Nicest player you have ever met past and present

having worked at crown casino, and having served multiple best and fairest functions, I have come into contact with alot of players.

last year I did the Geelong b & f

Gary ablett junior was an absolute gentleman. Very polite, chatted with the staff, was all in all a great bloke. Id have to say that he is the nicest player ive come into contact with. To be honest the entire Geelong team were very nice, and I sure as hell didn't think Cam Mooney would be the calm, composed, friendly man that he was.

compare that with the drunken idiots from Hawthorn, of which danny Jacobs and Lance Franklin inparticular provided some drunken obnoxious moments. (franklin told me I was a champion with his eyes lolling in his head and then said "never forget I told you that")

Drank with most of the Geelong boys after they beat Freo at the Subiaco Hotel. Matt Egan was a top bloke as was Lingy. Most of the boys were happy to pose for photos. Matt Stokes seemed a bit arrogant and Andrew Mackie was wearing a Mellow Yellow T-shirt (the kid is build like my little sister).

But by far the best drinking experience I had with a footballer was again at the Subiaco Hotel when a couple of my mates dragged John Barnes into my 30th b'day this year. Drunk......? this man can put them away and was full of piss funny stories and anicdotes.

Brad Ottens, he initiated the conversation, happened to be wearing my Geelong polo shirt, he noticed and stopped to have a chat. Top bloke. Also saw him on the way to the GF in the car, gave a wave and a smile... then caught him taking a piss on the side of the highway along with Mackie and Milburn (but that's another story) :D

Had a kick to kick with the Dominator, Wayne Johnston the other day at Glenferrie randomly. Was a really nice guy. Usually see him after cricket training at the Tower Hotel in Camberwell, and the word "approachable" wasn't one I'd normally associate with him, but he came over, had a chat and was more than happy to have a kick.

Rob Harvey and David Schwarz were great too when they used to do the K-Mart footy clinics back in the day. Had a few chats with Heath Scotland over the years, and really doesn't deserve the wrap he gets. Will always remember Glen Archer giving me a phone call about 12 years ago at primary school to tell me he couldn't make it to our Xmas fete but to wish us luck anyway. Class act.

Less said about the likes of Franklin and McKernan the better...

Sam Mitchell - Met him a couple of weeks back, I was in a drunk state and I was overwhelmed with his friendly nature.. If i was in his shoes and someone that was drunk came up to me I would have tried to move on very quickly, however he listened, had a chat and a laugh.. TOP BLOKE!

from left field....and hardly a household name.....

Andrew Crowell - played 44 games for Adelaide from 2000 to 2003.

Is still heavily involved in the Club from a promotions point of view and also coordinates the Junior Crows in Schools clinics.

One of the nicest most genuine ex-players I've met. Will always come up and say hello and have a chat whether he knows you or not - and help make supporters and members feel part of it.

:thumbsu:

I'd also have to throw Rodney Maynard in there as well - always up for a chat.....

chris hyde and campbell brown....both had stints at deakin university and didnt seem to think they were superior to anyone.
cant stand arrogant footballers!

bumped into richo, quite a few years ago. they had just come back from a game in perth and he and bowden were just out having a few quiet ones. he looked absolutely wrecked and i'm sure the last thing he wanted was some drunk idiot pestering him.

but when bowden went to the bathroom and richo was sitting there alone i couldn't help but say hello. i wasn't annoying or anything, just said hows it going blah blah. then some other (much drunker) guy came up and started saying how his housemate knows a guy who knows richo. bowden came back and so i went back to my group of friends, but as i was leaving richo called me back, shook my hand and wished me a good night. really nice guy.

Dipper.

He is an absolutely genuine guy.

Spot on. Me and a few mates where in melbourne for a school footy trip and we were in the audience for that show Rex Hunt used to host on Sunday mornings. Anyway, after the show Dipper came and talked to us for a fair while and was really genuine and was only to happy sign autographs and chat.

Sheeds is a great bloke too, really interesting character as you would expect.

Jude Bolton was pretty cool, albeit smashed off his face!

Yeah, I saw Hird at Perth Airport one night a few years ago after Essendon had played West Coast on a Saturday. A friend I was travelling with went up to get an autograph from him, but James told the poor fella (who was only 14 at the time) that he wasn't actually James Hird. I knew for sure it was him because I'd seen him chatting with Garry Lyon earlier. What happened next was worse though! We saw an attractive, late teens-early 20's girl go up to get an autograph and James didn't even hesitate. Needless to say my mate was pretty cut and so went back again just so he could see Hird squirm when he realised he'd been found out. I know it must be annoying when people come up to ask for your autograph, but it took 5 seconds to sign the bloke's boarding pass and say a quick hello. Not hard.

Sorry Essendon fans, I'm sure he's done good things, but after that incident I reckon he's a first class ars*hole.

Hird walked passed me on Ackland St a while back, I didn't acknowledge him so he sneered at me - ace man :thumbsu:

Matty Maguire is the nicest bloke I've met. Was interested to keep on chatting while a swarm of chicks behind him writhed in anticipation.

Met Fraser Gehrig at a dinner last yr, and he was a very nice bloke, was down to earth, had time for everybody, and was extremely genuine.

Also met Stevie Lawrence recently, and I was expected him to be a real goose considering his reputation, but he was a very nice bloke as well.

Thanks to a friend of a friend whose kid is part of the Hawks NSW development scheme, we got access to the Hawthorn rooms after the Sydney round 22 shellacking.

Wasn't expecting anyone to want to chat given the result... but Crawf was tops,we chatted with him and his wife for a fair bit. Same for Sam Mitchell. Very approachable.

Best bit though was when my mate almost gave a fast moving Jeff Kennett an accidental shirtfront.

Nicest player you have ever met past and present