NEAFL - Northern Conference 2013

Morningside very lucky to get away with a win today.

Note Panthers board have officially announced to players and supporters post game today (see statement on their facebook page) that they will not be applying to be part of new NEAFL next year. Any word on decisions from other clubs?

Lot of uncertainty amoung the playing group over the last few weeks as to what it all means for the club and for them personally. As individuals what does each player do next year?

Is it still that anyone playing 3 games for Lions reserves is eligible for Finals. That means Simon Black and Brett Staker
At least those sides dropping back to the QAFL won't have to tolerate this crap from the AFL clubs any longer.
nah think it is if they play 5 afl games must play min 9 NEAFL

In what was a tragic weak at the Labrador Football Club, we are grateful for the way Aspley reacted. A great credit to the Hornets officials and players for their condolences and respect.

tough time for labrador at the moment. they really gave it their all on saturday and i am sure a lot of people around that club will be proud of the effort the 2s and the seniors put in. in difficult circumstances

People around the club were very proud of the effort, and yes it has been a very tough year for the Tigers but they will come out of it very much stronger as a club.

Damo, you should be proud of Aspley who showed the utmost respect to Labrador on Saturday, Labrador people also came away with a view to the integrity of Aspley.You are coming of age as a club and we wish you all well in the finals and in the future.

Have to say that there seems to be a very positive and united feel by all clubs at the moment as a result of this proposed revised NEAFL. Great to hear all clubs got together and put all their concerns as a united group. Don't know if it will achieve anything but you would hope that the regulator would have the sense to listen to the people - surely.

Morningside very lucky to get away with a win today.

Note Panthers board have officially announced to players and supporters post game today (see statement on their facebook page) that they will not be applying to be part of new NEAFL next year. Any word on decisions from other clubs?

Lot of uncertainty amoung the playing group over the last few weeks as to what it all means for the club and for them personally. As individuals what does each player do next year?
Morningside won't lose a great deal of talent. Maybe a couple of there top end talent like Smith, Starcevich etc, that still hold on to the hope of getting a chance at the highest level.. Shelton and co, the long time panthers won't go anywhere. So whatever the QAFL salary cap is, it will have no real effect on morningside, they get to keep there reserves and 18's, a lot of super clubmen, volunteers, the best culture, there club stays together, a new TAB, a new public access Gym, all will ensure that morningside will be a strong community club well into the future. I definitely think they made the right decision not to apply. There was so much to lose

Can see morningside absolutely smashing some teams in the local league. No doubt a proud club, and for mine a shame that the AFL squeezed them out of the NEAFL. I read their Facebook statement and understand their reason behind the decision made. It will be interesting how a new state league looks or if a north/ south type set up happens as some have suggested

Word has it Aspley have said No to the new Puppetry show. Interesting times ahead if Conlon and his fellow Puppets if this is true. Well done Aspley

Agree with you Chikka if this is the case with Aspley. That Morningside has been squeezed out is an absolute disgrace. If Aspley has decided that the new comp has too many strings attached, and that they wont be in it, I say well done.

Maybe time to revisit the model guys!!

Word has it Aspley have said No to the new Puppetry show. Interesting times ahead if Conlon and his fellow Puppets if this is true. Well done Aspley

That's very interesting if true, as aspley clearly the 2nd strongest club financially and would have been pencilled in by the afl. How this plays out will be facinating.

I have been to a couple of Allied Pickford games recently and interestingly the overwhelming sentiment is that those clubs are happy with the comp how it is and really don't want morningside Labrador broady etc to come down and make it more difficult for them. Mayne/ Springwood enjoying the most success for a long time after lean times. They don't a re-structure either, and also feel as if consultation should have happened

So who if Aspley and Mornigside are out who is in the NEAFL? Heard only 1 from Gold Coast so Sharks are the shoe in..

The Sharks will always want to play in the best possible comp so have no drama with that. There is a fair talent pool on coast so you have one team with a list of 35 plus rookies which looks being suns academy players ( there's the talent pathway!) and the Suns reserves. There list reduces by 2 next yr. The best 17-18 yr olds will be unavailable for around 12 weeks next year due to state 18 program. So the problem there is the quality of top ups available to both the suns and lions. Remember this is now the elite Neafl and no one can say how the 2 afl clubs will boost there Neafl list.
By middle of August we will no the make up of the Neafl. If only Southport and one other are successful they may revisit the 2 SA teams idea!!!

Looks to me that the NEAFL admin have grossly overestimated the reasons various clubs exist. Despite their dollars, people shouldn't forget that it wasn't that long ago Aspley were part of the (now) AP comp and just battled along in this. I think most ppl would say that footy in Qld is predominantly about a community aspect, not alot of ppl sit around aspiring to have 20 kids drafted in a single year I think bc it is basically unrealistic in a state that has so many other options for kids to participate in as distinct from the football states who in reality are one sport towns in winter. If kids are drafted that is great and everyone feels good, not least the club that boy has come from. Its a great effort and clubs like Morningside would be immensely proud of their recent record BUT if this was the reason for their existence I would be surprised. I'm sure Siders ppl love winning premierships, I'm sure the Hornets do too. The NEAFL (and esp this revamped look) isn't about this of course at all - why would you want to play in it? Dog - Southport you say will always play in the best comp in Qld - is this ego or for what other reason bc it would surprise me that anyone from Southport would sacrifice onfield success to get the odd kid drafted?
The issue of course is that the QAFL could probably support most of the current NEAFL sides bar a few and add the strongest AP sides financially it would be an extremely good footy comp. TBH if Aspley and co did not apply for the NEAFL then having north/south divisions could be feasible with the top 4 from each comp playing off in a final 8 format at the seasons end imo. There would be some smashings occasionally but there currently is right now anyway.

G'day to all the Banana Benders,

I've often read this thread and never comment, but the current NEAFL issue is something I'm very interested in and have my own opinion on that doesn't seem to be represented anywhere. My starting point is that I'm quite surprised that everyone seems to be quite surprised. When the NEAFL was first proposed in Canberra it seemed like it would only be the Big 4 (i.e. everyone but Tuggeranong) that got included based on money. No (social) club house, no facilities, no NEAFL. In the end Tuggers got in but three seasons later, look what happens. I'm fairly confident that this whole thing isn't just something that got dreamed up in the last few months but is part of a dedicated plan that they wrote up four years ago.

If the AFL could have had their way back then they would have picked the four most viable northern clubs and basically blackmailed them into the NEAFL. Problem being that that would have tainted the NEAFL irreparably. This way they got three years of good name and they are counting on the Clubs that can afford to play their game to take the plunge. Sounds like not all of them will, if your comments here are accurate, but that's not the end of the world for them. I've been part of leagues which have seen clubs start from scratch and be competitive with lots of local volunteers in less than three years. I fully expect that if the AFL has to set up franchises they will, in time, be sufficiently successful if they engage the local community appropriately. You need to remember that most of us here can't actually stick to our current opinions long term and most humans can't really hold a true grudge. We will all get over it. And eventually support the West Brisbane Jets or whatever flop they come up with.

You also need to consider that many of the good players will want to play at the top local level even if they don't want to make it to the AFL. Many of these guys are training four week days already, so it's not like that load will go up. The travel will be a burden but you need to keep in mind that they may only be looking at eight to ten trips a year once you take into account that half their games are at home and many of the rest will be against teams that are a drive away. If these games are scheduled right they can ensure it doesn't clash with regular work activities so the guys can still make a living. People like to test themselves against the best and so a lot of good players will make the switch just to play for a top-tier club.

If local travel is an issue for training then the other thing to keep in mind is that you can't play 35 guys in a 22 man squad, therefore they will all need a QAFL team to play for as well. If they do half their weekly training at their local club that cuts two nights of extended travel out of their schedules and will foster their relationship with their local team and build links between the super clubs and the regular ones.

Also on the numbers issue, you need to take into account that most of the AFL clubs won't be able to field a full list of 22 senior players. All it takes is two injuries at each club and they will start pulling numbers from elsewhere, which will presumably mean more senior time for academy players. It won't be that bad when the talent of the non-AFL sides is concentrated at a few clubs.

I am personally of the opinion that the clubs that have the money should jump on board. I think the bullishness to ensure that the pathways are maintained for youth players can yield positive results. I would like to see a minimum requirement of four under-18s per side. Brandon Jack improved significantly by playing a lot of reserve games for the swans last season while at the academy. He's now a Senior Player and though he will be dropped soon as Premiership Players come back from injury he will be a permanent fixture in the Swans Senior List in coming seasons. If the AFL aren't going to try and set up a TAC Cup level quality u18 comp in the east or north then ensuring they can play serious senior footy is a requirement.

The AFL knows the numbers they want from where and they know how much they want to spend. They want self sufficient clubs, so if you don't have a social club with pokies then you aren't their people. From what the Canberra people have heard it seems owning your own facilities will be another requirement soon if not already, including your oval. This will cause Eastlake some consternation as their lovely home ground is Manuka (Startrack) Oval and they will have to find something that they can own to stay in the comp.

I'm sure I've offended most of you here, but I don't think the situation is exactly how you're seeing it.

