Northern Football League Division 2 - Part V

Mernda vs Diamond Creek. The door hasn't completely closed on Mernda's finals bid and Creek haven't been as dominant as their pre-season suggested. The clash of the two Demons should be devilish with the visitors to finally slam the door on their namesakes.
Thomastown vs Epping. The Blues are eyeing the double chance come seasons end and will probably need percentage to achieve it, so will be looking for a big win over the Bears.
Watsonia vs Fitzroy All Stars. The Stars are playing much better in the second half of the season and should have no problems stringing back-to-back wins against the Saints.
Whittlesea vs Lower Plenty. Another opportunity for the Bears to show that they can win a game on a big ground, and with two massive 'ins', including the next AFL super-star, and some still no-shows from star Eagles, the Bears can keep the gap between their top-two chases at bay for another week.

Well Done, that's a 25% pass, Here are the facts, Mernda will play finals at the expence of a Diamond Creek, Epping are pretenders, not contenders but will play finals for 1 week and the next BIG AFL Star did nothing. If that's all they have got, they are in trouble.... Can wait for your tips for Round 15

Mernda vs Diamond Creek. The door hasn't completely closed on Mernda's finals bid and Creek haven't been as dominant as their pre-season suggested. The clash of the two Demons should be devilish with the visitors to finally slam the door on their namesakes.
Thomastown vs Epping. The Blues are eyeing the double chance come seasons end and will probably need percentage to achieve it, so will be looking for a big win over the Bears.
Watsonia vs Fitzroy All Stars. The Stars are playing much better in the second half of the season and should have no problems stringing back-to-back wins against the Saints.
Whittlesea vs Lower Plenty. Another opportunity for the Bears to show that they can win a game on a big ground, and with two massive 'ins', including the next AFL super-star, and some still no-shows from star Eagles, the Bears can keep the gap between their top-two chases at bay for another week.

Well Done, that's a 25% pass, Here are the facts, Mernda will play finals at the expence of a Diamond Creek, Epping are pretenders, not contenders but will play finals for 1 week and the next BIG AFL Star did nothing. If that's all they have got, they are in trouble.... Can wait for your tips for Round 15

Sorry but who is the next BIG AFL STAR ?

Think that would be Darcy Barden. Next AFL star might be optimistic but the young fella certainly has a bright future. Whether he gets drafted is still up in the air but represented Vic Metro recently and performed very well. The bloke who said he did nothing yesterday obviously didnt watch the game. Would have been in best few players for Lower and probably took 12 - 15 marks to go with 2 goals. Not bad against the bench mark of the comp in just his second open age game.

Mernda are coming with a big rush and despite being one of the form teams at present i think they have left their run too late. With their percentage they are effectively 3 games out and with 4 games to go they wont bridge that gap.

this moron coach and his sunday morning training sessions needs to realise this is paddock football and he aint Hitler either......i thought he may have at least come in for a water to wash down the humble pie he swallowed !! bad reflection on the club but apparently this is sort of normal for them !! hopefully they bring their wallets and their hearts in rnd 18 :)

Typical Epping SCUM:thumbsdown: poor form

I'm back from solitary confinement, aka Red Card, and during my enforced absence had a look at how the ladder might end up. On current form, Whittlesea, naturally, will finish on top and if you give them the four remaining wins and assuming that Lower Plenty win their next two they should take the double chance. So who will fill the other spots ? It really is in Mernda's hands. They need to beat Diamond Creek in Round 16 and then repeat the trick against Epping in Round 17. A slip-up in either round will end their chances. And then they may have the golden opportunity to come up against a Lower Plenty side that has already secured the double chance. A win there could see all three teams on 44 points, with Mernda's current poor percentage counting against them.

Whittlesea (52 - 226.46). D.Crk (A), Epp (H), LowP (A), Fitz (H).
Lower Plenty (40 - 156.64) Thom (H), Wats (A), Whitt (H), Mern (A).
Epping (36 - 154.30) Wats (H), Whitt (A), Mern (H), Thom (A).
Diamond Creek (36 - 150.79) Whitt (H), Mern (A), Thom (H), Wats (A).
Mernda (28 - 118.21) Fitz (A), DCrk (H), Epp (A), LowP (H).

