NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything

Yes, it is all supposition about the motives behind the 5 clubs wanting to retain the salary cap. If we play, and I don't know what will happen at this stage I think it will all eventually come out.
Your question about points is an interesting one and will be up to VFL Victoria and the EFNL if no games are played this year.
I wonder if a new date for clearances will be part of that thinking?

Lots of questions to be answered Cliff. Don't envy the decision makers.
Appears obvious there will be salary cap reductions, I'm just not sure that all Divisions should be cut by the same rate.

AFL lists reductions, some VFL sides will go, all will filter down to local leagues. Effect on EFL Points, Salary Caps, etc,
Will we continue to keep playing 2nd fiddle to the VAFA in recruiting. Interesting times ahead.

Hi all-
There’s a couple articles today - one about why we should be optimistic about a season going ahead and then one about a potential road block for a season to go ahead (herald sun I think). Can anyone find these and post them in here? Legit cannot believe there is still a paywall on local footy articles

I can not read it either but it is The Geelong Advertisor. Headline;AFL Victoria confirming it is "optimistic" that we will get our game underway at some stage.It is a hard to gauge where the press are at times.Just heard on the radio that Australians could be allowed to go overseas in 3 to 4 months if every thing is on the improve.

There'll be no international flights inbound (don't think outbound either) until there is a vaccine - can't risk it.

Hi all-
There’s a couple articles today - one about why we should be optimistic about a season going ahead and then one about a potential road block for a season to go ahead (herald sun I think). Can anyone find these and post them in here? Legit cannot believe there is still a paywall on local footy articles

Theres a few articles

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader...a/news-story/327401155ebb8e7a1873af05451344eb
Northern Football League chief executive Peter McDougall says a nine-game home-and-away season would be the minimum for football to return in 2020.

A push into summer would be off the table but the experienced administrator believes a deal could be struck with local cricket competitions to play into October.

In line with AFL Victoria recommendations, local football has been postponed until at least May 31.

A July 4 restart date would ensure a shortened season was completed by the originally scheduled September grand final.

McDougall acknowledged the uncertainty surrounding the coronavirus pandemic but was still working to ensure a shortened season was possible.

“It’s a waiting game for everybody, at league level, club level, players, parents, coaches, umpires, everyone’s in the same boat,” he said.

“Half a season is probably the minimum, I don’t know that there’d be much interest in less than that.

“This is an opportunity to try a few different things rather than just the same old same old.

“Juniors have players rostered off each week, so do we look at having an unlimited bench for the season, so that every kid can play every week?

“It’s about giving players as many games as possible. The coaches might be pulling their hair out but at the end of the day it’s good for the kids.”

The separation of football and cricket seasons is mandated by the Victorian government.

AFL Victoria and Cricket Victoria are in negotiations in the hope of lengthening the football season for 2020.

McDougall said he’d be willing to start later in 2021 to ensure cricket was then able to complete its full season.

“It’s out of our jurisdiction that one … (but) if the opportunity did present itself – and I don’t like speaking in hypotheticals – we’d definitely want to look at (lengthening the season).

“Nothing’s off the table, it’s just a matter of making it work subject to other restraints, such as the end of October being the start of the Melbourne Cup Carnival – so you can’t play then.

“I’d be open to compromising, if it was me I’d be open to offer the first few weeks in April to cricket so they can finish their season.

“We can start in late April and still get a full season in with no worries and I think that demonstrates a willingness to work together.”

Pandemic raises prospect of a clash of local footy and cricket seasons
Football in the winter, cricket in the summer. It’s been a longstanding rule in Victoria but that could change this year once local footy starts and pressure to use grounds increases. So who has priority? HAVE YOUR SAY
Paul Amy, Leader
Subscriber only
|
April 3, 2020 3:55pm

For many years the Victorian sporting seasons have been equally divided.

Football from April to September, cricket from October to March.

And cricket has always closely guarded its six months of the year.

In fact, the Cricket Victoria website carries a copy of a document signed last year by Victorian Sports Minister Martin Pakula setting out the dates, the football season running from April 1 to September 30 and the cricket season from October 1 to March 31.

It was also signed by Cricket Victoria CEO Andrew Ingleton and the head of AFL Victoria Ricky Bell.

But given the coronavirus pandemic, football officials will soon sound out their cricket counterparts about the possibility of shifting dates.

While it remains unclear if local football will make a start this year — everything is off until at least June — leagues are clinging to the hope they will play at least half a season.

