NEAFL- 2014

Just read that the REP game has been moved to Blacktown International Sports Park instead of being the curtain raiser to the Giants v Tigers game at Spotless stadium.

Seems the game will now be played in front of the coaches and support staff only. Can't imagine them getting any sort of crowd now that it is being played out at a ground which is effectively a ghost town in the middle of nowhere. Very disappointing.

Pi@s poor effort. Shows the 'care value'. No wonder some players don't take it too seriously.

It's a bit of a laughing stock now, can you imagine the Wafl players reaction when they turn up out there, surely there is a suburban ground worthy of hosting a rep game

Dogwarna,
yes this is just not real.... firstly playing the game in Sydney is a joke let alone the change of venue.Is insulting to both teams.... care factor from the governing body is proven once again.Why bother with these rep games.... as so many players don't want to compete n thus dont make themselves available , plus injuries forcing players to miss,,hence the actual rep sides are never no where near full strength.

Dogwarna,
yes this is just not real.... firstly playing the game in Sydney is a joke let alone the change of venue.Is insulting to both teams.... care factor from the governing body is proven once again.Why bother with these rep games.... as so many players don't want to compete n thus dont make themselves available , plus injuries forcing players to miss,,hence the actual rep sides are never no where near full strength.
its a farce doing this further makes the neafl a joke.

game as a header to a afl game great, move it to blacktown crowd under 100 wow! u idiots running the comp. opposition will belaughing at this comp.... cant see them wanting them to be part of it in the future.

Think you could near guarantee the decision was made from Jolimont. For some reason they are incredibly precious about ground surface and god forbid a pristine surface becoming less so bc 44 blokes run around on it for a while before hand.

I would've thought that the game would've been in QLD due to majority of squad being from QLD based clubs...

Instead of playing before a AFL game why not play after??(obviously only if a day AFL game)

I would've thought that the game would've been in QLD due to majority of squad being from QLD based clubs...

Instead of playing before a AFL game why not play after??(obviously only if a day AFL game)
Good idea.

Would have had more coverage if the game was played in WA. At least they take the game seriously, get a good crowd and get good media coverage. ABC WA used to telecast live the WAFL Match of the Day and the State Game usually gets that coverage. At least there would be interest and the players involved would feel that the game actually mattered

At Blacktown International (what does that mean!!!) Sports Ground, the game will have minimal interest, a few locals will front and will be lucky to get 2 lines of coverage in the daily paper!

An absolute insult to every player, official and supporter involved.

No Name HT Wt DOB Age Club
6 Ben Rioll 177 62 9/10/1993 20.63 NT Thunder
4 Luke Shreeve 180 77 26/07/1992 21.83 Southport
23 Aaron Vandenberg 188 90 3/03/1992 22.23 Ainslie
2 Todd Grayson 186 82 27/09/1991 22.66 Southport
5 Kal Geary 177 77 30/05/1991 22.99 Southport
22 Jacob Derickx 193 90 6/05/1991 23.06 Sydney University
8 Jed Turner 196 98 22/04/1991 23.10 Aspley
1 Will Sierakowski 188 89 26/07/1990 23.84 Sydney University
20 Kade Kiemke 181 81 15/07/1990 23.87 Queanbeyan
9 Tim Barton 194 94 2/09/1989 24.73 Sydney University
49 Michael Risely 190 83 21/12/1988 25.43 Hills Eagles
32 Gavin Grose 195 85 2/09/1988 25.73 Aspiey
18 Matt O'Dwyer 188 80 21/07/1988 25.85 Sydney University
1 Mitch Pettitt 195 90 9/04/1988 26.13 Aspley
35 Darren Pfeiffer 183 82 28/09/1987 26.66 Redland
19 Sean Ellis 165 77 14/09/1987 26.70 Ainslie
33 Wade Mills 193 90 29/08/1987 26.75 Southport
24 Chris Dunne 181 77 5/02/1987 27.31 NT Thunder
3 Cleve Hughes 193 93 15/01/1987 27.36 Redland
36 Ryan Brabazon 188 83 26/12/1986 27.42 Sydney University
16 Jason Burge 173 75 5/12/1986 27.48 Southport
21 Josh Baxter 188 90 25/09/1986 27.67 Southport
17 Matt Payne 182 84 15/09/1985 28.70 Aspiey
26 Cameron llett 181 85 12/03/1985 29.21 NT Thunder
25 Eddie Sansbury 183 88 26/11/1983 30.50 Aspley
34 Trent Stubbs Hills Eagles

