New posters, introduce yourselves here

Well as you can see by my post count I am hardly new but I don't think I ever wrote anything about myself so I my as well give it a quick go
Been supporting Hawthorn since I can remember. My earliest memory was wearing this weird Brown and Gold jumper when everyone else was wearing just normal jumpers. My first year of being a member was when I was 5 in 1998 (am 20 now) I have never looked back. In my family me and my Dad and Hawks and my Mum and Sister are Pies although to saying they are passive supporters would be an understatement. My Dad however would have have let me supported anyone else as I am a third generation Hawk. My grandparents startied supporting Hawthorn when they moved in to a house in Hawthorn in the early 50's. I remember one time when I was about 7, my Dad came home from work and I told him I wanted to start supporting Fremantle (I may have been dropped on my head as a baby :p). According to my Mum, my Dad just stared at me for a good 5 seconds, went very red in the face and left the room!!

What I love about footy is that no matter what is happening in your personal life, I can always look forward to the boys playing on the weekend! I played footy also from tackers up until Colts and although I enjoyed it at most times, I knew my passion was more with Hawthorn than it was with my playing!!!
These days I go to 90% of Hawthorn's Melbourne games and make sure I watch all interstate ones live!!

ALWAYS HAWTHORN :)

Im a west coast fan but love the hawks. I tipped you guys for the flag pre 2008 and have loved them ever since they fulfilled my prediction. I saw the youngsters coming up and knew they were cherry ripe to do good things. That 2008 grand final was my favourite game of all time I loved the pressure the hawks applied and the manner in which they ran the cats off their feet. Rioli was sensational. Used to hate you guys as you beat us in the 91 gf but now I love ya's. Went to last years grand final.

Have been supporting Hawthorn from the time Dad could find a shirt small enough to fit me (About three weeks old), suffered through the mediocre early 2000's, now loving the success of the club.
Have been watching Sammy Mitchell since his debut and consider him my favourite player, first due to the fact we have the same first name, but love his game style and how its evolved.

Always Hawthorn! :)

Hi all,

Long-time lurker, first-time poster. I'm a longtime Hawks supporter from WA (along with my dad). I love browsing these forums because it gives me the sense of supporter camaraderie that I wouldn't normally get being surrounded by a bunch of West Coast and Fremantle supporters (otherwise known as family and friends). Needless to say, big fan of the Hawks, in particular Burgoyne and Sewell.

Thanks!

Fellow hawk fans, long time lurker, thought i would finally make an account. Been following the mighty hawks since as long as i can remember. Grew up following Dunstall and Crawford before switching my man-crush to hodgey. Can remember the '08 granny like it was yesterday. Was at a mate's place and was the only hawks supporter as the rest all had money on the catters. Safe to say copious amounts of Mountain Dew were enjoyed from that day forth! As for last year's granny, thankfully i wasn't in melbourne for it. Of all places, i was in Sydney, celebrating the first year anniversary with the missus :| Was a bit awkard though trying to watch the game while teaching her russian parents the rules of AFL haha still haven't watched the replay, dont think il ever want to. Just bought a new jersey the other day and am still undecided on who to get, maybe i could get a few tips from the regs on who to get? :p You'll probably see me around the fantasy football boards alot as my brother and I are in quite a few money leagues. Peace all, and go HAWKS

Long time lurker... signed up along time ago. Finally got around to posting. Huge sports fan. Originally from the UK and despite living in QLD have fallen in love with the hawks and the AFL.

Hi All,

Only came about bigfooty.com this year, great for a read during the day at work ;).

Mad Mighty Hawks supporter, barracking for them ever since I can remember. Being born in 81 I have been through the ups of the 80's then the all the downs up until 2008. Love our team lineup at the moment, only problem is since moving to Brisbane they hardly ever make the trip up here!! All good though, have an annual Hawks vs Bombers trip with a mate down in Melbourne, cant wait until round 18!!!

