NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012

Sorry ABH and guys struggled to work out the new site and how to get on.Went to the game and while the Swans probably were the best side the "green machine" messed up a good finish at a vital time.The Stevens free kick was a shocker. He deserved a medal for getting through the traffic let alone having time to kick for touch on his left. One of many decisions that went the Swans way in 50/50 situations. That said Tigers were off the pace early and will need to start better rather than leave it to later.
Swans despite their heap of list players were not that impressive letting the Tigers back into the game through the second third and part of the last qtr.
Good comp. any one can win it I reckon. Eastlake appear to be building nicely too.

That is probably why they have parted company with Glenn Gorman I would be guessing, pretty hard to go to sponsors cap in hand when the team is performing the way it was under Glenn Gorman, they would be hoping Dragicevic would be able to set up some structures, new game style, develop kids etc so they can say to potential backers that they are moving in the right direction.

I would expect that Glenn Gorman would be disappointed as would the players but lets be honest you have to try avoid train wrecks and when you have not coached a win since round 16 2011 you would have thought he would have gone to club and said he was resigning and showed some quality of character and did what was best for that football club. It seems from the outside without knowing all the facts the club had to push the bloke.

Good luck to them and I hope they can turn their season around under their new coach.

ACTAFL or NEAFL, lose the Tuggeranong club and Australian Rules will suffer significantly in Canberra.

I dont know Kerian Johnson personally, but would have thought he knows what has to be done. He has seen the club go from a potential power back in the mid80s, to a basket case nowadays.

They need to get the right people down there who know what has to be done to move the club forward.

Easier said than done of course, as they would have thought they had the right people over recent years, obviously not.

I dont know what the Juniors are like now, but both Lions and Bulldogs were very strong going back to when I was playing or involved.

I feel Tuggeranong without the backing of it's own leagues club will be perpetually be behind the 8-ball compared to Ainslie, Eastlake, Queanbeyan and Belconnen. Obviously I have no idea what is happening down at the Hawks but Gorman seemed to have a raw end of the stick and unless the Board has a suitable replacement lined up then the whole process could go pear-shaped next year.

Tuggeranong (Sutherland) haven't had their own licenced premises since the 80s!

ACTAFL or NEAFL, lose the Tuggeranong club and Australian Rules will suffer significantly in Canberra.

I dont know Kerian Johnson personally, but would have thought he knows what has to be done. He has seen the club go from a potential power back in the mid80s, to a basket case nowadays.

They need to get the right people down there who know what has to be done to move the club forward.

Easier said than done of course, as they would have thought they had the right people over recent years, obviously not.

I dont know what the Juniors are like now, but both Lions and Bulldogs were very strong going back to when I was playing or involved.

How will the league suffer significantly?? What are they doing to benefit the league.

Could you explain this.

Surely the league will expand with more teams coming.

As for KJ knowing what he is doing, did he not coach the club not long ago and has remained involved? If so he has had ample opportunity to put his knowledge to the fore one would have thought.

Of course this is all from an outside looking in perspective.

wasnt a stand out, but best of the day was there coach player Lokan who out of everyone after the final siren just walked off the ground and didnt shake hands with the opposition even though rest of his team did.

How did Jay Shannon go ? I see that he didnt feature as a better player or goalkicker.
ABH if Tigers best player list each week is anything to go by you will have no idea. From games I have seen I am amazed when I pick up the paper next day and see who gets named. Same applies to other clubs I have seen.
These need to be selected in consultation with coaching staff so taggers, defenders and those with heavy work to do are recognised. These lists are published across the country and in the AFL Record so they need to be selected with care and proper attention to detail.

From what I see, the best players are scribbled on a bit of scrap paper in the minutes after the game when there are a million things going on.... congrats/commisserations/finger-pointing/arguing as well as tidying up, getting the update on injuries, socialising, trying to come down from the hype of the game, a quick can, thinking of what is to follow in the evening, organising the family.
And, of course, everyone has a different version of who played well anyway.

You're right in saying that it's all handled a bit casually considering that the final word is chiselled into stone, but I fear that it was always that way and always will be.

How will the league suffer significantly?? What are they doing to benefit the league.

Could you explain this.

Surely the league will expand with more teams coming.

As for KJ knowing what he is doing, did he not coach the club not long ago and has remained involved? If so he has had ample opportunity to put his knowledge to the fore one would have thought.

Of course this is all from an outside looking in perspective.

Tuggeranong is significant part of the community landscape in Canberra. I played for the junior Lions and then U19s briefly when Tuggeranong were still the Bulldogs back in the 80s. It's sad that club went backwards after winning the flag in 1986. Regardless of the fact they bought that flag and were still paying for it in years to come.

What do you think will happen to local footy in this town, if there is no representation from Tuggeranong?

They should have never sold off the club at Erindale to pay off debts, as this only made that freakin RU club stronger in the Valley.

I only follow from a distance these days, as I resent them taking on the Hawks jumper and an association with Hawthorn. This surely took away the old soul of the club that was built up back in the 70s and 80s.

You hope he justified the money plus the other benefits he was given.

I was at the game because it was a great Canberra day so getting my boy out of the house to see some footy is the way to go. Saw the boy Shannon and he played quite well. He will be a good player in this comp. a bit high I wouldn't try to pull you up but talking to a belconnen assistant and also rusty this kid is only on a permit. So not sure about your mail on this one.

