NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2012

Southport were exceptional on Saturday, came to play. Fantastic defensive pressure, good discipline, more pace and skill than i thought, based around a very good spine in Hughes, Baxter, Mills & Nicklaus.All the little things including walking behind the player after he takes a mark for several metres and when he turns around the player with the ball has to push back again and another player walking up behind that same player so that when play on is called he can grab him from behind almost in a sandwich to hold up play this is when professional coaching bears fruit.Reminded me of the early eighties when Sheedy became the first VFL professional coach and the 15 metre rule had to be changed to 50 metres as he was prepared to concede to hold up play.I would say that Dares planning and execution has been exceptional.Are we in the NEAFL era of fulltime coaches?
I understand that Dare is employed full time by the Club.....what other club can afford it!

Word from the Fourth estate on Saturday is that Broadbeach & Aspley are considering getting out of the NEAFL.Can understand Broady with their financial struggles but Aspley strikes me as strange.
Not sure what word from the Fourth estate means. But I think this is more fluff.
Broady not going anywhere. Tough to balance the books each year - no doubt. But to walk away from NEAFL - They would have to be given the flick and I from what I've heard the QAFL is wrapped with the future planning and development happening at the club.
And Why on earth Aspley?

Not sure what word from the Fourth estate means. But I think this is more fluff.
Broady not going anywhere. Tough to balance the books each year - no doubt. But to walk away from NEAFL - They would have to be given the flick and I from what I've heard the QAFL is wrapped with the future planning and development happening at the club.
And Why on earth Aspley?

it's the media

To be fair, Norm Dare is about 70yo so he would be retired outside footy anyway. Wouldnt be at the club 9-5 so to speak and his wage would reflect that.

Word from the Fourth estate on Saturday is that Broadbeach & Aspley are considering getting out of the NEAFL.Can understand Broady with their financial struggles but Aspley strikes me as strange.

LAB,

This might be the wake up call for both sides they need for them to lift their game's (pardon the pun) - they both have huge upsides but they IMO let themselves down when it comes to having professional attitudes, they both have good playing lists, but their failure to look after these lists in awareness is very much lacking. I think a more positive player support structure (and this is not money) is needed for them both to lift the bar to the next level and then mix it with the power houses of the NEAFL competition. Swapping home games is a joke no matter who the club is and charging supporters to watch the game is another joke - winning attitudes come from respect of yourself first and foremost followed by the respect of others and these two clubs lack both of these vital KPI points at this time, maybe a different business model is required for both clubs both on and off the field is needed, which IMO will move both of these clubs forward in a more productive way, Winning is not everything, its how you lose is how you are rated. To go backwards is to go Backwards!!!!! and if you don't change anything you don't change anything!!!!!!

There is Billy's Soapbox speel for the week.

LAB,

This might be the wake up call for both sides they need for them to lift their game's (pardon the pun) - they both have huge upsides but they IMO let themselves down when it comes to having professional attitudes, they both have good playing lists, but their failure to look after these lists in awareness is very much lacking. I think a more positive player support structure (and this is not money) is needed for them both to lift the bar to the next level and then mix it with the power houses of the NEAFL competition. Swapping home games is a joke no matter who the club is and charging supporters to watch the game is another joke - winning attitudes come from respect of yourself first and foremost followed by the respect of others and these two clubs lack both of these vital KPI points at this time, maybe a different business model is required for both clubs both on and off the field is needed, which IMO will move both of these clubs forward in a more productive way, Winning is not everything, its how you lose is how you are rated. To go backwards is to go Backwards!!!!! and if you don't change anything you don't change anything!!!!!!

There is Billy's Soapbox speel for the week.
Can't speak for Aspley but if your soapbox is referring to Broadbeach then you are way off the mark Silly Billy.
Club has improved beyond sight over the past 2 years. Players are very happy with the direction as are us supporters. Would love finals though and we will at least have the reserves get in which is a positive step. Still expect the seniors to make it if they win this weekend.
Powerhouses of the Neafl - I guess you mean the two afl clubs and the NT - maybe Southport as well.
Focus on the club you know a bit about.

