Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

Corey Mckernan to play for Heidelberg after round according to Justin Murphy.
Heidelberg flog the second best side in the comp.
Just the news everybody in the Northern FL want to hear.:rolleyes:
Looks like yet another hollow premiership year for the $$$$$$ Team already.:rolleyes:

i dont understand why there are buying more players and spending more money when there already a mile infront of the rest of the comp. are they trying to prove a point and ruin the finals spectacle becuase they when everygame by 50 plus points i dont see the theory in this. i dont know what the legue thinks of this but i believe somehow they need to bring in not a salary cap but a way of monitering how many x afl players one club can have maybe some sort games limit like one club can have all no more than 400 hundred afl games with all its players combined this could even out the comp for the people who dont have the big dollars and a run at buying every afl player that retires or gets delisted. Why would anyone want to go see 1 vs 2 when its a smashing, not promiting the legue very well.

Rumour has it, when Heidelberg wanted to transfer to the Eastern Football League and were denied, that the HFC president said something along the lines of "We are going to continue buying premierships and smashing the comp until we are let leave" obviously not a direct quote but you get the picture.

i heard somethng very similiar but how can they leave when there not wanted?? and maybe its about time the legue fought back and put HFC in there spot becuase right now HFC are makeing the NFL and all who they play look very silly.

C Mckernan has not and will not be paid a cent. The bloke is down there every week helping out at training and soaking up the atmosphere because he loves the joint. Montmorency are paying more for two players than we are for half a side so you people should ease off a bit...

Ok even if he is not being paid and loves the joint thats great but if he plays honestly it may be great for heidelburg but i dont think it will be great for the rest of the compitition and thats why i said there should be a game's limit if you read back i honestly dont care who gets paid what im just looking for a more even compition and a better spectacle to watch.

Mate if we got rid of every former AFL player we would only win every game by 10 goals instead of 15. Have a look at our best players on Saturday and tell me how many of those blokes played AFL because it's blokes like Blair Harvey, Chris Hall, Dean Haydock and the like that have been the backbone of our success over the last few years.

Heidelberg must be doing something right on a business level to have been able to maintain this level for so long. If I remember correctly N/Park & Epping were in a similar financial situation a few years back and if they had of managed it as well as H/berg seem to have then maybe we would have 3 premier sides in the competition. I would much sooner see other clubs given a hoist up to match heidelberg then them be brought back to the pack.

The #1 way to start this is by organising a tier system for clubs league fees. The league cannot influence player drafting so this could be a great help. Last time I was aware (about 2 years ago) Heidelberg West and Reservoir paid exactly the same league fees per annum as Heidelberg. I don't think this is fair at all. Surely they could work something out where depending on ladder position for the previous season you incur more fees.

Mate if we got rid of every former AFL player we would only win every game by 10 goals instead of 15. Have a look at our best players on Saturday and tell me how many of those blokes played AFL because it's blokes like Blair Harvey, Chris Hall, Dean Haydock and the like that have been the backbone of our success over the last few years.

point taken but you admit it would make it a closer game haha im just saying id love to see eltham win every week but i think smashing teams every week would be a bit mundane

so your telling every northern football league supporter that c mckerknon just showed up at your shitty club just to soak up the atmosphere , and not get paid a cent .... b..sh.t .. i cant wait until parrets trucking company goes broke or he leaves .. why didnt he just show up at heildberg west or any other club ...simple coin...

McKernan has been around the club for years dude.

Not all ex-AFL players are mercenaries. They get paid a premium because they are worth it most of the time. Have you guys ever thought that maybe word of mouth gets around and that brings players to the club. Money is a factor but what if Corey McKernan had a chat to Jess Sinclair and told him how good of a club it is and they will meet his asking price.
Heidelhole must be doing something right then just having squillions

>>>>McKernan grew up in Melbourne's western suburbs and was recruited to North Melbourne from Westmeadows Football Club in the Essendon District Football League <<<<

Hey River Rat.....just for my own curiosity can you tell me when Corey developed this love affair you say he has with the Heidelberg FC?
I'd say he loves the joint about as much as Murphy, Franchina, Zantuck and Sinclair do.:rolleyes:

>>>>McKernan grew up in Melbourne's western suburbs and was recruited to North Melbourne from Westmeadows Football Club in the Essendon District Football League <<<<

Hey River Rat.....just for my own curiosity can you tell me when Corey developed this love affair you say he has with the Heidelberg FC?
I'd say he loves the joint about as much as Murphy, Franchina, Zantuck and Sinclair do.:rolleyes:

Listen you misinformed toilet dweller...Corey's old man runs Concord Park not to mention he is a good mate of Justin Murphy's. He has been coming to watch us for a few years now and even played a game back in 07 from memory. I can't understand how you can bag him when he has only played one game in the seconds and tore his hammy. He will have to earn his spot just like anyone else - that's if his body holds up of course.

His old man runs concord park hey , hey might have drove his truck through there yard once ... lf he wasnt getting paid bucket loads and wasnt a mersinary he would be back at west meadows tigers repaying that side for developing him .. never forget where you come from

If it wasn't Heidelberg it would be another. No need to place restrictions on clubs that will be nothing more than memories in years to come. The stronger will survive as an entity longer than the weaker regardless of what minor League they play in.

