NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2012

Hey Maurie, do you think Albert Proud will be a top performer in 2012, now that coach Lake is gone, whom has had a big influence on Albert over the years.... would hate to see Proudy go off the rails a bit, which cost him his Lions career. He is great to have in the NEAFL, still an excellent player and obviously an asset for the Vultures.

Not a lot of news about The Thunder.Know of a couple of losses and gains, .... anyone have any more news about them.Will be interesting to see how their new coach handles the job..... which is a good job to go into with the player list they have, but big shoes to fill replacing coach Davis.... and expectations of winning back to back flags by the club and its supporters.

whats doing at mtgravatt this year any gains and losses? i know a.tarrant and m.hammill are going OS

All quiet on the mt gravatt front. The only definite supporter that is a regular on this forum is Maurie who tipped them to win the flag. Maybe this is a supporter talking with his heart rather than his brain but maybe the have picked up 3-4 guns and kept most of their list from last year, throw in the likes of Cameron and one or two other improving youngsters and you have a contender you would think. Maurie may know more than he is letting on.

I hear Broadbeachs heirachy is ok with loosing Fults and the Rolfe boys and a couple of others.Apparently were seen as shit stirrers and whingers .Also, Zorko , is said to have lost the trust of the playing group latter in season 2011,with captain Fife, saying after season end,.... let the lions have him!!.....And fitness coach, Foxy,made comments on this to the tune of some guys being whingers,selfish and spoilt..... I dont know the inside details,.. a pity... but certainly where there is smoke there is fire.If true,.. congrats to the heirachy for standing firm and progressing with their master plan to get Broachbeach achieving success.

Have since been advised that players such as Fults and Rolfe boys etc are no longer required players, as part of the clubs long term plans and progress,.... but still highly respected for their services to the club.
Captain Fifes comments about Zorko were of a joking manner, as he knows loosing Zorko will be a huge loss and hard to replace.
Its not long ago, such as when Shaun Hart and Dennis Knight and Adrian Smith were head coaches, there definately was a problem with players attitudes , bitching and whinging when they had to come to the bench for a rest or for disciplne reasons and not following game plans on the field.....What this new Broadbeach heirachy is implementing, is a complete culture change, which showed rapid progress, as proven by the 2011 result. a great improved result. With this plan in place being implemented and the understanding of the player list of what is required, I feel the Cats will be a major player in 2012.In addition,new lighting to the ground (assisting in training at darkness) and a new quality building to house not only change room facilities, but a gym ,ice baths etc, only enhances the clubs ability to improve on the field..... Go the Cats.

No I said if you think you can do it better. Why don't go and do something. Getting 2 years out of those blokes is still good. Southport might have a few blokes that have a 100 + games under their belt at the club. But it showed last year they're old and maybe they need new faces

I don't to say what I think about what's going on at a club on a football site for. They already know what I think of the goings on.
Not sure if the rest of you guys have noticed but Damo seems to have had his account voluntarily deactivated quoting that he 'needs a break'. Seems the constant bagging of his beloved Hornets has become too much despite the fact he is a 9000+ post veteran.

Although at times he could fly off the handle, he is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to local footy and his input will be missed. Let's hope the break is a short one.

Wake up to yourself.So far Page,Brittains,Trewella,Shir,Hartwig,Brain,Shehan,Roy,Stavenuiter,Teale, Falconer from all reports.Plus all kids and juniors that will not go as will not get a go,and they are up to the standard.And that is from season 2011.As they say where smoke is their is fire.Recruits to replace recruits every season,glad I left and went to coast
I have heard that Page, Stavenuiter and Teale due to work opportunities interstate. Falconer and Hartwig due to study. Brittains and Trewhella wanted to play under Wayne. Roy is in love and his girl isn't in Queensland.

I know it's hard to believe but it seems that there is more to life than footy for some. They aren't leaving because of a dislike of the Club. On the contrary, there appears to be more guys wanting to play at the Club than they have spots so they can ensure the development of juniors.

