NEAFL- 2014

Must be the only comp in aust where some teams don't play each other and others play each other 3 times!

As for brewer great guy and very good footballer. However I would agree that his build is not elite athlete- and I reckon he would be on an AFL list right now if he could get his body looking like an AFL player as his skills for a big boy are outstanding. Good player at neafl levrl

spot on 2010 PREMIER,
Must say he is still only 21 or 22 years of age and as they say, the big guys of this size take longer to develop.In saying that word Longer, remember Billy Longer, for the lions, as a top draft pick, was touted as being a gun in a few years. well 3 years have past and hes been delisted by the lions and has not put any runs on the board at his new AFL club. I remember over the past 3 seasons when Broady played the Lions ressies, Brewer had the better of Longer in every game.... Interesting hey.And your right, his skills are outstanding for a big guy, and has incredible strength, and he does cover a lot of ground in a game,,,, but is his motor good enough to run the klms required at AFL level... and I think that's been the concern of the AFL recruiting guys.

I just noticed the NEAFL squad for 2014 on the website "Yawn" - I thought I was in a time warp for a moment - not too much new blood for the current AFL Scouts to look at with this lot, there are lots of tried and re-tried players who will be still going through the same motions I suspect. It seems the selection policy is just like that of the current Australian Cricket team - The NEAFL Rep Side these days seems harder to get out of than easy to get into, thus not to many opportunities open up for our new breed of our players, it looks like the coaches favourites are the flavour of the day again this year - Lets hope WA don't select a bunch of young blokes on footy merit, as lack of leg speed is one obvious area our selectors have missed out on representing IMO.

Absolutely agree. I thought the NEAFL was a platform for young players to prove their talents against a competition great enough for AFL clubs to deem worthy of measuring their outputs against young talent from other leagues (VFL, WAFL, SANFL). I assumed it was set up for people like a Dayne Zorko who dominated QAFL football to be drafted at a younger age rather than being questioned on whether it was because he was in a weaker league.

If not, then what was the point in the NEAFL then? If it was just to raise the competition for older players who would have played in their local competition regardless then what's the point? If it was to give a stronger competition for the AFL Reserves sides to play in then why waste the money on flying local sides interstate than not just instill a national AFL Reserves competition.

Absolutely agree. I thought the NEAFL was a platform for young players to prove their talents against a competition great enough for AFL clubs to deem worthy of measuring their outputs against young talent from other leagues (VFL, WAFL, SANFL). I assumed it was set up for people like a Dayne Zorko who dominated QAFL football to be drafted at a younger age rather than being questioned on whether it was because he was in a weaker league.

If not, then what was the point in the NEAFL then? If it was just to raise the competition for older players who would have played in their local competition regardless then what's the point? If it was to give a stronger competition for the AFL Reserves sides to play in then why waste the money on flying local sides interstate than not just instill a national AFL Reserves competition.

Agree with you and Billy Bunter...... as I said before, the comp is a dogs breakfast,,all over the place.!!!

Interesting picking 42 for the state squad but they will pick there very best team vs WA then look for a few developers for the Tas game..ie EWB from the thunder. We must realise that some lads have opted not to play. Salter from Ainslie comes to mind. Gents feel free to throw names up but they must be in form. Redlands aren't going well enough to have 9 in the final team let alone the squad, but 2 great ins are Grewar and Josh Smith both who should play vs WA. Paul Hunter and Turner are both young ruckman worthy of at least a spot in the squad. Again young players. Shreeve from Southport is a jet. Payney is in better form now than when he left, clearly the best player in the competition, Davey from NT is flying also but will be good to see how he goes away from TIO stadium this weekend.
There is actually a fair bit of class in this team, Pfieffer, Sansbury, Brabozon, Dwyer, Sieracowski, Davey, Klemke and co.
Although there is some interesting selections overall I think the mix is of decent quality..Go Qld!!!

Jed Turner has slipped seamlessly into NEAFL footy - was the best ruck in the QAFL last year by a fair stretch in my humble and very unbiased opinion but his form this year seems to be sensational. He's loving playing at Aspley and would love nothing better than to see him in the final squad and do well v WA. Travels a long way to get to training each week so any rewards that come his way are very deserved.

I may stand corrected. Looked at the players and their ages. While the majority are mature aged players, there still seems to be some young talent in there. It's now all about whether or not they choose to play the kids and I'm sure they've got some tough decisions to make. Do they go with youth for exposure, or mature aged for a better chance of victory.