Average Age: 25.5

If you go by the 'Zorko' road (getting drafted at the age of 21) then there's effectively only 1-2 players on the team at that same age. Perhaps there are players who have been drafted from the NEAFL clubs at an older age than that though. Personally I would have liked to see some of the younger blokes given a shot - Redland boys Smith, Hunter and Grewar for example who are good enough for the side.

Outstanding effort by Jed Turner with his inclusion. Has effectively come from 2 tiers below after playing with Maroochydore for the last 3 years. The coaches would love his enthusiasm, coachable attitude and his obvious playing ability. As mentioned in earlier post just a shame the game not given the credibility it deserves playing it at effectively a training facility. No doubt precious suits who probably never played the game or had the honour of representative footy behind the decision.

Think you could near guarantee the decision was made from Jolimont. For some reason they are incredibly precious about ground surface and god forbid a pristine surface becoming less so bc 44 blokes run around on it for a while before hand.
Metricon has a curtain raiser each week no problems

Outstanding effort by Jed Turner with his inclusion. Has effectively come from 2 tiers below after playing with Maroochydore for the last 3 years. The coaches would love his enthusiasm, coachable attitude and his obvious playing ability. As mentioned in earlier post just a shame the game not given the credibility it deserves playing it at effectively a training facility. No doubt precious suits who probably never played the game or had the honour of representative footy behind the decision.
the game should be at Yeronga (Bris) would get 2000? or Sydney Uni? or Ainslee? or Alice would get 2000+, it is a shame id say the Giants pulled the pin late but NEAFL shouldnt have schedueled an AFL venue in the first place, even play it at a regional venue townsville or wagga?

Billy I am in Melbourne next week for work. What time is the game, from your description I assume its at the G. Meet up?

One 4

Sorry mate I did not take my IPad to Melb when I left Friday

On reflection it was a couple of ordinary days footy wise for me with the Lions Getting smashed by the Kangas and then the Hornets getting smashed last night by the Williamstown Reserves I spoke to a Segulls official last night who told me that they had 12 players missing from their weekend win against Geelong

Big gap between NEAFL and VFL based on the Hornets performance
One would have to question how Bushy played so many AFL games with the Lions after his brain snap last night - I could feel the heads drop from that point and it felt like game over 3 goal turn around from one act of non self discipline from a club leader Wow noticed he got amongst the best players on the Foxtel website - please?

We need a big win in Sydney next round to block out this game and hopefully our senior better paid players come to play

My tip for this week WA by 10
Goals

One 4

On reflection it was a couple of ordinary days footy wise for me with the Lions Getting smashed by the Kangas and then the Hornets getting smashed last night by the Williamstown Reserves I spoke to a Segulls official last night who told me that they had 12 players missing from their weekend win against Geelong

One would have to question how Bushy played so many AFL games with the Lions after his brain snap last night - I could feel the heads drop from that point and it felt like game over 3 goal turn around from one act of non self discipline from a club leader Wow noticed he got amongst the best players on the Foxtel website - please?

We need a big win in Sydney next round to block out this game and hopefully our senior better paid players come to play

Goals

Billy Bunter,
spot on,,, sorry to see Aspley smashed ( and they had a top list) but look , we ( NEAFL CLUBS ) are just not up to tier 2 level sides in the VFL, WAFL and SANFL.... NEVER WILL BE.!!! And this Foxtel cup comp is as much as a waste of time as are the rep games.

