NCFL Central discussion 2023

I wonder what the connection was to play at St Arnaud for McNamee and not any other club that’s probably closer or offering more coin

He coached Dunolly prior to his tenure at St Arnaud so I assume they liked how he went about it and his connections

Maybe the issue is clubs forgot about raising there locals into senior footballers and only thought about spending money on gun recruits. Once they leave there left with scraps

A bloke told me the other day that the new clubrooms at Wedderburn will cost 4.8 million. dont know what the clubs contribution is but you would think it would cost them a fair whack

I can’t remember a side being so dominant across those 4 years as what wedderburn were. Big bodied midfield and pace on the outside. That’s about 10 years ago now

Combined winning margin of 23 points 2011/12/13/14 twice by a point once in xtra time in which Charlton supporters still cringe about, thanks to T Baird

A bloke told me the other day that the new clubrooms at Wedderburn will cost 4.8 million. dont know what the clubs contribution is but you would think it would cost them a fair whack
Just thought Id make sure this was fair dinkum. Reported in the Addy August 3 2022 actual cost is 4.9 mil before they found arsenic in the soil on site

The rumours are a super coach and gun full forward. Along with a string of solid players
I find this crazy if true. They only have 7 locals in this years grand final senior team. if they go adding even more imports next year then it will basically be a fully imported team! What’s the point of that!!?

I can’t remember a side being so dominant across those 4 years as what wedderburn were. Big bodied midfield and pace on the outside. That’s about 10 years ago now

Certainly one of the most dominant sides seen in this league. Wyche’s 1980 to 1986 side would have to be up there too. 7 consecutive Grand Finals, 5x Minor Premiers, 4x Flags

Wyche were a super power, all locals with some extremely talented school teachers thrown in made for years of great sides. White, Trewin,McNichol,Fawcett,Gordon,Allan,Keane and many more great names all local talent. School teachers back in the day made great contributions to sporting clubs statewide which is sorely missed now. Wyches 1980 grand final victory over Boort probably the greatest victory in NCFL history,Boort had the best team money could buy and got rolled.

I find this crazy if true. They only have 7 locals in this years grand final senior team. if they go adding even more imports next year then it will basically be a fully imported team! What’s the point of that!!?
How many imports do SLNT & BW have this year? Populations much bigger than Nully so what else do you expect them to do?

It’s a hard one because they have about 100 “locals”. I’ll be watching Ultima today and I was told the other night only 8 came through their juniors. I imagine half of Sea Lakes side didn’t play juniors for them. I mainly follow central Murray and I imagine half of Kerang side today won’t have played juniors for them and they have a town of 4,000, Nyah probably have a dozen or so.

I would have thought 15 or 16 kids would have gone to kths though HavUEvaSeenTheRain at kerang, but it's problem, there's bugger all kids now north of bendigo, kerang has dropped by half in 20 years that go to.the high school, and you'd imagine it's the same in the north central
Covid has rooted junior footy,kids now content to sit on their tablets etc playing games etc. Kids also much less resilient now unless they have got parents pushing them they cant be bothered, not too many 2 parent families these days either doesnt help.

Cost to play and cost of living doesn’t help participation rates especially in rural areas.

Rego fees, boots, shorts, socks, helmets, mouth guards, club merchandise plus petrol to travel one big distances.

It costs a lot

I would have thought 15 or 16 kids would have gone to kths though HavUEvaSeenTheRain at kerang, but it's problem, there's bugger all kids now north of bendigo, kerang has dropped by half in 20 years that go to.the high school, and you'd imagine it's the same in the north central
I wouldn’t doubt that but just making the point that some clubs can’t actually recruit or play locals because they simply don’t exist.
I remember when Toolybuc Manang won a flag with nearly all “locals” yet 7 came from other CM clubs.

What about the Demons of the 90s. 4 flags and 2 second best. Also good record. And 96 was the best one.
Another great era. Only minor premiers in 1991, 93. Finished 2nd and had to go through the prelim in each year of the 95-97 three peat years. Donald only lost 1 H&A game between 96-97, but lost both Grand Finals

NCFL Central discussion 2023