Can you explain what "only on a permit means"

Never heard of this before for an unknown

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ How can Shannon be on a permit when he is coming from the SANFL, the NEAFL does not have a permit system in place for this to occur, this is why Tuggeranong had problems trying to get Akermanis to play games in the manner that suited all parties best based on what I was told by a media peronality recently, if Shannon is on a permit it just goes to show that the rules will be bent when it suits NEAFL (Manuka Oval is full of ex Belco people), if I was the Tuggeranong club I would investigate that and if it is the case I would ask for a please explain from the league, if I was a club that lost a game to Belconnen that he competes in I would complain to the league and seek the 4 points, the rules clearly state you need to have an agreement between the leagues in place and from what I understand the NEAFL does not have such agreements in place at all.

Hope nobody is trying to compare Shannon to Aker AFC2.

Only thing to compare is getting sacked from a football club.

Think I will stick to my source - 10K sign on, 1K per game, 2 return trips back to Adelaide, Gym membership, Golf membership, rent, job, bonus for top 3 B&F, bonus for making finals.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ How can Shannon be on a permit when he is coming from the SANFL, the NEAFL does not have a permit system in place for this to occur, this is why Tuggeranong had problems trying to get Akermanis to play games in the manner that suited all parties best based on what I was told by a media peronality recently, if Shannon is on a permit it just goes to show that the rules will be bent when it suits NEAFL (Manuka Oval is full of ex Belco people), if I was the Tuggeranong club I would investigate that and if it is the case I would ask for a please explain from the league, if I was a club that lost a game to Belconnen that he competes in I would complain to the league and seek the 4 points, the rules clearly state you need to have an agreement between the leagues in place and from what I understand the NEAFL does not have such agreements in place at all.

Just looked at the AFL National Player Transfer Regulations (amended Jan 2012) to try to work out what is happening here. The preamble to these states that the Regulations "... are intended to operate as an agreement between and amongst all Football bodies and Tier 1 and Tier 2 Leagues." Definitions include:
Transfer - the process for moving a player from one Club to another; and
Permit - the forms or processes required to make a player eligible to play in competitons conducted by a League other than the one with which the player is registered.

Not being a lawyer, I can't claim that I'm interpreting these Regulations correctly. However I note:
clause 3.10.1 (Permits) requires an Interchange Agreement to be in place in accordance with Regulation 3.9 (Interchange Agreement) prior to requesting a Permit.
clause 3.9.1 specifies that Interchange Agreements apply to NEAFL Clubs and that a copy of the Interchange Agreement must be validly submitted through AFL Footyweb within ten (10) days of its execution; and
clause 3.9.3 states that an Interchange Agreement, once lodged with the State Football Body, will be considered ongoing unless revoked by one of the parties to the Agreement.

If FFO is correct in his understanding that the ACTAFL and SANFL do not have a valid Interchange Agreement, it raises questions about the legal validity of Jay Shannon's player ability to participate in NEAFL games. However, that is a matter for Clubs to take up with the League - Rusty obviously being first point of contact.

BTW - I am presuming the "Permit" matter is only an issue if player Shannon is not currently registered with Belconnen.

AFC2 interesting that you were at a game not involving your supposed club, and on a long weekend. Also interesting that you come on here and regularly comment on my posts regarding Belconnen

I am calling your bluff.

Your from Belconnen!

As for Shannon he might well have got a permit to play until his clearance went thru, but he now has a Belco contract!

Nice work Schlurp
Thanks ABH. This was a bit too easy though. The info was in the public arena and just needed looking up. I know League decisions can irritate people (I've been involved with four clubs at junior and senior level over quite a few years now) but I've always found that the people running ACTAFL are decent individuals trying to do their best with ridiculously few resources. There is no cause for paranoia.

Where has our northern conference mate gone? Bit quiet after Eastlake knocked off Aspley. Also, his comment about our U18 team has come back to haunt him. Qld's U18 team lost to Vic Country on the weekend by 94-points and only kicked 1 goal. Our nsw/act U18 team went down to them by just 9 points the week before.

Thats a terrible result from them. ITs not like sydney uni are any sort of powerhouse. Usually a new coach means players want to put in a good first effort to give a good first impression to the new coach. Not so here obviously. I don't know any of the inner working but I'd suggest that the previous coach must have been pretty popular with the players and his sacking clearly knocked the stuffing out of them.

Better get back on the horse soon, could end up being a long season.

I popped out for a look on Saturday & out of interest I went to Tuggeranong huddle at 3/4 time
Looking from outside in , it was a rabble - lots of voices/comments in small groups initially with no assistants part of some of the groups & then contradiction in coaches main address as to what was being about in the smaller groups
It was obvious the players were confused & frustrated. Not sure how they will turn it around - many looked disinterested all day

as for my Eagles - we were obviously flat from the start & ground out an 'ugly' win
Weather was spot on but our Fwds struggled all day - had fumbles and should have put more scoreboard pressure on
Early to break game open
Some of our guys mentioned again some of the ' chat' on field by some Belconnen players - their bark is a lot worse than their bite I'm afraid

Where has our northern conference mate gone? Bit quiet after Eastlake knocked off Aspley. Also, his comment about our U18 team has come back to haunt him. Qld's U18 team lost to Vic Country on the weekend by 94-points and only kicked 1 goal. Our nsw/act U18 team went down to them by just 9 points the week before.

Fair enough given the unfair comments the other other day. I would point out that Vic Country put their 10 AIS guys in for the QLD team including Whitfield etc. Those guys not available the week before v NSW.

Eastlake genuinely better than Aspley though, no problem there, Eastlake will be finalists and Aspley will be bottom 2 up here on current form.

NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012