Opinion NMFC Board Cricket Thread III

What ball do they use in Zealand? Not that it really matters, it hoops around plenty.
same as you with the Kookaburra

NZ has pretty good test pitches now. does a bit first innings and then flattens out.

if you are a cricket fan then you should come watch some cricket here. The test grounds are awesome, really scenic. Basin reserve in Wellington, Hagley Oval in Christchurch, Seddon park in Hamilton.
Its like village cricket but with crowds of 8 to 10 thousand.

same as you with the Kookaburra

NZ has pretty good test pitches now. does a bit first innings and then flattens out.

if you are a cricket fan then you should come watch some cricket here. The test grounds are awesome, really scenic. Basin reserve in Wellington, Hagley Oval in Christchurch, Seddon park in Hamilton.
It's like village cricket but with crowds of 8 to 10 thousand.
I love the game of cricket but probably not enough to sit down all day and be entertained while not actually playing. If it ever snows i'll be over to the remarkables and Mt. Shutt again this time with the female mini-me. Have rolled around Cape Kidnuppers and Kauri Cliffs, truly must get over there to check out Tara iti and the 2 at Te Arai before old age settles in.

The captaincy didnt help Root at all. He was never a good captain. He got caught up in bazball and didnt adapt as well to it as some of the others. He then went back to his normal batting tempo and his form has returned. He is the anchor in that side to steady the rest of them whilst they blaze away either successfully of stupidly such is bazball
Like in Footy, I only watch North. In Cricket, I really only care about Australia. The others don't really exist to me. I like the Safas a bit as I lived with a few in London when I was 18/19 but really only seen Root against Australia, when it counts.

Australia are arguably best team in the world across multiple formats.

Yet nobody watching them would declare any/many of the recent batsmen as Hall of Famers.

So those things have to be accounted for when judging international bowling attacks.

Bit like full forwards in the 80s/90s (ie every team had a gun), most countries had some genuine class batsmen from the 70s through that period and into the 00s.

The overall quality 'looks' lower these days. For a start you swapped Windies from elite unit to non-entity over 30 years and not replaced guys like Ponting, Lara, Tendulkar etc with superior options.
When you have a sustained period of Cummins/Starc/Hazlewood/Lyon there's an argument that you don't need great batsmen.

In fact, they have been that successful there's a stronger argument that all the Australian batsmen need to do is to give those bowlers a spell between assaults.

I love the game of cricket but probably not enough to sit down all day and be entertained while not actually playing. If it ever snows i'll be over to the remarkables and Mt. Shutt again this time with the female mini-me. Have rolled around Cape Kidnuppers and Kauri Cliffs, truly must get over there to check out Tara iti and the 2 at Te Arai before old age settles in.
got snow 2 days ago on the hills near me
Global warming my ar%E !!

Cape Kidnappers is very close to where I live.. Hope you took lots of golf balls !

Of course he doesn't have the game yet, he's 19. He'll be dropped at some stage and be back, he's undoubtedly an immense talent. It takes a long time to figure out your own game as an opening bat, right now this young fella is running on pure talent. Once he figures the rest out he's going to be a force.
He reminds me a bit of Phil Hughes as far as the flair goes. Its just sad to think we never got to see just how good Hughes might have turned out to be as his game continued to mature

Kohli and Smith are the only true greats going round. The Poms will say Joe Root, but I won't. He's a damn good player but really no better than ME Waugh who wasn't even the best in his family.
Just have a look at the stats for both Root and Kohli and its fair to say Root is ahead in that battle for sure
ROOT
Tests152278231297226250.872256857.473665139445207
KOHLI
Tests123210139230254*46.851660855.573031102730121
Root averaging 50.87 to Kohli 46.85. You need to be up over 50 to be a great player in most people eyes.
36 hundreds/65 50s compared to 30 hundreds/31 50s. Granted Root has paid more tests but Kohli is at the end and Root probably has another 5 years left
David Gower and Mark Waugh were both great players to watch but only averaged 44

got snow 2 days ago on the hills near me
Global warming my ar%E !!

Cape Kidnappers is very close to where I live.. Hope you took lots of golf balls !
haha... at least you have mountains. We're a big pancake, takes me a good 20 hours to get real cold (Wyoming, Colorado or Utah) I have a mate that wants to do certain things before we cark it... so I will 110% be in touch when we go there for a round. Be good to get the run down as you have some serious golf and Mountains, which kinda works for me. Bit Windy though....