Hey, my crystal ball is as only as good as the next one. So, ..........

Typical Epping SCUM:thumbsdown: poor form
just another thing i forgot too.....the epping coaching staff can rock up with their shiny shoes, pleated pants and bag full of stat counters amongst other gadgets but without passion and respect from the playing group you may as well pull out the abacus and crayons !! rumour has it that they are on the lookout for another coach already....great finals prep boys :cool:

Been around Main St Oval a fair bit in recent times (legacy of the works we are doing to the new Aquatic Centre - which, by the way, will be state of the art and ready for business by years end - be sure to check out the photos of yours truly in the foyer once it is up and running - I'm the bloke driving the bobcat!!)

Stuck around on Saturday to watch Thomastown vs Epping and a very entertaining contest. The game was on a knifes edge for 120 minutes and it was only in the last 10 minutes or so that the home side grabbed the ascendecy.

Interesting to see the lack of an Epping presence in the rooms afterward. I haven't been involved with the NFL long enough to know of club history but I do know that grassroots footy is all about sharing a drink with your opposition after the game - win, lose or draw. That's obviously not how things roll down the road at High St? Oh well, the committee at Epping may want to rethink their facility upgrade because, keep this attitude up, and there won't be anyone hanging around at Epping to enjoy their new rooms.

And what a difference a win has made to the boys at Main St. We downed tools at about 5.30pm Tuesday night and it was standing room only on the track by the looks of things. Had to laugh, though....there was one bloke training in a top that looked better suited to the Tour de France....absolute classic. They were even calling him Lance.

Bring on the next round!!

Looks like a reasonably straightforward round this week, but then, after last week, who knows:
Diamond Creek vs Whittlesea
Epping vs Watsonia
Lower Plenty vs Thomastown
Fitzroy Stars vs Mernda

dashing if your talking about zabrieszach he doesnt deserve a game in the 1's what ive seen he isnt exactly killing the 2's. he also needs 2 pull hes head in and stop trying to hit blokes after they get ride of the ball, that was his down fall in the 1's when he did play epping he gave away 2 50m penaltys.

Another selection night at Mernda and another broken promise I'm lead to believe, anyone know whats really going on down there? Because from what I hear the coach is pleading with players to stay with him, however after last night and a certain talk to a player whose been mentioned in this forum, only to be over looked after being told he was getting a chance to play on the big ground at Vic Park (which would suit him says the coach), who probably is well deserving on a spot in the seniors after his last month of footy. Rumour has it a number of younger players are all thinking of their options for next year. 6-7 names of younger under 19 and borderline senior players have been mentioned Zabrieszach, Barbara, Missailidis, Delaney, Ellis, Wuelfert and Owens-Draper are the ones I've heard mentioned? Anyone have more information?
The only mentions have been from you Dash.
Owens -draper had his shot, didnt perform, Delaney had a chance, Wuelfert is too one dimensional in his game, would you put him in and take out ,say Curlis, as a back-up ruckman? I doubt it. Its coming down to some fairly critical games, at the pointy end of the year, Lomaro has to get some stability in the team and good on him. He is payed to win games, not make friends.

Curlis was best on against Diamond Creek wasn't he? So no I wouldn't take him out, however, Wuelfert at CHF can be a match winner in my opinion. Owens-Draper is back in this week which is surprising given his attitude on saturday. Lamaro has seemed to worry about making friends more than anything if you ask some of the players.

I'm one of the above mentioned players, and alot of wat is been sed isn't correct at all. Hayden has been a positive asset to the footy club, he is a good bloke, an approchable coach and reasonably fair. I'll be honest I may not always be happy with the selection committees decisions and may feel hard done by personally, but thats wat senior footy is all about. Right now for the club its about winning and heading in the right direction, and if we all get behind each other and work as a unit the Mernda Football Club is capable of success. Those players listed to be leaving can be put to rest immediately, 2-4 of thinking about going down to Coburg for pre-season just to see where they are at and if they can go anywhere with there footy, however, that whole group is still a bunch of kids and all have bright futures at the club! So get of Haydens back and give the bloke some respect. I'm guessing your from Whittlesea, Epping or Diamo the way you are talking.

dashing i dont think u have much of an idea owens draper was in the best last week, delaney has told the coach he wants 2 play the rest of the year in the 19's and barbera why would you promote a bloke when he got sent off last week.

Piggion i watched the game and he did not really impress me and also a number of his team mates have become quite fed up with him telling them that he wants to finish the season in under 19s but then going and sucking up to the senior coach at training. Maybe his team mates also are a bit angry as he has been quite critical at most of them. As for Barbara alot of people at the club like the kid and he may have gotten sent off and may have some discipline problems occasionally but as Vice-Captain of the under 19s he simply was asking a question of the umpire I thought, maybe just at the wrong time.

Zabrieszach is as good as Bennett from Macleod they are both similar players, both have a mouth but can both back it up, only difference Bennett has proven himself, Zabrieszach yet to do so.
Ther's nothing wrong with wanting to play out the season in the U19's, look at 2007's U19 squad, a lot of them had the chance to play 1's but wanted to stick together, and it payed off.

dashing i think u might b closer to zabrieszach (razor #53) then u let on he likes to rate himself with bennett since hes been dating andys x. and razor was quick 2 soften comments up bout the coaches promise.

Bearback- what humble pie are you talking about mate? The coach was right, thomo are terrible! Apparently the reason they never came to socialise was because of the way they carried on - hope you guys had a great nite sat, Pingers will be playing finals and Thomo will be finished on Round 18! Think the result will be very different Rd 18, alot was said on saturday that might come back to bite Thomastown on the bum!!:eek:

dashing i think u might b closer to zabrieszach (razor #53) then u let on he likes to rate himself with bennett since hes been dating andys x. and razor was quick 2 soften comments up bout the coaches promise.

whats my relationship wiv bennetts x got anything to do with footy? im chris, i got nothing to hide i dont care what this dashing bloke says by the looks of things he a bit of a goose! and i will defend the coach of our club. I might not be the biggest or toughest bloke going around, far from it actually, but Hayden has done a good job at mernda and I think has copped alot from alot of other people he hasn't deserved. So dashing n piggion u both sound lyk u kno everything about myself, Hayden and alot more at the mernda football club so yeah, u can keep talking bout that while we concentrate on footy and get the results the club is after. have a good 1 boys

Certainly been some very lively debate centred around the Plenty Road Demons over the past twenty-four hours and hopefully it will be some added inspiration for tomorrow's game. And speaking of that:

Diamond Creek vs Whittlesea. The Demons need to get back into the winning vein with their finals spot still not secure, but can't see them doing so against the competitions benchmark.
Epping vs Watsonia. The Blues were stunned with last weeks loss and have taken some stick on this forum as well, but should bounce back confidently against the Saints.
Lower Plenty vs Thomastown. The "Clash of the Bears" with the Main Street ones coming off a surprise win last week. However on their little circus rink the Para Road Bears should get the treats.
Fitzroy All Stars vs Mernda. The equation for the Demons is simple - keep winning. And although they may struggle for a while at the old VP they should come home with the points.

Bearback- what humble pie are you talking about mate? The coach was right, thomo are terrible! Apparently the reason they never came to socialise was because of the way they carried on - hope you guys had a great nite sat, Pingers will be playing finals and Thomo will be finished on Round 18! Think the result will be very different Rd 18, alot was said on saturday that might come back to bite Thomastown on the bum!!:eek:
well i think your PLANETS havent aligned moron !! who exactly carried on....pretty sure your supporters and players were the people who were sooking all day. gee i even think you may of had a supporter reported too ???? but hey what would i know !! im certain the reason he didnt come in the rooms was purely out of embarrasement losing to a so called basket case like Thomastown !! looking forward to rnd 18 and you guys trying to prove a point....ohh and i hope you win the flag too cos really coming second or 6th is no different, we both lost !! maybe the salt water from your sunday morning sessions is doing more harm than good. another thing though...its funny how every club is in unison regarding their hatred to Epping...all us clubs must be wrong hey ???:D

Congrats to Diamond Creek on their win yesterday. A big second half got them across the line and they have virtually stomped on Mernda's foot that was keeping the top four door open and now is all but shut for the Plenty Road Demons barring some very unexpected upsets in the final couple of rounds.