AFLW North Melbourne Football Club AFLW - Season 2024

Ferguson braver than some of our blokes there.
They seem to allow a lot of cheap shit in this game that wouldn't fly in the AFLM. There was zero attempt at the ball in that contest, no idea how that isn't a 50m penalty.

Crocks would be a little disappointed with a couple of the goals we conceded, we shouldn't really concede three to a team like Port, but he would be happy with our offense, especially in the second half, we are finally showing some connection between the mids and forwards and are looking dangerous coming forward and taking the opposition on.

I'm sure he would also like us to start a little faster, we struggled with the early pressure against GWS, Fremantle and Port, but eventually we were able to absorb their pressure and assert our dominance, but they are developing teams, we can't let Melbourne or Adelaide dominate us in the next two games, otherwise they could be over by quarter time.

I thought when Riddell kick that goal from the pocket, we might finally get a goal of the year nomination, but then Randall out did her a few minutes later and then O'Loughlin kicked the goal of the game in the fourth. Now I'm thinking we may have all three nominations. :D

It will be really interesting to see how the umpires have viewed Garner's season, I reckon she has been best on ground in four games (St, Kilda, Carlton, Geelong and Port) and potentially another two (Brisbane and Fremantle) but in each of those games there is a possibility of Riddell stealing points from her or Anderson in the Brisbane game. If the umpires have even a basic understanding of the game, then she should be somewhere between 15 and 19 votes.

Great day at Arden St, fantastic win in the end, three ridiculous goals from the pocket where I was standing at the fence watching and cheering, spotted Clarko and Mon Conti and Adam Bandt and Kevin Harrington in the crowd, caught up with some of the regular BF sponsorship gang, and got to meet Tim Rogers and Horace.

Kevin Harrington, really? He's a Bulldogs man. Did you notice who he was with?

I didn’t but he was wearing a Bulldogs cap - I don’t know why any of these non-North supporting people were there, but it was a bit of extra fun.

Mon Conti was with her North Melbourne supporting dad (who also spilled the beans that Mon is still a Roogirl at heart, much to her embarrassment). She said she was there to support a friend playing for Port Powers.

As much as I love north, I recon I’d jump in a millisecond if one of my kids played professionally for another club. Would always love north of course, but wouldn’t be rocking up to games supporting them. Weird that he’s not a tigs supporter.

I tend to agree that having your child play for a club would be a massive lure. I guess they can draw a line between AFLW and the men's comp. Especially with these divided clubs like Richmond that don't integrate and co-operate with a one-club policy like NMFC does. I should note that neither Mon nor her father were wearing any team colours.

The older brother of a mate played a fair bit of footy for 2 clubs but his whole family stayed staunch Tigers supporters. They were proud of him and would watch him play and support him etc but not to the extent of swapping teams. I'd be the same I reckon. Imagine having a family member play for Collingwood or that Brad Scott coached team? That would be a case of a bridge too far for me.

I hear what you're saying but once you are inside a club, these people that we all see and hate on the TV become human and likable, and like family. The experience of being inside a club instead of being a supporter/member seems to be so very different. I'm sure we'd all like to think we'd stick fat with North Melbourne, but the reality would be different.

The Melbourne and Crows game will be the ultimate test, was a bit disappointed in the game vs Lions, given they have slipped. We need to be able to beat Crows and Dees otherwise it is going to be no flags for us and that would be sad for the women who work so hard all year round.

They seem to allow a lot of cheap s**t in this game that wouldn't fly in the AFLM. There was zero attempt at the ball in that contest, no idea how that isn't a 50m penalty.
Agree completely with this.

There’s some scraggy stuff that is just bullshit.

Great atmosphere, good game. We’re so lucky to have a ground like this.
I don't know tbh. I like going there, and I like watching the games, but it's got edges that could be smoothed over. There was no exit available for the city end after the game - we were kettled by the players run being blocked despite the players being on the ground and there being no traffic. I don't know why they didn't open the fence at the entrance at that end, bloody daft. Almost like it was designed without a consideration for pedestrian traffic flow? Also, while the trees and the grass are cute, would be great to have some sort of stand available so those that want could sit in a seat (or on a bench) and watch the game. Saw Sonja directing the players coming off the ground to a young girl collecting autographs. She's solid. Crocker always looks like he's cracking a joke internally. Might have been O'Loughlin's best game for us thus far?

Yeah I was really happy for Alice. She always works hard and looks dangerous around goals but it finally worked out for her today.
Yep, was nice to see her get the reward for effort finally. She's been working hard in that space all season.

does anyone know where you can find the players match stats for the game and post the link on here.. thanks
The AFL app has all the player stats if you have that.

does anyone know where you can find the players match stats for the game and post the link on here.. thanks

One of the best AFLW stats sites I've found is this one but they don't update until Monday.