Boof do you honestly believe that in the sipirit of local football that one side can can dominate to the degree of the bergers , at the minute and for the last 5 years , do you thinkthats a good thing ... lts not having a crack at the bergers coz teams before hand have done the same ... the league is moving forward it is sorting out finances , now its time to for it to work in a salary cap format ,, everey side can have 20 points when recruiting 5 points for ex afl 3 for vfl etc up to a total of 20 ... thats just 1 idea ...

Heidelberg must be doing something right on a business level to have been able to maintain this level for so long. If I remember correctly N/Park & Epping were in a similar financial situation a few years back and if they had of managed it as well as H/berg seem to have then maybe we would have 3 premier sides in the competition. I would much sooner see other clubs given a hoist up to match heidelberg then them be brought back to the pack.

The #1 way to start this is by organising a tier system for clubs league fees. The league cannot influence player drafting so this could be a great help. Last time I was aware (about 2 years ago) Heidelberg West and Reservoir paid exactly the same league fees per annum as Heidelberg. I don't think this is fair at all. Surely they could work something out where depending on ladder position for the previous season you incur more fees.

the reason that northcote park were so dominant a few years back is because they own the brunswick bingo and pokies place on sydney rd.....but once the government introduced the bans on smoking in gaming areas revenue decreased dramatically therefore limiting the money that could spend on recruits. thats my understanding of it but i could be wrong as im not associated with npfc

Shane Harvey. Goal freak. Yes. Best player in the comp? No. IMO there's no best player in the comp.

then you tell me if their is anyone in the league who can stop shane harvey. hes fast, reads the play like a book, has kicked 100+ goals and looks like he will do it again, and he plays most of the game in the midfield. and i don't think any club has anyone who can stop him. so tell me mate, who is the best?

Shane Harvey. Goal freak. Yes. Best player in the comp? No. IMO there's no best player in the comp.

:eek: Boof, please.

If Shane Harvey isn't the best player in the NFL by length of the Hume Hwy, then please enlighten us as to who you think is.

Even though there are some very good footballers in this comp, Shane Harvey is an absolute star.

The best I have seen at our level in quite some time.

Define 'best' player. Or are we to believe it's the player that kicks the most goals over a season/career in the NFL. While we're at it lets forget the contribution the boys in the backline make.

The length of the Hume Hwy X. Big call mate. Shane Harvey is a gun. No worries there. Perhaps none better in the NFL but others as good.

Run the ball out-of the backline as quick as you like but with limited strikers you've got nothing but that.

Define 'best' player. Or are we to believe it's the player that kicks the most goals over a season/career in the NFL. While we're at it lets forget the contribution the boys in the backline make.

The length of the Hume Hwy X. Big call mate. Shane Harvey is a gun. No worries there. Perhaps none better in the NFL but others as good.

Run the ball out-of the backline as quick as you like but with limited strikers you've got nothing but that.

Very impressive win on the weekend Boof. A couple of very sick and sorry Cougars were licking their wounds from the Tiger attack when I was leaving the ground.

BTW mate, I wasnt having a dip at you RE: Shane Harvey, was just intrigued as to who you think is level or just below him when talking about the NFLs elite?

Boof do you honestly believe that in the sipirit of local football that one side can can dominate to the degree of the bergers , at the minute and for the last 5 years , do you thinkthats a good thing ... lts not having a crack at the bergers coz teams before hand have done the same ... the league is moving forward it is sorting out finances , now its time to for it to work in a salary cap format ,, everey side can have 20 points when recruiting 5 points for ex afl 3 for vfl etc up to a total of 20 ... thats just 1 idea ...

i played in the SA Hills league last couple years, the first year i was there they had a salary cap. Did not work at this level, as there is no way you can monitor payments.

the next year they introduced the points system.

players with the club get 1 point
recruit from lower league 2 points
recruits from stronger leagues 3 points
SANFL/VFL etc 4 or 5 points
AFL 5 or 6

each team had max of 30 odd points to play each game and players go down in points if they stay at the club.

the system worked well, it encouraged clubs to develop there kids into senior footballers and retain players, and balanced out the competition.

obviously the strong clubs still had an advantage, but you couldnt buy a flag.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yourjoking

i played in the SA Hills league last couple years, the first year i was there they had a salary cap. Did not work at this level, as there is no way you can monitor payments.

the next year they introduced the points system.

players with the club get 1 point
recruit from lower league 2 points
recruits from stronger leagues 3 points
SANFL/VFL etc 4 or 5 points
AFL 5 or 6

each team had max of 30 odd points to play each game and players go down in points if they stay at the club.

the system worked well, it encouraged clubs to develop there kids into senior footballers and retain players, and balanced out the competition.

obviously the strong clubs still had an advantage, but you couldnt buy a flag.

Now "yourjoking", that's an interesting post. You don't have any connection to one of the NFL administrators who goes under the name of "Buddy Looove" or has the same initials as the main character in the bible? And just sending up a balloon to see the reaction, are we?
I was at the kennell last week and a person who has contact with one or more of the administrators suggested that the board is concerned with the continued dominance of Heidelberg and are looking at ways to reduce that. And that if the Tigers trample the opposition again this season that the player points system that you and "mitch fc" alluded to could very well be introduced and that the above said administrator is preparing a discussion paper in preparation.

Personally from playing Heidelberg i dont think their AFL Players that they recruit win them games and the fact that they recruit better than most sides cause they have alot of sucess. We are all sick and tired of no one being able to beat them but they are definately in the league of Eastern FL financially and NFL wouldnt want them to leave because of the amount of $$ they bring to the league as well as the reputation