New Sponsor - Dare Iced Coffee announced as Principal Partner

Have sent an email to the Sainters board about maybe a likely future sponsor up here on the Darling Downs. Wagners Cement, they have just built a new international airport on their own land, with the hope of building a V8 track as well. They may also be in the running to build a new underpass from Toowoomba to Brisbane, now if they can be talked into building a sporting arena plus sponsor the Saints, maybe we could play a couple of games up here a year & they can rake in the dollars. Only a pipe dream on my behalf, but they evidently have money to burn, so reckon we should put our hand up for some.

Why on earth would Netflix want to sponsor a sports team?
The whole model of Netflix is to lead people away from TV packages and towards on demand viewing. It almost conflicts directly with the AFL's broadcast rights intent.
Their model is to use their cash to secure rights to shows, ideally exclusive rights. In the US they made their breakthrough with breaking bad, then house of cards and people subscribed as they could only see the show there. Then they looked at buying some NFL rights.
There's no way the AFL wants to give up any control of its own league TV rights.
:cool:
Maybe because with over 20 million potential viewers if I was launching something in Australia I would think
getting in early myself , just think win / win situation for both parties.

So we play 23 games.
1 of them in NZ.
Im no maths genius but 100% NZ dont quite add up
wouldnt it be 4.347826087% NZ:D

We play all of our international games in NZ - 100% NZ

I don't know if HTC do sporting sponsorship but I'd target them. Huge reach, clean company, battling against huge, well advertised competitors. Smartphones are a big part of sporting life these days, just have to get the boys to hide their iPads!
As a user of their One (M8) phone I concur. I actually work about a 2 minute walk from their global HQ here in Taiwan. Maybe I should walk up to their reception and demand a meeting with their CEO showing him footage from our last game against Fremantle and tell him to get onboard :D

Plus they're a Taiwanese company so could tap onto the huge latent Chinese/Taiwanese AFL viewer community and sort out our membership problem. Shame our colours are more reminiscent of Japan, but just accentuate the Red part, don't tell em about Gold Coast Suns, and we're onto a winner.

Well they used to show the footy on the Australian Netowrk here before Abbott made his cuts so I am sure a few Taiwan would have watched it.
Have a one off promotional match with Saints changing the black to blue to be more inline with the Taiwan flag. Might upset the dogs and the mainland chinese though.
tflag.gif

I don't know if HTC do sporting sponsorship but I'd target them. Huge reach, clean company, battling against huge, well advertised competitors. Smartphones are a big part of sporting life these days, just have to get the boys to hide their iPads!

They did - they sponsored their own cycling team and were for a while the most successful team, generating huge monetary value for their sponsorship. In fact the year Cavendish won 6 stages of the Tour they were actually estimated to have generated over £40m of advertising exposure from a team budget of £7.5m (and not all of that initial cost would have come from HTC).
However it didn't last; in their message about dropping sponsorship, they explained their original intent was that they felt that mainland European market was their primary target (unwritten rather obvious assertion being that the english-speaking world is obsessed with apple products). After 3 seasons of success, getting the most exposure possible short of winning the Tour de France, they cancelled sponsorship. They became 'official mobile communications sponsor' with UEFA for Champions League etc. No individual club sponsorship in Europe. They have just put in a small partnership with an Indian football club, after their original intent to have a league-wide tie-in failed.
They don't throw a lot of cash around, seem very targetted.

I was surprised when I was in Australia that Samsung wasn't bigger - do they normally do a lot of marketing?

:cool:
Maybe because with over 20 million potential viewers if I was launching something in Australia I would think
getting in early myself , just think win / win situation for both parties.

There's hundreds of better ideas for Netflix than to sponsor the worst AFL side. In fact that alone would be a terrible idea, as it would not help them reach a potential audience at all.

In fact they would be best-placed to look at gaining rights to show any AFL games which aren't shown on cable already, so if the lowest-rated match most weeks doesn't make TV, they get rights to show it on Netflix. Hence bringing in Saints (and other AFL) fans to sign up for their product, get hooked on it not necessarily for AFL but on all the other benefits it brings, and build a base from there. This is why lovefilm and netflix and spotify hand out free trials.
Tying in with Saints, they could give free trials to all Saints fans. But why would they do that, when alternative options could get them access to the entire AFL fanbase?

Not just that, but with AFL being the most popular spectator sport in the country, there's also the point that netflix would allow broader entertainment access for the whole family - so easier for the average AFL fan to negotiate with their wife to sign up!

However as others mentioned, given AFL has already sold rights for online streaming, and is very bloody awkward about it already, I can't see them allowing Netflix to jump in now. They would have to tender for rights at the next opportunity.

Maybe we could get cigarette sponsorship it's illegal, but you could circumvent that.
For a nominal fee , Farren Ray could change his name to Peter Jackson. Sam Fisher could become Winfield Blue. Marlborough Camel?

I'll have a thirty pack of Eli Templetons thanks mate, and a carton of Paddy McCartin extra milds for the missus while you're there.

Well, having caught up with my mate regarding new major sponsor, the good news is we are still in the running

The bad news is, we have some competition for said sponsorship dollar from another club; being Hawthorn

Well, having caught up with my mate regarding new major sponsor, the good news is we are still in the running

The bad news is, we have some competition for said sponsorship dollar from another club; being Hawthorn
So wouldn't be a major sponsor than? Aren't Hawks & Tassie locked in for years?

New Sponsor - Dare Iced Coffee announced as Principal Partner