North Central Football League - Part 1

Re: North Central Football League

buckley proberly see's pyke as having a better football career for winning flags an pyke might see buckley as a better player for winning brownlows, its all in how you perceive things and i see an average senior player with 4 flags as a better player and asset to a country side then a super star with 0 flags

worst statement i've ever read..!

leaving to play with a club wouldnt be the same as playing in your home town with a heap of mates that you have grown up with. staying at the club shows a bit of ticker and charecter to stick with your local side and mates through the lean times.

end of 05 - R Allan -> Ballarat
start of 07, whyche extends the cash filled hand, R Allan -> whyche

hmmm, perhaps i should have followed brown/gilmour to waubra for a year!

end of 05 - R Allan -> Ballarat
start of 07, whyche extends the cash filled hand, R Allan -> whyche

hmmm, perhaps i should have followed brown/gilmour to waubra for a year!

rick allan also left wyche to play smates that he went to school with. he also wanted to try his hand a land scape gardening which ballarat found him a job...... also came back to make sure the club didnt fold. getting rick back also got ment we'd get george back, wasnt as simple as chasing coin, 05 demons played in a losng grand final wasnt like we were strugling when he left

worst statement i've ever read..[abuse removed]!
Yes stupid statement it was ComputerSaysNo but I ths one by Albyman takes the cake...Flags are overrated? Haha. Tell that to Boort, Donald (last year) or Balranald, that's why they are forking out all this money...to win premierships!

Albyman [smasher didn't agree with you]!

[leaving to play with a club like calivil or balranald wouldnt be the same as playing in your home town with a heap of mates that you have grown up with. staying at the club shows a bit of ticker and charecter to stick with your local side and mates through the lean times.[/quote]

Truck, I agree with this statement 100%. This is exactly what I was getting at, and now you've said it yourself. Playing Country footy is all about being with your mates, and your local side. Lets face it, most of us front up each year, and no matter how positive we all want to be realistically we know that we probably won't win a flag this year. We will have some fun though, and some great memories to take with us to the grave. Not necessarily a medal though. That is what country footy is all about, and that is why none of us (or not many of us) leave to Calivil or Balranald

Yes stupid statement it was ComputerSaysNo but I ths one by Albyman takes the cake...Flags are overrated? Haha. Tell that to Boort, Donald (last year) or Balranald, that's why they are forking out all this money...to win premierships!

[removed abuse]

also heard a rumour that donald still owe last years players a fair whack of coin is this true or just a bad case of sour grapes. not trying to spread shit like this cause its not good for contry footy just thought i'd check to see if any one else has heard similar reports

I think he is playing but he has lost some spring from previous years to go up against atkinson, his probably just playing for the free piss after the game

Your probably right about the free piss tommy but I reckon atkinson would give needs a flogging, after watching atkinson play last year, he is a very handy ruck!!

we have been in a drought for a while know do you think that if we get a bit of rain over the next few years it will bring younger people back to the country areas an bring the leagues quality back up to where it was in the past....

In my own opinion, I have to disagree with this, though I wish it were true ... unfortunately, the damage done in decline never seems to be reversed sufficiently when times get better.

We've had droughts and boom years in the Wimmera since time immemorial, but each time the good years come on, people don't come back, prosperity doesn't reassert itself. Instead, people just get the chance to take a breath and not scrimp for a while, until the next crisis.

When (if?) things turn around, I don't think we're going to see Watchem split from Birchip and join the NCFL as a stand-alone entity. I don't think Berriwillock and Culgoa will field a side or two in the GRFL, nor will Rainbow set up a separate shop. I doubt Landsborough will restart fielding teams in the LPFL.

I could go on. And I will. Moonambel, Marnoo, TGP, Stawell Warriors, Brim, Homers, Karween-Karrawinna, Manangatang & Tooleybuc, Nandaly, Corack (!), Minyip & Murtoa, Appin, Cohuna & Union, Calivil & Raywood, Glenorchy, Primrose, Litchfield & Gunbower, Yaapeet, did yers know Narraport used to have their own team?

