NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything

Changing tack a little here and old mate Bobby would like this one…

Years back now a CEO of the league (possibly Braddy) was foreshadowing the points and salary cap to an executive of a club who may (or may not) share a carpet of a deck with a premier cricket club - along the lines of ‘all these recruits will cost you, what happens when the benefactor goes…’ etc.

The club president takes it all in and says ‘tell us how to get Chinese kids to play footy and we won’t need to recruit so much’

Braddy considers this, says ‘fair call’ and walks off!

Gold if true

If you take a look at the junior clubs FB site you will see their endeavour in trying to get those non traditional football cultures involved.
It’s a tough slog but I do admire their efforts & tenacity.

Our whole sport would be rooted without the work that junior clubs do.

Ultimately I think it will happen, sport finds a way, but it just takes so long. We’re talking generations.

On another topic. I have just watched the end of the India v Australia Test and I am fully convinced that even though I stopped playing cricket 20 years ago and am now in my 70's, I am Australian Test standard with the bat.
I know it looks like I'm talking to myself, but after watching Australia's second innings, I'm convinced that anyone I played with or against, plus the forum members are of the same skill set as the current Australian batsmen.

Couldn’t agree more Cliff. Embarrassment is an understatement. Totally exposed against quality bowling. The team must be believing all the crap from the media over the Summer telling everyone how good the team is/was. They are flat track bullies at best. Nice to see some of the egos being checked too. And would be even better to see selectors pick players on form and not reputation. Can’t say the captain is covering himself with any glory at this time either. Funnily enough i dont think too many care about their predicament as the team has certainly lost support due to being ‘out of touch’, arrogant and not in line with community values and perception.

Credit to India,a great side and they did beat us here last time.As for our effort today,a disgrace,why all this reverse sweep stuff.Cliff big game cricket wise at the MCG of the East Walker Park next 2 weeks,make sure you are there and I will show you around the place.

Changing tack a little here and old mate Bobby would like this one…

Years back now a CEO of the league (possibly Braddy) was foreshadowing the points and salary cap to an executive of a club who may (or may not) share a carpet of a deck with a premier cricket club - along the lines of ‘all these recruits will cost you, what happens when the benefactor goes…’ etc.

The club president takes it all in and says ‘tell us how to get Chinese kids to play footy and we won’t need to recruit so much’

Braddy considers this, says ‘fair call’ and walks off!

Gold if true

Recently heard of another conversation between a club and league official.

"Women's footy is a huge focus for everybody, we'd love all of the clubs to have women's teams and the councils are very keen."

"Well there's no players out there but our junior club did a lot of work to get girls teams up a few years ago which can eventually flow through and provide us with a women's team"

"Great, it probably won't be far away then"

"Unfortunately the team folded in Under 18s... they got belted by huge margins every week and they just couldn't keep them interested, it wasn't much fun. Vermont poached the top five players after Under 16s and that was the end of them."

Sorry, two posts in a row I'm making fun of the purple mob.

Good to see the Vermont crew back on Facebook, whinging about other clubs recruiting big names on Leader Local Footy stories.

It must be tough when 6-8 flags per decade is your birthright :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:
Still pissed off from losing players that love being there (it's never about the money) to other clubs for more money.

Maybe I’m off the mark but… The Basin getting a 40yo Dane Sean for a one-off game? Would’ve thought that sort of thing was more your battling Div 4 club or battling bush club type of approach?

Is it really that big a boost financially to make it worth it?

Maybe to attract new players?
I think they’ll struggle this year.

Any news on how U19s will be structured this year, how many teams and divisions and when fixtures released

The league is still trying to confirm with clubs, some of whom never really know til a couple of weeks out whether the kids are playing or not.

I’d say it’ll still be a few weeks away.

The league is still trying to confirm with clubs, some of whom never really know til a couple of weeks out whether the kids are playing or not.

I’d say it’ll still be a few weeks away.
Not many clubs know if they will be able to field a team at this stage. There's a lot of movement with U19's if you look at the transfers. I agree with you, a few more weeks, and in saying that you can get a group of mates who don't like the talc powder the coach uses on their nuts, and bang half a team has gone.

Of the Premier clubs Norwood made a bit of a push to get a team up but I think they gave up long ago. Pretty puzzling when you consider they’re literally over the road from a big high school.

Doncaster were ringing around offering players iPhones to switch clubs, dunno if they landed any with that. A box of em mustve fallen off the back of a truck outside Schrams.

Maybe I’m off the mark but… The Basin getting a 40yo Dane Sean for a one-off game? Would’ve thought that sort of thing was more your battling Div 4 club or battling bush club type of approach?

Is it really that big a boost financially to make it worth it?
He has been a raging success wherever he has played. Still very fit and gives 100% each game he plays. When Hall played for them a few years ago I went along and have never seen anything like it at any home and away game - massive crowd, all the news media in attendance and just a fantastic day. The club benefitted significantly from the day in so many ways and has decided to do it again. Good on them for thinking outside the square. They have really gone places as a club over the last decade and certainly would be the envy of many clubs with their structure including massive numbers of juniors, women's football and netball teams and being very financially sound. I'm sure it will be a big day at Batterham Reserve.

Update from league last night on U19s

Majority of Premier likely, 11 or 12 team competition
Majority of D1 likely, full comp
20 teams across D2 - D4... probably be two U19 divisions
Heard the unders competition is in a spot of bother with many clubs struggling for numbers or not having a team.

There's a few teams in Premier Div with BIG numbers and probably running two sides.

The old "come play 'premier' football with us"

I wonder if anybody tells these kids the Under 19s is not Premier Div footy... clubs are graded based on their seniors.

Well we're getting reasonably close so might as well have a crack. I will preface this by saying i have little real idea about the league, just what you hear and read.

Premier
Premiers: Noble Park
Relegated: Vermont, Doncaster

Div 1
Premiers: South Belgrave
Relegated: Lilydale, Mooroolbark

Div 2
Premiers: Templestowe
Relegated: The Basin, Knox

Div 3
Premiers: Coldstream
Relegated: Oakleigh District

Div 4
Premiers: Kilsyth
Spoon: Nunawading

- Noble have strengthened again. Only an enormous injury plague can stop them imho

- Yep... Vermont. Ok probably won't happen but if it's ever going to, I think this would be the year. Double relegation, they finished 9th last year, not sure they've picked up a heap and they have an inexperienced coach. I can see the year getting away from them.

- D1 pretty even without ER and can see South Belgrave's star power taking them straight to the top as it did in D2. Tim Smith is phenomenal. Big trouble at Mooroolbark.

- D2 incredibly even. Apart from the The Basin and Knox I can just about see any team winning it. Heaps of big recruits in this division and I think Waverley will go very well first up - East Burwood did, and WB are probably a better side.

- D3... Oakleigh were barely D4 standard last year (playing in D2), it's a massive job for a first-time coach let alone one who has to play and he can't kick it to himself. Their recruits look to be all from Glen Wav - the very players who got them relegated from D3 last year and then celebrated by walking out and killing the club. They put up a post last week basically celebrating the fact that they actually had 40 players on the track. Another long year ahead

- D4 looks pretty even. Kilsyth seem to have picked up a few.

Let's see yours

Well we're getting reasonably close so might as well have a crack. I will preface this by saying i have little real idea about the league, just what you hear and read.

Premier
Premiers: Noble Park
Relegated: Vermont, Doncaster

Div 1
Premiers: South Belgrave
Relegated: Lilydale, Mooroolbark

Div 2
Premiers: Templestowe
Relegated: The Basin, Knox

Div 3
Premiers: Coldstream
Relegated: Oakleigh District

Div 4
Premiers: Kilsyth
Spoon: Nunawading

- Noble have strengthened again. Only an enormous injury plague can stop them imho

- Yep... Vermont. Ok probably won't happen but if it's ever going to, I think this would be the year. Double relegation, they finished 9th last year, not sure they've picked up a heap and they have an inexperienced coach. I can see the year getting away from them.

- D1 pretty even without ER and can see South Belgrave's star power taking them straight to the top as it did in D2. Tim Smith is phenomenal. Big trouble at Mooroolbark.

- D2 incredibly even. Apart from the The Basin and Knox I can just about see any team winning it. Heaps of big recruits in this division and I think Waverley will go very well first up - East Burwood did, and WB are probably a better side.

- D3... Oakleigh were barely D4 standard last year (playing in D2), it's a massive job for a first-time coach let alone one who has to play and he can't kick it to himself. Their recruits look to be all from Glen Wav - the very players who got them relegated from D3 last year and then celebrated by walking out and killing the club. They put up a post last week basically celebrating the fact that they actually had 40 players on the track. Another long year ahead

- D4 looks pretty even. Kilsyth seem to have picked up a few.

Let's see yours

Interesting re Vermont.

Premier Division:
Premiers - Noble Park.
Runners Up- Doncaster East
Relegation - Doncaster and Berwick

Division 1:
Premiers - Montrose
Runners Up- Wantirna South
Relegation - Lilydale and Beaconsfield

Division 2:
Premiers - Boronia