Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2024 Part 2

A dog act in a State vame, jumped ovef the ball elbow cocked and smashed one of the WA players. Fully intentional.
That might have been against Barry Cable ( I remember the crowd going off about his treatment on the day). Funny, think most of us wouldn’t mind that it happened now!

I wished Solomon hadn't gone quite that far but I loved him for it. Geelong beat us up for years. The way they went after skinny first year Stephen Hill was disgusting too.

It was kind of the last of the real old fashioned VFL tactics.

I'll never forget listening to Robert Walls talk about debuting for Carlton as a 16yo and how he was physically attacked by grown men. It was not a fair sport back then. Lee Mathews, HOF legend would have been criminally prosecuted for what he did back then.

It was a media beat up. The Geelong doctor threw him under the bus with his report that Lingy would be eating his meals through a straw for the next three months and would miss months of games.
He was playing three weeks later if I recall correctly.
Solly was stitched up big time.

Carlton landing pick 3 is still an all time head scratcher for me.

Receives: Picks 3, 63 and 68
Gives up: Matt Owies, picks 12, 14 and 73

Carlton boils my piss. Not as dumb as Gold Coast giving up pick 2 for Weller.

On SM-S918B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Its a fun exercise but they basically have ranked the teams in tiers based solely on last years ladder more or less.
One team from the bottom 6 the previous year always jumps into finals and I don’t think it will be any different in 2025.
Freo ranked 7th seems consistent with other similar lists, bookies have us around 8th or 9th, personally I think that would be significant underperformance given the talent on the list. However the bookies rating of us also makes sense when you consider there are still plenty of question marks over the ability of the team to grind out wins in the face of adversity, and our coach is out of contract in 2025.
One way or another it’s going to be a year of significant change at freo in 2025.
We will either jump up to be deep in finals and contending for the flag, or we’ll have more of the same mid-table obscurity and JL will be shown the door.
Hopefully it’s the former and the team can live up to the (quite justified) lofty expectations of fans and the WA footy public.

Missed opportunity to say WC kulcha mate
Yeah, we dodged a bullet. Huh? 😝

But nah, prefer to give the benefit of the doubt on this one.

Will say I enjoy not having any of this stuff from us the last few years.

We are in the bizzaro universe where everything that used to happen to us is happening to the flogs up the road. It's glorious.
Yep and the Freo players had to put up with it otherwise they cop significant criticism. It's why Freo have been so zealoted with the protection of their players in public.

Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2024 Part 2