Billy Bunter,
spot on,,, sorry to see Aspley smashed ( and they had a top list) but look , we ( NEAFL CLUBS ) are just not up to tier 2 level sides in the VFL, WAFL and SANFL.... NEVER WILL BE.!!! And this Foxtel cup comp is as much as a waste of time as are the rep games.
all wish it was closer but reality neafl no where in same league as vfl wafl or sanfl

qfl sfl and act need there own leagues, the afl reserves and clubs use the three leagues as pawns, the rep game is a example.

One 4

Goals
I did not mine the first three in Aspleys best but the last two had little positive impact on the game . I must be getting confused in my old age as to what constitutes a good team game .

game should've been played in brissy or on the gold coast, more interest in footy in QLD, more players in QLD based team that make up the neafl squad, it just makes sense.

One 4

Goals

The williamstown coach on TV said about 8 changes and that every single player chosen for the game on Tuesday night had played senior VFL before. 0 debutants and only 1 teenager on the field. So hardly a reserves team.

Aspley were in the game until cope land got selfish and let them down. When you consider w'town kicked 4 in the first 7 minutes while aspley had a bit of mcg stage fright then for a large part of the game they were very competitive, the margin blowing out at the end. Remember the game played in melbourne in slippery conditions suiting the melbourne based team. A dry fast track on a hot day in brisbane and the hornets get closer I reckon.

I've been in melbourne and watched some vfl this year and conclusion from what I've seen is that the top neafl teams would beat the bottom couple of vfl teams and be competitive against the mid tier teams. If they could sort out act then neafl would be a very good comp and a high standard.

As for state game it's a no brainer that the game should be in qld what were they thinking?

The williamstown coach on TV said about 8 changes and that every single player chosen for the game on Tuesday night had played senior VFL before. 0 debutants and only 1 teenager on the field. So hardly a reserves team.

Aspley were in the game until cope land got selfish and let them down. When you consider w'town kicked 4 in the first 7 minutes while aspley had a bit of mcg stage fright then for a large part of the game they were very competitive, the margin blowing out at the end. Remember the game played in melbourne in slippery conditions suiting the melbourne based team. A dry fast track on a hot day in brisbane and the hornets get closer I reckon.

I've been in melbourne and watched some vfl this year and conclusion from what I've seen is that the top neafl teams would beat the bottom couple of vfl teams and be competitive against the mid tier teams. If they could sort out act then neafl would be a very good comp and a high standard.

As for state game it's a no brainer that the game should be in qld what were they thinking?
A very good assessment of the foxtel game and vfl standard of lower teams. Copeland's brain fade ( just another one of many ) seemed to drain the teams enthusiasm for the contest .

Aspley were in the game until cope land got selfish and let them down. When you consider w'town kicked 4 in the first 7 minutes while aspley had a bit of mcg stage fright then for a large part of the game they were very competitive, the margin blowing out at the end. Remember the game played in melbourne in slippery conditions suiting the melbourne based team. A dry fast track on a hot day in brisbane and the hornets get closer I reckon..

Um, lets not forget that the game is roughly 40 minutes shorter than a normal game. 20 minute quarters with no time on. Most NEAFL / VFL quarters go for approx. 30-32 minutes including time on. Taking this into consideration ASPLEY in my opinion would have been beaten by 120+ points IF Willy had a full strength VFL side - 80+ if the game was a full length game with the side they had in. Also take into consideration that Aspley had a weekend off and Williamstown played on the Saturday.

Yes the majority of their players had played at least 1 game of VFL footy (as per Andy Collins comment), but I can tell you that they had approx. 12 of their very best not playing.

Let's not kid ourselves about our standard in the NEAFL and simply be comfortable that we are genuinely a TIER 3 comp. There's nothing wrong with that

NEAFL- 2014