I'm sure Aspley are very happy that players have gone back to Mayne and on to Wilston Grange. Russell Evans appears to be taking the responsibility of growing Northside football very seriously. That doesn't mean taking the best players away from other local clubs. It means a two way relationship with them. Look at Tiger G's post regarding Falconer and how happy the Club are to get him back with the experience he has gained. Look at the quality of players now at Grange. Is that a bad thing for Northside footy?

Junior development is also one of Evans' big priorities. It's happening but will not bear full fruit for another year or two.

That is a big exit list. Will it have an effect of their depth this year if they get injuries? Which club are you from now Staminade? How many Aspley juniors are playing Senior footy there does anyone know out of interest? Im not anti Aspley, just would be interested to know.

Buchannon, Thomson, Linton and McKee have signed for 2012. 3 of which will start in the midfield and one that is a gun half forward flanker. can't be to bad at the club. After speaking with Thomo half way through last year, he said the club is as professional as it can be for a local footy club and apparently these 4 signed within 1 month of the elimination final from what Perkins was telling me

we all now love the aspley bees, is there any truth to the rumour that aspley is forging a partnership with superbee at buderim to have a stronger affiliation with the sunny coast........:D

good signings come back damo remember sometimes posts sound harsher then what theyre meant....

we all now love the aspley bees, is there any truth to the rumour that aspley is forging a partnership with superbee at buderim to have a stronger affiliation with the sunny coast........:D

good signings come back damo remember sometimes posts sound harsher then what theyre meant....
A few off field signings also to be announced shortly I understand? If only there was an AFLQ writer to take the story!

if the kids dont play state 18s it deprives of the chance to play infront of recruiting managers or list managers, when they play senior neafl footy they initially only play infront of spotters not recruiters (correct chikka). the spotter then relays the info back to the recruiter and they then decide weather or not they will come up and have a look. i couldnt imagine perko or russell telling kids that theyre better off not participating in the nationals that puts them infront of key AFL people....

No, just Damo might tell them this - sage advice indeed.:eek:

All quiet on the mt gravatt front. The only definite supporter that is a regular on this forum is Maurie who tipped them to win the flag. Maybe this is a supporter talking with his heart rather than his brain (FFS - you got me!) but maybe the have picked up 3-4 guns and kept most of their list from last year, throw in the likes of Cameron and one or two other improving youngsters and you have a contender you would think. Maurie may know more than he is letting on.

Been away lads, with little access to computer.......yes things are quiet on the Vultures front...not nuch to report, becuase I havent been around..but still remain quietly confident of a good year..Yes, tipped them to win last year....and after ordinary final series came in third....Gets us into Foxtel Cup and we got the gun draw to play Sydney Hills Eagles in May....shold get us another round which is good exposure for the club and an opportunity for the boys to put up a good showing with national exposure.

Not sure on all the new recruits and who is heading off, but reckon Andrew Mellor is going to make a success at coaching and he has a great bunch of young blokes coming through.....write the Vultures off at your peril...

Good to see the swift response from NEAFL re their own web site...only the Southport prepared Media release has been added as any updated information from the Northern Conference...quite laughable....both the web site and the release. It read like an apology re their recruiting...am sure they thought they had McCauley, Hudson, Pfeiffer and Wayde Twomey..for nil result.. Losses of Payne, Putt, Petersson, O'Brien, Haberfield...wish it was March..hate watching the cricket!

Yes Sharks looking average at best. Only real addition being Brent Harvey's brother.

With the poor economy on Gold Coast atm, id say this will also have a negative effect on the 3 clubs recruiting as limited job opportunities etc.

Suns will be legit again this year with list further improving. Guys like Horsley (sandover runnerup), Mcqualter, Hall, the 1992 age group being a year older should keep this team around the top 3 all year.

Also who is the Labrador coach? Heard nothing out of that club this pre season.

Tim Notting & Brad Moore co coaches, Notting will play as well

How do you reckon that will work Beachy? I know they did it after Knights got the axe, but a little surprised that they didnt appoint a stand out coach this year. 2011 wasnt a glory year for the Tigers after a GF berth in 2010...injuries aside.

