Non-Lions discussion 2023

Danger game for whoever is playing North this week.

The old coach is replaced spurt of enthusiasm.

Hmm, just looked. Its' Sydney at Marvel Stadium. That could be interesting.
Normally would be the case but they're historically levels of bad.

Except us of course. :think:
2 chainz no shame GIF by MOST EXPENSIVEST

If North continues in this path,the obvious solution will be to merge with
the new Tassie team.
There is a precedent.
North is bad on the footy field but have been debt free for a couple of years now. Unlike the Lions and others.
I doubt their members would vote for a relocation.
I would prefer a Melbourne based team moving to Tasmania but just can't see that happening.
Assuming the Tasmania team does go ahead with the angst people and politician wise.

North is bad on the footy field but have been debt free for a couple of years now. Unlike the Lions and others.
I would prefer a Melbourne based team moving to Tasmania but just can't see that happening.
Assuming the Tasmania team does go ahead with the angst people and politician wise.
North are cashed up so they can pay for the new Hobart Stadium.

Several more years of failure may well force the AFL to act.They control the licence so could force the issue.

If North continues in this path,the obvious solution will be to merge with
the new Tassie team.
There is a precedent.
Getting a little bit sick of people suggesting crap teams merge and/or move to Tassie.

You’d be better off merging two Victorian teams and keeping them there. It would allow fanbases of both to continue to support their team/s.

Only a new team would succeed in Tas, Tasmanians would accept no less.

Getting a little bit sick of people suggesting crap teams merge and/or move to Tassie.

You’d be better off merging two Victorian teams and keeping them there. It would allow fanbases of both to continue to support their team/s.

Agree, the Collingwood Blues sounds good to me.

Nah surely the real two 21st century minnows - Carlton and Essendon ..... get rid of both the stains on the AFL (PEDS, salary rorts) at the same time and then as an added bonus we get a new club called Essington for reals ..... :cool:

red sash on dark blue jumper ....easy.
actually that is almost bay worthy ...... :)

It'd create too much tension trying to squish their names together.

Just name them after the suburb between Carlton and Collingwood on the map, which is...

checks notes

...Fitzroy.

If you were to merge 2 teams, the obvious best fit would be North and Footscray.

North-West KangaDogs?
North-West Dogaroos?
The snarling shinboners?

But no think of the poor umpires - how will they reconcile their love for canine frees with their disdain for kanga ones?

Tom Hickey out for the Swans... anyone game to tip North this weekend? :think:

Merging Vic teams never works.It has been tried but never gets over the line.Fitzroy was going to merge with Melbourne, then the Dogs then North .Melb and Hawthorn was a done deal but fell over. Carlton nearly took over North by buying up all its shares .INorth was going to become Carlton's seconds.The supporter bases become galvanised and arc up.Clearly there are too many clubs in Melbourne but relocation is the only way forward.North survived being relocated North and has fixed its finances but it is stuck at the bottom of the ladder.I personally think they should merge with the Suns.
As an old Fitzroy supporter I understand the pain it would cause , but North are in the gun and given that the drafts will be compromised its not going to get any better.

Non-Lions discussion 2023