News Nathan Ablett signs with Gold Coast

I dont know about the rest of you guys, but if he were to line up for the GC (when they enter the AFL) I would be quite bitter. Very much like with leigh colbert.

This is someone who we put a heap of time and effort in to getting him to join the club, develop him, and attend to his special needs (keeping him away from the media) only for him to quit just when he started to look the goods. 2 yrs later he decides to join another team. IMO thats a real slap in the face... but what can you do.

Re: Nathan Ablett may sign with Gold Coast

I think this is just the usual SEN speculation. I'm not saying it won't happen, but I am saying there's no real evidence at this stage that it will either.

If it did though it would make sense....we all know how much Garry loves Nathan, and from GC's perspective, the more reasons they can give Garry to go there the better.

Scott Clayton-keep your hands off my Gazza!!! :mad:

I really don't believe this. Sorry.

I can't see Nathan playing at AFL for the Gold Coast or anyone else. VFL, maybe, but I just don't think he has the will to succeed at the highest level, or the ability to deal with the exposure. I am sure this will not turn out to be much.

If Nathan plays AFL or reserves for GC it wont matter, it is still another incentive for Gary to leave.

As far as what I said before, believe what you will. I am just letting people know what I have been told. What benefit would my work mate get for making it up?

I just read the article in the Herald Sun where Nathan is quoted as saying that after watching the Cats win the GF this year he regained the passion to play AFL. I doubt whether the new passion will survive a Summer.

Agree!

2 weeks of pre season training in the QLD heat will be enough for NAblett... but im still worried about Gaz

If watching the Cats win the '09 GF re-lit his passion for football, I would think he'd be more chance of being part of a premiership with Geelong than GC17!

Maybe its all BS and he's just talking to Kenny Hinkley as friends do.

Regarding Gary's potential move, is Lauren a Geelong girl? Close to mum et al? Partners have huge influence in major life decisions like 'Where do we want to live?'

Get him back to Geelong!!!

Why? So he can play a few seasons, then decide his heart isn't in it anymore and walk away again?

I'd prefer to have Hawkins and Mitch Brown as our key forwards going forward than Hawkins and a half-hearted Nathan.

If watching the Cats win the '09 GF re-lit his passion for football, I would think he'd be more chance of being part of a premiership with Geelong than GC17!

Maybe its all BS and he's just talking to Kenny Hinkley as friends do.

Regarding Gary's potential move, is Lauren a Geelong girl? Close to mum et al? Partners have huge influence in major life decisions like 'Where do we want to live?'

Um! Greg Williams girl (later wife) was also a Geelong girl.;)

Frankly, I'm way over Nate. If the GC aren't sufficiently savvy to see what they're getting, let them waste their money and time on him.

Everybody has an opinion. If we look at the 07 highlights, NAB has a lot of input. People forget what talent and freakish ability he had. If he has matured and is hungry to play again, I would love to get him back here. Imagine a forward line of Tomahawk, NAB, Mitch Brown in the future flanked by Varcoes and Motlop.
I hope his year at GC is merely to get him fit and focussed again. Then he can go in the draft and say it's Geelong or nobody. That is my hope. Any Ablett son of Gary is a must have at Geelong and he is young enough to make up for lost time.
The reverse of Gary going to GC is not something I am willing to accept at present. Can't imagine him playing AGAINST us, ever. Ridiculous and enough to start losing interest in AFL. Nothing can compensate us for losing the AFL MVP as voted by players and coaches, and finally umpires, even if he is past his peak at age 27!

If NAblett ever pulls on a GC AFL guernsey I'll consider it a slap in the face for our club, considering all we had done for him, especially giving him a year out of footy with full pay while he reconsidered his future. GAblett going north is unthinkable, I'd probably stop going to the footy.

Everybody has an opinion. If we look at the 07 highlights, NAB has a lot of input. People forget what talent and freakish ability he had. If he has matured and is hungry to play again, I would love to get him back here. Imagine a forward line of Tomahawk, NAB, Mitch Brown in the future flanked by Varcoes and Motlop.
I hope his year at GC is merely to get him fit and focussed again. Then he can go in the draft and say it's Geelong or nobody. That is my hope. Any Ablett son of Gary is a must have at Geelong and he is young enough to make up for lost time.
The reverse of Gary going to GC is not something I am willing to accept at present. Can't imagine him playing AGAINST us, ever. Ridiculous and enough to start losing interest in AFL. Nothing can compensate us for losing the AFL MVP as voted by players and coaches, and finally umpires, even if he is past his peak at age 27!

You’re right, we all have our opinions. Mine are coloured by having a distaste for gifted people who waste those gifts.

As for the 2007 GF you’ll find, if you look at the entire replay, the game was well over when NA made a worthwhile contribution. I still remember that one handed mark in the forward pocket toward the end of the game though.

If the GC take him knowing the attitude problems that are endemic, more fools them. He’s never going to play with us again. So let’s concentrate on players who are dedicated and who want to play for us and move on.

Regarding Gaz heading north, I reckon Neil Craig got it right with Kurt Tippett. When his future was in the balance, Craig said the Crows would make him a good offer but they would not be able to match a Gold Coast offer. It would come down to whether Kurt wanted to remain a part of what the Crows are about or whether $$$ were more important. Kurt went for the quality. Let’s hope Gaz feels the same.

This can only be good news for footy fans.

The kid is taking longer than some to figure out what works for him in this life.
How many others out there have changed their mind once, twice ..three times before they worked out their current choice was the best option for them?

The fact he has a choice we could only dream about doesn't make his decision any easier. We have little idea of the physical work needed to prepare fully or the mental demands for that matter so the choice looks easier to us than it is.

