No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 5

Sports Entertainment Group in pretty big strife, the financials look horrible. This could finally be the end of Trade Radio 🙏
No loss at all. Everything Hutchy has touched media wise, has turned to crap. Also giving jobs to idiots like Cornes etc. Could be a blessing for all.

Sports Entertainment Group in pretty big strife, the financials look horrible. This could finally be the end of Trade Radio 🙏
Just bought the licence for new netball team as well.

Sports Entertainment Group in pretty big strife, the financials look horrible. This could finally be the end of Trade Radio

I remember meeting them in the early years about working with them…. The most disorganised boys club of a business that I visited.

I crossed paths with Hutchison years ago when we both used the same accountant. Back then he seemed ok, still early days in his media career, friendly enough for a quick chat.
Have heard from others who've dealt with him since that he is a very different personality these days. And yes, also along the lines of a fly-by-seat-of-your-pants boys club. "Success" does funny things to people.

Bloody hell, Andrew Dillion enduring himself to the AFL already.
Win a premiership and Collingwood are playing their 1st game(traditionally the unveiling of the premmie flag) at the plastics ground. Id be furious if that happen to the dogs, the dogs faithful members can't enjoy a home game.
I'm sick of the AFL trying to force their plastic franchise upon us.
No one cares about watching AFL in western sydney, crowd attendances are still shite after all these years, and costing all clubs millions each year with no return, to prop up this franchise.

Bloody hell, Andrew Dillion enduring himself to the AFL already.
Win a premiership and Collingwood are playing their 1st game(traditionally the unveiling of the premmie flag) at the plastics ground. Id be furious if that happen to the dogs, the dogs faithful members can't enjoy a home game.
I'm sick of the AFL trying to force their plastic franchise upon us.
No one cares about watching AFL in western sydney, crowd attendances are still shite after all these years, and costing all clubs millions each year with no return, to prop up this franchise.
If you lived here you’d know that’s not the case. Football, specifically AFL has started to properly take hold at a grassroots level in NSW because of both the Swans and GWS. It takes time, they’re building a supporter base from kids as young as 5 whom are now signed up as members for 5-10 years for very little cost so that when they are adults, a consumer base exists for the club.

AFL fans in general need to understand the importance of these clubs to the bigger picture. If the AFL is to continue or accelerate its dominance of NRL, Cricket, Soccer etc, GWS and GC need to be successful long term.

If you lived here you’d know that’s not the case. Football, specifically AFL has started to properly take hold at a grassroots level in NSW because of both the Swans and GWS. It takes time, they’re building a supporter base from kids as young as 5 whom are now signed up as members for 5-10 years for very little cost so that when they are adults, a consumer base exists for the club.

AFL fans in general need to understand the importance of these clubs to the bigger picture. If the AFL is to continue or accelerate its dominance of NRL, Cricket, Soccer etc, GWS and GC need to be successful long term.
But when is an investment, now a long term debt.
Is there a year on year positive increase in crowds? If you look at the NRL, the western Sydney market is saturated and clubs do not attract big crowds.
2012 was the start in the franchise, 11 years and gws are still averaging 7 million a year in handouts, they haven't had 1 positive year of financial statements to give back to other clubs who are paying for this debt.
Do you think the dogs would get this support if we got in financial trouble?

Having grass roots footy kids, is no good unless you get paying supporters coming through the gate.

Is there a year on year positive increase in crowds? If you look at the NRL, the western Sydney market is saturated and clubs do not attract big crowds.
2012 was the start in the franchise, 11 years and gws are still averaging 7 million a year in handouts, they haven't had 1 positive year of financial statements to give back to other clubs who are paying for this debt.

Having grass roots footy kids, is no good unless you get paying supporters coming through the gate.
$7m pa for an extra $100m every few years in TV rights?
Can't fault that

NRL can never touch the AFL, Cricket is a Summer sport and Soccer is a shambles at club level (as a representative form it has the best platform though).

GWS and GC may be successful on the field but they’ll never have a legitimate following that isn’t propped up by the AFL. How many of their memberships are other fans using it to have a grand final ticket?

I’m convinced a lot of posters here still don’t understand the expansion plan and the AFLs bigger business model. They have to be in it for the long haul.

And the reality of the Giants fan base is probably now quite different to the familiar tropes trotted out on BF. Good for a laugh or a jibe of course.

It’s not their fault they haven’t got the comfort of 130 years of history.

And the reality of the Giants fan base is probably now quite different to the familiar tropes trotted out on BF.

Is it though? I've got friends in Sydney who have migrated from RL to the Swans graduallly, but they say there are still many Swans supporters who see it as an event to attend a game, rather than a rusted-on commitment. Swans have been lucky under Roos and Longmire of regular finals and a couple of flags, but even if they were to experience a drop off in numbers with a few down years, they are still streets ahead of their cross-town rivals in all aspects.

I think it will take years (or decades) more of AFL propping up the Gants. Will Sydney ever genuinely be a viable two-club AFL town?

Freo and Port are the (relative) poor cousins in their towns, but they have the benefit of history and a footy base to sustain them

Anyway, some of that is probably my own subjective bias - I sincerely want the franchise to ultimately fail, and I'm happy to admit, and sustain, that hope. Whereas I'd never wish that on Freo or Port.

What do you mean by this?
During the 2019 grand final between the tigers and the plastics, due to a lack of real supporters, gws didn't use their fill of team allocated GF tickets.
So tigers supporters took up plastic memberships to get GF tickets.
Look up 2019 GF images and you wiill be smattering of tigers colours amongst the plastics.

“The bigger picture” **** me dead, who gives a ****. The bigger picture currently is a more and more compromised league every year to keep these clubs afloat. Causing genuine fans to drop off and lose interest because of a shambles of a competition.

I’ll take great joy in watching Tassies relevance gap the plastics in minimal time. Build the northern states organically over the next few decades, invest at grassroots levels sure but don’t compromise a whole national sporting competition to prop these clubs up year after year.

GC in particular will never succeed lol, what sporting franchise has seen success there? Does the AFL really think their going to buck the trend

Mate the idea is that those kids are the foundation of the club going forward. The ‘rusted on’ supporters as someone else said.

I referred to 'rusted-on', but in context of Sydney not having as many as people think (anecdotally from friends who themselves self-identify as less rusted-on, more fair-weather - literally as they admit they don't bother attending Sydney home games in adverse weather, or clashes with other commitments).

And I suspect even with grass roots programs, Giants will be less appealing than Swans - maybe not indefinitely, but still for a long time yet.

Our Sydney friends freely admit to a theatre-goer attitude, and some of them are actually members. Lucky enough financially to afford to be discretionary with their attendance, even if forking out $$$ for the privilege.

Ian Collins was stitched up by that lawyer who died leaving behind a ponzi scheme with his clients that even his partners didn't know about (allegedly):

Suffer in your jocks, you pr1ck!

Ian Collins was stitched up by that lawyer who died leaving behind a ponzi scheme with his clients that even his partners didn't know about (allegedly):

Suffer in your jocks, you pr1ck!

Well, I think it is terrible that Ian Collins is being referred to as a legend.

I reckon Collins was in on it. Well that's the rumour I'm starting, anyway.

Search his house! B4stard probably has a bunch of unused Brownlows buried in the backyard, including one with "C. Grant" on it.

Hid in plain site too, with all the rorting he was doing via paper bags to Blues players... used to live a stone's throw from Dinah Parade shops in East Keilor. Surely he had a mansion (and second family?!) elsewhere? 😉

No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 5