Rumour Neale-y premiership time! (was: Neale before the Lions!)

Pick 6 and 8 for Neale and 14 is perhaps not as favourable as people think (though I would certainly do it). The difference between pick 14 and 8 in points equates to about pick 42. So they're trading us 6 and 42 for Lachie. In saying that, I doubt you would get many teams trading down from pick 8 for 14 and 42.

I guess it depends on who we want in the draft and if we think that kid that we would take at 8 might still be there at 14..

I'd be happy with 6 and a future second, banking those second rounder points to match Ashcroft. I wouldn't be trying to get too crafty with our future first either. Keep it until next year's trade period, some club is bound to be desperate for it, more desperate than anyone is likely to be for it this year.
Agree, I think I would rather the future second over giving up pick 14 for pick 8.

Wonder how Lachie will feel if Freo says thanks but no thanks.

It could not be more obvious that Freo are in this up to their eyeballs.

Hope it works out better for them than Des Headland being traded back did. Maybe Lachie will run for the Palmer United Party?

Do you think we'd use 4 draft picks with tight list spots?

Also if we don't pickup a Neale replacement I wouldn't mind keeping our first rounder for next year in case we can target someone
100% we should.
Brock Smith
Tom Joyce
Grant Birchall
Connor Ballenden
Archie Smith

Hope it works out better for them than Des Headland being traded back did. Maybe Lachie will run for the Palmer United Party?

If I get one more Spam text from those flogs...

6 + 8 for whatever is probably a pipe dream, Freo will want to keep one of them at the very least. Will be 6/8 + 27 or a 2022 second

And I guess that would probably be fair - almost identical to what we paid for him. While we got a younger player, they're getting a better player - so it probably does make sense.

I'm not surprised at how much Freo fans downplay Neale as a player but absolutely gobsmacked at what some of the Lions fans here think.

The guy's a complete gun. The first year he was here he made the difference in those early games ,he was that good. He won the Brownlow the next year by what 10 votes ??

If he's gone nail down the best deal we can but don't downplay what he brings when he's fit and firing. He's only 28.

On the face of it I don't like what he's done but people who don't know him concluding what sort of person he is because of that is off the mark. Some people have a very business like approach to whatever is their business ,maybe he's one of those. He's given us every excuse to play hardball but I'm not concluding anything one way or the other on his character.

If they were going down that track of only making three list changes... they're not as they have delisted 7 players and Cerra wants out.. Everything I've read has Garlick, Longmuir and Bell going to the National Draft with early picks as it's packed with WA Talent..late picks ain't going to cut it except for the NGA kid ..Their prime objective is to secure player/s for the CHF position and bolster their forward group (see attached link- Garlick names the local players and confirms he needs early picks) . Lachie Schultz agreed to remain on the rookie list as a part of his two-year contract extension, ...So they will need to get creative if the above article is correct...West Coast has also indicated that they are also going to the draft to secure WA talent
I know all that. I was simply replying to what you said.

Obviously the Cerra trade is supposed to secure more picks, a first and a second.

Then they package their two second round picks for the Bulldogs first.

I don’t have any idea of what they’re going to do, but I’m pretty sure they’re not taking 7 picks to the draft.

Of course. But there's a long way to go, and if we dig our heels in ...

My guess is that our club won't want him around and will advocate get rid of him and take the hit if necessary.

Imagine his teammates are experiencing the range of wtf confusion we are feeling *100.

Do you go to the awards night? Will be a lot of people watching them closely.

I know all that. I was simply replying to what you said.

Obviously the Cerra trade is supposed to secure more picks, a first and a second.

Then they package their two second round picks for the Bulldogs first.

I don’t have any idea of what they’re going to do, but I’m pretty sure they’re not taking 7 picks to the draft.

Dunno... This year Clubs are able to shift players from the senior list to the rookie list in the time between the national and rookie drafts if the player is contracted for 2022.

This story very clearly leaked out of the freo end which tells you all you need to know.

Even if you assume that Lachie is a mercenary no shot him/his management would have wanted it to come out in this way. A bad look for them.

Wonder how Lachie will feel if Freo says thanks but no thanks.

Does he stay put, or ask to move anyway? I think stay put but for someone who has gone from success to success in the past five years, it could be a massive ego equalizer.

Especially with Mitch hanging around. Mitch is brutally honest about his own history, and I'm sure he is the same about everyone else.

I'll bring the pop corn, someone bring the beer. Could be fun to watch. Almost as fun as Sunday night beers were I reckon.

As soon as I heard he needed more time, people assumed it was to genuinely make a decision - I don't buy that, people know what they are going to do in those situations. They want to go home.

I reckon he needs time for Freo to commit to bringing him home and assurances he won't be left with his pants around his ankles and back at the Lions.

If he thinks it won't get done, he will stay I reckon. Freo will know if they can get it done too.

I'm not surprised at how much Freo fans downplay Neale as a player but absolutely gobsmacked at what some of the Lions fans here think.

The guy's a complete gun. The first year he was here he made the difference in those early games ,he was that good. He won the Brownlow the next year by what 10 votes ??

If he's gone nail down the best deal we can but don't downplay what he brings when he's fit and firing. He's only 28.

On the face of it I don't like what he's done but people who don't know him concluding what sort of person he is because of that is off the mark. Some people have a very business like approach to whatever is their business ,maybe he's one of those. He's given us every excuse to play hardball but I'm not concluding anything one way or the other on his character.

It's his age I reckon. If he was 25 it would be melt central.

We all know how good he is, but we also can see that the potential gains we can get and potential reshape/reload we can undertake.

He also isn't a heart and soul guy, like if Rich asked for a trade right now I'd be ****ing crushed - but Lachie isn't that type of player.

He is incredible, when he is on he is a top 5 player - but people have one eye to the future and know a trade can make some things happen.

If he stays though, cool - reckon he will have a point to prove next year.

We all know how good he is, but we also can see that the potential gains we can get and potential reshape/reload we can undertake.

He also isn't a heart and soul guy, like if Rich asked for a trade right now I'd be ******* crushed - but Lachie isn't that type of player.

He is incredible, when he is on he is a top 5 player - but people have one eye to the future and know a trade can make some things happen.

Pretty much my feeling with also a perhaps pessimistic view that we have list deficiencies that can't be solved immediately soon enough for our veterans to still be around. With that in mind, while we lose a lot by trading him, if we get a good return and capitalise on 2 successive strong drafts for us then we have the proper infrastructure to contend for a long period.

While it sucks to lose him its not the worst consolation prize to have.

If we lose him I'd back us to make the 8 next year but probably would have a harder time sustaining a fourth year of top-4 contention.

He also isn't a heart and soul guy, like if Rich asked for a trade right now I'd be ******* crushed - but Lachie isn't that type of player.

Has Lachie become an embedded player within the group - does he really belong or is he a bit of a loner?

McStay is a class act! Very different to the McStay of a couple of years ago.
He's doing what he was doing a couple of years ago but substituted more marks than bringing it to ground by design and then finishing with a goal.
Complete player now , or pretty Dan close.
He's obviously underrated by these so called footy experts.
He plays in that last final we are a different team , better team.

Has Lachie become an embedded player within the group - does he really belong or is he a bit of a loner?
Seems to be pretty tight with the group. Went on the end of season trip with a bunch of the blokes and their partners up to makepeace island. He does seem to be a slight introvert at times. Absolutely nothing wrong with that though. I think you will find a few blokes at the club are the same. Starc being one. Lives alone with his dog and absolutely loves it. Very different to the Berry’s and Clugs of the team. I honestly believe he has fully bought in and given it his all. Same with Jules. Covid has done a heap