Hawthorn wrote off his old man at this stage of his career. Snr may have been happy hunting and fishing in the North East for the rest of his playing days if a few people had not suggested his footy talent was too good to ignore. Those people took a punt and we all still enjoy watching the talent employed.

Nathan is snrs boy. Seems to think a lot like his old man. If at 22 or 23 he has figured out now that footy is his best bet for the life he wants then good on him. I hope it goes well. His dad played great footy starting at that age.

I would add that I wouldn't be surprised that if he plays again it would be at Geelong. GCFC will be a media circus and Nathan will know that. He also knows that a lot of the hype about the "Abletts" is mature now - Jnr is a brownlow medallist and dual premiership (love that!) player. Thats not hype thats fact. Nathan has a medal also and once the hooha about him returning dies it will be business as usual.

Fingers crossed.

You’re right, we all have our opinions. Mine are coloured by having a distaste for gifted people who waste those gifts.

As for the 2007 GF you’ll find, if you look at the entire replay, the game was well over when NA made a worthwhile contribution. I still remember that one handed mark in the forward pocket toward the end of the game though.

If the GC take him knowing the attitude problems that are endemic, more fools them. He’s never going to play with us again. So let’s concentrate on players who are dedicated and who want to play for us and move on.

Regarding Gaz heading north, I reckon Neil Craig got it right with Kurt Tippett. When his future was in the balance, Craig said the Crows would make him a good offer but they would not be able to match a Gold Coast offer. It would come down to whether Kurt wanted to remain a part of what the Crows are about or whether $$$ were more important. Kurt went for the quality. Let’s hope Gaz feels the same.
Actually talking about the 2007 complete season highlight package, where Nathan features a lot in the 1st half season, not only the GF where he was a small yet notable contributor. Why are you so sure he willnever be a CAT again. It's in his blood. Hope he feels welcome by our group who weren't too keen on his appearance at 08 mad monday.
Anyway, LONG way to go before he isa senior player anywhere, but I really believe if he sets his mind to it he will be AWESOME. Again, it's been said elsewhere, he is the son of the greatest ever and has very similar traits and skills and attitudes...

Actually talking about the 2007 complete season highlight package, where Nathan features a lot in the 1st half season, not only the GF where he was a small yet notable contributor. Why are you so sure he willnever be a CAT again. It's in his blood. Hope he feels welcome by our group who weren't too keen on his appearance at 08 mad monday.
Anyway, LONG way to go before he isa senior player anywhere, but I really believe if he sets his mind to it he will be AWESOME. Again, it's been said elsewhere, he is the son of the greatest ever and has very similar traits and skills and attitudes...

We’ll agree to disagree about Nate’s contribution with us. His heart has never been in it. Not at Modewarre. Not at Geelong. Not at Broadbeach. And from what I hear, not in his chosen trade either. If he was interested in returning to the Cats, don’t you think he would have approached us and not GC? Apparently he likes it up there, so don’t expect a return to Melbourne anytime soon – footy or no footy.

He certainly has similar 'traits' and 'attitudes' to his dad but isn't in the same ball park with 'skills'.

Pardon for going off topic, but I noticed in the HS that Podsiadly has joined our fitness department and is off to England this week with Sando to study the latest in strength and conditioning.

Daffodil in the Cup.:p

nathan ablett has been the most overpaid, overhyped player

1. he is committed to football only when he needs to sign a contract, only for him to walk away from the deal

He claims he wants to be a builder, apprecenticeship is not finished.

He wants to play in broadbeach, non event.

this guy should get a real job, and be honest with the world. He is more like his mum than dad.

Second quarter actually...

Nathan has plenty of talent, no one can deny that. He was very handy in our '07 premiership even him playing at the level he was... Just looking at the '07 highlights makes me teary. 2008 could have been very well different if he wanted to play and put in the work... Much better than Lonergan obviously, and Hawkins wasn't ready yet. I'd have him back in a heartbeat even just to play VFL.

I'd rather him play for GC than not at all, just don't want Gaz to follow him if that ends up happening... But whatever he does, I hope he ends up being happy about it.

Geelong will be filthy if nathan plays for another club. spent a lot of time and patience with him, and where very flexible in trying to get him back last year. To be honest i wont be happy with Nathan if he plays for another club, for the above reasons.

this has been rumoured since the day nathan moved north. even if there's some truth to it now i suspect that one of the parties will see sense in the next couple of years

Good luck to him.

A lot of negativity on this board. His manner is more like his father's and thus Geelong, being the fishbowl that it is, was not condusive to him enjoying his footy.

Personally I hope if he chooses to play with GC that he does well and that he is happy. I'm more than content with the contribution that the Ablett family has made at KP.

Why? So he can play a few seasons, then decide his heart isn't in it anymore and walk away again?

I'd prefer to have Hawkins and Mitch Brown as our key forwards going forward than Hawkins and a half-hearted Nathan.

Couldn't agree more.

Let's state a fact here - Nathan Ablett was given a chance, was a useful player for us, but then walked away. As far as I'm concerned he can rot. He had his chance and blew it. I'll take Hawkins over him and I'm eager to see how Brown looks next season.

Dont know what to think but hopefully if he wants to be reunited with GAZ then come back home and play in the VFL or something :eek::(:p

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...h-the-gold-coast/story-e6frf9ix-1225794494218
Nathan Ablett signs with the Gold Coast

NATHAN Ablett yesterday signed with Gold Coast and said he would love to be reunited with his brother Gary at the new club in 2011.

494184-nathan-ablett.jpg
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...h-the-gold-coast/story-e6frf9ix-1225794494218

News Nathan Ablett signs with Gold Coast