Resource Non-AFL General Chat

Sam Konstas - Freak
Nathan McSweeney - TBA
Marnus Labuschagne - Pending form
Cameron Green - Freak
Travis Head - Gun
Aaron Hardie - Potential freak (better FC numbers than Green)
Josh Inglis - Next in
Fergus O'Neill - Deserves a go
Todd Murphy - Next in
Jhye Richardson - Love him
Lance Morris - Australian fast bowler

30 and under for tests

Sam Konstas - Freak
Nathan McSweeney - TBA
Marnus Labuschagne - Pending form
Cameron Green - Freak
Travis Head - Gun
Aaron Hardie - Potential freak (better FC numbers than Green)
Josh Inglis - Next in
Fergus O'Neill - Deserves a go
Todd Murphy - Next in
Jhye Richardson - Love him
Lance Morris - Australian fast bowler

30 and under for tests

Bolded not even close. Even if you leave in his test stats which drag is FC stuff down:

• Green has 3872 @47 with 11 100s.
  • Hardie has 1717 @39 with 6 100s.

If you strip it back to just be non-test FC, then Green's average jumps to around 55 IIRC.

With the ball I am pretty sure they are about equal (without tests) but Green clearly has more penetration for test level in his bowling.

Not against Hardie playing mind you.

Why the hell does Steve Smith still get picked?

Because he is one of greatest Test batsmen of all time. Would have been second only to the Don if he had retired a few years ago, and now he might be further down the list. But still top 5 or 10 of all time.

Not saying this should make him immune from the axe, but the reality is that is just the way it works. He will have to retire, and I suspect it won't be long before it happens.

Is there a bigger flog in Australian sports broadcasting.

He is put up on this pedestal as a moral compass and know it all for all sports.

His just an insufferable flog that can you big words to make himself sound smarter then he is.

Totally agree mate

Can't stand the campaigner

Because he is one of greatest Test batsmen of all time. Would have been second only to the Don if he had retired a few years ago, and now he might be further down the list. But still top 5 or 10 of all time.

Not saying this should make him immune from the axe, but the reality is that is just the way it works. He will have to retire, and I suspect it won't be long before it happens.
It is increasingly looking like this will be his final series. We need to refresh the average age of the squad. Aside from McSweeney(24), Labuschagne is 30. Head also 30 and Cummings 31. Kwahaja also needs to be transitioned.

Bolded not even close. Even if you leave in his test stats which drag is FC stuff down:

If you strip it back to just be non-test FC, then Green's average jumps to around 55 IIRC.

With the ball I am pretty sure they are about equal (without tests) but Green clearly has more penetration for test level in his bowling.

Damn you are right. Not sure what I was smoking with that one.

Watching the Aussie Girls in the cricket this morning.

Georgia Voll is 21 in her 2nd game for Australia and bossing India around like a 10 year pro.

Throw in Litchfield who is already a star at the same age.

Begs the question why don't we have the same talent coming through with the bat in the mens.

Is it down to coaching or pathway's are easier for women in batting.

The bowling isnt the same standard as the men ???

Watching the Aussie Girls in the cricket this morning.

Georgia Voll is 21 in her 2nd game for Australia and bossing India around like a 10 year pro.

Throw in Litchfield who is already a star at the same age.

Begs the question why don't we have the same talent coming through with the bat in the mens.

Is it down to coaching or pathway's are easier for women in batting.

The bowling isnt the same standard as the men ???
Without opening a can of worms women sport culture is SLIGHTLY different between Aus and india (basically every Commonwealth nation really).

Yeah I get that but it's impressive innings for a 21 year old in her 2nd hame it didn't matter who the opposition was.

We seem to have a production line of talent coming through that isnt slowing down.

But even technique wise some of our girls look better and a bit more traditional then the blokes coming through at the same age where it's all or nothing.

Maybe because they have less power in there game the technical aspects of batting is worked on more during there development from coaches. Which makes there technique more compact.

Ellyse Perry and Meg Lanning have probably had better techniques for example over the past decade then the majority of male batsman we have produced.

Yeah I get that but it's impressive innings for a 21 year old in her 2nd hame it didn't matter who the opposition was.

We seem to have a production line of talent coming through that isnt slowing down.

But even technique wise some of our girls look better and a bit more traditional then the blokes coming through at the same age where it's all or nothing.

Maybe because they have less power in there game the technical aspects of batting is worked on more during there development from coaches. Which makes there technique more compact.

Ellyse Perry and Meg Lanning have probably had better techniques for example over the past decade then the majority of male batsman we have produced.
I think you touched on it. I think It's completely different games really and it's comparing apples to oranges a bit

I'm against two all rounders playing in the top seven unless they're both genuinely in the best six batters in Australia.

Also if there is an all rounder batting at 8 they need to be in the best four bowlers in Australia.

Think some of you guys are basing your future test teams on limited overs cricket tbh. Time will tell for a number of these players.

I'm against two all rounders playing in the top seven unless they're both genuinely in the best six batters in Australia.

Also if there is an all rounder batting at 8 they need to be in the best four bowlers in Australia.

Think some of you guys are basing your future test teams on limited overs cricket tbh. Time will tell for a number of these players.
Wait, you don't think Green can bat?

1-all and onto Brisbane. This is going to be one of the great test series I reckon of the generations in Australia. The ebbs and flows will continue in the summer I feel.

Btw Mohammed Siraj is an a-grade clown similar to Sreesanth from the mid 2000s.

He is going to cop it for the rest of the summer.

Not just for his shit yesterday but the carry on whenever there is an appeal and he starts celebrating without turning around is disrespectful to the umpire. Like the one yesterday wasn't even close with Labs.

Considering the last time he came out he stopped a test match and 6 blokes got thrown out at the SCG but later cleared of racial abuse its going to be interesting to see how he handles it because the crowd will go after him.

It is increasingly looking like this will be his final series. We need to refresh the average age of the squad. Aside from McSweeney(24), Labuschagne is 30. Head also 30 and Cummings 31. Kwahaja also needs to be transitioned.
Why?
Warner got a whole year. Of utter tripe. **** him, I’d rather Smith get 10 000 runs and a few more centuries

Wait, you don't think Green can bat?

I think Green is in the best six batters in Australia tbh. I also think if any other all rounder in Australia is in our top six we’re not winning too many games of cricket against quality opposition.

I’d go as far to say I’d happily bat Green at four or five if that’s where we get the best out of him but that shouldn’t be to fit a second all rounder in the side. A sixth bowling option isn’t needed if you’re sacrificing literally any batting ability at all.

Marsh should be dropped as soon as Green is available again. A decent case can be made for him being dropped for Webster this summer as well.

1-all and onto Brisbane. This is going to be one of the great test series I reckon of the generations in Australia. The ebbs and flows will continue in the summer I feel.

Btw Mohammed Siraj is an a-grade clown similar to Sreesanth from the mid 2000s.

He is going to cop it for the rest of the summer.

Not just for his shit yesterday but the carry on whenever there is an appeal and he starts celebrating without turning around is disrespectful to the umpire. Like the one yesterday wasn't even close with Labs.

Considering the last time he came out he stopped a test match and 6 blokes got thrown out at the SCG but later cleared of racial abuse its going to be interesting to see how he handles it because the crowd will go after him.

If an Australian celebrated instead of appealed for an LBW (Siraj) or argued with a third umpires decision (Rahul in Perth) they’d be looking at a pretty big fine tbh.

Also half of Australia’s ****wits would be talking about the overall sportsmanship of the Australian Cricket team. That’d happen even if every other team does it like it did with ball tampering.

We’re not on the same playing field in that regard as they are unfortunately.

Why?
Warner got a whole year. Of utter tripe. **** him, I’d rather Smith get 10 000 runs and a few more centuries

The selectors are picking from a has been that might come good again or a player they know isn’t good enough tbh.

They’ll pick Smith because the chances of him making decent runs is still greater than the player in the shield who may have made a few runs recently but bats 6 or 7 and is facing far inferior attacks.

Transitioning Khawaja is very possible if Konstas steps up the rest of the season but I don’t see who bats four to replace Smith unless a second opener appears from no where - cos that’s where McSweeney in an ideal world probably bats.

Here’s one for you all, this kid just broke both of Bolt’s records as a 16 year old.

First time Australia has a contender for the premier events. Gets to run at home in 2032 at the prime age of 24 as well.

The roadrunner.
Doesn't look human.
Is he even trying 🤣

He will make gout cool again.

If an Australian celebrated instead of appealed for an LBW (Siraj) or argued with a third umpires decision (Rahul in Perth) they’d be looking at a pretty big fine tbh.

Also half of Australia’s ****wits would be talking about the overall sportsmanship of the Australian Cricket team. That’d happen even if every other team does it like it did with ball tampering.

We’re not on the same playing field in that regard as they are unfortunately.
It's his second celebrappeal of the series actually. I swear people were copping infractions for this 10 or 15 years ago.

He annoys me a bit Siraj as he's a B grade seamer with A graders carry on.

It's his second celebrappeal of the series actually. I swear people were copping infractions for this 10 or 15 years ago.

He annoys me a bit Siraj as he's a B grade seamer with A graders carry on.

What I will say it’s funny on both occasions it was given not out.

You’d think you’d do only when it’s struck the batter in line and hitting middle stump half way up. Smells of them trying to convince the umpire to give a 40/60 decision (enough benefit of doubt to be given not out) out so that so umpires call goes India’s way. Unless he’s delusional and thinks anything is out I don’t see any other reason to do it.

Resource Non-AFL General Chat