Still waiting on the proof...of the supposed Fourth Estate...Beachy your not confusing the 'Word from the Fourth Estate' with the "Swelling in the Second Hand are you?

maybe it's someone trying to prove they are giving this competition media coverage and telling us where to look.

i have found 2 local leagues in melbourne/geelong that have put match replays up on their websites and have a weekly wrap show of their leagues on their site as well. i can't see why the neafl didn't do that. the racord is a crock of shit as well

Can't speak for Aspley but if your soapbox is referring to Broadbeach then you are way off the mark Silly Billy.
Club has improved beyond sight over the past 2 years. Players are very happy with the direction as are us supporters. Would love finals though and we will at least have the reserves get in which is a positive step. Still expect the seniors to make it if they win this weekend.
Powerhouses of the Neafl - I guess you mean the two afl clubs and the NT - maybe Southport as well.
Focus on the club you know a bit about.

Silly kitty,

Why is it that the players injured take so long to get back on the paddock down at the Beach and at Aspley, is it due to the player wellfare that the club gives them?????? or is it just the chosen few that get that privellage, player respect is what it is all about - enjoy them while you have them as most of the forgotten few are playing in the next division down only a few miles away from their once home ground and that is at both of the clubs I mentioned earlier - the power house clubs of the NEAFL that I refer to are the Morningside, Southport and Mt Gravatt clubs not the hot and cold AFL Clubs as you mentioned - these dont rate IMO as they both dont have any real local grass root support in the NEAFL due to their lack of repsect for the other clubs who give them a game most weeks and the vision of the new revamped competition (which was set up for their required competition, what a joke), they play fair dinkum one year and lay down the next, let the 4 of them in the North and East play each other every other week, it would be good for all of the other clubs again much better for Qld AFL.

The Fourth Estate (or fourth estate) is a societal or political force or institution whose influence is not consistently or officially recognized. "Fourth Estate" most commonly refers to the news media; especially print journalism or "The Press".

Love word of the Day....OK then...where in the news media has this been touted?

Maurie and Kittycat,
cant speak for Aspley but why would they want out.They appear to be very financial and where would they go.... down to division 1 playing the Noosas and Palm Beachs... ur kidding, they would murder that league and that league wouldnt want them because of this.
As for Broadbeach, well, their determined to acheive success in the Neafl.In 2011 they implemented a total overhaul of its operations in all facets ,recruited wisely both in player and coaching personnel and have become so more of a professional operation. Huge improvement on the field in 2011, saw them missing the finals in the last round when defeated by Morningside (who where eventual grand finalists) after a dodgy free kick was given to Kent Abbey on the siren.This season so far, they are a big chance to make the finals and their ressies are already guaranteed a finals spot.( been a long time since the ressies played finals.) They have also now focused hugely on their juniors for obvious reasons.
Financially, still tough, but they have secured more company sponsorships then ever before, with 2 major deals being with Shooters Nightclub and Jupiters Casino.Not to mention the number of fund raising events they now are doing such as Gala balls, golf days etc.
This summer gone by, they renovated the licensed clubhouse ,mainly thru volanteer work and it looks great. They now have new lights for the ground (second to none in the league) and due to a government sports grant, have approval for new state of the art changerooms to be built, hopefully to be ready by season 2013.add to this , a big playing surface ground which is just about the best playing surface in the league come rain hail or shine.
They have taken the bull by the horns and become agressive, in order to be competitive in this ever increasing standard of the Neafl.Go Cats,, well done.

Maurie and Kittycat,
cant speak for Aspley but why would they want out.They appear to be very financial and where would they go.... down to division 1 playing the Noosas and Palm Beachs... ur kidding, they would murder that league and that league wouldnt want them because of this.
As for Broadbeach, well, their determined to acheive success in the Neafl.In 2011 they implemented a total overhaul of its operations in all facets ,recruited wisely both in player and coaching personnel and have become so more of a professional operation. Huge improvement on the field in 2011, saw them missing the finals in the last round when defeated by Morningside (who where eventual grand finalists) after a dodgy free kick was given to Kent Abbey on the siren.This season so far, they are a big chance to make the finals and their ressies are already guaranteed a finals spot.( been a long time since the ressies played finals.) They have also now focused hugely on their juniors for obvious reasons.
Financially, still tough, but they have secured more company sponsorships then ever before, with 2 major deals being with Shooters Nightclub and Jupiters Casino.Not to mention the number of fund raising events they now are doing such as Gala balls, golf days etc.
This summer gone by, they renovated the licensed clubhouse ,mainly thru volanteer work and it looks great. They now have new lights for the ground (second to none in the league) and due to a government sports grant, have approval for new state of the art changerooms to be built, hopefully to be ready by season 2013.add to this , a big playing surface ground which is just about the best playing surface in the league come rain hail or shine.
They have taken the bull by the horns and become agressive, in order to be competitive in this ever increasing standard of the Neafl.Go Cats,, well done.