Co Coaches...I dont know..surely someone wears the pants. If Notting is on the ground, you would have to say that Moore hold the reigns....but is it in Notting to play second fiddle? I hope for Labrador that it works - I admire the Club coming from where they have - ....

In regard to recruits Beachy, have the Tiges picked up a few new lads?

How do you reckon that will work Beachy? I know they did it after Knights got the axe, but a little surprised that they didnt appoint a stand out coach this year. 2011 wasnt a glory year for the Tigers after a GF berth in 2010...injuries aside.

Co Coaches...I dont know..surely someone wears the pants. If Notting is on the ground, you would have to say that Moore hold the reigns....but is it in Notting to play second fiddle? I hope for Labrador that it works - I admire the Club coming from where they have - ....

In regard to recruits Beachy, have the Tiges picked up a few new lads?

The most important thing is they both are committed to it and think it can work, all the current evidence shows that the majority of the work in coaching is done leading up to the game.Match day moves are overrated all the what ifs should have been dealt with by your due diligence prior to the match.Moore will become the overseer of the plans during the game.In addition A.Shattock is assistant coach so plenty of depth on the bench.

Tiges have picked up some strategic recruits, a couple from the VFL, couple from Tassie, Metro Melbourne and some young lads from Cairns. Depth of the list and development is the focus at the club so the rebound from a dissapointing 2011 will have to be driven by the core group already at the club.

The most important thing is they both are committed to it and think it can work, all the current evidence shows that the majority of the work in coaching is done leading up to the game.Match day moves are overrated all the what ifs should have been dealt with by your due diligence prior to the match.Moore will become the overseer of the plans during the game.In addition A.Shattock is assistant coach so plenty of depth on the bench.

Tiges have picked up some strategic recruits, a couple from the VFL, couple from Tassie, Metro Melbourne and some young lads from Cairns. Depth of the list and development is the focus at the club so the rebound from a dissapointing 2011 will have to be driven by the core group already at the club.
coaching at this level needs to be a fulltime position, same as vfl sanfl wafl and for up here Qld cup (rugby league)

The time will come, but most clubs cannot afford. Dare and Davis were full time last year weren't they?

Qld footy is developing nicely but wil never be equal to the bigger leagues until the clubs have more money for resources like full time coaches.

Disagree Speedy - would suggest a P/T gig of maybe 20-30hrs tops per week but over this would be overkill IMO. (or are you a coach?:D) Not sure how a bloke could find enough to do in a week to fill in 40+ hrs every week! No media commitments or the like, average quality video footage to analyse (in the main) and when the players are all very P/T in their time commitments to footy WTF do you do between 9-3???

Agreed, for it to work the coach would also need to have an additional admin role with the club. Is a big commitment though as any senior neafl coach would find it tough to have a legit full time career going outside, would have to be reduced hours.

The Thunder job is full time and fair enough, Dare was probably part time but just put additional hours in as he isnt young any more and probably no other work commitments.

Agreed, for it to work the coach would also need to have an additional admin role with the club. Is a big commitment though as any senior neafl coach would find it tough to have a legit full time career going outside, would have to be reduced hours.

The Thunder job is full time and fair enough, Dare was probably part time but just put additional hours in as he isnt young any more and probably no other work commitments.

Yeah agree BBall - have to be a position that doesn't compromise his accountability as the football coach but TBH couldn't think it would be that much fun to be fulltime at local level. Would want to have something else that fills 20+hrs IMO. I'm sure some blokes could find a way of filling the time with footy stuff but you might have to argue that there could be a fair bit of junk hours being completed!

Nah not a current coach,

here is possible breakdown in season,
Game Day - 9hrs
Opposition watching (live and dvd) - 4hrs
Review - 4hrs
Training - 9hrs
One on one speacial coaching - 3hrs
Planning - 3hrs
Junior development (16s and 18s) - 3hrs
Admin - 3hrs
thats 38hrs without any travel coaches courses and functions