Is Nick having surgery on his ankle like someone mentioned earlier in this thread?
?
Wha? He was off at the end of the game but I think that's because someone slid their knees into his ribs...
Is Nick having surgery on his ankle like someone mentioned earlier in this thread?
?
An ankle injury from round 2 I think it wasWha? He was off at the end of the game but I think that's because someone slid their knees into his ribs...
I have no problem with Jordy's talent but sadly he is a one trick pony with zero intention of dirtying his hands by helping his team mates out by laying a tackle - or heaven forbid chasing defensively.
He's not really dumb he's just limited to a few flashy plays here and there a game, with no understanding of team first.
I find Kane Cornes to be one of the best people in the media. Praises when it's due, criticises when it's due. Apologises when he's wrong.
Some people just can't get over it when he comes for their team.
Also... Nick Daicos is already starting to feel the pinch of the Scott Pendlebury high bar of expectations. If any other Rising Star candidate played a 35+ disposal game in the wet they'd be writing a biography.
Newcombe is a very good player but most likely already reached his ceiling.
Nicky Daics is literally scratching the surface as a player. So much improvement to come.
Coaches don’t know. The answer is in the clouds.He's playing his role. Have a listen to what the coaches want him to do before continually potting him.
Spot on. Yeah he’s like our Taylor Adams, hell of a player I was really impressed with him.Newcombe is a very good player but most likely already reached his ceiling.
Nicky Daics is literally scratching the surface as a player. So much improvement to come.
loki04 any more info on surgery mate?
Peter must have been so proud to have 2 sons and a grandson out there Sunday.
Only what I read on ebnw at the time of posting and that they will be supposedly doing it end of season.
My take was why push through at his age rather they just address it early.
We have had a few players over the years be advised to put it off and they never got back on track to pre injury levels and eventually needed it anyway.
And we have had plenty of players go in for off-season surgery for niggling issues that they played through and had them suffer no negative consequences from it.We have had a few players over the years be advised to put it off and they never got back on track to pre injury levels and eventually needed it anyway.
And we have had plenty of players go in for off-season surgery for niggling issues that they played through and had them suffer no negative consequences from it.
Pendlebury needed back surgery in 2018 for most of the season, still played 25 of 26 games, had the surgery in the off-season, and has played another 68 games and counting since doing that.
Sometimes the medical doctors actually know what they're talking about.
Can we father son him when Nick gets to 100 games?
Not sure Newcombe has reached his ceiling already but it's funny seeing Hawks fans saying Newcombe is more deserving of the Rising Star because he's playing a harder role, he's crash and bash, more influence... And he has so many more clearances etc etc
Newcombe had 19 CBA's on Sunday and Nick Daicos zero.
Centre Bounce attendance?CBA?
I do tend to get 1 call right every 2 years.Prescient comment VB. Dominated the Hawks today
Centre Bounce attendance?
I think poor Nick is so talented he’s a victim of his own standards now - 25 touches for him goes under the radar but when De Konig or Newcombe have a good game they are supposed raging favourites each week for the RS.
I don’t really care about the award but I do think Nick will have the better body of work overall at years end, performs consistently high.
He makes stuff look so easy. There's no aggressively smashing in and taking on the tackler. His hands and awareness are so ridiculously good and clean that he picks it up whilst sidestepping the tackler and then quietly and quickly gives it off to a teammate in the clear.
Yep I couldn't care if he wins it or not, but It'll be a nice accolade for him. Particularly as he wanted the accolade of going number 1 in the draft, so I think he'll care. I reckon Newcombe will probably be leading at this stage, just because the footy pundits who vote on this award love blokes who smash in like he does. But it probably depends on the award criteria - I don't think many think Newcombe will have a better career, even though he might have a better year.I've posted before that he always seems to know who is best placed - i.e. in the clear - to receive. His vision and timing are amazing, and all this is happening at speed.
On the Rising Star award, I'd prefer not to get hung up about it. His career over an extended period matters more. Look what happened to our last winner.