Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Football Thread XVI

Hobbs showed heaps last year. Perkins has been excellent for 2 seasons. Cox was a good chance at rising star playing on a wing, and will most likely be CHB. We've also added the Daveys, Menzies and DAmbrosio. All of them have shown something in the 1s. Reid is the worry because if his body can't hold up he'll never develop. Essendon just needs two of Reid, Cox and Hayes to come on.

Early days yet but it seems I've greatly misjudged the Saints. I didn't think much of their list changes over the offseason, their injury list is Essington-tier and I wasn't convinced Lyon still had it. I thought they'd be fighting for a spot in the bottom 4 with us, Hawthorn and Norf.

Yeh I thought they’d be a lot worse. Lyon is a great coach, has them all motivated to play his way. Amazing what can happen when the whole list buys in. Talent means nothing in the afl these days, if they aren’t playing as a connected unit

Ehh bit early mate. Think it's clear to see Freo and Doggies ain't much to gawk at so far, so they're not the litmus test you think it is. Need a bigger sample size before we start making those calls.
They've taken over poor sides and beaten top 8 sides from last year. If we had beaten Freo and the Dogs the lid would be off on here

The lid would have been off from nuffies. But people who saw the Doggies get smashed by Melbourne and seeing Freo lose to Norf, would have mustered enough brain cells to hold off for more analytical data before calling the appointments a definite success.

Yeh I thought they’d be a lot worse. Lyon is a great coach, has them all motivated to play his way. Amazing what can happen when the whole list buys in. Talent means nothing in the afl these days, if they aren’t playing as a connected unit
I thought they may struggle due to the injury list. When they signed Ross I believed they where a side that could compete for the 8 but they are doing really well given how many they have injured.
Fremantle on the other hand. I have had a niggling question about what has been going on over there. I could be off the mark and I know they got players in but I thought it was strange that there where also players very keen to get out which is unusual for a side that had just broken back into finals.

Live I felt the siren went before the ball was out so game over, can't be deliberate.
If the ball goes out after the siren how can it be deliberate?

If the siren went after the kick was taken, then it's deliberate in the same way that a goal stands if a ball crosses the two big sticks post-siren, it's because the ball left the boot before the siren, so the outcome of it's trajectory is dependent on the action and where it goes (unimpeded), not the siren, unless it is killed in play.

I thought they may struggle due to the injury list. When they signed Ross I believed they where a side that could compete for the 8 but they are doing really well given how many they have injured.
Fremantle on the other hand. I have had a niggling question about what has been going on over there. I could be off the mark and I know they got players in but I thought it was strange that there where also players very keen to get out which is unusual for a side that had just broken back into finals.
What players were keen to get out though?
Acres they couldn’t afford to pay, Logue got offered way unders, would’ve stayed if he got a decent contract. Tucker left for opportunity, got a 3 year deal at north. Lobb wanted to leave because his missus wanted to move back East. At same time I think it has an affect getting rid of players like tucker and logue who were heart and soul of the playing group and much loved. Their talls in the forward line are horrendous, and aren’t helped with how slowly they move the ball. They’re playing Nathan Buckley footy atm and it’s outdated.

If the siren went after the kick was taken, then it's deliberate in the same way that a goal stands if a ball crosses the two big sticks post-siren, it's because the ball left the boot before the siren, so the outcome of it's trajectory is dependent on the action and where it goes (unimpeded), not the siren, unless it is killed in play.
No it’s not, if the ball crossed the line before the siren and was signalled
Deliberate it would be paid.