockyer(vc)
C - Didak, Davis, Swan
HF - Cloke, Anthony, Dawes
F - Rusling, McAffer, Medhurst
R - Fraser, Pendles (c), Thomas

I - O'Bree, Dick, Reid, Clarke

Apologies to; Rocca, Presti, Cook, Bryan, Stanley, Wood and Wellingham

(can someone please tell me who "J-Mac" is?)

B- prestigiacomo obrien goldsack
HB- maxwell brown shaw
C- clarke thomas corrie
HF- didak cloke davis
FF- anthony rocca medhurst
R- wood obree pendlebury swan
interchange- johnson frazer rustling lockyear, TOM SWIFT

lol. emergencies- barham reid cox

presti HAS to be in team
obrien has the pace and strength for the franklins and fevolas
goldsack is a priority to be in the side ..underated footballer
maxwell is more often playing across the half backline and up the ground abit these days
brown loves to play on the Jono browns and pavliches
shaw plays for the hard ball gets and clearences in the middle and defensive 50
clark has the speed and stamina across the wing to drive the ball deep in the 50
thomas simply the best in middle at clearances and can get out of anything
corrie is a great pick up for us.. great on the wing..cant wait for him to join us
dids will play anywhere in the forward or midfield..what a talent
play cloke up down the ground with his strong marks and long kicks
davis had a sensational year and will continue this year while he is injury free
anthony had a great year with onli like 1 set shot miss or sumtin.he'll b even better
rocca will b our biggest success next year leav him alone in the goal square one on one and he will be dominating the comp.
let medhurst d what he dus best.. roam around in the 50 he'll b scorin 7 goals every week
cbf with the rest.. they r all awesome!!
and sorry about the spelling mistakes!

I like the team listed in the OP. My only issue mate.......Nick Maxwell is not listed in your top 26 at the club. Considering he's a prime candidate for the captancy, I would be surprised to see 26 other blokes picked in front of him.:confused:
You're right actually- I did overlook Mr Smart and he will, (and should) be in the side

Have to wait to after the draft period

Y?

Unless we enter back into the cuz race, no kid drafted should be good enough to get into a finals calibre AFL team.

B: Maxwell, Presti, Harry
HB: J-Mac, Brown, Heater
C: Clarke, Swan, Thomas
HF: Didak, Cloke, Davis
FF: Medhurst, Rocca, Dick

Foll: Fraser, Pendles, O'Bree

Int: Wood, Corrie, Stanley, B.Johnson

B.Johnson, we need leadership I have a feeling Benny will recapture his 05-06 form, as he will be carried along with Didak and Heater who all have plenty to prove to the club for showing faith in em

Rusling, Medhurst preferred as the leading small forward based on form

Goldsack, Maxwell preferred and want a small in the back line so went for J-Mac

Anthony, Lockyer, Cook, Cox couldn't fit em in.....

Y?

Unless we enter back into the cuz race, no kid drafted should be good enough to get into a finals calibre AFL team.

B: Maxwell, Presti, Harry
HB: J-Mac, Brown, Heater
C: Clarke, Swan, Thomas
HF: Didak, Cloke, Davis
FF: Medhurst, Rocca, Dick

Foll: Fraser, Pendles, O'Bree

Int: Wood, Corrie, Stanley, B.Johnson

B.Johnson, we need leadership I have a feeling Benny will recapture his 05-06 form, as he will be carried along with Didak and Heater who all have plenty to prove to the club for showing faith in em

Rusling, Medhurst preferred as the leading small forward based on form

Goldsack, Maxwell preferred and want a small in the back line so went for J-Mac

Anthony, Lockyer, Cook, Cox couldn't fit em in.....

What about if we draft Leigh Brown?

B O'Brien Presti Maxwell
HB Shaw Reid Goldsack
C Clarke Pendelbury McCarthy
HF Didak Cloke Anthony
F Medhurst Rocca Davis
Fol Fraser Swan Thomas
Int Wood Presti Clarke Lockeyer

Emg O'Bree Johnson Corrie

You have Presti at FB and on the bench. So Obree should come in.

