Player Watch Nick Daicos

Gerald Healy as usual pretending to be a medical expert!
Has a big opinion on this considering he has not seen the scans or been in the discussion regarding the injuries with the specialist.
As usual, the media looking for a headline.
Watch Nick make it back week 1 of the finals!

If he gets the votes how I have looked at it but being one eyed pies he could be on 32 he could hold on.

Whateley reckons 31 and other SEN sources (betting?) reckoned 29-30. So he’s gonna be in the hunt very deep into the count despite polling virtually none over final half dozen rounds. It will be gut-wrenching viewing.

Has a big opinion on this considering he has not seen the scans or been in the discussion regarding the injuries with the specialist.

Healy’s been spending too much time with Kane. Has some shocking takes lately.

He is a trained Physio, might not have all the info but enough to comment i reckon

Well King thinks we’re done now without Nick. Might as well put everyone in for surgery.

Also I love how Port have lost 4 in a row and Kane still says nothing negative about them. The injuries are also starting to pile up for Port.

I think it's a blessing in disguise. We were getting over reliant on Nick to the point that if he doesn't fire or heavily tagged we can't win. If we can't cover a loss of one player, whoever he is - we are not worthy of a premiership. So let the other players lift and show they are genuine premiership contenders.
Agree but when that player is your best player by a country mile it makes things difficult.

Geezus. I don’t feel any lift.

But it would be very Collingwood like to bounce back now. Especially under Fly. And especially if the media have turned against us.

Hell hath no fury like a Pies team scorned.
It's backs against the wall time. It's where we thrive.

Fair dinkum.
If we are pinning all our hopes on a 2nd year player, we don’t even deserve to be there.
Football is a TEAM game.
Daicos HELPS us win the flag, he in not the SOLE reason.
It’s on the players and coaches to win this. A flag is not gifted. I’m sure Bolton, Leppitsch and McCrae all understand this (they’ve all been part of multiple Premierships).
Gary Ablett was the greatest player I’ve ever seen (maybe ever?). He played in 1989, 1992, 1994 and 1995 Grand Finals. They lost them all.

Dude, i understand you want Nick back as quickly as we all do but i would rather take his word than your guess out of nothing.
Healy is an old prick.

No you wouldn't. Significant bump after he marked by a bloke who wasn't making any attempt to compete for the footy. Don't know how it wasn't 50 and a certain goal. It wasn't outrageously dirty though - so I agree with that aspect.
Please.

We want our defenders applying physical pressure to opposition forwards.

Murphy himself made late contact in an attempted spoil against a Hawk in the same game...does that make him a dirty sniper??

We expect Murphy, Maynard, Moore or IQ to go and try and cut off the ball, if they are a fraction late and make contact with a leading forward from opposition so be it. If they dont go, most posters here would be filtht at them for letting opposition take an uncotested mark.

Unfortunate for Nick, but the Hawk player did nothing wrong.

Well King thinks we’re done now without Nick. Might as well put everyone in for surgery.

Also I love how Port have lost 4 in a row and Kane still says nothing negative about them. The injuries are also starting to pile up for Port.

Gee, didn't take long for Kingy to drop off. So he basically thinks we're a one man band, and the other 22 in the team are not good enough.
As good and brilliant as Naicos is, this may just release us a bit. As Fly said himself after the Hawthorn game, we got a little consumed with where to play Nick to break the tag. Without him there, which will be a huge loss, but the players can now focus on their own game and not worry about having to assist in trying to break the Daicos tag, or move players around in different positions in order to break the tag.
We can just focus on the game, and not worry about getting into scraps and push and shoves, which seem to be occurring more regularly as the opposition target Daic's.
In saying that, once Naicos is back, hopefully for finals, he will take us to that next level to win the premiership....

Please.

We want our defenders applying physical pressure to opposition forwards.

Murphy himself made late contact in an attempted spoil against a Hawk in the same game...does that make him a dirty sniper??

We expect Murphy, Maynard, Moore or IQ to go and try and cut off the ball, if they are a fraction late and make contact with a leading forward from opposition so be it. If they dont go, most posters here would be filtht at them for letting opposition take an uncotested mark.

Unfortunate for Nick, but the Hawk player did nothing wrong.
Murphy gave away a goal, as would the Hawthorn player if the umpire wasn't in nahnah land - it was a front on bump by someone not going for the ball after a mark - it wasn't particularly dirty as he didn't follow through, but it was a blatant 50. I don't want our blokes giving up goals with that sort of stupidity.

Dumb they played him then
You think maybe Nick kept quiet?
There is a Brownlow, Coach’s MVP and All Australian to win.
The kid is ultra-competitive.
The majority of players (heading into finals) are dodging the club doctors.
Almost NOBODY would admit to carrying a niggle.

Murphy gave away a goal, as would the Hawthorn player if the umpire wasn't in nahnah land - it was a front on bump by someone not going for the ball after a mark - it wasn't particularly dirty as he didn't follow through, but it was a blatant 50. I don't want our blokes giving up goals with that sort of stupidity.
That is the point.

One of our defenders, Murphy, gave away a 50m penalty and a goal for being late to a marking contest.

Does that make him a dirty sniper? Of course it doesnt.

The Hawthorn bloke's action was minor in comparison to our own defender from the same game.

That is the point.

One of our defenders, Murphy, gave away a 50m penalty and a goal for being late to a marking contest.

Does that make him a dirty sniper? Of course it doesnt.

The Hawthorn bloke's action was minor in comparison to our own defender from the same game.
Who can tell with a late spoil, but if Murphy was just trying to whack him and make him earn it as we used to say - yes of course it was dirty - it was also stupid as it gave away a goal. This was a late front on bump from a bloke who wasn't trying to do anything other than make him earn it - of course it was dirty. Not a big deal as he didn't hit him hard, but it was also stupid, as except for some bad umpiring it was a 50 and a certain goal.

So no, I don't want our players giving away dumb goals with some make them earn it rubbish.

If we manage to make the Prelim, that's 7 weeks away

You'd think he should be ok to play in the Prelim

If fitness becomes an issue (doubtful given his pre-season?) maybe have him do a tonne of swimming or something? Keep up his fitness without putting pressure on his knee?

Now that Nick is out which young gun are the media going to focus on to bash, tag, niggle, “ put him off his game”.

Maybe Guilden, JHF? Crickets
Great point.Kane Cornes always craps on about opposition players needing to tag Daicos,but he never says the same about the other young guns in the competition.I wonder why?He seems strangely obsessed with Nick for some reason.Always has a go at him about something.Even last night on Footy Classified he chastised him for trying to pad out his stats by taking a kick out.The man is obsessed.

Player Watch Nick Daicos