I'm sorry, and I wish I was wrong, but to some extent, its like raising the dead :(

[leaving to play with a club like calivil or balranald wouldnt be the same as playing in your home town with a heap of mates that you have grown up with. staying at the club shows a bit of ticker and charecter to stick with your local side and mates through the lean times.

Truck, I agree with this statement 100%. This is exactly what I was getting at, and now you've said it yourself. Playing Country footy is all about being with your mates, and your local side. Lets face it, most of us front up each year, and no matter how positive we all want to be realistically we know that we probably won't win a flag this year. We will have some fun though, and some great memories to take with us to the grave. Not necessarily a medal though. That is what country footy is all about, and that is why none of us (or not many of us) leave to Calivil or Balranald[/quote]

Albyman, if Balranald rang & offered you $5000 sign on & a further $2000 a game would you consider it?

In my own opinion, I have to disagree with this, though I wish it were true ... unfortunately, the damage done in decline never seems to be reversed sufficiently when times get better.

We've had droughts and boom years in the Wimmera since time immemorial, but each time the good years come on, people don't come back, prosperity doesn't reassert itself. Instead, people just get the chance to take a breath and not scrimp for a while, until the next crisis.

When (if?) things turn around, I don't think we're going to see Watchem split from Birchip and join the NCFL as a stand-alone entity. I don't think Berriwillock and Culgoa will field a side or two in the GRFL, nor will Rainbow set up a separate shop. I doubt Landsborough will restart fielding teams in the LPFL.

I could go on. And I will. Moonambel, Marnoo, TGP, Stawell Warriors, Brim, Homers, Karween-Karrawinna, Manangatang & Tooleybuc, Nandaly, Corack (!), Minyip & Murtoa, Appin, Cohuna & Union, Calivil & Raywood, Glenorchy, Primrose, Litchfield & Gunbower, Yaapeet, did yers know Narraport used to have their own team?

I'm sorry, and I wish I was wrong, but to some extent, its like raising the dead :(

yeah i did know narraport had their own team still had the narraport cricket club untill a few years ago we know have the shed on the high way side of the ground in memory of the old gren mill out at narraport. i was meaning that if the farmers have more money they spend more money in the town, giving the town a boost wasnt meaning clubs go back out on there own i was simply meaning will the towns be more attractive for young (21-30) footballers and young families to live and work in the towns. you seem to take a pretty keen interest in the flag of the red an the blue

pretty sure it use to be watchem corack too mate, with a similar jumper to the dees

What Mobbenfuhrer said (click the little arrow next to his name just above in this post to read it)

I agree, however, given that NCFL is still holding its own (every league has a spoon holder or two, every year) would you think it is worth persisting with it and seeing if it improves over the next year or two?

Boort: Strong
Birchip: Strong
Charlton: Strong
Donald: Regrouping, but not neccessarily "bad"
St Arnaud: Improving well
Wedderburn: Strong
Wyche: Improving well

For instance: Wyche have quite a few "travellers"... IF they were to say, join the GRFL, they would have to "search" a new market for Talent...i dont know many Ballarat guys (or melbournians for that matter) who would fancy a trip up to Ultima and the likes each week.

yeah i did know narraport had their own team still had the narraport cricket club untill a few years ago we know have the shed on the high way side of the ground in memory of the old gren mill out at narraport. i was meaning that if the farmers have more money they spend more money in the town, giving the town a boost wasnt meaning clubs go back out on there own i was simply meaning will the towns be more attractive for young (21-30) footballers and young families to live and work in the towns. you seem to take a pretty keen interest in the flag of the red an the blue

pretty sure it use to be watchem corack too mate, with a similar jumper to the dees

Before it was Watchem Corack, it used to be Watchem and Corack fielding separate teams.

Its unbelievable the teams that used to exist that are now only not even dots on the map.