Just have a look at the stats for both Root and Kohli and its fair to say Root is ahead in that battle for sure
ROOT
KOHLI
Root averaging 50.87 to Kohli 46.85. You need to be up over 50 to be a great player in most people eyes.
36 hundreds/65 50s compared to 30 hundreds/31 50s. Granted Root has paid more tests but Kohli is at the end and Root probably has another 5 years left
David Gower and Mark Waugh were both great players to watch but only averaged 44
Where and against who, matters. Joe Root would be about a 45 on our decks (these days) and large grounds. He gets 4 for beating the field, maybe they are 2's here. Those pitches are pretty slow, don't really turn that much.

Basically roads, bordering on highways with 60m boundaries.

All this must be fed into your computer before making such a sweeping and frankly incorrect statement.

Mark Waugh was a legit awesome allrounder. Took a 5 for with Mediums and a 5 for with off spin in international one day cricket. Also without a shadow, one of best fielders to ever play the game. To say Joe (Ellen DeGeneres) Root is good enough to tie old mates boots up, is a huge call. Enormous call. Yeah he might have a better record, so does Javed. Doesn't for one minute make him better in my eyes.

I take it you have been sledged by Danny Waugh? So I'm taking my word as genuine fact! Not that it matters.

But me caring for Joe Root is akin to me giving a shit about Lloydy or Jimmy Hird... I just wouldn't care. I'll maybe worry about him next summer.

ROOT
KOHLI

Kane Williamson with 105 Tests ,9276 runs, average 55 ,33 test hundreds goes alright too.

A tall offie who bowls over the ball and takes wickets at the waca vs a short offie who doesn't spin it or seem to have any variations. He's got a bit of character too! I'd expect roland would be next in line.
You say tall but isn't Lyon shorter than Will Phillips?

Would you say he's surpassed Martin Crowe? Obviously, Sir Richard is your greatest ever but #2 is now on the line/up for debate.
yep past Martin Crowe and pretty close to King Dick now.

anyway its a fascinating to compare the 4 great bats of the last 10-15 years...All got their strong points and all have their kryptonite
Smith & Kohli have arguably gone 2 years too long which has tarnished their legacy a little bit. Root and Williamson have struggled against the Aussie attack but Smith never had to face it etc etc etc

hard to separate them. they're all great

yep past Martin Crowe and pretty close to King Dick now.

anyway its a fascinating to compare the 4 great bats of the last 10-15 years...All got their strong points and all have their kryptonite
Smith & Kohli have arguably gone 2 years too long which has tarnished their legacy a little bit. Root and Williamson have struggled against the Aussie attack but Smith never had to face it etc etc etc

hard to separate them. they're all great
Great points as usual.

Not having to face the Aussie attack is a big one, for Pudger. I rate them all for obvious reasons, but until you beat Aussie (sic) in Aussie (sic), it's Martin Crowe @ 2 and King Dick @ 1 in my eyes, obv. You did beat India in India 3-0 (somehow), so some extra points need to be given for that ridiculous performance.

A tall offie who bowls over the ball and takes wickets at the waca vs a short offie who doesn't spin it or seem to have any variations. He's got a bit of character too! I'd expect roland would be next in line.

Todd Murphy and Kuhnamen were called into the SCG during the test for fitness checks and to spend time with the squad. On that basis, I would say the decision has been made that they are the two extra spinners to be taken to Sri Lanka. Peter Handscombe was also called in.

Kuhnamen is a lock. Left handed offies on the subcontinent are a must.

Maybe they don't think Roland's quite ready yet, Murphy's extremely underwhelming, vanilla and doesn't turn the ball. Won't play unless Lyon was injured I wouldn't think. Last season Roland took 46 wickets from 11 matches, predominantly at the WACA and Harry potter took 13 from 8 for the season. I don't think it's even close TBH.

Great points as usual.

Not having to face the Aussie attack is a big one, for Pudger. I rate them all for obvious reasons, but until you beat Aussie (sic) in Aussie (sic), it's Martin Crowe @ 2 and King Dick @ 1 in my eyes, obv. You did beat India in India 3-0 (somehow), so some extra points need to be given for that ridiculous performance.

yeah but if you gave me a choice of facing Dave Gilbert, Bob Holland, Craig McDermott & Greg Matthews or Cummins, Starc, Hazelwood & Lyon well its not hard to choose really is it.

Like deciding Border doesn't rate as high as Justin Langer because he played in a lot of weaker Aussie sides

Opinion NMFC Board Cricket Thread III