List Mgmt. Next Generation Academy Discussion

Can I make a non football note defending my suburb Werribee from some of the libel in this thread?
I bought a free-standing 3 bedroom house on 450sqm a few years ago. She’s old, and was a bit outdated in parts, but her bones are rock solid because I have such a manageable mortgage I have been able to renovate her the way I want. On the weekends, I can walk my dog and my daughter down Watton St, down the river and even to footy ground to watch the ‘bees!
Now let me make a note about other suburbs - I’ve worked in Toorak for the past 5 years and I won’t go too much into my industry, but residents of Toorak and the surrounding suburbs are our clients and key stakeholders. If you reckon there is no crime (major and petty), no drug use, no societal issues in general here, you are a nuff. Are there more nice houses here than in Werribee? Sure, of course. Do these areas get kissed on the dick with infrastructure and govt attention while we get 0? Yep, you betcha. But in a thousand years I would never pick these people to be my neighbours. Again, if you reckon an area has better quality people in it just because a large percentage of them have money - you are a nuff. Kind of like how supporters of some clubs think they’re better just because a lot of them buy memberships - you’d reckon North fans would get this ☺️

Potentially a couple of players who could be eligible on the Western Jets list:

Kaled El Souki - Newport (not sure if this falls in our NGA Region or WB)
Rafeik Haddara - Newport/Point Cook (Point cook is definitely in our NGA)
Rani Pavlidis - Werribee Districts

Are they eligible?

Doubtful, purely as I thought there was a requirement around listing these players prior to 16 in your NGA.

Given we were only just allocated it, I thought it might be impossible to actually get an NGA player from there for a season or so?

Might be wrong and maybe we get dispensation... these rules seem to change daily. I guess someone like Greaves wasn't in Hawthorns NGA and they simply applied. So that is probably the function.

Archie Devine is a really interesting one. I didn't realise he was NGA eligible for us.

He was captain of the Tassie u/16 state team last year in whats considered a bit of a bumper crop for them. He had some big games in the u/16 champs last year. Tassie finished 2nd to the Swans Academy and ahead of Brisbane, GWS, Gold Coast, NT etc. He was best on vs the Brisbane Academy and one of the best on against the NT. He was very stiff to not be named AA, especially as he came 2nd in their MVP and there were 3 Tasmania's in that AA side.

2026 will be our final year the Tassie NGA zone also, unless they strip it for that year in the final draft rules (which is possible if they sniff we might pull some talent).

Based on the latest reports Devine will get to either pick North as an NGA or play the year in the VFL for the Devils prior to their 2028 first game. Similar in a way to what the 17 years did for Gold Coast (David Swallow etc) and a few like Cameron and Treloar did for GWS.

Devine will be one of the better underagers playing in the CTL and Champs this year. He's a midfielder.

He debuted for North Hobart in the TSL last year only a few months after he turned 16.

I'm predicting he's going to be the first tug of war type player in the Tassie draft process. With the media pressure locally, it's going to be an interesting scenario. Especially if we rise up the ladder.

1743030992687.png

Are they eligible?

Doubtful, purely as I thought there was a requirement around listing these players prior to 16 in your NGA.

Given we were only just allocated it, I thought it might be impossible to actually get an NGA player from there for a season or so?

Might be wrong and maybe we get dispensation... these rules seem to change daily. I guess someone like Greaves wasn't in Hawthorns NGA and they simply applied. So that is probably the function.

No idea. I'm assuming not, but if they are in our region I guess we could apply.

Potentially a couple of players who could be eligible on the Western Jets list:

Kaled El Souki - Newport (not sure if this falls in our NGA Region or WB)
Rafeik Haddara - Newport/Point Cook (Point cook is definitely in our NGA)
Rani Pavlidis - Werribee Districts
Khaled is my cousin's brother in law. He is in the Dogs NGA. Played for the Jets over the weekend as an underager. He is a midfielder but was played forward and kicked 3 goals. He is talented.

I've heard good things of his talent but haven't seen him play.

I didn't think Newport was in our NGA, must be just on the fringe.

To date we seem to have a magical zone that has produced 2 AFL players neither of whom are on our list.
Yet if we relocated to Sea World Stadium we would've got the whole of Qld, 95% of the NT, most of Asia and a small galaxy just outside the Tucana Constellation..

Not a day goes by where I just sit back in awe of the evenness of the AFL. What a sporting organisation!

We've been tied at the hip with them academy wise for a while. This is literally not a big deal guys. Good facilities, excellent development coaches and a lot of respect in this area. They also have their reach into a lot of local clubs, which will enhance our scouting ability for potential NGA talent and grow its reputation.

In an era where we need every dollar we can get for our actual AFL side, this is a good deal.
I guess we have or will cut the "Tasmania" affiliation and need/want to show we have outreach beyond Errol St.

Are they eligible?

Archie Devine is a really interesting one. I didn't realise he was NGA eligible for us.

He was captain of the Tassie u/16 state team last year in whats considered a bit of a bumper crop for them. He had some big games in the u/16 champs last year. Tassie finished 2nd to the Swans Academy and ahead of Brisbane, GWS, Gold Coast, NT etc. He was best on vs the Brisbane Academy and one of the best on against the NT. He was very stiff to not be named AA, especially as he came 2nd in their MVP and there were 3 Tasmania's in that AA side.

2026 will be our final year the Tassie NGA zone also, unless they strip it for that year in the final draft rules (which is possible if they sniff we might pull some talent).

Based on the latest reports Devine will get to either pick North as an NGA or play the year in the VFL for the Devils prior to their 2028 first game. Similar in a way to what the 17 years did for Gold Coast (David Swallow etc) and a few like Cameron and Treloar did for GWS.

Devine will be one of the better underagers playing in the CTL and Champs this year. He's a midfielder.

He debuted for North Hobart in the TSL last year only a few months after he turned 16.

I'm predicting he's going to be the first tug of war type player in the Tassie draft process. With the media pressure locally, it's going to be an interesting scenario. Especially if we rise up the ladder.

View attachment 2262345
He's not John Devine's grandkid by any chance?

Yes he is.

1963 Geelong Premiership player, Tasmania Football Hall of Fame, Geelong Hall of Fame etc.

John was from Colac and obvious Geelong territory. One of the rarer examples of a Victorian going the other way that got involved with Tassie footy and settled there.

He was playing coached North Hobart to 3 x flags.

He came back as Geelongs senior coach in 1986 as some would know, recruited Budda Hocking, Billy Brownless etc.

Was a State Labor MP in Tassie also.

His son is Robbie "Wizard" Devine who was also a club legend for North Hobart.

Robbie is Archie's Dad.

I don't know where the NGA eligibility comes into it tbh. As far as I know, John and Robbie were never listed as indigenous at any point, could be mums side or a later identification.

Yes he is.

1963 Geelong Premiership player, Tasmania Football Hall of Fame, Geelong Hall of Fame etc.

John was from Colac and obvious Geelong territory. One of the rarer examples of a Victorian that got involved with Tassie footy and settled there.

He coached North Hobart to 3 x flags.

He became back as senior coach to Geelong in 1986 as some would know, recruited Budda Hocking, Billy Brownless etc.

Was a State Labor MP also.

His son man is Robbie "Wizard" Devine who was also a club legend for North Hobart.

Robbie is Archie's Dad.

I don't know where the NGA eligibility comes into it tbh.
Then I went to primary school with his uncle, Todd. We played footy together. Todd was pretty good. Built like a brick shithouse for a primary school kid too.

"Uncle Todd" just sounds like a guy nobody should leave their kids with.

Prove otherwise.

"Uncle Todd" just sounds like a guy nobody should leave their kids with.

Prove otherwise.
I have a mate who could be called "Uncle Todd" and the only reason you'd not your kids with him is cos he is a chronic piss head. But I have trusted him with my kids before.

To date we seem to have a magical zone that has produced 2 AFL players neither of whom are on our list.
Where every other team has distinct borders, our NGA has a bunch of Swiss cheese exclaves in it like the Indian/Bangladeshi border that means we miss out by a street.

Nothing dodgy to see here.

I've heard good things of his talent but haven't seen him play.

I didn't think Newport was in our NGA, must be just on the fringe.
Here are our areas:

All athletes must also reside within our academy zones of the City of Melbourne or City of Wyndham (Wyndham Vale, Williams Landing, Werribee South, Werribee, Truganina, Tarneit, Quandong, Point Cook, Mount Cottrell, Manor Lakes, Mambourin, Little River, Laverton North, Laverton, Hoppers Crossing, Eynesbury, Cocoroc, Seabrook, Sanctuary Lakes) or the state of Tasmania.

Sanders, but because we aren't Essendon they didn't adjust the rules that year.
Not really, we didn't even have Sanders in our NGA going into that year. The issue wasn't that we couldn't get the early bid on Sanders because where it was in the draft, it was that he hadn't been in our academy. Melbourne are the club that should be filthy on Essendon. They lost access to Mac Andrew and still have no decent KPFs.

Here are our areas:

All athletes must also reside within our academy zones of the City of Melbourne or City of Wyndham (Wyndham Vale, Williams Landing, Werribee South, Werribee, Truganina, Tarneit, Quandong, Point Cook, Mount Cottrell, Manor Lakes, Mambourin, Little River, Laverton North, Laverton, Hoppers Crossing, Eynesbury, Cocoroc, Seabrook, Sanctuary Lakes) or the state of Tasmania.
City of Melbourne always cracks me up.

Whilst our AFL NGA Academy is going nowhere, our NGA Web Developer academy is thriving.

List Mgmt. Next Generation Academy Discussion

Write your reply...