G'day to all the Banana Benders,

I've often read this thread and never comment, but the current NEAFL issue is something I'm very interested in and have my own opinion on that doesn't seem to be represented anywhere. My starting point is that I'm quite surprised that everyone seems to be quite surprised. When the NEAFL was first proposed in Canberra it seemed like it would only be the Big 4 (i.e. everyone but Tuggeranong) that got included based on money. No (social) club house, no facilities, no NEAFL. In the end Tuggers got in but three seasons later, look what happens. I'm fairly confident that this whole thing isn't just something that got dreamed up in the last few months but is part of a dedicated plan that they wrote up four years ago.

If the AFL could have had their way back then they would have picked the four most viable northern clubs and basically blackmailed them into the NEAFL. Problem being that that would have tainted the NEAFL irreparably. This way they got three years of good name and they are counting on the Clubs that can afford to play their game to take the plunge. Sounds like not all of them will, if your comments here are accurate, but that's not the end of the world for them. I've been part of leagues which have seen clubs start from scratch and be competitive with lots of local volunteers in less than three years. I fully expect that if the AFL has to set up franchises they will, in time, be sufficiently successful if they engage the local community appropriately. You need to remember that most of us here can't actually stick to our current opinions long term and most humans can't really hold a true grudge. We will all get over it. And eventually support the West Brisbane Jets or whatever flop they come up with.

You also need to consider that many of the good players will want to play at the top local level even if they don't want to make it to the AFL. Many of these guys are training four week days already, so it's not like that load will go up. The travel will be a burden but you need to keep in mind that they may only be looking at eight to ten trips a year once you take into account that half their games are at home and many of the rest will be against teams that are a drive away. If these games are scheduled right they can ensure it doesn't clash with regular work activities so the guys can still make a living. People like to test themselves against the best and so a lot of good players will make the switch just to play for a top-tier club.

If local travel is an issue for training then the other thing to keep in mind is that you can't play 35 guys in a 22 man squad, therefore they will all need a QAFL team to play for as well. If they do half their weekly training at their local club that cuts two nights of extended travel out of their schedules and will foster their relationship with their local team and build links between the super clubs and the regular ones.

Also on the numbers issue, you need to take into account that most of the AFL clubs won't be able to field a full list of 22 senior players. All it takes is two injuries at each club and they will start pulling numbers from elsewhere, which will presumably mean more senior time for academy players. It won't be that bad when the talent of the non-AFL sides is concentrated at a few clubs.

I am personally of the opinion that the clubs that have the money should jump on board. I think the bullishness to ensure that the pathways are maintained for youth players can yield positive results. I would like to see a minimum requirement of four under-18s per side. Brandon Jack improved significantly by playing a lot of reserve games for the swans last season while at the academy. He's now a Senior Player and though he will be dropped soon as Premiership Players come back from injury he will be a permanent fixture in the Swans Senior List in coming seasons. If the AFL aren't going to try and set up a TAC Cup level quality u18 comp in the east or north then ensuring they can play serious senior footy is a requirement.

The AFL knows the numbers they want from where and they know how much they want to spend. They want self sufficient clubs, so if you don't have a social club with pokies then you aren't their people. From what the Canberra people have heard it seems owning your own facilities will be another requirement soon if not already, including your oval. This will cause Eastlake some consternation as their lovely home ground is Manuka (Startrack) Oval and they will have to find something that they can own to stay in the comp.

I'm sure I've offended most of you here, but I don't think the situation is exactly how you're seeing it.

Unfortunately the clubs up here don't have the money !They function through the generosity of volunteers and lots of personal sacrifice to be part of Community Clubs which essentially represent their local area. Morningside for instance run on a shoestring but with the exception of 2012 have been the most successful club in Qld over the past 10 years. They have produced numerous players to the AFL in that time. This new concept offers them little except inevitable financial ruin and lots of backlash from the local community as local juniors get less opportunity to work up through the ranks. Ironically most of our existing local talent will look interstate to further their football careers as NEAFL list spots will be extremely limited in Qld.

The Canberra clubs might wish to rethink their decisions to enter this new concept when they have to fly to Brisbane in late march and play a full Lions list and then turnaround and fly home after getting a 35 goal spanking in 30 degree heat.

Noticed one of the preferred Sydney teams got belted by 198 points on the weekend. So much for a so called new

Yep I saw that too. Certainly shows one of the many contradictions of this whole thing. Facts about syd Uni

Demoted/sqeezed clubs such as broady/morningside 1. have a much better history of producing afl players. 2. Have better facilities (Uni don't actually have a ground as the number 1 oval is too small round and shared with rugby.
3. Have larger playing budgets 4. Have performed more strongly on field.

I am not saying get rid of Uni just that I think the AFL have this all wrong. It will be sad when we see some of the best and brightest head south for opportunity

NEAFL - Northern Conference 2013