They have been told AFL Victoria will approach Cricket Victoria about football going into October if necessary.

That would mean council grounds staying in the hands of football clubs for longer, pushing back the cricket season.

Southern Football Netball League chief executive Lee Hartman said: “We are keen to have a season, so if we can work in with cricket to make it happen, we would be all for that and so would our clubs.

“At the end of the day we understand the current limitations around that. But I understand the state bodies and the federal bodies are talking, and we’ll await the outcome.’’

Hartman said there had been a “bit of chatter in the past few years, and it’s gained a bit of momentum, that the seasons have changed and the first month of cricket is often washed out and come April it’s still fairly hot’’.

“That’s something that may have to be considered down the track, the football window being from May to October rather than April to September,’’ he said.

“But obviously with the AFL starting in the third week of March everyone’s chomping at the bit to get out there. It’s an interesting one but I know cricket does lose a lot of games in that early October period’’.

One leading community cricket official said this afternoon he would not be surprised if the 2020-21 cricket season started on the first Saturday in November.

He said AFL Victoria would be “desperate’’ to have abbreviated seasons rather than no football and would need at least two weeks of October for finals.

The Pakula determination was made “in view of the differences which have arisen between cricket authorities and Australian Rules football authorities in regard to the respective lengths of the cricket and football seasons and arrangements for preseason ground preparation and practice for each sport on playing grounds in Victoria which are Crown lands’’.

A Cricket Victoria spokesman said this afternoon that CV and AFL Victoria were expected to meet in coming weeks “but in terms of specifics of what each party wants, some way off knowing that yet’’.

Meanwhile Port Phillip Council has announced a $2.5 million emergency relief package that includes support for sports clubs that have paid rent, licence fees or levies for the period of April 1 to June 30.

They are eligible for discounts and “council will notify relevant sports clubs and refund payments accordingly’’.

“Future financial support beyond this date will be considered through the council budgeting process,’’ the council said.

“We traditionally invoice our winter season sports clubs (AFL football, soccer, etc.) in May, so these clubs have not been charged for the upcoming season. We will continue to assess the situation as more information becomes available.

“We are currently investigating ways to further support our sports clubs with various development programs and initiatives, including online forums and workshops about important topics such as club sponsorship. We are also working on plans to support our clubs post-COVID-19.

“Our sports clubs are an important part of our community and we are committed to supporting them through this time and we look forward to seeing them play again (hopefully) soon.’’

Bayside Council has withdrawn seasonal tenancy agreements with winter clubs that were due to start on April 1.

No charges have been issued.

“This decision will be frequently reviewed and new agreements will be entered into with the relevant seasonal clubs once State and Federal Government restrictions are lifted,’’ the council said.

“Bayside City Council is committed to doing what is within our power to provide timely, and much needed support to the Bayside community during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.’’

Pandemic raises prospect of a clash of local footy and cricket seasons
Football in the winter, cricket in the summer. It’s been a longstanding rule in Victoria but that could change this year once local footy starts and pressure to use grounds increases. So who has priority? HAVE YOUR SAY
Paul Amy, Leader
Subscriber only
|
April 3, 2020 3:55pm

For many years the Victorian sporting seasons have been equally divided.

Football from April to September, cricket from October to March.

And cricket has always closely guarded its six months of the year.

In fact, the Cricket Victoria website carries a copy of a document signed last year by Victorian Sports Minister Martin Pakula setting out the dates, the football season running from April 1 to September 30 and the cricket season from October 1 to March 31.

It was also signed by Cricket Victoria CEO Andrew Ingleton and the head of AFL Victoria Ricky Bell.

But given the coronavirus pandemic, football officials will soon sound out their cricket counterparts about the possibility of shifting dates.

While it remains unclear if local football will make a start this year — everything is off until at least June — leagues are clinging to the hope they will play at least half a season.

They have been told AFL Victoria will approach Cricket Victoria about football going into October if necessary.

That would mean council grounds staying in the hands of football clubs for longer, pushing back the cricket season.

Southern Football Netball League chief executive Lee Hartman said: “We are keen to have a season, so if we can work in with cricket to make it happen, we would be all for that and so would our clubs.

“At the end of the day we understand the current limitations around that. But I understand the state bodies and the federal bodies are talking, and we’ll await the outcome.’’

Hartman said there had been a “bit of chatter in the past few years, and it’s gained a bit of momentum, that the seasons have changed and the first month of cricket is often washed out and come April it’s still fairly hot’’.

