Northern Football League Division 1 - Part V

I thought it more interesting to see an R Abbatangelo back in the tribunal listings.

Just proves that fruit doesn't fall far from the tree and I reckon the old man would be somewhat proud too :p.

I wonder if Jnr can build on the old man's Frequent Thugger Points tally over the coming years!? :D

Your an idiot KA, it's not even his son.

Anyone with actual, factual knowledge on here (I know stretching it) on why Hocking from Eltham is at the Tribunal tonight after a 'complaint'. Not saying nothing happened its just the first I have heard about it and wanted background/info (rumour and untruths will do).

Also odd to see the same bloke up as a witness on the same night to two different players from two different weeks in two different games.

From what i've heard, the report has been laid by Jarrad Carey. It related to an incident in the first quarter. Bundoora players believe that Hock elbowed Mitchell in the jaw, but I didn't see the incident, but I can't comment. It'll be a very interesting tribunal sitting tonight.

Don't bother to pay 'fines'

21 Jun 10 @ 08:00am by Suzanne Robson

824e46f49e28d3fa400eee60543da66f_resized.JPG

PRESTON state Labor MP Robin Scott has told Darebin residents not to worry about paying “fines” for overstaying at Preston Market carpark.
Last week parking operator Care Park implemented its controversial “pay and display” system for shoppers and commuters at the market.
Under the new regime, motorists can park at the market for four hours, with the first two hours remaining free and each hour after costing $1. Parking on non-market days, Sunday to Tuesday, will cost 50 cents an hour or $2.50 all day.
Drivers who don’t display a valid ticket or overstay will be stung with an $88 fine, increasing by $77 if not paid within 42 days.
>>Will you be paying fines for overstaying without paying at Preston Market? Tell us below.
But Mr Scott said the company did not have the authority to hand out financial penalties to motorists.
“Neither Australian National Car Parks, who manage the Safeway/Woolworths carpark, or Care Park have the power to issue fines,” Mr Scott said.
“Rather, they issue claims for liquidated damages,” he said.
“Many local residents have been driving to the Preston Market since the 1960s. I anticipate that a lot of confused people will fall foul of Care Park’s enforcement system.”
Aldi carpark will have one-hour free parking seven days a week at all times.
Mr Scott said the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission was looking at the legality of the charges.
From July, the ACCC will have powers to launch class actions of behalf of motorists.
“The ACCC chairman has commented that from July 1, the companies ‘claims for liquidated damages’ are likely to be ruled an unfair contract term, and therefore not enforceable,” Mr Scott said.
Care Park spokeswoman Yolanda Torrisi said the company did not issue fines, rather “payment notices for not abiding the conditions of that carpark”.
“What we are doing is giving people two hours of free parking,” Ms Torrisi said.

Mont Best players from Satdy, yeah NUGENT, SACCO yeah two of the best in the comp, but Pepyat, how do you get in the best when you get sent off for striking in the second quarter??:confused:

Anyone with actual, factual knowledge on here (I know stretching it) on why Hocking from Eltham is at the Tribunal tonight after a 'complaint'. Not saying nothing happened its just the first I have heard about it and wanted background/info (rumour and untruths will do).

Also odd to see the same bloke up as a witness on the same night to two different players from two different weeks in two different games.
Hearing re-scheduled for next tuesday

88 points. I think it's time the nfl bit the bullet and let Heidelberg transfer to the eastern league, before it becomes a complete farce. I doubt any division one clubs would be opposed?

Mont Best players from Satdy, yeah NUGENT, SACCO yeah two of the best in the comp, but Pepyat, how do you get in the best when you get sent off for striking in the second quarter??:confused:

pepyats 1 quater was better than nugents game . in fact nugent represents whats wrong with monty. paying far to much money to an outsider that doesnt perform. pep has been a very good player at mont for a long time . nugent has been a very ordinary player at monty for a short time.

