Opinion NMFC Board Cricket Thread III

I honestly think they need to revisit the rules around lbw and percent of ball tracking to hit when it comes to the bails.
The rule is the bails need to dislodge for an out to occur. I don't think as much allowance needs to be given if the ball is tracking to hit the bails, it would only need to be a graze to send them flying.

50 percent for stump. 25 percent for bails would be a better system in my completely irrelevant opinion
I guess it depends on the philosophy - is DRS just to stop the howlers, or do we want to use it for every decision, and may as well just get AI to umpire LBW? The on field umpiring was pretty good, and cricket has always had 50-50 decisions in the past. I'm happy enough that it's really rare for someone to be given out LBW when they've edged the ball in the current system. Let the onfield umpire be the main judge, and keep DRS for balls that were clearly missing the stumps.

Does anyone have any data on how accurate ball tracking is, and what the degree of uncertain is?

Yeah, not disputing that, and in addition it's by far and away the sport of choice, whereas we have afl, nrl, soccer and basketball to compete with.

But personally i just don't like these populaiton comparisons... the media loves doing it during the Olympics when they have a tiny nation win a bronze medal, and they pull out the per capital medal stats.
Fair enough. I tend to agree.

We prioritise sport because we can and as a result have high ranking sportspeople in nearly every sport there is as well as huge (relatively speaking) competitions in both our most popular codes of footy.

We have the space, climate and economy/workers rights that enable it. Not everyone else has those advantages.

The director of the building company I work for is Indian, we often banter about cricket, even though if I’m being honest I’m not much of a cricket fan. We say silly shit like what I wrote to each other all the time, it’s all good natured. The stuff he says about Aussie bogans has me laughing my arse off.

But he’s from the upper caste system..so of course I hang shit on him about how if they let everyone have access to the pitches maybe they would beat us etc..

Obviously doesn’t really translate well on here.
The caste system is ****ed up. But there's alot about Indian culture that is too - especially when it comes to status and controlling things and corruption. If the BCCI committed to the future instead of its own members egos then they would dominate the sport forever. They could have 5 or 10 sides that were evenly selected and would still dominate the rest of the world. The AFL is no different tho. It doesn't commit to developing grass roots either. That comes from ordinary people in Australia. The AFL hierarchy is too busy pursuing its own personal agendas.

Those of my vintage will recall the pitches back in the early '80's. .downright dangerous. Particularly when facing Roberts, Holding, Garner, Clarke, Croft....

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Remember the MCG pitch in those years? ball running along the ground pretty much from the off

There was one muppet on twitter suggesting the ball deviated due to turbulence caused by swinging of glove and bat. HAHAHA
Yes, the aftermath is completely and utterly NONSENSE, its actually so funny because most India fans {not all} are very poor losers and the ones that aren't would agree that it was out, no questions asked. Since I was at work when it happened I didn't see it, but googled it, watched it three times and if the majority of India fans are carrying on about this, then it proves my point, which is sad because the decision is cut & dry, end of conversation! 😲

I guess it depends on the philosophy - is DRS just to stop the howlers, or do we want to use it for every decision, and may as well just get AI to umpire LBW? The on field umpiring was pretty good, and cricket has always had 50-50 decisions in the past. I'm happy enough that it's really rare for someone to be given out LBW when they've edged the ball in the current system. Let the onfield umpire be the main judge, and keep DRS for balls that were clearly missing the stumps.

Does anyone have any data on how accurate ball tracking is, and what the degree of uncertain is?
The umpiring was pretty much perfect at one end, and pretty much abysmal at the other; I think Wilson has decided not to give anything out and leave it to the TV

Then one would take off…Kim Hughes’ 100 in 81/82 was one of the great innings of all time.
Against one of the great West Indian sides as well. Kim Hughes was always one of my favourite batsman to watch. Down on one knee wearing the SP fully padded gloves and sweatbands on his wrists in his early days. Treated harshly by Lillee and Marsh at the time who didnt really respect him but it was great they all made up later and were m8s in the end. His innings in the centenary test in UK in 1980 was one of the all time great innings as well. He smashed it everywhere in that test. The MCG test wicket was horrible to bat on in the 1980s

Croft wasn't necessarily a fast bowler he was just a dangerous bastard. :)
Funny think about Croft,he looked like a madman on the field but off it he was really likable. He was also an commercial airline pilot after being a air traffic controller as well. Who could forget him knocking over the NZ umpire in the test match after a poor decision when coming in to bowl. He was fast alright with an awkward bowling angle. Would have taking a heap more test wickets but went on the rebel SA tour.

With the DRS system I think it should be taken off the captains and left to the umpires to call for reviews. Too many teams are just hoping and guessing throwing away their reviews and then you see an absolute howler when no reviews are possible. Think of Lyon who had no reviews left against Stokes at Headingly which should have been lbw

BBL:
Mrs jumps in the pool with me at 1/17 after 2 overs so think oh yeah, should be ok, see what they make in 10 overs…

Get and and check the score… well, should be a quick game

Speaking of “dangerous bastards”, I was at the MCG in 1988 or early ‘89 when Patterson put the wind up Australia. Never seen anything like it. Just menacing.
Croft had the uncanny knack of hitting batsman in the unwelcomed areas. After it happened a few times, I got the feeling he got a kick out of it. :)

Speaking of “dangerous bastards”, I was at the MCG in 1988 or early ‘89 when Patterson put the wind up Australia. Never seen anything like it. Just menacing.
PP was an absolute savage. Almost unco, but just coordinated enough to be frighteningly quick. I reckon he was the first Bowler I was afraid of from 120m+ away. I was 6. Curtly next, then Wasim. I actually faced Shoaib in a game in England in 2001 and wore a helmet for the only time ever, where I had the choice not to. They made us wear 'em at School!

Yes I think you're right about LBW howlers and my previous point with regard to that particular LBW is not that it was a howler but that the Indian captain was having a giant sook that his team ALWAYS comes out on the wrong side of DRS. They got the benefit of this 50/50 LBW for the same batter as the caught behind that they are disputing several hours earlier. If that one went the other way, the test would not have made the tea break.

Just worked out that the black and orange team is the Perth scorchers. The black and blue team are the Adelaide strikers.

I'll forget that by tomorrow.
The clowns who started this league made sure that none of the colours intuitively match the teams according to any preconceptions of the general public.

Opinion NMFC Board Cricket Thread III