stuyd 1,

It seems like a lot of work spelled out above, but will it be in vain again - charging punters $5.00 a head to watch your team to play at Broadbeach shows no respect for the competition or the supporters of the game - their major sponsors Hooters and the big house must be rubbing off on them as you need a fist full of dollars to go to both with not much return in both on most occasions, I hate to think how much they will be charging next year when they get their Carbon Tax inflated power account for them shiney new lights - if no finals fot the Cats this year then it will be judged as an under achievement year again - as for lucky free kicks tisk, tisk - if the ball was in Morningside's backline then they would have made it to the finals last year, teams actions create and make their luck and their actions cost them big time - the rules are the rules Sol, so unlucky in this case - my big fat rectum.

It wasn't printed it was a journo fishing for info and a story, stop shooting the messenger and tell people in your clubs not to say things if they are not true.

What a joke Beachy......you claim to be the messenger but what you are doing is spreading unsubstantiated rumours from a third party, looking to run a gossip story...you might not have started the fire mate, but you sure as hell are throwing petrol on it...."tell people to stop sayings if they are not true"..take responsibility for your own actions...you posted the story..but now it someone elses fault..???? WTF!!!

stuyd 1,

It seems like a lot of work spelled out above, but will it be in vain again - charging punters $5.00 a head to watch your team to play at Broadbeach shows no respect for the competition or the supporters of the game - their major sponsors Hooters and the big house must be rubbing off on them as you need a fist full of dollars to go to both with not much return in both on most occasions, I hate to think how much they will be charging next year when they get their Carbon Tax inflated power account for them shiney new lights - if no finals fot the Cats this year then it will be judged as an under achievement year again - as for lucky free kicks tisk, tisk - if the ball was in Morningside's backline then they would have made it to the finals last year, teams actions create and make their luck and their actions cost them big time - the rules are the rules Sol, so unlucky in this case - my big fat rectum.

Billy Bunter,
where the hell are you at. I was presenting Broadbeachs case as to say .. they dont want out of the NEAFL.... and I commented that surely Aspley are in the same mode.So why are u posting comments like the above.

What a joke Beachy......you claim to be the messenger but what you are doing is spreading unsubstantiated rumours from a third party, looking to run a gossip story...you might not have started the fire mate, but you sure as hell are throwing petrol on it...."tell people to stop sayings if they are not true"..take responsibility for your own actions...you posted the story..but now it someone elses fault..???? WTF!!!
On reflection you are right Maurie, I should not have forwarded the story on.It should have taken it's own course.I apologise to anyone that it caused concern to and certainly won't do it again.Probably time to limit my postings.

Billy Bunter,
where the hell are you at. I was presenting Broadbeachs case as to say .. they dont want out of the NEAFL.... and I commented that surely Aspley are in the same mode.So why are u posting comments like the above.

stuyd 1,
In answer to your question - this has all come from the post from the rumour mill that the Cats and the Hornets are looking to get out of the NEAFL - yeh sure - my post reflects the work that both of these clubs need to do to lift their standing within the NEAFL competition. Both Broadbeach and Aspley have had limited succsess todate within the competition compared to the the other power houses that I have mentioned earlier and both in my opinion they both have a lot of growing up to do to get near the respect that the more traditional clubs have in the AFLQ world.

Broadbeach supporters for example speak of there comitment to their juniors - they had probably had the better juniors playing in the GC-17 in the TAC Cup year than most other clubs in Queensland - I can only count 1 at present in Luke Shreeve still at the club (I may be wrong on this) with a lot of the those others kids scattered on the coast playing in the PHC comp or not playing at all, players like Rolfe, Green, Hutchinson etc, the question is why?. The shinning light for the club is Tinka, while we all watched in amazment at his skills each year and shook our heads at each years draft when his name was not mentioned again the question was always why? He has now proved that he was always good enough but the question of why still has not been answered, and with young Bostto also looking the goods it may be a good year for the Cats finals or no finals or will he too suffer the same torment that Tinka endured. While I admit that they along with the Tigers are the poor cousins to Southport on the Coast, their committee have made a lot of changes over the last 12 months for the future benifit of the club and that is with a lot of their supporters time and money as well - but this does not make them all of a sudden succsessful, they may make the finals this year and I hope for all of their supporters hard work they do (they may also thank Aspley for their poor management skills if they do) - but the arrogence of charging punters and supporters a levy to watch their team/s play when visiting their ground is a disgrace and lacks the respect to the game and the supporters of it. (its not the money here it is the principal).

Aspley too have a lot of growing up to do as well IMO and this rumour of them also wanting out is a timley pin prick that they too need, abuntant with finances and a club house to rival most clubs around Australia along with the pick of all the Northside junior players for their future, they are still making the same dumb mistakes each year after year, their ground was always a doubtful AFL ground and the condition of it has always been second rate at best, so fix it - this might mean a year playing at O'Callagan Park for this to happen but to give a virtual 4 premiership points gift to an opposition club due to the ground not being fit to play on is a joke, this along with the ongoing poor recruiting picks and the elusion of one year making finals out of 3 years in the comp has also put them in a we have made it in the big time attitude - no players drafted and a huge player turn over each year will IMO hamstring them from being a succsessful club for years to come - but on the up side they along with most other NEAFL side dont charge their supporters to watch their games.

stuyd 1,
In answer to your question - this has all come from the post from the rumour mill that the Cats and the Hornets are looking to get out of the NEAFL - yeh sure - my post reflects the work that both of these clubs need to do to lift their standing within the NEAFL competition. Both Broadbeach and Aspley have had limited succsess todate within the competition compared to the the other power houses that I have mentioned earlier and both in my opinion they both have a lot of growing up to do to get near the respect that the more traditional clubs have in the AFLQ world.

Billy,
I have to disagree on your comments in regards to Broadbeach. Our poor cousins down the road have done a terrific job over the past two years turning the club around. They were widely regarded as the most improved club last year. They are very professional as well with the coaches and Fitness guru Gary Fox - who is the state fitness coach now because he is regarded the best in the league. The influence of both coach and Fox was significant in getting Zorko drafted. The other players you mentioned were quite frankly not up to it or needed more development time in the twos. I believe they were not interested. When clubs increase their commitment levels you will always lose a few for a variety of reasons. Happens at the sharks each year also.
Happy to pay $5 to get in to any club. Did it in SA for years - no arrogance at all. If you feel that strongly Bill maybe skip the Broady home games. Most supporters don't mind chipping in and helping out another club, particuarly a club who is trying to get on their feet.
Stuyd1 will know more than me but a few friends I have down there believe they are on the right track and clearly from results they are heading that way.
Southport too good for Tigers on the weekend. Labardor changed their team around all over the place in the second half trying to find a way. Need to win one of the next two games to stay in the hunt for tigers.
Battle for top 3 is a beauty!

stuyd 1,

Broadbeach supporters for example speak of there comitment to their juniors - they had probably had the better juniors playing in the GC-17 in the TAC Cup year than most other clubs in Queensland - I can only count 1 at present in Luke Shreeve still at the club (I may be wrong on this) with a lot of the those others kids scattered on the coast playing in the PHC comp or not playing at all, players like Rolfe, Green, Hutchinson etc, the question is why?. The shinning light for the club is Tinka, while we all watched in amazment at his skills each year and shook our heads at each years draft when his name was not mentioned again the question was always why? He has now proved that he was always good enough but the question of why still has not been answered, and with young Bostto also looking the goods it may be a good year for the Cats finals or no finals or will he too suffer the same torment that Tinka endured. While I admit that they along with the Tigers are the poor cousins to Southport on the Coast, their committee have made a lot of changes over the last 12 months for the future benifit of the club and that is with a lot of their supporters time and money as well - but this does not make them all of a sudden succsessful, they may make the finals this year and I hope for all of their supporters hard work they do (they may also thank Aspley for their poor management skills if they do) - but the arrogence of charging punters and supporters a levy to watch their team/s play when visiting their ground is a disgrace and lacks the respect to the game and the supporters of it. (its not the money here it is the principal).

Aspley too have a lot of growing up to do as well IMO and this rumour of them also wanting out is a timley pin prick that they too need, abuntant with finances and a club house to rival most clubs around Australia along with the pick of all the Northside junior players for their future, they are still making the same dumb mistakes each year after year, their ground was always a doubtful AFL ground and the condition of it has always been second rate at best, so fix it - this might mean a year playing at O'Callagan Park for this to happen but to give a virtual 4 premiership points gift to an opposition club due to the ground not being fit to play on is a joke, this along with the ongoing poor recruiting picks and the elusion of one year making finals out of 3 years in the comp has also put them in a we have made it in the big time attitude - no players drafted and a huge player turn over each year will IMO hamstring them from being a succsessful club for years to come - but on the up side they along with most other NEAFL side dont charge their supporters to watch their games.
Who cares about $5 entry fee.Put a 6 pack in the car and sit on the outer wing.SANFL charge for attendance and get 4000 people.
Hear the Granny is at Yeronga if no coast teams playing off.

Aspley too have a lot of growing up to do as well IMO and this rumour of them also wanting out is a timley pin prick that they too need, abuntant with finances and a club house to rival most clubs around Australia along with the pick of all the Northside junior players for their future, they are still making the same dumb mistakes each year after year, their ground was always a doubtful AFL ground and the condition of it has always been second rate at best, so fix it - this might mean a year playing at O'Callagan Park for this to happen but to give a virtual 4 premiership points gift to an opposition club due to the ground not being fit to play on is a joke, this along with the ongoing poor recruiting picks and the elusion of one year making finals out of 3 years in the comp has also put them in a we have made it in the big time attitude - no players drafted and a huge player turn over each year will IMO hamstring them from being a succsessful club for years to come - but on the up side they along with most other NEAFL side dont charge their supporters to watch their games.[/quote]

You seem to have lot of knowledge as to what is going on within both clubs. Your comments maybe un-educated, I am lead to believe Aspley had there ground re-sowed during the season to stop the frost from killing off the grass. This is the reason for the games being being moved. South East QLD has had unseasonal rain for the winter, and I would say this has caused some un-forseen problems. Aspley wanted to play the games that had been changed to Zillmere but NEAFL refused and changed the game to Broady. Its never been an AFL ground just like all NEAFL grounds, and it is the first time I have ever heard of the ground being second rate.
Where did the comments come from about "we have made it in the big time"?. As for no players being drafted, they have only been in for 3 and half seasons, what do you expect. This year they should get there first draftee finger crossed for them. They have had plenty of players drafted from previous years before coming into the comp. They may make mistakes with recruiting IYO just like all clubs, so there not alone there. If you are so knowledgable on what are the problems please go down to Aspley and Broadbeach and speak to Football Managers instead of taking pot shots behind a forum.

You seem to have lot of knowledge as to what is going on within both clubs. Your comments maybe un-educated, I am lead to believe Aspley had there ground re-sowed during the season to stop the frost from killing off the grass. This is the reason for the games being being moved. South East QLD has had unseasonal rain for the winter, and I would say this has caused some un-forseen problems. Aspley wanted to play the games that had been changed to Zillmere but NEAFL refused and changed the game to Broady. Its never been an AFL ground just like all NEAFL grounds, and it is the first time I have ever heard of the ground being second rate.
Where did the comments come from about "we have made it in the big time"?. As for no players being drafted, they have only been in for 3 and half seasons, what do you expect. This year they should get there first draftee finger crossed for them. They have had plenty of players drafted from previous years before coming into the comp. They may make mistakes with recruiting IYO just like all clubs, so there not alone there. If you are so knowledgable on what are the problems please go down to Aspley and Broadbeach and speak to Football Managers instead of taking pot shots behind a forum.[/quote]

Roadkill,

Love your passion on your club and its good to see you posting again - but my posts are my opinions, you don't have to read them and here are some more to get your blood boiling, from my limited knowlege of horticulutre, extended periods of frost is a grass killer - when in Brisbane have we had any extended days of frost???? and further to this re sowing grass is usually carried out in spring or late summer not in the middle of winter - the grass dying problem would not have anything to do with the traffic occuring on the this ground when you have 20 junior teams each week training on it would it? if so then this comes down to management.

In regard to switching grounds why did they not pospone this game until the Sunday instead of gifting an opponent 4 premiership points????if there was an impass and no possible way of playing at the fixtured venue would not two points be better than none - games have been moved to an alternitive day before this occasion and I am sure it will be done again in the future.

My knowledge of the expectations of the power brokers and others at the club who were touting at the start of the season was one more if not 4 more notches up the ladder would only be an acceptable outcome, sounds like the big time to me?

As for players being drafted - no player to my knowledge who has played directley for Aspley has to date been drafted, they might have been juniors at Aspley but then moved on to other State League clubs to go on their way to the AFL.

As far as recruting goes the same excuse comes up each year - is it poor judgement or wrong cattle? if its not working then fix it dont keep using the - all clubs have the same problem excuse as most don't.

In regard to Football Club Football Managers - you can't install brains in monuments - enough said.

As for my posts I call them opinions you call them pot shots, we will agree to disagree on this point.

NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2012