Don't bother to pay 'fines'

21 Jun 10 @ 08:00am by Suzanne Robson

824e46f49e28d3fa400eee60543da66f_resized.JPG

PRESTON state Labor MP Robin Scott has told Darebin residents not to worry about paying “fines” for overstaying at Preston Market carpark.
Last week parking operator Care Park implemented its controversial “pay and display” system for shoppers and commuters at the market.
Under the new regime, motorists can park at the market for four hours, with the first two hours remaining free and each hour after costing $1. Parking on non-market days, Sunday to Tuesday, will cost 50 cents an hour or $2.50 all day.
Drivers who don’t display a valid ticket or overstay will be stung with an $88 fine, increasing by $77 if not paid within 42 days.
>>Will you be paying fines for overstaying without paying at Preston Market? Tell us below.
But Mr Scott said the company did not have the authority to hand out financial penalties to motorists.
“Neither Australian National Car Parks, who manage the Safeway/Woolworths carpark, or Care Park have the power to issue fines,” Mr Scott said.
“Rather, they issue claims for liquidated damages,” he said.
“Many local residents have been driving to the Preston Market since the 1960s. I anticipate that a lot of confused people will fall foul of Care Park’s enforcement system.”
Aldi carpark will have one-hour free parking seven days a week at all times.
Mr Scott said the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission was looking at the legality of the charges.
From July, the ACCC will have powers to launch class actions of behalf of motorists.
“The ACCC chairman has commented that from July 1, the companies ‘claims for liquidated damages’ are likely to be ruled an unfair contract term, and therefore not enforceable,” Mr Scott said.
Care Park spokeswoman Yolanda Torrisi said the company did not issue fines, rather “payment notices for not abiding the conditions of that carpark”.
“What we are doing is giving people two hours of free parking,” Ms Torrisi said.

Ths inormaton is quite correct. Unless the company running the parking at the Preston Market has been authorised by either the State Government, or in this case the Darebin Council, they cannot legally force you to pay any fines. Obviously from Mr Scott's comments they haven't been authorised and my memory seems to recall some similar cases that went as far as the State Courts and the "fines" were thrown out.
So park away my dear friends.

Does anyone have the actual quarter-by-quarter scores of the Qualifying Final (Montmorency vs West Preston) and First Semi (Montmorency vs Bundoora) matches. They are not listed on the NFL website. Thanks.

pepyats 1 quater was better than nugents game . in fact nugent represents whats wrong with monty. paying far to much money to an outsider that doesnt perform. pep has been a very good player at mont for a long time . nugent has been a very ordinary player at monty for a short time.

Nuggent had a really good year. I don't think anyone within the club considers him an outsider, how long do you have to play at a club not be an outsider?

this is the second time he has walked out on bundoora this year, the first was mid year cause he couldnt get a game in the ones then came back broke in to the ones but didnt perform and was dropped played in the twos the rest of the year, then didnt show to a saturday morning session and didnt train the week before there first finals game. club finally got in contact with him and he said he has quit. TOTALLY LET HIS MATES DOWN

Whitnall - Wasn't listed as a Bundoora player in THE NORTHERNER at the weekend

Parking at the market - have to say I was p*ssed off to pay on a Sunday, tight arse that i am.

Whitnall - Wasn't listed as a Bundoora player in THE NORTHERNER at the weekend

Parking at the market - have to say I was p*ssed off to pay on a Sunday, tight arse that i am.

Any truth to the rumour that a fellow by the name of stringa harvey may well be signed sealed and delivered to coach the slime next year? Rumour has it that he will be bringing some big fish along with him including a ex afl player that has strong links to the club that was apparently supposed to be in the trenches of the 1 and only chokemorency during their finals campaign! Can anybody confirm or deny these rumour's?????

Saturday - Partly cloudy. Isolated showers during the morning. Winds west to northwesterly averaging up to 30 km/h. City - Shower or two clearing. Min 9. Max 18.

Sunday - Mostly sunny. Winds north to northwesterly averaging up to 40 km/h becoming northwesterly up to 50 km/h during the morning. City - Windy. Min 11. Max 18.

Your an idiot KA, it's not even his son.

R.Abbatangelo actually had 3 lower players take him down 2 from behind and he only held 1 of them down when Mernda players came and helped him out, he didn't even strike anyone. The emergency umpire sent him off and no lower player was sent off yet they were he instigators!

Yeah, Sure Mate.

So you are saying, he voluntarily accepted 2 weeks for doing nothing??

I think you balls'd up Champ. :p

Any truth to the rumour that a fellow by the name of stringa harvey may well be signed sealed and delivered to coach the slime next year? Rumour has it that he will be bringing some big fish along with him including a ex afl player that has strong links to the club that was apparently supposed to be in the trenches of the 1 and only chokemorency during their finals campaign! Can anybody confirm or deny these rumour's?????
I dunno about the rumour scare face, but i know your a dork!

Worst brusher in the valley!

Watched Whittlesea win the Div 2 flag on saturday!
They will need to recruit more than just a few players to have any chance of surviving a year in Div 1.
On what I saw on saturday they are simply well below Div 1 standard.
I'm not being a knocker I'm just telling it like it is.
I don't like seeing the Div 2 flag winners go up to Div 1 just to go back down the following year as it hurts the club (eg Thomastown 2009) rather than boost it up.
Good luck to Whittlesea I hope they can make it ?

Watched Whittlesea win the Div 2 flag on saturday!
They will need to recruit more than just a few players to have any chance of surviving a year in Div 1.
On what I saw on saturday they are simply well below Div 1 standard.
I'm not being a knocker I'm just telling it like it is.
I don't like seeing the Div 2 flag winners go up to Div 1 just to go back down the following year as it hurts the club (eg Thomastown 2009) rather than boost it up.
Good luck to Whittlesea I hope they can make it ?

Agree my old friend. Congratulations to the Eagles on finally attaining promotion, they have been at the top of Division 2 for the past couple of seasons and deserve their chance to match it with the big boys. But they will certainly have to be aggressive in the summer to recruit some bigger and faster bodied players. I wonder if they have the readies to do so. I just hope that they haven't fallen for the old three-card trick that a good number of past Division 2 clubsthat have achieved promotion have by filling their side with players who couldn't or didn't want to make it in Division 1 and others who had finished their Division1 careers and looking for some glory in the lower division. If you look thru their team list yesterday they do have a number of players who fall into one of these categories. But as I said, good luck to them and we'll watch how they recruit over the summer .

Looking forward to reading more of the inane comments from Bundoora's Footy manager in the DV Leader this week, as usual he'll have an excuse(as usual) why they got beaten but with no or little credit to the opposition, sure he will mention the Reserves being in the GF....but who cares about the Reserves.
Must be disappointing for the Bunnies dropping one spot from last season after the preseason recruiting they did.

Looking forward to reading more of the inane comments from Bundoora's Footy manager in the DV Leader this week, as usual he'll have an excuse(as usual) why they got beaten but with no or little credit to the opposition, sure he will mention the Reserves being in the GF....but who cares about the Reserves.
Must be disappointing for the Bunnies dropping one spot from last season after the preseason recruiting they did.
A bit of a rumour that some of the recruits may be returning back up Plenty rd heading north.

From what i've heard, the report has been laid by Jarrad Carey. It related to an incident in the first quarter. Bundoora players believe that Hock elbowed Mitchell in the jaw, but I didn't see the incident, but I can't comment. It'll be a very interesting tribunal sitting tonight.

Well that settles it, they are the Collingwood of the NFL with all their failures in Finals and now they bleat like Collingwood when somthing happens against them, wonder if Mr Carey would listen to any other other club if they had a complaint against a player, me thinks not, as it's not the Bundoora Football Club