News New Jumpers for 2011

Such levels of contradiction around these parts.

If the Tigers walked out in that, everyone would be complaining.

Remember with Richmond there is a high chance that the Tiger on the jumper may be replaced in the next month.

reminds me of this:
Richmond-PS-2011.gif

this:
Richmond-PS-2007.gif

this:
Richmond-PS-2005.gif

and this:
Richmond-PS-2010.gif

THEY ARE ALL THE SAME!!!

Richmond doen't exactly have the best preseason designs

Cory's is definately better than these :p

Richmond-PS-80s.gif

1998-2003
Richmond-Claw2.gif

Richmond-PS-2005.gif

Richmond-PS-2007.gif

2009-2010
Richmond-PS-2010.gif

2011(Probably my favourite one)
Richmond-PS-2011.gif

Clearly not a real preseason jumper, it was a one-off clash due to Richmond and Glenelg having the same colours.

Although, doing a bit of research, I must dispute that this is a 1978 jumper from the Wills Cup. The NFL Wills Cup was played in 1976, it was shown on Channel 10, and it featured teams from VFL, SA, WA. The opening game of this was indeed Glenelg v Richmond at Football Park.
http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/nfl_wills_cup.htm
Note that the Wills Cup was NOT a preseason comp - it was played midweek during the season. Norwood and Carlton met on 22 Jun 1976, with the Redlegs winning by 106 points. Video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EWcPaywCoI

Now... according to a decade-old BigFooty post by "RABOYLE"...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-16395.html
The VFL and Channel 7 revived the Night Series in 1977, so the "national comp" needed another source of teams - the VFA. The cup was sponsored by Ardath and Norwood beat East Fremantle.
In 1978, it was the Escort Cup, and South Adelaide beat Glenelg in the final. No VFL teams here; Port Melbourne did reach the semis.

In 1978, the VFL's night series expanded from 12 to 13 teams, with Tasmania joining the existing 12 Victorian clubs.

1979 saw the WA clubs enter the VFL night series, and the NFL comp had VFA, SA and Queensland teams. It didn't survive. By 1980 the SANFL teams were part of the Night Series, which would become the Escort Cup many of us know.

So... the two points I want to make:
1. When referring to "preseason" from before 1987, could you young'uns please call it the Night Series as it wasn't a preseason comp back then.
2. I finally pinpointed when that weird jumper was actually worn, and it was before my lifetime :) 1976, not 1978. (It was also worn by the guy in the Balfours Footy Pie ad!)

EDIT: (Note that I use AFL to refer to what was then VFL)
On reflection... the 1976 Wills Cup was a NFL (ANFC) competition, does it count as a AFL-sanctioned comp? Sure, the ANFC was the main ruling authority, but given that not all AFL teams were involved, and it motivated the AFL to create its own night series in 1977, does it make it official? I raise it because there's a good case for not counting that red/yellow striped jumper as an official Richmond strip. In terms of comparison, I would suggest the 1982 exhibition game at the Gabba for the Commonwealth Games - if either team in that game had a not-their-usual-jumper, it wouldn't count because it wasn't in regular competition.
What I'm trying to say is, it's good to have it there for 'completeness', but there's an equally good case for not having it.

And for the record, in the various night series, did any of the SANFL or WAFL teams wear clash strips? :)

Could you make a yellower version of it maybe as a clash?

Completely black, whilst looking good, doesn't really help a whole lot in that regard.

Yeah maybe, it's just that this jumper whilst a good alternative, doesn't actually fulfil any need RFC have.

If it was 75%+ yellow, it would work as a clash.

Yeh it is mate wouldn't mind buying the Warm up top looks Amazing :thumbsu:

warm up tops are the best IMO. I hv the Hawks one from this yer and its soooo good :thumbsu:

Wonder why Collingwood's wearing white shorts tonight when they're the home team. Would have made sense to wear black shorts. Meaning Collingwood's dark and Hawthorn's Light.

Keeps the white on one team as much as possible. Which is yet another example of why Hawthorn's number panel annoys me.

Keeps the white on one team as much as possible.

Yet teams are allowed to wear fully white clash kits against Collingwood...
Really, give Collingwood their black shorts as it's their home game (and I believe thus should be their choice and I can't see them choosing to wear white shorts) and Hawthorn can have either white or gold shorts. Gold would be cool I think.

I read somewhere that shorts colours are decided with a toss of a coin
I reckon for the Eagles-Carlton game last weekend they might have :D :p

Seriously though, I reckon usually they work on a "who already has white" policy...I remember a Collingwood-Dogs match where Collingwood wore white shorts too.

For last year's Grand Finals they tossed a coin to decide who would wear Clash...when Eddie lost he called a technicality and they tossed again (surprise surprise)

Honestly though...IMO for all matches (incl. finals), home team gets guernsey rights, away team wears a non-clashing guernsey and shorts are decided in order to reduce clash. For the Grand Final, the winner of the First Preliminary Final (this year's Collingwood v Hawthorn) is the home team. Easy.

Not really on topic, but I love Geelong's mad ondays (probably one of the few things I like about them.) When I read that on the main board I was in in stitches. Quality :thumbsu:

So Mitch Duncan appears to be wearing a fake ISC St Kilda jumper - but it has proper logos on it - that's a bit naughty, isn't it?

Its actually a 2010 St Kilda Clash Guernsey with the 'Jeldwen' covered up with added sponsors to "cap off" his costume.

No harm in that, once you buy the guernsey, it's yours to do what you want with it.

He probably picked it up cheap on ebay or something and then just added on the logo's to represent Nixon himself.