• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

NTFA Div 2

heard the same thing on weekend..wayne mitchell coaching st.pats.
beat last years coach (harris) and lenny towns for the job.
rumoured to be bringing many bridgenorth players with him...
troy powe has been reappointed at evandale with stuart nankervis as reserves coach
victor marshall ex-tamar cats coach rumoured to be coaching ol's.

Ben Green to coach the Thistles again with Nathan Warren coaching the reserves and will try to make it Three premierships in a row for the two's.

Should have a good lineup at Scotch with most players staying on again in 09 and hopefully will pick up some good recruits.

Also with the addition of the state of the art lights at the NTCA ground we can expect to see a few night games donw at Thistle land.

Any news on a coaching appointment for Perth Yet?

What about numbers at OLs? They always struggle, will they get two sides on the park? Rumour has it Majak Miar is heading to try his luck at South... Anybody else hear the rumour that OLs will become the 'Prospect Sharks' this year? The Prospect juniors are going from strength to strength, makes sense. Gives OLs a numbers boost, as well as the young boys a pathway.

You would hope that OL's didn't change to prospect. I think a lot of past players would come out and not allow it to happen. Too much tradition there, unfortunately though it seems it is run like a dog's breakfast so who would know?

Saw a few blokes running along Elphin Road last night, looked like a few Scotch boys. Not the biggest of turnouts if that was their pre-season which I am presuming it was.

Anyone know if they have picked up any players?

What about other teams in the comp? Have heard Fingal will be strong again and Tamar splashing the coin around again. Any player rumours?

I was running last night with a few of the Old Scotch boys. Completely unofficial run set up by a few phone calls. No coaches were there. I think they start officially in mid-January. I'm playing elsewhere next year but still having a run with the boys because they're all top blokes.

Saw a few blokes running along Elphin Road last night, looked like a few Scotch boys. Not the biggest of turnouts if that was their pre-season which I am presuming it was.

What about other teams in the comp? Have heard Fingal will be strong again and Tamar splashing the coin around again. Any player rumours?

Greg Latham to coach Seniors, Stephen Clarke the Reserves.

What about numbers at OLs? They always struggle, will they get two sides on the park?

They'll be a side of "some description" in 2009.

Rumour has it Majak Miar is heading to try his luck at South

Heard that one too, that rumour is flying like wildfire.

Anybody else hear the rumour that OLs will become the 'Prospect Sharks' this year? The Prospect juniors are going from strength to strength, makes sense. Gives OLs a numbers boost, as well as the young boys a pathway.

OL's will be known as OL's for 2009.

How about Nathan Mills to Uni-Mowbray (former Clarence and Mariners midfielder??)

wayne mitchell has brought some of his parrots with him to st.pats
fingal will be there again..but have lost a few to st.helens
evandale have had a couple of runs..with mid 20's numbers.
not sure of anything else around the traps.
does anybody know who is coaching ol's.heard a whisper it may be victor marshall?

wayne mitchell has brought some of his parrots with him to st.pats
fingal will be there again..but have lost a few to st.helens
evandale have had a couple of runs..with mid 20's numbers.
not sure of anything else around the traps.
does anybody know who is coaching ol's.heard a whisper it may be victor marshall?

I heard that about Victor too. Ol's need a good role model and leader with values and a good head on their shoulders. I wont say any more!

Who are you playing for this year Thistle?

Who is coaching the Tamar Cats? I see they are still looking/advertising for a seconds coach. You'd think if they are spending some coin then they'd be able to get a senior player to do it for a little bit extra in the pocket.

Who are you playing for this year Thistle?

Who is coaching the Tamar Cats? I see they are still looking/advertising for a seconds coach. You'd think if they are spending some coin then they'd be able to get a senior player to do it for a little bit extra in the pocket.

I'm training with Uni-Mowbray at the moment so thats likely. I'll still be spending a lot of time at Old Scotch though because it's my "home" club I guess. I've left on good terms and they are understanding of my need to leave for better opportunities.

Heard that one too about good old Victor Marshall, would really fit in down there at OL's!

I tell you if they want to get rid of the horrible reputation they have, hiring him as your senior coach isn't the way to go about it. Did anybody see the Tamar Cats segment on the regional footy show ABC were doing I think earlier this year? The OL's board needs to watch that I reckon...

Thistle, how does one play for one side yet 'spend a lot of time' with another, I haven't heard of that before..... If they are your home club why are you not playing with them?

Heard that one too about good old Victor Marshall, would really fit in down there at OL's!

I tell you if they want to get rid of the horrible reputation they have, hiring him as your senior coach isn't the way to go about it. Did anybody see the Tamar Cats segment on the regional footy show ABC were doing I think earlier this year? The OL's board needs to watch that I reckon...

Thistle, how does one play for one side yet 'spend a lot of time' with another, I haven't heard of that before..... If they are your home club why are you not playing with them?

yes i saw that segment on the Tamar Cats. Was quite intresting actually.

will be intresting to see some of the players that join the NTFA in both div 1 and Div 2 now that the NTFL doesnt haven any Launceston teams.

Alot of those players will filter down through the NTFA making the comp stronger.

Saw a few cars down at the NTCA carpark last night, looked like Old Scotch had about 50 running around on the track, good numbers for this time of year I would have thought.

Saw a few familiar faces down there as well as a few new ones, anyone have any news on their recruiting over summer?

i hear perth and tamar cats spent fortunes on players last year, will they b spending up again? whos there gains and losses? if i recall years back scotch would only pay coaches and players were on incentive..has times changed? they paying players now cuz they have built a very handy side over last few years

dont worry all clubs pay.some more than others,any person or club who denies that is a liar.some clubs have spent heaps to finish as non premiers.just the way footy is these days..unfortunatly.footy was much more enjoyable in the past when guys played for each other.i have seen both sides of the coin so to speak.

Pretty sure no players at Old Scotch get paid. There are prizes for being in the best players but apart from that players dont get paid. I think thats why Scotch have developed such a good culture.

Call me a liar if you will but i can tell you that Scotch dont pay players. Not to sure about other clubs

Pretty sure no players at Old Scotch get paid. There are prizes for being in the best players but apart from that players dont get paid. I think thats why Scotch have developed such a good culture.

Call me a liar if you will but i can tell you that Scotch dont pay players. Not to sure about other clubs

I've heard you are on quite a fair packet yourself at Old Scotch..

i wont call you a liar..but shaun smith,jamie mcleneghan & kim curtis + the other good players you have picked up in the past couple of seasons "brad cottam etc etc,) are playing "for the love of it"
please.....dont insult us. fair dinkum.

i wont call you a liar..but shaun smith,jamie mcleneghan & kim curtis + the other good players you have picked up in the past couple of seasons "brad cottam etc etc,) are playing "for the love of it"
please.....dont insult us. fair dinkum.
Brad Cottam was an assistant coach there last year I think and Kim Curtis is this year so it is fair enough that they get paid.

Not sure about Shaun Smith but have it on pretty good authority from someone that would know at the club that Jamie McLeneghan rang their coach about playing and didn't want any cash, just wanted to play with a good bunch of blokes. Someone might be able to confirm that?

Full credit to the club if they dont pay players, have done well being able to compete with Tamar/Perth/Fingal who I have heard love to throw the coin around...

Brad Cottam was an assistant coach there last year I think and Kim Curtis is this year so it is fair enough that they get paid.

Not sure about Shaun Smith but have it on pretty good authority from someone that would know at the club that Jamie McLeneghan rang their coach about playing and didn't want any cash, just wanted to play with a good bunch of blokes. Someone might be able to confirm that?

Full credit to the club if they dont pay players, have done well being able to compete with Tamar/Perth/Fingal who I have heard love to throw the coin around...

Spot on Sportstalk.
I'm quite sad not to be able to play there this year as there is a sensational culture down there. There are incentive payments for the top 4-5 players (voted on by the players for the Lucas Butzin medal). It's not necessarily the BOG who gets the cash either. It may be a reserves player who comes up and does his role really well. The two best players in the reserves also get cash incentives so it's not a "player buying" thing.

Anyone doubting this maybe should go down for a run and see for themselves.

Good luck this year Old Scotch.