It does worry me what the future holds for the NCFL and in particular the navy blues if something happened to the league, but hopefully thta won't happen for a few years yet.

Before it was Watchem Corack, it used to be Watchem and Corack fielding separate teams.

Its unbelievable the teams that used to exist that are now only not even dots on the map.

It does worry me what the future holds for the NCFL and in particular the navy blues if something happened to the league, but hopefully thta won't happen for a few years yet.

Its kinda upsetting that in 10-15 years time there might not be a NCFL. teams like wychie are just managing to fill a side. But I can't see StA, Donald, Charlton and Wedderburn not filling a good strong team in the future!

If NCFL stays the same over the next year or few, i can see Wyche being a force again in the near future, they are starting to get things right again, and starting to play pretty good footy (results most weeks indicate it)

At the current time Boort and Birchip are strong, as i outlined in a post above...The league is in better shape than it seems

If NCFL stays the same over the next year or few, i can see Wyche being a force again in the near future, they are starting to get things right again, and starting to play pretty good footy (results most weeks indicate it)

At the current time Boort and Birchip are strong, as i outlined in a post above...The league is in better shape than it seems

Correct me if i'm wrong but I heard that Birchip where in a lot trouble before the season started because they are/where hit by the drought a lot harder than other towns? Farmers where nearly forced to sell up

NITRO --- are they travellin' better now. Did they get the rain most of the rest of us did in the past fortnight ?

And Mobbie .... nice bit of nostalgia, tkx. Don't forget Yarrawalla in the Loddon Valley League (I seem to recall they wore Hawthorn colors) and even Kennington-Strathdale, a suburban outfit from Bendigo.
Bendigo as we know is a big regional city of some 90,000 people but Kennington couldn't survive past the mid-90s. In the 70s they managed to get Courage Brewery as their major sponsor when they wore the shocking green and gold colours, but they always seemed to struggle for monetary support as well as for quality players, up against the long established Bendigo city clubs of Sandhurst, South, Square and Eaglehawk.

The NCFL will not go under anytime before the Mallee, however I do believe to strengthen the league the hierachy need to actively search for other possible clubs to join. Rather than just rest on the laurels. To do this full support of clubs is needed in regards to travelling issues (currentley compared to other leagues we are blessed) sacrifices need to be made in this regard.

the mallee seems to be weaker than the ncfl. what happened with beaulah. what was the reason for them not comming into our league

No particular reason i dont think, just they decided to stay in the MFL for the time being. Gaining another club would be a huge step towards securing the league

the problem is which club do we get from another league that suits the ncfl the best? doe anyone have any ideas if so tell me

Not a bad statement...i agree with what was said earlier, the league is going to have to make some sacrifices as far as travel go. a "Natte Bealiba" may be worth a try, they're fairing pretty well in LPFL... Beulah would work..

Minyip/Murtoa?

whatever happens, there is going to be clubs travelling further, and someone isn't going to be happy about it...hopefully they will see reason, and realise its for the good of NCFL footy! We also have to think about Junior footy too...which clubs can provide the 4 sides? or is it worth (for example) breaking U13's away into a "seperate league" Or even dropping U13's and making a more "auskick" based competition between clubs, thus strengthening the U16's comp... a whole heap of issues need to be dealt with, and the result that best deals with them, will hopefully be the one chosen

natte isnt too far really. numbers is an issue that we are facing in footy in the ncfl and it needs to be delt with

For instance: Wyche have quite a few "travellers"... IF they were to say, join the GRFL, they would have to "search" a new market for Talent...i dont know many Ballarat guys (or melbournians for that matter) who would fancy a trip up to Ultima and the likes each week.

Dont forget the fantastic drive up to Hay!! bout a million hours away!

NITRO --- are they travellin' better now. Did they get the rain most of the rest of us did in the past fortnight ?

Not really sure how much rain they got over the past fornight. Hopefully enough to get the crops up and growing. On the bright side, we havn't had this much rain in years!!