My round 1 team:

B: Maxwell, Presti, O'Brien
HB: Clarke, Brown, H.Shaw
C: Pendlebury, McCarthy, Davis
HF: Didak, Cloke, Anthony
FF: Medhurst, Rocca, Rusling

Followers: Fraser, Swan, Thomas
INT: Wood, Lockyer, Obree, Goldsack.

EMG: Wellingham, Cox, Cook.

By the end of 2009 (from development, not injuries).

B: Maxwell, Brown, O'Brien
HB: Barham, Reid, H.Shaw
C: Pendlebury, Clarke, Davis
HF: Didak, Cloke, Anthony
FF: Medhurst, Dawes, Rusling

Followers: Fraser, Swan, Thomas
INT: Wood, McCarthy, Pick 11 / Wellingham, Goldsack.

O'Brien Prestigiacomo Maxwell
Shaw Brown Clarke
Wellingham Swan Lockyer
Didak Cloke Thomas
Rusling Rocca Medhurst
Fraser Davis Pendlebury

O'Bree Anthony Wood Goldsack

J-Mac,Cook and Stanley will contest Wellingham for his spot.
Cox will contest Goldsack for his spot.
Dick and Corrie could easily make their way into the team and if Rocca can't get fit Dawes or Reid will take his spot.

O'Brien Prestigiacomo Maxwell
Shaw Brown Clarke
Wellingham Swan Lockyer
Didak Cloke Thomas
Rusling Rocca Medhurst
Fraser Davis Pendlebury

O'Bree Anthony Wood Goldsack

J-Mac,Cook and Stanley will contest Wellingham for his spot.
Cox will contest Goldsack for his spot.
Dick and Corrie could easily make their way into the team and if Rocca can't get fit Dawes or Reid will take his spot.
nahhh goldsack has easily and permanently got his spot in the side...hes a very underrated footballer

Round 1 2009

B: O'Brien Presti Maxwell
HB: Shaw Brown Anthony
C: Clarke Pendles Lockyer
HF: Didak Cloke Davis
F: Rusling Rocca Medhurst
FOL: Fraser Swan Thomas

INT: O'Bree Reid Wood McCarthy

EMG: Goldsack, Welingham, Dick

I want McCarthy and Anthony in, the rest pretty much fills itself out I would've thought.

I think we have an oversupply of pretty decent/worth-a-go players, (if such a thing is possible,) so it's hard to pick a 22. I wish we could somehow have traded 3 ok players for one kick-arse player, but trading doesn't work like that these days. We have to put games into the young guys who look like maybe being kick-arse players; I think we could have 5 or 6 of them going around in the vfl this year...Corrie, Reid, Wellingham, Cox, Dick, Barham, 11, 29 etc etc.

The top22 young guys - Clarke, Goldy, McCarthy, Anthony need pressure from underneath, and I think they'll get it. The non-superstar older guys also - Lockyer, O'Bree, Rocca, Presti - they need pressure from below also.

I think Corrie is a chance to be best 22 straight away - he's a pretty good player.

Would like to see:

B: Maxwell, Prestigiacomo, Goldsack
HB: Shaw, Brown, O'Brien
C: Swan, Clarke, Johnson
HF: Didak, Cloke, Thomas
F: Medhurst, Rocca, Anthony
Foll: Fraser, Pendlebury, Davis
Inter: McCarthy, O'Bree, Wood, Lockyer

Emerg: Rusling, Cook, Corrie

Others likely to get a game: Dawes, Dick, Stanley, Reid, Cox, Wellingham, Barham, Bryan, Toovey

Of course our draftees will also be a chance, hopefully Pick 11 is a plug and play midfielder! Might snaffle a decent 2nd rounder too

Name your best team for the Pies 09