NAME DOB AGE TEAM
Sansbury 26/11/1983 30.47 Aspley
Davey 15/05/1984 30.00 Northern Territory
Carse 8/02/1985 29.26 Redland
Ilett 12/03/1985 29.17 Northern Territory
Payne 15/09/1985 28.66 Aspley
L Scott 2/05/1986 28.03 Redland
Atkinson unknown 28.00 Queanbeyan
Baxter 25/09/1986 27.63 Southport
Burge 5/12/1986 27.44 Southport
Brabazon 26/12/1986 27.38 Sydney Uni
Gibson 12/01/1987 27.33 Eastlake
Hughes 15/01/1987 27.33 Redland
Dunne 5/02/1987 27.27 Northern Territory
Mills 29/08/1987 26.71 Southport
Ellis 14/09/1987 26.66 Ainslie
Lucy 14/09/1987 26.66 Aspley
Pfeiffer 28/09/1987 26.62 Redland
A Scott 23/10/1987 26.56 Redland
Patrick 4/03/1988 26.19 Northern Territory
O'Dwyer 21/07/1988 25.81 Sydney Uni
Grose 2/09/1988 25.69 Aspley
Djerrkura 19/09/1988 25.65 Northern Territory
Riseley 21/12/1988 25.39 Hills Eagles
Barton 2/11/1989 24.53 Sydney Uni
Williams 14/02/1990 24.24 Redland
Sierakowski 26/07/1990 23.80 Sydney Uni
Reed 3/10/1990 23.61 Hills Eagles
Turner 22/04/1991 23.06 Aspley
Derickx 6/05/1991 23.02 Sydney Uni
Klemke unknown 23.00 Queanbeyan
S Rioli 25/05/1991 22.97 Northern Territory
Geary 30/05/1991 22.95 Southport
Grayson 27/09/1991 22.62 Southport
Goldsmith 14/11/1991 22.49 Southport
Vandenberg 3/03/1992 22.19 Ainslie
Stubbs 26/03/1992 22.13 Hills Eagles
Shreeve 26/07/1992 21.79 Southport
Hunter 9/02/1993 21.25 Redland
Grewar 16/02/1993 21.23 Redland
B Rioli 9/10/1993 20.59 Northern Territory
Smith 2/01/1994 20.36 Redland
Wasley-Black 20/01/1995 19.31 Northern Territory
Average Age 25.12

I may stand corrected. Looked at the players and their ages. While the majority are mature aged players, there still seems to be some young talent in there. It's now all about whether or not they choose to play the kids and I'm sure they've got some tough decisions to make. Do they go with youth for exposure, or mature aged for a better chance of victory.

NAME DOB AGE TEAM
Average Age 25.12

Well done Ruffles,thats a lot of work.
imo, against WAFL, we must go for a team with the mature age content.
Against Tassy, we could go a team that has has more youngsters involved.

Interesting picking 42 for the state squad but they will pick there very best team vs WA then look for a few developers for the Tas game..ie EWB from the thunder. We must realise that some lads have opted not to play. Salter from Ainslie comes to mind. Gents feel free to throw names up but they must be in form. Redlands aren't going well enough to have 9 in the final team let alone the squad, but 2 great ins are Grewar and Josh Smith both who should play vs WA. Paul Hunter and Turner are both young ruckman worthy of at least a spot in the squad. Again young players. Shreeve from Southport is a jet. Payney is in better form now than when he left, clearly the best player in the competition, Davey from NT is flying also but will be good to see how he goes away from TIO stadium this weekend.
There is actually a fair bit of class in this team, Pfieffer, Sansbury, Brabozon, Dwyer, Sieracowski, Davey, Klemke and co.
Although there is some interesting selections overall I think the mix is of decent quality..Go Qld!!!
Thats an interesting comment, but probably fair when you look at the squad.
I understand that the Northern teams are stronger than the Eastern teams at the moment, but I would have thought that was more to do with depth rather than top end talent.
5 players from the ACT
8 players from Sydney
29 players from the Northern Teams

Seems a little bias to me.

I understand that the Northern teams are stronger than the Eastern teams at the moment, but I would have thought that was more to do with depth rather than top end talent.
5 players from the ACT
8 players from Sydney

As Billy and Ruffles said above 12 Magpies, throw out some names of who you think should be in the squad then.
Dont think there are too many from down south that would feel unlucky not to be in it.
Not sure its really bias, just an indication of the strength of the North and how far us southerns have to pick up.

HEY Dog, not just QLD though mate Ha Ha

NAME DOB AGE TEAM
Average Age 25.12
great effort squad looks good would like to see a few kids get through for possible draft exposure,i hope there is coverage on the abc again so we can watch it?
What is the average age of the squad?
the season campaighners are Payne,Illett,Pfifer
Up and comers Riolli,J Smith,Grewar,

Wil
As Billy and Ruffles said above 12 Magpies, throw out some names of who you think should be in the squad then.
Dont think there are too many from down south that would feel unlucky not to be in it.
Not sure its really bias, just an indication of the strength of the North and how far us southerns have to pick up.

HEY Dog, not just QLD though mate Ha Ha
The hairs stand up when the maroon jumper slips over the shoulders... Not sure how I'd go in this composite set up!!

5 players from the ACT
8 players from Sydney

Seems perfectly sound to me

We have all discussed the Qld/NT sides dominance

I actually think a couple of the ACT/Sydney selections are a bit token to be truthful

NEAFL- 2014