Northern Football League Division 2 - Part V

lol,if your not pete himself you must be his wife or boyfriend...
If this is pete just remember its div 2 local footy, your not coaching afl so throw you silly ideas away and let your side have fun and play the game. You have the talent there so let them do the work and stop over coaching....... Just some friendly advice;)

youre advice is noted. Now **** off and get a kick boundary rider.

nearly time for round 1 with every team getting into practise matches now what do we think the ladder will look like at the end of the season? who going to win b&f, who going to be best recruit for the year and who going to be best player whose come up from under 19s?

Whittlesea
Diamond Creek
Lower Plenty
Epping
Mernda
Thomastown
Fitzroy Stars
Watsonia

B&F: Graeme Brown or Moore back to back
Best Recruit: Fairchild or Gutterson
Best Under 19's player coming thru: Don't know much about other clubs 19's but Patty Flynn at Lower

Whittlesea - 3
Diamond Creek - 4
Lower Plenty - 5
Epping - 1
Mernda - 2
Thomastown - 7
Fitzroy Stars - 6
Watsonia - 8

It's a bit of a chook raffle this year ! You could really
put any team from 1-7 but no doubt that Watsonia are
going to be the whipping boys this season.
Thomastown - have got no idea how they will go, what they've picked up, who they have lost.....

B&F: Fairchild, then Moore
Best Recruit: Fairchild or Gutterson - agree
Best Under 19's player coming thru: Don't know much about other clubs 19's but Patty Flynn at Lower
- Don't know.

I'll be watching with my left eyey this year - good luck to all teams !

Whittlesea
Diamond Creek
Lower Plenty
Epping
Mernda
Thomastown
Fitzroy Stars
Watsonia

B&F: Graeme Brown or Moore back to back
Best Recruit: Fairchild or Gutterson

Epping
Whittlesea
Thomastown
Diamond Creek
Lower Plenty
Mernda
Fitzroy Stars
Watsonia

Any one of the top seven could take the flag.
It's going to be the hardest and best Div 2 to watch in years :thumbsu:

Epping had another hard game today against Sunshine and came away with a 3 goal win.:thumbsu:
It was a bit to hot for footy.:thumbsdown:
Very good for drinking and the cricket club made a bit of coin, so all's well that ends well.

Port Colts @ Port next week.

Pretty good games Stude, but Mernda does look a little down on larger blokes, they look real fit, but not much bulk. That reminds me, how your kids goin'???

I think most teams could do with a couple more talls.
Les is as happy as a pig in shit, dropped a few kg and looking forward to the start of the season.
Rod is going to play at Morang with about half a doz ex Mernda players, not ideal but at least he's going to play.

Lower played Melbourne High School Old boys (B or C grade ammoo`s). Won by 18 goals apparently. Gill kicked 8 up till 3/4 time. I was not there, perhaps Matchwinner can fill in the details.

Mernda 10 - 7 67
Banyule 6 - 9 45

Game was pretty close all game until Sage kicked 3 in the last. Both teams had a good crack and was played in good spirits

Diamond Creek played Heathcote yesterday,Diamond Creek won the 3rds 2nds but went down to Heathcote in the 1's by about 18 points by all reports very hard hit out in the 1's

how r the boys from behind the pools going (thomo bears) not much talk
comming out of main st , any new players , looks like a few have left?:(:(:(

Diamond Creek played Heathcote yesterday,Diamond Creek won the 3rds 2nds but went down to Heathcote in the 1's by about 18 points by all reports very hard hit out in the 1's

Good result by Heathcote over a Creek side that were very complacent.

Heard the Creek pres rang during the week concerned that the saints wouldnt be a worthy opponent. Egg on his face now, as too the creek coach who was overheard saying that "if you can't beat these hillbilly hicks our season might as well end now"! Seems a bit early to display such a defeatest attitude.

BTW - Anthony Mellington (ex fitzroy,kangas,mont, Shep & Tocumwal) has found his way to Heathcote for season 2010 so that aren't without some talent.

Kickass
not sure where you are getting your info from mate but I have to dispute your above comments. The coach of diamond creek, Greg whitcroft, was within ear shot of myself for the majority of Sunday and he never once said anything that resembled your comments. He was very respectful of h'cote prior to the game saying they had some quality players and were the reigning premiers of there comp.

Whitty, who at times is very firey and angry towards his own players (sometimes over the top) has never been overly distesptful to another club and there ability.

As for the president, again I am not sure henwould have said that. Thursday night prior to the game, most players and members at creek thought we were on for a real hard hitout, so I can't imagine how the pres would be so far removed from that. If anything he might have been querying heathcotes ability to give our under 19s a decent game. This concern was well and truely relevant, as the dcfc boys trounced there opponents 42 goals to 0.

So basically, your comments on our coach and president "gobbing off" is a load of rubbish.

Cheers.

The kid.

Was Pretty impressed with Kinglake they have improved a hell of alot over the years.Mernda have a long way to go if they wanna be competitve against whittlesea round 1.Struggled to hold off a much improved Kinglake today and some well known Mernda players didnt get a touch very average at best!...maybe starting to miss the few that are at Bundy/Epping now???...Whittlesea 10 Goals round 1 ill call it now ...:eek:

what sort of score line and who are the players that didn't get a touch, come on this is big footy we want names!:D:thumbsu: