begs the question, what is middle.

Lower class < 40k
40k < Crumbing class < 50k
50k < Small class < 60k
60k < Middle class < 130k
130k < A+ class < 200k
200k < Upper class < 400k
400k < Elite class

Despite the chatter about signing on, I just wouldn't be at all surprised if Brayshaw leaves.

Dating a Perth girl, has his brother over here, strong family ties to Perth as well with his grandad being a WA cricket legend.

Would be surprised if he moved personally

Dating a Perth girl, has his brother over here, strong family ties to Perth as well with his grandad being a WA cricket legend.

Yeah plenty of reasons to stay for sure but there's no shortage of Perth girls looking wistfully at the bright lights of the east coast, especially if you're hitched to a very good footy player with excellent contacts throughout the country.

His two other brothers are east coast based and I believe his parents are still over there as well? He strikes me as someone who would like to be running around on the G every weekend and immersed in the Melbourne footy scene.

Until Young’s announcement I had heard that a Brayshaw extension was going to be announced on Christmas Day with his 100 100s and marketed. either way I would be shocked if he left. Apart from the ruck contracts and the lack of a small forward (Berry) Freo’s list is in very good shape for a long period of time. They were silly not to offer a better deal for the Berry pick if what WCE_phil said was their best effort.

Do you have private health,....how many cars do you have and are they both insured, home insurance (renters).
Also your working from home so your saving either a bunch in petrol and/or public transport costs.

Don't have private health, no. One car, fully insured. Took out a $10k loan for it when I career changed to my $50kp.a. job. Just about finished paying it off. Didn't work from home then either but the drive was only 15 minutes.

I went through our finances a few months ago and insurance, rego for 2x cars, home&contents , private health & car servicing and petrol works out to be 12k. These costs are the biggest for me behind the mortgage. Groceries is right up there also (family of 5).

We're a family of 3. Wife's Thai, so a lot of Thai cooking, which is good because the cost of making food is fairly low and can be done in bulk.

We've cut back a fair bit on discretionary spending, we rarely eat out now, havent been on an overseas holiday since 2015, local getaways every second year.

Yeah, we haven't had a proper holiday since before COVID. They're a huge expense for sure.

i take a packed lunch to work 4 days a week but unfortunately we do have alot of out of pocket medical costs which also has indirect cost.

Not buying lunch every day is a huge saving, let alone public transport costs if you're not driving.

Public schools in my area are shite so the kids attend a local catholic school and they are constantly asking parents to put their hands in their pockets.

Thankfully, as we live inner city, public school is good here. Mate of mine lives out near Ipswich and has the same issue you do, which is the public schools are shit, so he's sending his kid to private for that reason as well.

Would be a huge expense with 3x kids, I imagine.

Daycare used to cost us a bomb also but we only have 1 in now for 1 day a week.

Kids activites also cost a bomb also, swimming lessons for 3 kids, plus 1 other sport for each ****ing adds up.

Also it sounds like your parter is pretty frugal. Mines not to bad but im trying to get her to wind down some of the unplanned frivolous spending and going overboard with birthday/christmas presents etc....shes way to generous IMO.

Yeah, thankfully my wife's always been pretty thrifty with money. She'll buy small things here and there(mostly op shops) but doesn't just buy stuff for the sake of it.

She has a Thai friend, who moved to Melbourne early this year(our kids were in the same class at school before moving) and they are just awful with money. Husband's a chef but they constantly eat out because they're 'lazy', buying new things all the time. Borrows money to try starting new businesses but gives up after a short time, etc. Mountains of debt and they keep borrowing money at high interest from friends, go back to Thailand 3-4 times a year and now are going on a holiday to Japan for a month, despite being in so much debt, simply because they 'want' to.

Then all they do is complain about their financial situation.

2 adults working full time and not spending anything for 12 months, other than essentials, should at the very least make their debt manageable, if not pay it off almost entirely but they refuse to do that.

So strange.

Don't have private health, no. One car, fully insured. Took out a $10k loan for it when I career changed to my $50kp.a. job. Just about finished paying it off. Didn't work from home then either but the drive was only 15 minutes.

We're a family of 3. Wife's Thai, so a lot of Thai cooking, which is good because the cost of making food is fairly low and can be done in bulk.

Yeah, we haven't had a proper holiday since before COVID. They're a huge expense for sure.

Not buying lunch every day is a huge saving, let alone public transport costs if you're not driving.

Thankfully, as we live inner city, public school is good here. Mate of mine lives out near Ipswich and has the same issue you do, which is the public schools are shit, so he's sending his kid to private for that reason as well.

Would be a huge expense with 3x kids, I imagine.

Yeah, thankfully my wife's always been pretty thrifty with money. She'll buy small things here and there(mostly op shops) but doesn't just buy stuff for the sake of it.

She has a Thai friend, who moved to Melbourne early this year(our kids were in the same class at school before moving) and they are just awful with money. Husband's a chef but they constantly eat out because they're 'lazy', buying new things all the time. Borrows money to try starting new businesses but gives up after a short time, etc. Mountains of debt and they keep borrowing money at high interest from friends, go back to Thailand 3-4 times a year and now are going on a holiday to Japan for a month, despite being in so much debt, simply because they 'want' to.

Then all they do is complain about their financial situation.

2 adults working full time and not spending anything for 12 months, other than essentials, should at the very least make their debt manageable, if not pay it off almost entirely but they refuse to do that.

So strange.
Yeah that is insane, but there are plenty of people like that.

Private health is a huge cost, $6000 a year which is approx $8570 of pre-tax income.

it would be good if essential costs like utility bills, rates, car rego & insurances were tax deductible.

Yeah that is insane, but there are plenty of people like that.

Private health is a huge cost, $6000 a year which is approx $8570 of pre-tax income.

it would be good if essential costs like utility bills, rates, car rego & insurances were tax deductible.

Up here in QLD, the government's covered the last 2 power bills for eligible people. Been a massive help. Not sure if it's happened elsewhere though.

Lower class < 40k
50k < Small class < 60k
130k < A+ class < 200k
400k < Elite class
130k is more A class IMO
140k is A+

Unless you cook Thai food everyday, in which case it’s borderline elite.

Haven’t seen many BigFooty boards with more than 3-4 elite class earners on them though. Maybe Brisbane board during their threepeat

Lower class < 40k
50k < Small class < 60k
130k < A+ class < 200k
400k < Elite class
Most established adults are surely earning more than 50k these days right? Are does this include part timers?

Yeah plenty of reasons to stay for sure but there's no shortage of Perth girls looking wistfully at the bright lights of the east coast, especially if you're hitched to a very good footy player with excellent contacts throughout the country.

His two other brothers are east coast based and I believe his parents are still over there as well? He strikes me as someone who would like to be running around on the G every weekend and immersed in the Melbourne footy scene.

I think one of the brothers is in the army, so might not always be around.

Family was nomadic growing up from memory (Andrew born in SA), so might not even be Melbourne he wants to go to

Last I heard, the eldest Brayshaw brother (Will) was in the army and based in Brisbane. This was a while ago now.

It’s not like his whole family is living in Melbourne.

Has plenty of extended family in WA.

Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion