not enough

it was great to win, but it wasn't enough. a real top side wouldn;t have given the opposition a free ride in the last quarter. because we slacked off, we robbed ourselves of a 10 goal win, a 10 goal win that we deserved.

We still sit in 14th rather than 13th because of the last quarter.

Just another thing our boys need to learn.

Your kidding, right? The amount of crap we've put up with over the past 5 years or so and you still whinge after a 6 goal win. Grow up, mate. This isn't '95 anymore. We have to take small steps to get back to where we want to be. This was just another small step on the way.

It was a crushing victory, no matter what the final margin. JUST ENJOY IT!!!! :cool:

so in the 95 grand final when we were up by 80+ points and let it slip to 61, that is a sign of a side that is no good???

i thought it was fantastic, we were able to rest some players in the last quater because we had the game won, not because we were down by heaps.

fantastic effort by the blues!

Im sure the fact the boys have ony won one last quarter would be a little concerning but im sure they still would have sung the song as loud and as passionate as ever.

A great win, but it boggles the mind how some of you 'hardcore' Carlton supporters are quick to bag asi0. Our fade-out in the last quarter was still a worry, they kicked 5 in nearly as many minutes, and we seemd to have a brain freeze. Make no bones about it POT ADELAIDE ARE TERRIBLE, and really the guys seemed to be ahead of themselves being 10 goals up at 3/4 time.

The main positive is that our YOUTHCORE have all stepped up and are starting to take on the responsibility for winning games that the absense of Stevo has left, this is the most exciting and positive thing I've seen at this club on the field since the turn of the decade. Unfortunately our 'unamed though everybody knows who they are travellers', who have been at the club for 5 odd years are still as lame as they've ever been, and could easily have chipped in to bury Port, but obviously couldn't be stuft coz they don't have the killer instinct players in more successfuls team do!

funny that we have been screaming out for a 4 quarter effort all year and then we pat each other on the back after a 3 quarter effort.

i loved the win, but hated the last quarter. The commentators noted that Denis spent extra time with our boys at 3 quarter time. I'd reckon he was telling them that it's not enough just to win, that you need to display that killer instinct. That we have been on the bad end of this type of thrashing so often that it would be a crime not to give one back. Maybe our boys felt sorry for Port? Hope we don't feel sorry for Hawthorn.

Look at the reigning premiers. Killing the Bombers in the first quarter and let them back in and went down by a point. How many games did we have in our grasp only to be over run (eg West Coast last year). You could see the intensity drop in the last quarter after we knew we couldn't lose. Maybe we want to save ourselves for another win next week? What do you expect- 100 point thrashings every week? Seems like some people are never satisfied and only interested in nit picking and looking for negatives. :rolleyes:

Seems like some people are never satisfied and only interested in nit picking and looking for negatives. :rolleyes:
I'd rather the supporter who is never satisfied (at least until we win a flag), than the supporters out there who are happy with a three quarter effort and are only interested in basking in the positives and ignoring the negatives that we must rectify if we are to be a premiership threat any time soon.

Be happy with the win, but put it in perspective and realize than beyond this week it doesn't mean a thing. The Carlton of old was never satisfied with just a win until it occurred in a Grand Final. H & A wins last a week, premierships last forever.

Look at the reigning premiers. Killing the Bombers in the first quarter and let them back in and went down by a point. How many games did we have in our grasp only to be over run (eg West Coast last year). You could see the intensity drop in the last quarter after we knew we couldn't lose. Maybe we want to save ourselves for another win next week? What do you expect- 100 point thrashings every week? Seems like some people are never satisfied and only interested in nit picking and looking for negatives. :rolleyes:

i'd actually consider my post a positive.

I'd be happy to win 22 games by 1 point and then win the grand final by 1 point. I don't expect 100 point thrashings. I do expect 4 quarter efforts.

Nonetheless, our boys were...no...are great.

I'd rather the supporter who is never satisfied (at least until we win a flag), than the supporters out there who are happy with a three quarter effort and are only interested in basking in the positives and ignoring the negatives that we must rectify if we are to be a premiership threat any time soon.

you are still mid way through rebuilding dudes as we are, take your success as it comes. you dont go from bottom to top overnight....

some of you die hard supporters remind me of those parents that go and watch there little kids playing sport and put untold pressure on them to succeed only to give them mental issues

either team, win or lose we wont be winning the grand final this year so get behind your team in its growth to become a premier in the comming years

Be happy with the win, but put it in perspective and realize than beyond this week it doesn't mean a thing. The Carlton of old was never satisfied with just a win until it occurred in a Grand Final. H & A wins last a week, premierships last forever.
If the only thing you'll ever be satisfied with is winning a premiership then you're going to go through a lot of dissatisfaction.

you are still mid way through rebuilding dudes as we are, take your success as it comes. you dont go from bottom to top overnight....

some of you die hard supporters remind me of those parents that go and watch there little kids playing sport and put untold pressure on them to succeed only to give them mental issues

either team, win or lose we wont be winning the grand final this year so get behind your team in its growth to become a premier in the comming years
So you are saying our teams is full of little kids:confused: Bad analogy mate- these are professional athletes. And even so, I wasn't talking about our team, I was talking about the supporters.

I dont expect us to go from bottom to top overnight- thats a exaggeration on your part. I'm saying that to be content with three quarters of excellent footy, and conveniently block out a pretty poor fourth quarter is not the right attitude to have. Be happy, not content.

The fact is, some people are satisified just with a good effort. As soon as you do that, you automatically begin to condone the attitude of near enough is good enough. That might be fine for your under 11s or whatever, but these are professional athletes and professional football clubs. Near enough is not good enough. And if they keep getting the message that it is, well, we might make the finals, but we sure as hell wont win a flag.

I sure hope our players and coaches do not see football in the same way you do then.
Stephen Kernahan said the aim this year is 4-8 wins. Terrible to aim that low! You've got to be realistic and don't expect too much or you'll never be satisfied. We've had about 10 wins in 3 years so if you're not satisfied with any of those wins I pity you.

Stephen Kernahan said the aim this year is 4-8 wins. Terrible to aim that low! You've got to be realistic and don't expect too much or you'll never be satisfied.

sure, but EVERYTHING is done with a view to winning premierships. seeing the pieces fall into place is what brings satisfaction.

a piece went into place last night, but we had the chance to put 2 pieces in place. now we have to go back and work on that second piece again.

A great win, but it boggles the mind how some of you 'hardcore' Carlton supporters are quick to bag asi0. Our fade-out in the last quarter was still a worry, they kicked 5 in nearly as many minutes, and we seemd to have a brain freeze. Make no bones about it POT ADELAIDE ARE TERRIBLE, and really the guys seemed to be ahead of themselves being 10 goals up at 3/4 time.

my god some people are hard to please. For even the more expereinced sides it's rare that they play 4 complete quarters without some down time or fade outs as you call it. Did Sydney play 4 quarters yesterday? Did Essendon play 4 quarters on Friday night? normally at a certain point in the game things just don't go right and it's nto uncommon for a team along way behind to string a few goals together. As another poster said even our 95 premiership team had a last quarter fade out. Remember there are two teams out there. We have won our second in a row. It was our biggest victory in 5 years i believe and it came against a side that going into this round was in the top 8. If you can't be positive about that than what does it take?

and this is the whole point. i don't want us to be as good as those teams. those teams are shit compared to what we are becoming.

i'd actually consider my post a positive.

I'd be happy to win 22 games by 1 point and then win the grand final by 1 point. I don't expect 100 point thrashings. I do expect 4 quarter efforts.

Nonetheless, our boys were...no...are great.

There are some very obvious flaws in your logical reasoning. I am not going to spell them out for you........think about it. :rolleyes:

Who cares about the last quarter of a blow-out win, really. In two weeks time we'll look back and all we'll remember is the win, the game-breaking first 3 quarters, not that Port brought it back from 50 to 40 points with a few late goals.

It seems a bit petty to worry about the size of our winning margins - running up the score isn't classy at all. You get the win, lock it down then try a few things, making sure you don't get injuries.

I dont think as0l0 is so far off the mark. We had a win and it was pretty good. However the Port side look like a very dispritited lot. I haven't seen too many sides turn the ball over as easily as they did apart from us many times in the last few years.

There are of course encouraging signs. Walker played one of his better games and looks to be developing. The game style whilst still not being orchestrated perfectly is a very positive one and well worth sticking to. The list is starting to look much more balanced.

There are heaps more positives but this does not mean we should bag those on the board who can see and sense that there are still many things that could be better.As for the guy who said he would like Stevo to have stuck it up Williams. Well Stevens has yet imo to have ever consistently proven that he is a great player. He certainly has the ability but has never consistently played to his ability. Lets hope he does next year but he has alot to still prove to everyone in the footy world.

I know what the OP is saying, but IMO this is nitpicking. Pagan isn't teaching a young side a defensive, grind-them-down, pawn-for-pawn game. He is telling them to back themselves, take it on, if you make a mistake, don't worry about it, but back yourselves in to win the next contest.

As a fan, I'd prefer to see this style of play than the other.

Sure, a last quarter fade out is a bit of a concern, and sure, they should learn a little lesson about it, but I wouldn't want to beat them over the head with it.

The fact that there is even debate about how much we should of won by, is a good sign in itself if you ask me. I must admit, with our record against Port, I was 'hopeful' rather than 'confident' going into last night's game. Let's just appreciate what a stellar team performance it was and take the 39 points! The reality is, any win is a good win, especially for us and where we are at in our development. So to have a comfortable win against an almost bogey side for us, at the Dome, is something to be proud of. Last night was finally some real tangible evidence (comfortable win vs honourable loss/close win) of how far we've come and what our capabilities are RIGHT NOW. The challenge of course is maintaining that week in and week out and frankly, expecting to win our fair share from now on. We need to continue on and keep getting wins, starting on Friday. Hawthorn are a quality outfit, no question about that, and pose a huge challenge for our boys. However with the way we are playing, we are not without a show. If we can get the win and make it 3 in a row, we can build upon that for the second half of the year. Last thing we need on Friday is an 'off' performance.

Pagan asked the playing group at 3/4 time if the wanted to flood to protect the margin, or continue to attack playing man on man.

The players wanted to play man on man.

We haven't won a 4th quarter all year after round 1.
This didn't change last night.
Why should you expect that it would. Its not about effort.....its about fitness. We gave effort in the fourth.......just couldn't match their run. This has been the case all year and won't change overnight.
We are an average team coming good. Not a great team lacking effort. There is a world of difference.
Figure it out and get used to it.

not enough