“That’s something that may have to be considered down the track, the football window being from May to October rather than April to September,’’ he said.

“But obviously with the AFL starting in the third week of March everyone’s chomping at the bit to get out there. It’s an interesting one but I know cricket does lose a lot of games in that early October period’’.

One leading community cricket official said this afternoon he would not be surprised if the 2020-21 cricket season started on the first Saturday in November.

He said AFL Victoria would be “desperate’’ to have abbreviated seasons rather than no football and would need at least two weeks of October for finals.

The Pakula determination was made “in view of the differences which have arisen between cricket authorities and Australian Rules football authorities in regard to the respective lengths of the cricket and football seasons and arrangements for preseason ground preparation and practice for each sport on playing grounds in Victoria which are Crown lands’’.

A Cricket Victoria spokesman said this afternoon that CV and AFL Victoria were expected to meet in coming weeks “but in terms of specifics of what each party wants, some way off knowing that yet’’.

Meanwhile Port Phillip Council has announced a $2.5 million emergency relief package that includes support for sports clubs that have paid rent, licence fees or levies for the period of April 1 to June 30.

They are eligible for discounts and “council will notify relevant sports clubs and refund payments accordingly’’.

“Future financial support beyond this date will be considered through the council budgeting process,’’ the council said.

“We traditionally invoice our winter season sports clubs (AFL football, soccer, etc.) in May, so these clubs have not been charged for the upcoming season. We will continue to assess the situation as more information becomes available.

“We are currently investigating ways to further support our sports clubs with various development programs and initiatives, including online forums and workshops about important topics such as club sponsorship. We are also working on plans to support our clubs post-COVID-19.

“Our sports clubs are an important part of our community and we are committed to supporting them through this time and we look forward to seeing them play again (hopefully) soon.’’

Bayside Council has withdrawn seasonal tenancy agreements with winter clubs that were due to start on April 1.

No charges have been issued.

“This decision will be frequently reviewed and new agreements will be entered into with the relevant seasonal clubs once State and Federal Government restrictions are lifted,’’ the council said.

“Bayside City Council is committed to doing what is within our power to provide timely, and much needed support to the Bayside community during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.’’

Thanks mate appreciate it!

If you couldn’t be bothered reading here’s the short version - “we don’t know yet”

Haha yes I absolutely read it. Was dying to know what was said. It does sound promising though but yes no real answer. 1000 less active cases this week is really promising and only 65 active in Victoria.

WA has eased some restrictions early in regards to gatherings, up to10 people are allowed to get together indoors or outdoors. Only small but that is a positive step if Victoria introduce some easements soon

Isnt the main issue player payments? I wonder if most players would play for free for half a season to get this up and running. NT are about to open up most things as they have zero cases. SA also I believe down to zero and might start opening pubs etc. By June who knows where vic will be but I still think it comes down to the selfishness of player payments.

I think selfishness of player payments is extremely harsh and naive to say that recommencing all comes down to that solitary reason.

Individuals are going through different experiences with employment and income at this given stage. As the article states if the disparity between working on a Saturday & playing footy is too great we may lose some players, young families, etc. The issue is likely to be more prevalent in the higher grades.

We need to know what is happening at AFL and the filter down to VFL clubs. Most premier clubs will have strong numbers aligned with the VFL clubs, if they were to see none of them then this could be a real issue. Interstate recruits - have they gone back home while the VFL & EFL are not operating?

If the season was to get anything of substance from a Premier perspective - clubs would need to play each other at least once. I think the 2nd half was to commence on the 10th June? That's only a month away. There would be a lot of logistics from a club perspective for this to occur in a timely manner.

This will put significant pressure on clubs. They need to work through who is available, salary cap, points, etc. Volunteers have already had burdens placed on them with these extra compliance measures in the last few years, without any extra pressure.

Will Berwick be in for 2021? What does this mean for Premier Clubs for 2020. Relegation? Ridiculous if you are relegated on 9 rounds of footy given the circumstances.

The point I'm trying to make is that it is well beyond player payments that will be affected if we have a quick turnaround in commencing. This is just a few examples as to why it might be too difficult for some at club level. I can understand why some clubs would be of the mind lets just wipe the year & concentrate on coming back strong in 2021.

I think selfishness of player payments is extremely harsh and naive to say that recommencing all comes down to that solitary reason.

Individuals are going through different experiences with employment and income at this given stage. As the article states if the disparity between working on a Saturday & playing footy is too great we may lose some players, young families, etc. The issue is likely to be more prevalent in the higher grades.