GO HAWKS!!

Fellow hawk fans, long time lurker, thought i would finally make an account. Been following the mighty hawks since as long as i can remember. Grew up following Dunstall and Crawford before switching my man-crush to hodgey. Can remember the '08 granny like it was yesterday. Was at a mate's place and was the only hawks supporter as the rest all had money on the catters. Safe to say copious amounts of Mountain Dew were enjoyed from that day forth! As for last year's granny, thankfully i wasn't in melbourne for it. Of all places, i was in Sydney, celebrating the first year anniversary with the missus :| Was a bit awkard though trying to watch the game while teaching her russian parents the rules of AFL haha still haven't watched the replay, dont think il ever want to. Just bought a new jersey the other day and am still undecided on who to get, maybe i could get a few tips from the regs on who to get? :p You'll probably see me around the fantasy football boards alot as my brother and I are in quite a few money leagues. Peace all, and go HAWKS

My man love for Hodgey (The Chosen One) has also come along after the likes of Craf, Piggy and Jars. If you still haven't got a number on your top, then I suggest Breust. Easy to go with the staple players (Bud, Cyril, Mitch, Hodge, Rough, etc) but this kid is a little gun and has a great cult following with lots of fans (even my non-Hawks friends reckon he is great). Just a suggestion. Cheers.

Hi guys,

I came to Australia when I was ten, never knew the game existed, grew up playing soccer and watchin F1 (still do). I learned English from watching American films.
First game I saw was Dons V Pies '90 gf, though "this is the most confusing worst game on the planet". I turned off.

Second game I saw was Hawks v North preseason gf.
I started to understand the game, but more of an impact was the team - the characters, Platts, Dunstall, Dermie, and the colours, nothing like any soccer team I had ever seen (my point of reference at that time).
When I watched us get thrashed in the next game, I was pissed off (a deep dislike of Adelaide was born).
And that was that, a decision was made.

Reckon this team is better than the 'unsociable' hawks, and more than capable to play that type of footy, just love watching them play, and even better watching them fight for it!

Welcome to the forum, hope to see some more comments fro you all in the other threads. dont forget Lethals Lounge for a bit of more general non-footy banter...

Essendon game at Etihad

All tickets have currently been sold for this game. Level 3 reserved seating for this game will go on sale at 9am, Friday 12 July through Ticketmaster.

I am going to get killed. Booked flights to melb for the game and have no tickets. ArrrrrrrrrrgH! First year as a member and had no idea I needed to get tickets. It is my own fault for being an idiot. This ticketmaster website is also making me want to punch holes through the monitor.

Sup lads, not exactly new as I've been on BF for a while (few years I think) but I usually just post in the Fantasy Football and Graphic Design boards but I am in the same position as most on this board, HUGE Hawks fan, 17 years old, 17 years member, would really like to get involved in Hawks talk with the blokes who know the most about this tremendous club!! Been going to Hawks games since I was 6 weeks old with the old man and have been to both Grand Finals since I've been alive, I basically bleed brown and gold and am super keen to get involved in this board!!!!

I am going to get killed. Booked flights to melb for the game and have no tickets. ArrrrrrrrrrgH! First year as a member and had no idea I needed to get tickets. It is my own fault for being an idiot. This ticketmaster website is also making me want to punch holes through the monitor.
get to an agent you may be lucky but remember essendon members can sell their seats so you may end up in a essendon members area good luck

Hi Hawkers...I'm a long time Hawks tragic.....Have read Big Footy posts regularly and after another loss to the 'hand baggers' felt the time to vent was now.....

Been a long time lurker and finally feel confident enough to post my opinion. I've barracked Hawks my whole life...was brain washed by my dad and two older brothers and the success of the Hawks in the 80s and early 90s.

I love the club! I'm crazy passionate about the team.

Yes, I'm a chick too....so be nice :D

New posters, introduce yourselves here