Northaholics anonymous

I was in a different mood when I went to the game tonight. I hadn't been to a night MCG game in a very long time. I knew in my head that tonight was a 10 goal smashing at the very least but my heart was like 'gee... if Cam gets firing and we match them a bit in the middle what if?' Hahahah you utter fool.

What happens instead? We get belted by almost 100 points, we barely put up a fight, seagulls come from nowhere and (as if we were cursed enough) s**t all over the North supporters sitting in the club's designated bays that showed up (in a way it kept us more entertained watching out for bird s**t than watching the game). I got shat on 5 mins before the game finished (to make my night worse), I go home feeling so flat not even a maccas run could help mitigate some of the everlasting pain of watching this footy club letting me down week after week.

Probably going to go next week with zero expectations and still be disappointed ready to come back on here to repeat the same s**t.

C'mon Nor- oh get stuffed. See you next week lads!
Sad Ben Affleck GIF

Ah yes, if it isn't that time again. The expectation to pull off a victory against a mob that literally was the reason our senior coach has gone through hell. Our midfield looked the goods, we were finally back at Marvel, Cam and Larkey were due for a good outing annnnnd... no. DAMMIT!

What has changed? I wish I could think of something other than Scott becoming our most consistent player and the fact Wardlaw is a star. That's literally all I can think of. Everything else is the same or the suspect senior players giving our young guns brain hemorrhages.

I thought to myself, 'Can it honestly get any worse?'. Do we have anything else that hasn't blown up in our face yet? What more can we possibly take until things change? My brain is telling me 'This list is utter shit and you're wasting your time' but then I tell it (with my heart on my sleeve) 'Nah, I reckon we are due.' and proceed to watch my beloved North with the same misery week after week. Why North? Why?

You suck me in at every opportunity. But anyway, at least Clarko is back and golly, he is gonna implode.

I'll probably renew my membership because I love this club too much but my resilience is really being pushed.

They don't even deserve my 'Go North' at the end. They are too shit to even be considered 'North' because that means they get put into the same mold as the 90s and 70s teams which is insulting.

Another issue I am finding not sure if its because I have followed us for so long but after each loss i just feel apathetic. I get more angry losing a multi than I do us losing a game now. And I reckon the current playing group would be feeling the same , its just the inevitable each week. Only way is up I guess.

I have lived with this curse all my life, born on 01/10/1977.

There's simply no way I could ever follow anyone else, but there is a chance I just don't follow AFL. Slim, but still there.

I don't say the above lightly, however, my cup of resilience is darn near empty. Like all of us, there is other s**t in life to deal with. What should be a happy and enriching experience is actually just making me a sad, grumpy old campaigner.

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

There are Threads here for you…

The only time I was angry about a loss so far this season was the hawthorn game. Was adamant that wasn’t going to go to the Good Friday game after that shitshow. Ended up going if course.

And strangely enough, I had almost no emotions after leaving the MCG half way through the third quarter. Not sure why we stayed that long really.

The only disappointment I am feeling is for my youngest son who is 12. He lives and breathes footy and keeps wondering why I chose North all those years ago

Both Hawthorn games have been the two low points of the season for mine

Time to go cold turkey.... Rather than watching these turkeys.
I hear ya mate. Few years back I walked away from a friend who couldn't give it away despite all the help in the world at their fingertips. I couldn't deal anymore with the cycle of being lied to/empty promises/crashes/repeat again. Figured if I wasn't helping I was probably enabling it in a way by sticking around so I walked away. Was a hard decision but the right one to go cold turkey on them.

Bloody footy club has got a lot of parallels with that right now. It's the empty promises of "it'll be different this time" after the crashes that are the worst.

I aint got s**t else on. Im on till the doors shut on the place.
I’ve got this far… who else is there?
West coast? That plastic franchise
Freo? I’d rather self castrate
North or Goodbye AFL

I'm done.

I can't be invested with such a pack of losers anymore. I'm not going to any more games this year. I'm not going to watch them on TV. No replays or 'highlights' packages. I've temporarily blocked all social media posts from the club. I don't want to see them, hear them, read about them or talk about them. They finally beat something. They beat me. I'll check in each week to see how much we lost by, and add in the odd pointless comment or useless trivia thing here every so often, but putting any emotional energy into something that brings me no joy just isn't worth it. It's just a football team, I still barrack for them and will be back on board next year. But they literally are not good for me right now.

I am not sure how much longer I can go on with the support I give this club.

I go every week, I watch every game. I've travelled for interstate games this year. I have one more to go with the Gold Coast game in round 24 (which we still don't know when its getting played)

I pay for 3 memberships every year, I have joined the sponsorship this year. I go to the best and fairest. I donate money to the club.

At what point do you go "Thats enough"?

It can't go on much longer like this.

I am not sure how much longer I can go on with the support I give this club.

I go every week, I watch every game. I've travelled for interstate games this year. I have one more to go with the Gold Coast game in round 24 (which we still don't know when its getting played)

I pay for 3 memberships every year, I have joined the sponsorship this year. I go to the best and fairest. I donate money to the club.

At what point do you go "Thats enough"?

It can't go on much longer like this.
I hope they recognise you. Not typically a strength of North, apparently great to the people inside their four walls but give minimal recognition to those outside who love the club and give their hard earned

I can't even get emails from the club, I've emailed them asking them to fix it, been into the club and rang and still not getting them

But what more would you expect?

Northaholics anonymous