We need to know what is happening at AFL and the filter down to VFL clubs. Most premier clubs will have strong numbers aligned with the VFL clubs, if they were to see none of them then this could be a real issue. Interstate recruits - have they gone back home while the VFL & EFL are not operating?

If the season was to get anything of substance from a Premier perspective - clubs would need to play each other at least once. I think the 2nd half was to commence on the 10th June? That's only a month away. There would be a lot of logistics from a club perspective for this to occur in a timely manner.

This will put significant pressure on clubs. They need to work through who is available, salary cap, points, etc. Volunteers have already had burdens placed on them with these extra compliance measures in the last few years, without any extra pressure.

Will Berwick be in for 2021? What does this mean for Premier Clubs for 2020. Relegation? Ridiculous if you are relegated on 9 rounds of footy given the circumstances.

The point I'm trying to make is that it is well beyond player payments that will be affected if we have a quick turnaround in commencing. This is just a few examples as to why it might be too difficult for some at club level. I can understand why some clubs would be of the mind lets just wipe the year & concentrate on coming back strong in 2021.

I agree with most of what you’re saying - totally understand that a player may choose to work Saturday rather than earn a smaller amount of money to play footy. My point was mainly around a player who’s going to hold a club to their original contract due to being money hungry - I just hope we don’t get any of these types of players and if we get half a season - a players mentality is to get the club through to 2021.

There are a number of questions to be answered about this season.
If we do get to play again, do you think that spectators will be allowed?
It would seem pretty pointless to have local footy without crowds otherwise income would be severely limited.
Without that income some clubs may fold if pushed to play.
Is it simply an EFNL decision to play this season or do the clubs get to vote on it.
This is interesting because 44% of Clubs answered YES to cancelling the season in the EFNL survey from 3 weeks ago.
What might happen if a club refuses to play out this season?
I'm glad it isn't me making these decisions.

There are a number of questions to be answered about this season.
If we do get to play again, do you think that spectators will be allowed?
It would seem pretty pointless to have local footy without crowds otherwise income would be severely limited.
Without that income some clubs may fold if pushed to play.
Is it simply an EFNL decision to play this season or do the clubs get to vote on it.
This is interesting because 44% of Clubs answered YES to cancelling the season in the EFNL survey from 3 weeks ago.
What might happen if a club refuses to play out this season?
I'm glad it isn't me making these decisions.

Based on the fact that we’ll be allowed to be in groups of 10 soon, I’d say we’ll be able to have some sort of crowd if we have local footy on. Open the bar and make sure no more than 10 at the bar at one time

I see the logic in that but is seems silly when there will be around 25 in the change rooms at the same time. I'd say there has to be a total relaxation on social gatherings for play to start again.
What about the other points?

I see the logic in that but is seems silly when there will be around 25 in the change rooms at the same time. I'd say there has to be a total relaxation on social gatherings for play to start again.
What about the other points?

Yeah in terms of a club refusing to play, I honestly don’t have an answer! It’s a great question. Hence I mentioned above - wouldn’t the main issue be player payments? If they can’t afford to pay anyone in order to survive - then so be it? I would assume the two main issues are - money coming in from bar takings and canteen (crowd) and how much they can afford to pay players / how many players will stick around if no pay.

Any chance you can give us the main points out of all that instead of us trying to read it all and you give us your personal thoughts.As for the 10 spectators separated at ground do you guys know the same for players in a game to and no tackling and 10 and 10 in a game with no tackling no game I would think
but stand to be corrected.

It's so long I am struggling to get through all of it myself. The following is from the third document.
Hope this answers your spectator question. Doesn't seem to be limited to 10 spectators.
Spectators.JPG

It's so long I am struggling to get through all of it myself. The following is from the third document.
Hope this answers your spectator question. Doesn't seem to be limited to 10 spectators.
View attachment 870129

Sorry I asked the question and I do not mean to be rude.

My understanding of all this was Stage 1 ,up to 500 people at a venue,Stage 2 100. Stage free up to 10 people in a group so that is the end of a footy game I would have thought.Other issues,2 hotels in East Ringwood it seems will not open after this corona virus,20 of the 45 clubs in the EFNL have 3 weeks ago voted to cancel the season.I know of a few of the them and if the EFNL decides to start a season without them and 5 of them are in 8 team grade so what happens there.As for one of my favorite grounds Walker Park the home of the Mitcham Football Club the G is looking a picture and we plan to show the rew development on or social media shortly.

NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything